Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Mousley House Farm Campsite And Glamping

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Warwickshire > Site Reviews

Mousley House Farm Campsite And Glamping
Case Lane
Hatton
Warwick
Warwickshire   (Browse area)
CV35 7JG
Tel: 07443475434
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 23
Open: 01/03 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 36 Reviews
                9/10 from 36 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  36 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Larry10 11 reviews from this member

We had a hard standing and as site was quiet number-wise we were allowed to choose where. There is a lot of space and you don't feel crowded at all. We had a warm welcome from the lady owner. The down side is that we paid £22 (including EHU) but the facilities are rather 'tired', based in a couple of portakabins which are showing their age. Everything was clean, just not up to standard for the price.

CDP is round the back of toilets, access okay not brilliant, fresh water area could be muddy in wet as could wash-up area. Grey water is disposed in in the hedge!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Babana 5 reviews from this member

A small quiet campsite in a rural location, but very easy to get to. It's within very easy reach of Hatton Adventure Park, Warwick Castle, various National Trust properties etc.

The pros: The site is in a beautiful location and really nicely laid out. It could accommodate many more pitches but doesn't and this gives it a really spacious feel and the pitch sizes are lovely and roomy. There are pitches with or without EHU? There are lots a rules which you are told when you arrive, but that's no bad thing and keeps the site calm friendly. By 10pm the site is silent, so if you want a good night's sleep you'll get it here.

Another pro in my opinion is that there is no WIFI and 4G is non-existent and 3G extremely intermittent. It was good for adults and kids alike to to take a break from it all.

The satisfactorily: toilets and showers are fine. They're clean and in a portacabin. A building would be nicer but these are fine.

The cons: the washing up area needs improving. It would benefit from a shelter as currently it is open to the elements so washing up can only be done when not raining. Also there are two sinks but only one has a draining board. Washing up without a draining board is tricky.

The site advertises being child friendly and there is a nice green space for the children to play in but it would maybe benefit from a swing or two.

The price of the site is quite steep considering the lack of on site facilities, but I suppose you pay a premium for peace and quiet.

Overall, however, a lovely little site.

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: DamianT 4 reviews from this member

Great location - very quiet and seemingly in the middle of nowhere but close to a number of National Trust properties in the area and Warwick Castle. Basic campsite but with well maintained facilities - a couple of hot showers, a toilet block and outdoor washing up facilities.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Elaine-n-Trev 28 reviews from this member

On the positive side: the field was well drained, grass cut and evidently well maintained. The pitch was flat, (we had a hard standing pitch) so no need for ramps. Easy access to the site and well situated for 'doing stuff' in the area. The facilities were clean.

The negative aspects for us at least, is that the price of £23 per night for two adults and a dog was far too expensive for the facilities on offer (or not). No WIFI and no clothes washing facilities. The somewhat tired porta-cabins which housed the toilets and showers are basic with evidence of wear and tear eg. Rust, wallpaper coming unstuck and so forth; the flusher in the first toilet didn't seem to work properly and took ages to flush (in the ladies). The drinking water tap for general use has no effective pressure, so takes ages to fill up even a small container.

The facilities for washing dishes has no shelter, consequently if it rains - which happens more often than not in the UK, it's not possible to use them.

As a comparison, we normally stay at a more established site in Stratford which charges (same period) £18 per night (50p to use the showers), but showers and toilets in a brick building with good quality toilet paper! The dish washing facilities are under cover as are the clothes washing facilities. (We would have stayed there, but they were fully booked).

I think that porta-cabins are not a good substitute for proper campsite facilities, certainly not at those “mid-season” prices. It’s not clear why they charge for dogs, the majority of campsites that we have been to, do not.

Finally, I suggest that they could consider reconfiguring the pitches in the field perhaps setting them out in such a way to reduce the “trek” to the loos and even build hedges to separate out areas in order to offer more privacy for campers.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 84 reviews from this member

This was the best site we could sensibly find allowing us to combine a trip into the NEC for The Manics and a visit to Warwick. The site is very rural and provides good camping basics. There are clean toilets and showers and good, well spaced pitches. There are plenty of rules. None of which should need listing really but I had to agree with them all, especially the one about dogs on leads. They were enforced too! Thank you Simon.

The pub (5 minutes walk) is a gem. Even better, no phones, no kids, no food, no dogs (not even on a lead) just good beer!

A great site that did everything we wanted.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Carrodh2016 1 review from this member

Visited for 1 night on way south from Scotland to our new life in Italy. Met by owner on arrival at site, although they had already sent most helpful email with pitch number prior to our arrival. Excellent site on working farm so handy for us as one of us grew up on farm. Remember everyone, keep dogs on leads as this is not a playground. Our 2 Cairn Terriers were most at home.

The travelling directions were excellent but my husband thought he knew best so we ended up towing a twin axle caravan with 19ft MPV tow vehicle up Warwick HIgh Street on Saturday afternoon and then through the narrow lanes to the site. Fortunately we didn't appear to have upset too many locals but, fellow campers, do follow the helpful advice from the owners. More helpful advice from owner regarding evening places to visit. Had a nice meal in Tom Of The Woods Pub, suggest campers try to book table in advance as busy. Sorry we missed out on local pork pie but ate very well at a good price and friendly staff despite being busy with diners and the regular bar patrons. Dog friendly beer garden if you wish to eat or imbibe there with your four legged friends. We left our 2 in car however. Saw owners again later in lovely little pub he had earlier advised, dogs not allowed as it is a bit tight for space, no problem for us, and owner did say that we wouldn't get a pint of English Ale where we were going in Italy. He was right again but we are coping fine here without.

