Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lings Meadow Campsite And Glamping

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Norfolk > North Common > Lings Meadow Campsite And Glamping > Reviews

Lings Meadow Campsite And Glamping
Stanton Road Farm
North Common
Norfolk   (Browse area)
IP22 2PR
Tel: 01359 250594
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 6 plus stardome and pre-pitched bell tents
Open: 24/05/2024 to 28/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 14 Reviews
                10/10 from 14 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Clare SMRC 1 review from this member

 We had such a fab time at this campsite, the facilities were great, really clean and well looked after, and the owners are around and about to give advice on getting the pizza oven started.

Great outdoor kitchen area, well equipped, and fantastic teepee for a rainy afternoon.

We spotted shooting stars, fell in love with the alpacas, played silly games round the campfire and just chilled in the meadow.

Perfect weekend - thanks so much! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Stonio 1 review from this member

 Wonderful

Fabulous

Brilliant

Exceptional

Super and

Duper!

Everything was clean, fresh, well considered with lots of thoughtful touches.

Neel was a gracious host who had time and infinite patience to explain to us Cityfolk how to do stuff like the pizza oven and Storm Kettle.

Ling's meadow is just a special, happy place and we feel so lucky to have stumbled onto your site.

We will be back in 2024! 


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Lozza21 1 review from this member

 Just returned from another fantastic stay at Lings Meadow. Such a beautiful setting and a truly family friendly campsite.

The kids loved the mud kitchen, the communal Tepee, the animals and the freedom to run around.

Both our children aged 6 and 2 thoroughly enjoyed themselves. We also all loved the pizza oven!

Locally there are great places to walk at Knettishall Heath and Thetford forest.

We loved the eco facilities which were spotlessly clean always.

Will definitely be booking another stay. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: DeborahTurner 24 reviews from this member

 A Lovely site for 'back to basic' campers with strong eco credentials.

The pitches are cut into the meadow grass and very far apart, we couldn't hear normal conversation on the other pitches, for example. Cars are not admitted to the meadow but the trolleys provided are big and extremely easy to push / pull so this was no problem.

Pitches are level and dry, with a few gnarly roots. This is a largely shade free site, being a meadow, so take your tarp or awning. Though there is a communal shaded area with two big picnic tables.

Each pitch is provided with a fire pit and a cooking grill, and a wooden picnic bench / table, all of high quality. The washing up area is beautifully tiled, cloths and flannels are provided, for washing up, wiping down and hand drying. Also Eco washing up liquid. You can reserve a time to use the pizza oven, for which you will need to buy a trug of wood. Good well seasond logs were 5 a trug. Charcoal is also on sale. A small freezer is available for ice blocks only, not food.

The toilets are composting and very beautifully designed - each cubicle has a basin with hot and cold running water, hand towels, sanitizer, hand wash. There is also a 'wee hut' for men, to ensure that there are no toilet queues. The shower is also in a hut, plenty of space to change and hang clothes - the water is heated by a rocket stove and solar, I think, so the temperature depends on the time of day and how many other campers have used the shower. There is a digital display of the water temperature at any given time, so if you aren't happy with a cold shower, pick your time carefully.

There is a farm shop just round the corner in the next road - fresh butchery, excellent fruit and veg, bread, great cheese, groceries. Milk, treats. Also toys and field and 'wet day'games.

You can have bread from a local bakery and breakfast goods delivered - order in advance.

Thetford Forest is nearby for fantastic cycle trails, Go Ape etc. NT Ickworth, Bury St Edmunds. Lovely local scenery and villages.

The owners took immense care in terms of COVID protection - designated toilets for each pitch, sanitizer everywhere including by the gate, reduced pitch numbers and guests.

We really enjoyed our visit to this quiet, beautiful little site. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Yewtreemob 1 review from this member

 This is a great site, only 6 pitches in a large field, no crowding asnd cars parked away from the camping. You get an immediate feeling of peace and tranquillity lost in the modern world.

Great facilities including a communal undercover kitchen area. Ideal for the lightweight traveller.

All toilets and showers are of a novel eco dessign that works! Camp fires encouraged. Central wood fired pizza oven. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RobHi 2 reviews from this member

 Simply a great campsite. We stayed with a small tent, one adult and two children aged 4 and 8.

They enjoyed roaming around the car free field in safety. We really appreciated the games stuff available to use and particularly the cooking tent which we used when preparing a meal.

Friendly owners and good Eco facilities made for a relaxed one night stay in our own tent - site is not just for glampers. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dreaming_spires 3 reviews from this member

 This site is wonderful, especially if you have kids. We booked a last minute week here in August. The site is small with fewer than 10 pitches. It is an 'eco' campsite, but without the hard sell. The compost toilets are great, and very well maintained. In fact, better facilities and cleanliness than other UK campsites we've visited (fresh flowers, eco hand soap, toilet paper provided). We never queued for the toilets while we were there.

The owners really encourage you to just come along and as such if you need them to provide a tent it really isn't much more on the pitch price and I think they even discount if you arrive by public transport. Cars are not allowed on the meadow itself, but trolley/wheelbarrows are available to help move your stuff a short distance from car to pitch. Each pitch is just mowed into the meadow and there are lovely meandering paths to get around the small site.

What is wonderful about this site is there is a communal tented area with picnic tables and everything you could need to cook food, BBQ, wood burning pizza oven, or even charge your phone. There is also a communal fire pit to have a bonfire, roast marshmallows with the kids. The communal tent for cooking was great on a rainy day, as you didn't have to cook in a confined tent on a small stove and you could meet your neighbours.

The site itself is a great base. We'll have to return to see more of the area. Bressingham Steam and Gardens, Southwold/Great Yarmouth for the beach an hour away, Pakenham Water Mill, Bury St. Edmunds, vineyard up the road, and Thetford forest. There is a great farm shop just up the road, and plenty of pubs, even an American diner less than 5 mins. Drive.

However, what is truly special about this site is that you get to know the other people on the site because of the way it is set-up. Kids meet, all roast marshmallows in the evening and then run round the meadow at night with torches/glow sticks and just enjoy being kids and meeting new friends.

The owners are great, always on hand to answer questions and provide lovely touches all round the site. Charcoal, wood, marshmallows, den building, pizza ovens, solar powered freezer for cool blocks, and wood burning/solar powered boiler for a shower (though please don't dally or your camp mates might not like you in the morning). Idyllic really. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chasmor 4 reviews from this member

 Campsites are often created to support a flagging rural income and when that is the primary motivation, the results are, sadly, all too obvious.

At Ling's Meadow, the opposite is true. It is very evidently a creation borne out of a love of camping and a desire to get things just right. From the composting loos to the rocket stove/solar water heating, it's also a salutary example, in microcosm, of what we need to be doing to preserve our existence on this planet.

Wild camping has a magic all of its own. Ling's Meadow Combines that magic with just the right mix of comforts.

Local amenities (shop/pub) are within a reasonable cycling distance and although quite close to a main road, traffic noise is not obtrusive. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Marros 6 reviews from this member

 There is only one word to describe this site. FANTASTIC!

The owners bend over backwards to help and made our stay very enjoyable.

The campsite itself is idyllic, peaceful and well thought out. Perfect for those who wish to have an 'off-grid' camping experience.

We shall certainly be visiting again in the future. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stangabird 1 review from this member

 This campsite is just adorable! Big enough for the kids to roam free and small enough to be able to cast a watchful eye over them whilst they explore (tip: take butterfly nets!). We stayed for just a night in one of their bell tents, fab, everything supplied for us, even matches and firelighters. The communal kitchen/eating area was a great idea, with little fairy lights that glowed at dusk. I was a little dubious about the compost toilets but needn't have been as the facilities here were exceptionally clean. (Toilet rolls/hand-soap and towel all supplied, one less thing to pack!). All in all a superb little campsite in a peaceful location, great for a relaxing getaway. We will return! My only gripe was that the complimentary bottle of (delicious) Damson Gin wasn't quite big enough. 


Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Lings Meadow Campsite And Glamping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lings Meadow Campsite And Glamping?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Lings Meadow Campsite And Glamping dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near North Common      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2243 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement