Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Lings Meadow

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Site Reviews

Lings Meadow
Stanton Road Farm
North Common
Hepworth
Diss
Norfolk   (Browse area)
IP22 2PR
Tel: 01359 250594
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 6 plus stardome, bell tent, huts
Open: 26th April To 28th September

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 9 Reviews
                10/10 from 9 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: RobHi 2 reviews from this member

Simply a great campsite. We stayed with a small tent, one adult and two children aged 4 and 8. They enjoyed roaming around the car free field in safety. We really appreciated the games stuff available to use and particularly the cooking tent which we used when preparing a meal. Friendly owners and good Eco facilities made for a relaxed one night stay in our own tent - site is not just for glampers.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dreaming_spires 3 reviews from this member

This site is wonderful, especially if you have kids. We booked a last minute week here in August. The site is small with fewer than 10 pitches. It is an 'eco' campsite, but without the hard sell. The compost toilets are great, and very well maintained. In fact, better facilities and cleanliness than other UK campsites we've visited (fresh flowers, eco hand soap, toilet paper provided). We never queued for the toilets while we were there.

The owners really encourage you to just come along and as such if you need them to provide a tent it really isn't much more on the pitch price and I think they even discount if you arrive by public transport. Cars are not allowed on the meadow itself, but trolley/wheelbarrows are available to help move your stuff a short distance from car to pitch. Each pitch is just mowed into the meadow and there are lovely meandering paths to get around the small site.

What is wonderful about this site is there is a communal tented area with picnic tables and everything you could need to cook food, BBQ, wood burning pizza oven, or even charge your phone. There is also a communal fire pit to have a bonfire, roast marshmallows with the kids. The communal tent for cooking was great on a rainy day, as you didn't have to cook in a confined tent on a small stove and you could meet your neighbours.

The site itself is a great base. We'll have to return to see more of the area. Bressingham Steam and Gardens, Southwold/Great Yarmouth for the beach an hour away, Pakenham Water Mill, Bury St. Edmunds, vineyard up the road, and Thetford forest. There is a great farm shop just up the road, and plenty of pubs, even an American diner less than 5 mins. Drive.

However, what is truly special about this site is that you get to know the other people on the site because of the way it is set-up. Kids meet, all roast marshmallows in the evening and then run round the meadow at night with torches/glow sticks and just enjoy being kids and meeting new friends. The owners are great, always on hand to answer questions and provide lovely touches all round the site. Charcoal, wood, marshmallows, den building, pizza ovens, solar powered freezer for cool blocks, and wood burning/solar powered boiler for a shower (though please don't dally or your camp mates might not like you in the morning). Idyllic really.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chasmor 4 reviews from this member

Campsites are often created to support a flagging rural income and when that is the primary motivation, the results are, sadly, all too obvious.

At Ling's Meadow, the opposite is true. It is very evidently a creation borne out of a love of camping and a desire to get things just right. From the composting loos to the rocket stove/solar water heating, it's also a salutary example, in microcosm, of what we need to be doing to preserve our existence on this planet.

Wild camping has a magic all of its own. Ling's Meadow Combines that magic with just the right mix of comforts.

Local amenities (shop/pub) are within a reasonable cycling distance and although quite close to a main road, traffic noise is not obtrusive.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Marros 2 reviews from this member

There is only one word to describe this site. FANTASTIC!

The owners bend over backwards to help and made our stay very enjoyable.

The campsite itself is idyllic, peaceful and well thought out. Perfect for those who wish to have an 'off-grid' camping experience.

We shall certainly be visiting again in the future.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stangabird 1 review from this member

This campsite is just adorable! Big enough for the kids to roam free and small enough to be able to cast a watchful eye over them whilst they explore (tip: take butterfly nets!). We stayed for just a night in one of their bell tents, fab, everything supplied for us, even matches and firelighters. The communal kitchen/eating area was a great idea, with little fairy lights that glowed at dusk. I was a little dubious about the compost toilets but needn't have been as the facilities here were exceptionally clean. (Toilet rolls/hand-soap and towel all supplied, one less thing to pack!). All in all a superb little campsite in a peaceful location, great for a relaxing getaway. We will return! My only gripe was that the complimentary bottle of (delicious) Damson Gin wasn't quite big enough.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Marksonia 1 review from this member

We stayed for two nights, could not have been more helpful when booking even though we were doing so at late notice. We had our own large tent and pitched in one of the larger crop circles with more than enough space.

The kitchen equipment available to use (just bring your own gas)was essential for us as we don't have a big car. I've never seen this at a site before, it's a great idea. The picnic type tables to eat at made it so easy for us to eat as a family and enjoy the view of the surrounding fields. The campfire and marshmallows was just perfect on our last night.

The toilets here are amazing, super clean and fresh. Also the shower was so clean and spacious but cold but not a problem.

We made easy visits by car to Diss and had a day out at Framlingham castle about an hour away. On one evening we ate at an American style cafe which was quite fun.

We'll make sure we return

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: EdensEscapade 1 review from this member

We booked to stay fri&sat, booking lings as it wasn't too much of a long drive, and it looked lovely.

On arrival to Lings Meadow we were shown to our pitch, a generously sized crop circle as the owners of the site knew we were bringing a larger tent.

It was a lovely evening so we decided to let our little one have a run around and then we had a campfire in the communal area - Fantastic, one trug of wood is supplied for the fire for free and this burns for a good few hours, we only had to purchase one more each night for only 4, well worth it for the lovely fire.

I borrowed a bike (many supplied for a free lend) and rode to the local shop, this was the only local area explored as we were out other days.

The communal kitchen is a fabulous idea - Next time we visit we will not bring half as much 'stuff' as we spent the majority of the time here and around the fire.

The toilets (although being compostable loos) were very clean and often checked which was great, the solar shower didn't heat very well in the weather, still nothing would put me off my morning shower - grinned and beared! and there is always the kettle in the kitchen if the waters not so hot.

On the Saturday night it was lovely to see every camper congregate with all of our children around the fire for some marshmallow toasting and songs!

We decided to go and ask the owners if we could possibly stay another night - welcomed with a yes we were very pleased to not have to rush home after a day out to a theme park Sunday.

All in all I give this place, still in its first learning months, 10 out of 10, so so much effort has been put into the site compared to anywhere in my immediate area which we have been to before. I would love to run such a place!

We hope to return, again, and again.

Libbie

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Star Holden 1 review from this member

We stayed at Ling's for a couple of nights.

The setting was wonderful, car is absolutely essential though. Everything is eco friendly, the most beautiful compost toilets that I have ever seen.

There are facilities where you can cook: you will need to bring some gas with you but the stove is there, and they provide everything from a kettle to cutlery.

The showers are heated via the sun, therefore we did not risk it as it was not that warm, probably evening time would be the best time to have one.

The owners are knowledgeable and friendly and will provide you with help and advice on anything that you may require.

All in all a very pleasant stay!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Madkiwi 1 review from this member

Ssshhhh. Don't tell everyone, but this site is really nice!

Generous pitch sizes, well separated and no cars in the field. Note: Wheelbarrows supplied to ferry equipment along curving paths between car park and individual pitches. Perfectly OK in fine weather.

If you're after a friendly, quiet camp immediately surrounded by waving long grass/wild flowers with an eco friendly infrastructure - look no further.

Are we going back? Definitely!


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3878 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019