Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Big Hillsdale Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Staffordshire > Leek > Big Hillsdale Farm Reviews

Big Hillsdale Farm
Grindon
Leek
Staffordshire   (Browse area)
ST13 7PE
Tel: 01538 304458  or  07971412101
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 23
Open: 01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 79 Reviews
                9/10 from 79 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (21)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  79 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Taafe75 10 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for the early May Bank Holiday 2022 as a group of 5 tents and 2 camper-vans / motor-homes.

The field isn't flat and is a sloping field but it was simple enough to find a flattish area to pitch.

I was surprised how quiet the site was, with only two other tents in the field outside of our group.

The site has two toilets and a water tap in the camping field although one toilet was not working during the visit. The toilets were well stocked with roll, soap and bleach.

There is also a shower, toilet and pot washing facilities a little walk up the path to the owners farm house.

The staff/team were tremendous and very helpful.

Fire pits are dotted around the filed and fire wood is available at the farm house to buy.

The site is about 15 minutes outside of Leek so lots of shops aren't that far away.

There is also a wild life park local for the kids but it is not a cheap day out.

Overall a great but basic site, we will definitely be returning to this site. 


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Brady6 1 review from this member

 Lovely campsite, had the pleasure of being the only ones for a while until another couple joined.

Be careful if it has been raining and the ground is wet as it is just a field, slightly sloped and we got stuck.

We rang the owners and they very kindly sent someone to come and get us out after us trying for a while ourselves. They were lovely tho,

I would deffo go back if passing through again.

Has basic toilets on the field, apparently there is showers and more toilets in a barn just off the campsite but we didn't look for them as wasn't needed. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Kris15 1 review from this member

 What a wonderful little campsite that we had completely to ourselves,

Showers, washing facilities, and toilet, although basic, they were more than adequate…

Extremely friends owners, that have fire pits on request and pulled us out of the field when we were stuck.

30 minutes walk from Butterton…

We would definitely return to this campsite and to the beautiful setting of the Peak District

Recommended to all 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Robyng 1 review from this member

 Really nice campsite thoroughly enjoyed our stay and very cheap too!

The owners are very friendly, lots of lovely walks around, nice and quite and in a lovely spot.

Highly recommend 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: WildernessSapphic 1 review from this member

 Trust the satnav, it will take you there!

I really liked this campsite, Gill was incredibly friendly and accommodating.

I wasn't sure if an EHU would be needed, when it wasn't we were lucky enough to get the whole camping area to ourselves.

There were picnic tables and Gill and her husband even offered a fire barrel and firewood, which was the perfect end to the evening.

The shower was really clean and well kept and fantastically hot. There were fridge facilities too, although we didn't use them.

Would happily stay again and recommend to others. Exactly what I was looking for. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Robert 1 review from this member

 I've stayed at this campsite a few times. The views from the fields are breath-taking. The main field is not too large so always feels comfortable and friendly.

The owners too are very friendly and helpful. There are free fire pits to use within the field. I love the location, which offers such beautiful and varied places to explore.

The facilities provide everything you need but are not the highest standard. However, the charm and location of the camp site more than compensate.

Definitely recommend it. 


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Tasha4 1 review from this member

 We had a really enjoyable stay at this lovely little farm. The owners were so welcoming and accommodating. We forgot teabags and they came to the rescue!

Not only did we have the most amazing view welcoming us, the farm also had some little calves that my children were able to feed which they loved!

Such a lovely, friendly hardworking couple that own the farm and I would love to return in the future.

We visited Tittesworth Reservoir, Hen cloud and Thor’s Cave on our visit which are all around a 20 minute drive from the campsite. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Jodies 1 review from this member

 Myself and my family stayed at Big Hillsdale farm on August bank holiday- we had an absolute ball!

The site was very basic which is what we like, toilets, running water and a shower (only one tho, could do with another couple).

The staff were amazing and very chilled which created a lovely atmosphere around the farm. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they were always on hand if needed, very polite and friendly.

The children were allowed the join in with all the feeding activities and this was one of the weekend highlights. The location was great as we were out in the sticks but able to access other places via car or foot. We actually went in an amazing walk to Thor’s Cave and visited a local car boot sale - so much fun!

We have already spoke about visiting here again and this is something we will definitely go ahead with.

Thank you for a great weekend 🏕 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Abigai 1 review from this member

 Great facilities, gorgeous view and lovely owners :)

In a great location for a lot of attractions.

Only criticism I have is that the field was on a hill so the tent had a slight slope but they have picnic tables and the view was incredible over the valley.

Highly recommend:) 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Maddoxfamily 2 reviews from this member

 We are a returning family! This is our 3rd year on the farm our first visit was when our children were 6, 2 and 5 months old. It would have been a 4th visit if it was not for Covid and having to work in critical care. Our boys are now 9, 5 and 3 and they cry when they have to leave.

Gill and Chris are just as wonderful as they were when we first decided to test out second hand tent out on the farm. Now fully set up for wild camping! We still return.

The farm is just the most wonderful place to make memories and the boys still love to feed the calf’s. We love to visit all the same places as we always do but the experience is different every year as the boys get older.

We left a couple of days early unfortunately, due to the weather and the boys have not forgiven us yet but hopefully we are set to return again this year. If not we are absolutely returning next year.

There has been some improvements made since we first arrived a few years ago that are very much appreciated but absolutely were not needed to keep us coming back. The shower has a ceiling, the kids loved the ice-cream availability in the barn and new road leading up the field is great!

The site is very cheap. Fire pits, benches are dotted about for you to use for free and wood and eggs are available on request for a small charge. If your expecting a luxury camping experience, then this site is not for you.

If your looking to go back to basics and get away from the hustle and bustle of daily life, wake up to amazing views, beautiful walks and indulge in what the countryside has to offer for a low cost run by to most lovely and genuine people, then book away. See you soon Gill and Chris! 
via mobile


Previous     79 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Big Hillsdale Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Big Hillsdale Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Big Hillsdale Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Leek      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Staffordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Lifestyle 2022 Show, Shropshire 06/05 to 08/05
Holiday homes, caravans, camping, holidays, garden rooms, hot tubs, garden furniture, gardening, health & fitness - 20% off tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3890 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement