Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Chequers Inn

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Chequers Inn Reviews

Chequers Inn
Fountains Road
Bishop Thornton
Harrogate
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HG3 3JN
Tel: 01423 770173
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 20
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 10 Reviews
                6/10 from 10 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tina Marie 2 reviews from this member

Very peaceful site, free range chickens running around, plus sheep and rabbits. Great pub, lovely Sunday carvery. Handy for visiting Harrogate and surrounding area. Electric hook up, shared water stand pipe, Elsan disposal. No-one around, mainly static caravan homes, only one space for motorhomes the rest were all caravans which looked well established there for the season. Shower and toilet block need a refurb, no evidence that these facilities got cleaned while we were there for the week. Expensive for what you get £18 a night. Dogs welcome.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Samstevenson 10 reviews from this member

Very flat pitches marked out with their own water and electric hook up. Pub on site with excellent carvery and fish and chips. Newly created putting green. Toilets were a bit dated but everything worked fine and the showers had been recently refurbished. Ideal location for Harrogate, Knaresborough and Nidderdale. What surprised us was how quiet it was. At £8 a night it was unbelievable value for 2 adults, a dog, a tent and EHU in August!

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: KColgrave 1 review from this member

I can really recommend this site. The welcome was lovely. The family who run this site and The Chequers Inn are so helpful and you can see the whole run business is run with a passion for good customer service.

The site was very good and when we went it was obvious the toilets had been completely refurbished. The site was clean and the grounds very well equipped and tidy. The grass areas had just been mowed and everything was there for a perfect stay. The location is amazing so close to Harrogate and the dales.

The food was even more amazing. The carvey the best I've ever had. And I recommend trying the breakfast. All the food was top quality and one of the best pubs I've eaten in. It was full of local people to which is always a good sign.

I would recommend a visit to the site and the hotel/inn.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cazbix 12 reviews from this member

Easter weekend April 2015 - We had a very nice welcome when we arrived, The caravan site is nice and flat with hard standing, Water points are easy to find but your feet may get a bit wet as these are on the grass with no paving around them and no drain for the water to go, The toilets, showers and waste water disposal block is behind the static caravans area, itís a short walk, but as it had been raining getting to the toilet block was a bit muddy it could do with paving slabs in front of it, in the ladies there are 4 toilets, 3 wash basins and one large shower room, these are clean but a bit old, no heating apart from the large shower cubical which has a fan heater (showers are 50p, more than enough time to get showered wash your hair etc. )

The pub is nice and the food and service was great.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bumblebush 4 reviews from this member

The pub itself was very drab looking, the meal, I had the carvery was outstanding however!

The site itself left much to be desired and was a great disappointment. Water and electric hook up, no waste water drain, and we never found a disposal point. We were not shown to or pitch which turned out to be broken house-bricks for hardstandings. Dogs and horses running around. Toilet block was absolutely abysmal, don't forget flip flops for the dirty 50p shower.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Stan500 1 review from this member

Loved this site the owners were great and helpful. We had great breakfasts an d evening meals.

The carvery was great. The dogs were welcome but it would have been better if they could have

Gone in the bar. The toilet facilities are alright but I would think could be improved. You have to pay 50p for a shower we used our own as the room wasn't very warm. They are quite a walk from the field which was OK for us.

Lots of things to do round and about we had a great morning at Brimham rocks.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mally44 1 review from this member

Spacious but pitches poor, hard standings brick rubble, shower block worst have ever encountered in 21st century, pub food good but pricy. Ok if you are a self contained unit and just using the site as a touring base. Handy for Harrogate flower shows etc.

Would we return? no not till the facility's have been upgraded.

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Henrietta66 7 reviews from this member

Really nice pub with great breakfast! Owners very helpful and friendly. Hardstanding was made of broken housebricks so not ideal. Toilets/Showers on site had not been cleaned for a while as lots of cobwebs seen - also very cold. This could have been because we were there before opening of main season therefore facilities may be better overall in main season times. Fortunately we had our own facilities in our campervan. Dogs welcome on site.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stormthenorm 2 reviews from this member

Sorry to say this campsite was not a nice site. The pub itself was fine and the meal we had was lovely but the site itself left much to be desired. Staff were friendly. Broken housebricks for hardstandings, grass not cut, not looked after at all. Dogs and horses running around. Toilet block was abysmal luckily we had our own facilities in the caravan. We didn't stay long enough to visit the area so could not make a comment on surroundings. Would not recommend.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sheilaharrison 1 review from this member

We stayed at the chequers caravan site over the may bank holiday, we found it to be a clean and tidy site, in a lovely location. The owners were very plesant and showed us to our pitch. We ate in the pub/restaurant which is on site, on the saturday evening, and the food was excellent, I had the carvary which was outstanding, and my husband had a fillet steak which he said was 'the best'. We would recommend this site and will be back in the summer.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4757 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019