Facilities on site are simple but more than adequate and clean. Hook up for our caravan was very handy. Site might be a bit busy in high season but we visited very early April. It might be worth mentioning to campers that this is a farm field so if weather is inclement then be very careful when towing on wet grass as you might get stuck. I am sure the owners would resolve any such problems however.

Plenty hot water on the Sunday morning of our departure. Excellent directions again from owner the day before for our departure to motorway which husband listened to this time. The site is a short trip off the main motorway system but worth it for the tranquillity offered. We had hoped to stay closer to the motorway system as we had a 1500 mile trip to cover but very glad we found Mousley Farm. We would have missed out on the evening dining and lovely little pub if not and as a last stay in the UK the site shone much higher than any of the sites we stayed in through Scotland, England, France and Italy. Shame we have left the UK as would love to have visited again.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Esman 6 reviews from this member

We used this site for a ‘shake-down’ first trip of the season, only an hour from home, so we could nip back if we’d forgotten anything ! (We hadn’t). Must admit we found the owner’s website with its comprehensive rules section a little disconcerting but having met Simon and understanding his desire for visitors to enjoy their stay without disruptive behaviour from others, our worries were unfounded.

The site is a large field, sloping gently down from the road with generous spaces between the pitches. The toilet and shower blocks were very well kept while we were there; an important point for a well-run site. There was plenty of information on local attractions and Simon recommended the ‘Tom O the Wood’ for their food and he was spot on. There are plenty of other hostelries nearby as well.

Warwick is just down the road, with plenty to see and do.

There had been a fair amount of rain during the week before our stay and it rained every night while we were there, so the ground became somewhat ‘claggy’ and we were a little concerned about getting of the pitch. However, the size of the field means there is plenty of room for a straight-out takeoff and a swing around to the gate, where there is hard standing. Simon had said he would be available to help with his Land Rover if necessary but, happily, no problem.

Having found Mousley House Farm we’ll certainly be back for quick weekends away.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wittymacs 6 reviews from this member

We had booked our pitch in advance and were surprisingly told we could not arrive before 2pm. This is the first time we have not been able to arrive at a site by 12pm at the latest - in over 12 years of caravanning/camping. It was a lovely weekend and we had wanted to make the most our time away. We actually arrived at the site at 1. 30pm and found not all pitches to be taken and it seems we could have arrived earlier after all which was so frustrating and more than a little annoying! Another annoyance was the fact that we had to be off site by 12 noon the following day - fair enough but we did politely ask if we could stay longer to make the most of the weather. We were told we could but had to unhook the electric otherwise we would be charged another 1/2 a day. We did stay and duly unhooked but were approached by the owner who said there was a missunderstaning and that we could leave our van later but only if we were not with it! The only electric we were likely to use would have been to boil the kettle and this penny pinching attitude seemed so unnecessary and has made us think twice about returning to an otherwise lovely rural site

The location is ideal for Hatton World, Warwick, Sutton Coldfield and many other places bothe town and country. The facilities are quite basic but clean. Something we did note, but it did not affect us, was that the outdoor washing up area was only supplied with cold water. Whilst in the toilet block I spoke to a camper who was 'pinching' some hot water as she was finding it difficult to wash up greasy pots in only cold water. Taking all things into consideration we felt the amount per night charged - £21 in our case with 2 adults and 1 child in a touring caravan was on the steep side and we shall look for better value another time.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Talk2et 4 reviews from this member

A basic campsite with stunning views.

The family are in the third year of setting their campsite up. A toilet block with showers (hot and powerful) are now in situ.

I was a tad disappointed that you could only wash up with cold water but I'm sure that will be rectified with time.

I'd advise to read your email otherwise you may need to move your tent. Tents are located in the sheltered section of the site.

Awesome location for so many beautiful places and there were some amazing sunsets too. We will return.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sarahmcquaid 2 reviews from this member

Just back from a fantastic stay at Mousley House Farm Campsite -- our first time and won't be the last.

Lovely quiet well-maintained site, super clean toilets, lovely big shower rooms with plenty of space, well-drained site that didn't get muddy or waterlogged despite torrential rain.

Incredibly handy for Warwick Castle (note that if you use Tesco vouchers you get to use the fast-track gate, highly recommended -- we spent a full day there, loads to see and do, including the most entertaining birds-of-prey show we've seen, and we've seen quite a few!), Shakespeare houses (5-House Family Pass is great value, kids especially loved Mary Arden's Farm where we spent a full day - tempted to return at Easter as the pass lasts 12 months), Kenilworth Castle and lots of walks -- the 'Enjoying the Beauty of Berkswell' walk on the AA website is an especially good one, great directions and just up the road from the site).

Nice kid- and dog-friendly pubs nearby -- our favourite was the Fleur de Lys. Thanks so much!

Previous     36 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Warwickshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


643 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019