Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Little Stryne Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Borrowash > Little Stryne Certificated Site Reviews

Little Stryne Certificated Site
Station Rd
Borrowash
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE72 3LJ
Tel: 07776 381237
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 5 vans plus tents
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 17 Reviews
                9/10 from 17 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Lavinia27 1 review from this member

Excellent campsite with secure and locked gate. The host was very friendly and gave advice on where to visit in the area. There was no grey water waste for motorhome without using a pail. The other facilities were good. Cost was reasonable including electric
via mobile

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Betsy boo 1 review from this member

Love this site keep returning time after time. Right at the side of the river which is ideal for my husband as he is a fisherman. Short walk into the village where there is shops and takeaways. Restaurant just up the road. Brenda is so welcoming and friendly couldn't ask for more.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: StewartJ 3 reviews from this member

Absolute peach of a site, tricky to find but worthwhile. Brenda the site owner is a wonderful lady always smiling and ready to help, a font of knowledge for all things local. Hook ups are 16amp, we found tv and phone reception very good, Elsan point is modern and very clean. Toilet block is as said a bit tired but kept very clean. Wonderful riverbank walks over the small wobbly bridge Aand at right time of year the Blackberries are large and in abundance. Highly recommend but booking essential

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: UKreplay 16 reviews from this member

Water on 3 sides of site, relaxing, friendly, secure.

Brenda is lovely ( owner ), knowledgable about the area and the fishing ( 3. 50 day ticket ).

Toilets are basic, I presume there are more men's because a local fishing club can use the rivers. However I never saw anyone fishing, maybe because we were there mid week.

Will revisit and would recommend.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stuart l 88 reviews from this member

We've just returned from a three night break at Little Stryne. Wasn't too sure about it before we went, but generally came home quite happy with our visit.

Access is slightly confused, being down a drive immediately adjacent to traffic lights at a single file bridge, then through the trees past a forbidding notice announcing prosecution of unauthorised entrants (this has been put up by the adjacent property owner who resents the presence of the site), and then to two solid metal gates. Fortunately Brenda will be there to let you in and give you the gate lock code.

There are twenty numbered pitches - eight in a hedge screened section on the right, and the rest in a large field to the left. About half appear to have EHU's. All pitched are on grass.

Facilities are provided in a former building site portacabin facility - three sets for men, but only one cubicle for ladies. They were always clean and tidy whilst we are there. There are no showers, or wash-up sinks.

The site is well placed being only five minutes walk to Borrowash shops - including a Co-op supermarket, several fast food outlets, a chemist, an indian restaurant, a travel agent and close by the Wilmot Arms pub. (It does NOT serve food). Bus stops to Nottingham direction, and Derby are also there - with frequent buses available into the evening as well as the daytime.

Elvaston Castle Country Park is within easy walking distance, providing a pleasant place to stroll around and have a cuppa or snack.

Despite the proximity of the main railway line, the site is very quiet in both daytime and at night. TV reception is 'iffy' but booster points are available on the hook-up posts - if you have a long enough co-ax cable.

There is not always a site presence, but whilst we were there the owner also had his caravan sited, whilst Brenda did come to the site quite regularly to site campers and to collect pitch fees.

The large access gates, which are kept padlocked, are a pain, but do give a sense of security to this oasis so close to major cities.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gary21 1 review from this member

This is a little jem of a site, very quite and surrounded on three sides by a river, Brenda the warden can't do enough for you nothing is too much trouble, if you need help with anything she's always there gate's are always locked for security and safety, no showers on site yet but they are working towards them plenty of hot water in toilets though, will definitely be going back again and again it's only 25 minutes from us and its open all year.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jojobo01 13 reviews from this member

Stayed here for one night on our way back from Sussex. What can we say nanny B or Barbara lady on site deserves a medal. High security gates all locked and need a code to get in and out. Only basic toilet here one for males and one for females. We used our van with no problems, shops are close by and we got fish and chips, beautiful setting with little river at the back and really is lovely. Barbara gave our children ice lollies and biscuits and was so lovely you really are a joy. Thank you so much even though we only had a one night stay our children loved it. Thank you.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jncjec 2 reviews from this member

Great site - larger than we expected. Secure site on the edge of town - locked main gate with keycode. Very handy for shops excellent Indian restaurant(Rajni's), and a short walk from Elvaston Country Park. Near bus route into Derby; cycle and walking paths from the site. Easy to find too.

Lots of families there when we were there, so some early noise. But a great place for children (no playground, but plenty of open space) though water all around perhaps difficult with toddlers.

Only drawback was only one women's toilet for quite a large number of units (didn't count but maybe 15).

Brenda was a very helpful resident manager.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lesleyprytherch 1 review from this member

Just got back from a short break to little stryne campsite. All I can say is fantastic. Beautiful scenery & site. You couldn't ask for a better host, she was on hand to answer any questions. Very clean toilets. Very close to the shops & the beautiful Elvaston Castle. A great base for Derby or Nottingham. Would definitely use again.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kelvindog3 7 reviews from this member

Lovely site and Brenda was lovely rang at last minute made us welcome well run quiet and peaceful and well kept. Other campers friendly also good for fishing and walks. Toilets clean and have a sink but a shower even if just one would make this site but would still go back again but only 13 per night fab. Thank you

Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Borrowash      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4512 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019