Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Oakley Farm Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > Berkshire > Site Reviews

Oakley Farm Caravan Park
Wash Water
Newbury
Berkshire   (Browse area)
RG20 0LP
Tel: 01635 36581
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 30
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 59 Reviews
                9/10 from 59 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  59 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jonni g 1 review from this member

This is a little gem of a campsite near Newbury.

Lots of things to see and do around the area.

Very well positioned for a stopover enroute down south or even heading London way.

Don't expect Club specifications. This is a rural campsite with all the basic amenities you need.

The warden will help you out with almost anything you need.

You'd better have a good sense of humour as Mick loves to tell a good joke and have a bit of banter with you.

Probably one of the most entertaining and knowledgeable wardens I have ever met. Thanks Mick for helping us out and making our stay very pleasant whilst we stayed here for 4 days.

We would love to see better water pressure in the shower rooms. But hey. For the price you pay here it's all well worth it.

Highly recommended by us both.

John and Lorraine. Worcester

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LucySky 13 reviews from this member

Great campsite! We arrived very late in the evening, but the owner gave us a very warm welcome nevertheless. Stayed only for one night but would definitely return. The tent pitch we had did even have a table and the toilet facilities were very clean.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Vintage caravaning 1 review from this member

Lovely little camp site. Friendly staff. Toilets and shower were clean and plenty of hot water when I had a shower. Nice big pitches. Very quiet and relaxing. I'm definitely going back. No shop on site but an ice cream van came to the site, while we were there. They also had a tennis court.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Phillynomates 4 reviews from this member

This is a handy site for visiting the Newbury Motorhome Show which we did. Found it easily and it has good access. It may be the last year that dogs will be allowed on site and I got the feeling that the farmer who owns the site is now very anti-dog as they are not even allowed to be walked around the site on a lead. Also, we were pitched by the entrance barrier and every time it was opened it fell back down with a loud clonk, other sites have used rubber or foam to deaden the sound so have never noticed this before.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Hector Dog 4 reviews from this member

What a lovely site! We enjoyed every minute of our short stay, from the friendly and helpful reception on arrival to the cheery wave on departure. The site, very conveniently situated just off the A34, is beautifully maintained with level grass pitches which are very generous in size. The shower & loo facilities are excellent. There are lovely walks down the lane through nearby woods and we wished we'd had longer to explore. Thanks for a great stay!

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Steve_UK 3 reviews from this member

Just a single night stopover on the way to Wales, for which this site was very conveniently situated.

Obviously no motorhome dump point, as correctly noted in the facilities, but that wasn't an issue for us.

We arrived at around 7pm and were greeted at the entrance. As we wanted to go out and get something for dinner, it was suggested that we book in and go straight out so that the gentleman at reception could be sure to be there to let us back in.

It is a nice quiet site, and the facilities are very clean and perfectly adequate. I particularly like the 'normal' mixer tap on the shower so that it doesn't keep turning off!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Woodcroft 3 reviews from this member

Chose a different site

One of the most Ill kept, rundown sites we have stayed on with a touring caravan.

It is what it says, a farm site. The entrance to the farm and field used for camping is full of ruts and potholes. There weren't any designated pitches just grass or rough stone that you pitched onto that was within reach of an electric point.

We felt that the atmosphere was that of a Boy Scouts camping ground with lots or rules and regulations to be obeyed.

You cannot get onto the site unless you pay for your stay in cash, no cards or cheques accepted.

The very old fashioned toilet/shower block gets a cursory clean in the morning so using the facility later in the day is not a pleasant experience. While we were there the ladies was without toilet rolls and the gents without hand soap for a full day, the gents hand soap was never replenished.

Arrivals are up to 2000hrs though we were disturbed by a Motorhome being sited at 2230 hours.

Most of the site is taken up with old caravans that appear to be there permanently or pup tents. The majority of the guests during our stay were European travellers and cyclists.

There are not any dog walking facilities despite having to pay extra for them. You cannot walk around the field with them. There are not any children's facilities or a play area.

The only plus for his site is the warden, Mick, one of the friendliest, most accommodating and helpful wardens we have come across.

The arrogant man who introduced himself as the site owner treats guests with utter contempt taking the, 'I own it, I can do or say as I please!' approach to customer service

Chose a place that is pleased to have you stay, certainly not this tired, miserable site.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Looby Loo 1 review from this member

Have stopped here a few times as overnighters during the last few years. Must say although the site was fine before, this year it is vastly improved. Toilets and showers very clean and now has number plate recognition as well. Wardens friendly and helpful. Small Sainsburys nearby. A good site at a good price.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rob Burton 6 reviews from this member

We have used this site a number of times for stop overs, it is brilliant for the Portsmouth Ferries. The facilities have improved every time we have been. It's not for those who want all singing and dancing, but for a warm welcome, a well situated site and a sensible price it is excellent.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chris Thorp 1 review from this member

A very good, near level site, some hard / some grass pitches which are fine - a slight incline easily adjusted to - with VG facilities. Very reasonably priced.

Easy to find up the A343 from the bottom of the A34 bypass, turn right immediately after the building works into Penwood Lane (Road Name Board on the one side only), then follow clear signs to the campsite.

Spacious pitches, quite site, Toilets, showers, washing up facilities plentiful and clean. Good water and electricity supplies.

Dogs on leads on site, but only 2 minutes along the adjacent lane to a very large field where we were able to give our dog a good run, even into an adjacent wood. If you go through the gate at the top of the field, turn left and follow the lane. This can take you round in a loop for a much longer walk. Plenty of other walks in the nearby Pen woods across the A34 Bypass.

Nothing for Kids to do on site, except that you bring games etc. With you.

Good local pubs - good shopping in Newbury, plenty to do in the nearby area. Good friendly helpful folk on site.

Previous     59 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Berkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3204 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.0938