Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Loch Ness Shores Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Inverness > Loch Ness Shores Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Loch Ness Shores Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Monument Park
Lower Foyers
Inverness
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV2 6YH
Tel: 024 7767 0642
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 99
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 80 Reviews
                10/10 from 80 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  80 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Big Frank 29 reviews from this member

Great site with fantastic facilities and friendly staff. The location goes without saying as fantastic.

If you are in a longer motorhome or towing the route from Inverness is better than Fort Augustus, but it is worth the effort!
via mobile

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Paul@Bank 130 reviews from this member

Site located directly by South side of Loch Ness in remote location. Access road single track with passing places 22 miles from Fort Augustus (45/50 minute travel in large unit!) and similar distance with equal narrow road issues from Inverness?

However having battled the narrow road the site is very nice with modern amenities. Very friendly and helpful staff and a well-stocked shop including daily papers. The site has two levels, the lower level having easy access to the toilets, reception and shop but no Loch views, the higher having the views, but a bit of a trek to the toilets etc. No 3G/4G phone reception and Wi-Fi limited to the reception area, plans are in place to extend the service.

Large hardstanding and grass pitches, each EHU points have water.

Plenty of woodland walks directly from site and direct access for kayaks/boats on Loch from site.

Overall nice site, but it is in a very isolated location.

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Justinm 10 reviews from this member

Loch Ness Shores is an exceptional site, it is beautifully laid out over two levels, the pitches are a good size and the facilities are absolutely first class.

It has to be said that getting to the site is a bit of a challenge if coming from Fort Augustus, there are some steep gradients to climb, single track roads and tight turns - its all very beautiful though. The route down from Inverness is easier to navigate, quite a lot of the journey is on a single track military road, however there are plenty of passing places along the way and the level of traffic is light.

If you are visiting with a caravan, I would suggest approaching from the North as it is much easier.

Our pitch had 16amp hookup and a fresh water tap which was very handy, there was a MHS outside the front gate with fresh water, grey water drainage and easy access to the bins.

The shower block is stunning, an eco-friendly building with all new showers, toilets and a few cubicles with toilet, handbasin and shower (more of these in the ladies than in the men's apparently). Everything was kept spotlessly clean.

The CDP was in an outdoor covered area with a handy parking spot for the motorhome as you are leaving for the day.

By the reception, there is an Airstream cafe, with seating area adjacent to the Loch, however we didn't try anything from there.

We loved this site, but found going out for the day in the motorhome a bit of a nuisance due to the location of the site.

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lornamd 12 reviews from this member

Fabulous.

We called and booked 2 nights in spec because another site let us down - it was meant to be! Lyn and Donald Rumsfeld a really lovely site.

Firstly the drive to the site, along the south shore of Loch Ness is very pretty if a little narrow and twisty in places!

On arrival the instructions were: find an empty pitch, park at any angle to get view you want and enjoy your stay.

Pitches are on 2 levels, many have a view of Loch Ness and all the hard standing pitches are roomy and flat.

Reception currently has a small shop area and some books to borrow/swap, free Wi-fi and a coffee machine with tables and chairs.

A new bigger reception is almost completed - due to be open for Easter (April 2019) - which will allow for a bigger cafe area.

The facilities are some of the best we have found, modern, clean, warm and roomy.

I have no hesitation in recommending the site and if we are up this way again we will return.
via mobile

Date of Visit: January 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Pmajor 5 reviews from this member

Beautiful location as the name says right on the side of Loch Ness.

A bit of a pain to get to with a big Motorhome, as approx 13 miles of single track roads from Inverness end and 6 miles from Fort Augustus, although plenty of passing places, and amazing views to keep you interested.

Good hard standing, flat, decent sized pitches with a water supply on the hook up post, and excellent heated shower block and toilets. Small shop in reception and really helpful staff.

One of the few sites in this area that is open all year round. The others are missing a trick as there were lots of Motorhome and campervans looking for sites when we were travelling around the Scottish highlands in the first week of January.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dartgirl81 23 reviews from this member

Stayed here in our mo ho.

Access - after Fort Augustus you are on a single track road for about 6 miles with passing places. I can see why new arrivals are strictly after 2. 00pm.

Checking in was easy, and we were told to choose our own pitch. After we had set up 2 hire mo ho's pitched in front of us and duly set up a huge washing line tied between the vans and hung all their washing on it, what an eyesore, but nothing was said.

The site was like a dust bowl due to lack of rain, and some people were driving round the site too fast causing huge amounts of dust.

We had a good tv signal, but no 4g etc, we have mifi but again this wasn't any good. You can use the free wifi in the reception area but this was painfully slow

The showers etc look very modern, but due to the poor drainage in the wet room's it turned the place into a paddling pool. The shower in the wet rooms is right next to the toilet, so when you have a shower the toilet gets drenched as well. Perhaps they should have a shower curtain to stop this.

We tried the food from the airstream, small portions and just ok.

The site was looked after and kept clean.

Not sure we'd go back.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Soozndave 6 reviews from this member

Nice site on the side of Loch Ness. We were shown to our pitch and asked to pitch 6 meters from our neighbours tent, which we roughly measured out and started to pitch, the attendant then appeared and said we were slightly more than 6 mtrs and could we move! We are talking half a meter here, but hassle factor of unpegging and shifting a tent riled me a bit, if they are that fussy they should mark out bays.

It was really rocky under the grass so rock pegs are a must here. Other than that its a lovely site, the toilet block is a walk down a steep gravel path so would recommend the lower level of the park if this would cause an issue.

Small play park for the kids.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Poppiepiechucker 3 reviews from this member

A lovely site in beautiful surroundings. We were tenting so opted for the upper tier of the camp site. The pitch was lovely and flat with great TV and radio reception (the world cup was on at the time!).

There were two loos which had to service all of the top level of campers so they were generally very well used and busy, but very very clean indeed. There is a small shop, and food is available for breakfast and early evenings as a take away option.

We sat on the shores of Loch Ness and just took in the wonderful views of the loch and hills. Reasonable site costs too. Inverness is about a 20 mins drive away.

The staff were very interested in any issues etc (not that we had any) and were always more than happy to help. All in all a very nice visit indeed.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nightowl06 6 reviews from this member

Booked In for 6 nights.

Lovely site peaceful, good view of Loch but cant see from site not unless your lucky to find a good pitch. Showers great plenty hot water, very clean.

There's a diner serves good food especially the curry.

Only draw back is road to get to site. 7 miles of single track with passing places. Ok if your not belting on.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Paulgdolman 3 reviews from this member

Beautiful relaxed site split over two levels with hard standing and grass on the upper level, plenty of space and a very relaxed feel to the site whilst we were there with some lovely loch side walks. Nice reception with free wifi and a comfortable indoor searing area with a small shop.

Facilities clean and warm and not too busy even when the site had plenty of units staying very friendly staff.

Very narrow access road with passing places for 5 or 6 miles but not busy.

Previous     80 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4638 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019