Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Cross Keys Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Cambridgeshire > Huntingdon > The Cross Keys Certificated Site Reviews

The Cross Keys Certificated Site
Molesworth
Huntingdon
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
PE28 0QF
Tel: 01832 710283
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 10 Reviews
                10/10 from 10 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Charli 1 review from this member

 Hi enjoyed my stay at the cross keys. Friendly team

Adequate facilities and will have to wait for an excellent meal they serve up. Due of course to COVID of course.

Hope to be back very soon. Regards Charles. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Tango55 20 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this campsite for just one night to break up a journey to Felixstowe and because it was located just off the A14 it was an ideal location not too far off the beaten track.

We decided to have a meal in the pub which due to their excellent choice of menu and fair prices decided to try their 8oz. And 12 oz. Rump steak with chips etc. Which due to the huge servings we couldn't finish the meal but the food is excellent and highly recommended.

The campsite was so quiet with no traffic noise, all you could hear were the chirping birds so if you want a place of peace and tranquillity this is the ideal place to come. We were that delighted we decided to stop again for 2 nights on the return journey home and sample the food once again. We had a Gammon steak on the Saturday evening which again was excellent and as the owner said there was no need to rush off the next morning we stayed for Sunday lunch before departure.

We enjoyed it that much that we will return again in the future even though it's 75 miles away from home as the bar staff were so polite and friendly along with other campsite visitors who eat in the pub on a regular basis.

Many thanks to Steve and all the bar staff who made our stay so enjoyable which at 12 per night inclusive of electric hook up was very competitive to say the least. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cheryl n Rob 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 2 nights on our way home.

What a great find!

Very friendly and professional owners.

Huge lovely field to pitch in and Steven went out of his way to make sure you have enough cables for the hook up as they're situated in one place.

Lovely pub. The home made pizza is gorgeous!

We were made to feel very welcome and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

We will be back!

We didn't use the toilet block as we had our own. No showers on site. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Johniw27 6 reviews from this member

 We returned to this site on our way to North Norfolk as it is about the half way point of a six hour drive from our home in North Wales, but decided on this occasion to make our stay over three days rather than the one night of the first visit in 2014.

Oh! how things have changed. Although the amenities have not changed much the site has become much more popular and we met other caravanners who either left their vans on a seasonal basis or, like us, were in transit elsewhere.

Steve and Frances (his Mum) and other staff work very hard in both the Pub and Caravan Site and you can expect an enjoyable stay with them. The food and real ales in the pub are especially good and locals are friendly and helpful.

Our Irish Setter, Henry, loved his break here and there are plenty of local dog walks. For the first time in my life I saw Red Kites flying above us and other wild life is in abundance.

We, hopefully, will visit the Cross Keys again this year (2017).

Many thanks Steve and Frances 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Shamor 1 review from this member

 We stayed for one night on 2nd July a midday stop on way to Brighton with our 5 dogs, and another stopover on Fri 8th July, fantastic food, owners couldn't do enough for us, fab place, will be back next year.

Sheryl @ dianne from Leeds 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Firstmarket 6 reviews from this member

 Brilliant site.

Steve is very attentive and helpful. We booked for 4 nights, staying in the motorhome the first day then leaving it to go to my father's house in Stevenage. Steve charged 9 for the first night with EHU then 6 for each night without EHU.

When we came returned on the Saturday he had a busy field with a rally but he still managed to put us back onto EHU just to charge us up.

Toilets were old but very clean.

We had a meal which was a brilliantly home cooked meal by his Mother - Francis.

Even his Timothy Taylors - a good Yorkshire ale was great.

We will come back again 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Richard19540 24 reviews from this member

 What a superb little site. No hook ups or facilities but this was expected as I had phoned ahead to book. 1 fairly large field next to a nice pub with a friendly landlord.

We decided to eat in the pub and were glad we did. The food was delicious. I chose the 'mammoth mixed grill' and it would have fed 3 people with normal appetites but I almost managed to finish. My wife had sea bream which was equally delicious and again the portion was huge. We also had 3 1/2 pints between us.

When we asked for the bill I thought he had left something off as it was only 36 for both meals, the drinks, and the site fee but it was correct.

The site fee was only 6. 00. If anybody finds better value I would like to know where. Thoroughly recommended. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Johniw27 6 reviews from this member

 We were looking for a suitable stop off point of our journey from Wrexham and the North Norfolk Coast and chanced upon this site via the uk campsite web site. The site is located in the charming village of Molesworth, about 5 minutes drive from the A14, between Kettering and Huntington.

We arrived at the site in the late evening and were immediately impressed by the large open but well manicured field adjoining the village pub, the Cross Keys. Mine host Steve (I think) met us at the entrance and gave us the option of selecting our own spot on this large, gently sloping field and asked if we required an electric hook up.

We gratefully accepted the offer and very quickly were given an access point. Once set up we went into the pub which seemed to be the focal point of the community. The locals were very friendly and the variety of ales on offer and the wide range of food proved very tempting and was very much enjoyed.

The site is in its infancy and still being developed, however, the toilets which are currently located in a Porta Cabin style building are clean and perfectly acceptable and there is a walled area where all utilities are located.

Our 12 months old puppy enjoyed the dog walks immediately located next to the site and the stroll through the very quiet village comprising modern housing and thatched properties by the small stream which runs through the village.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Cross Keys and are alredy making plans to return. The cost of the stay which included electric hook up was just 9. 00 for the night 


Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: N A B 4 reviews from this member

 Apparently ours was the first van on the site this year!

We were welcomes at the gate by the pub landlord who pointed us into the huge field and told us we could pitch anywhere we wanted. A warm and friendly welcome.

The site is flat at the front and gently sloping at the back - nothing we couldn't cope with. Facilities are basic, but all that we needed - drinking water, both chemical and waste water points and a rubbish bin.

We ate at the pub that evening and would recommend it for good pub grub.

All in all, for 5 a night, we'd thoroughly recommend it. Good site and friendly/helpful landlord. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Camp King 1 review from this member

 Lovely warm welcome in this country pub. First year of the campsite and we will definitely be staying again.

Fantastic food. Highly recommend the Sunday lunch. Chemical disposal point but no other facilities at present. This does not deter from the friendly welcome we received and the very helpful Steve who was full of advice on places to go.

Our kids loved it here and there were plenty of dog walking routes.

Kimbolton karting track is nearby and we'll be returning for the next event there.

Near to Grafham Water which has excellent water sport facilities.

Is a must for anybody looking for tranquillity. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Cross Keys Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Cross Keys Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Cross Keys Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Huntingdon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2579 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement