Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Loch Ness Shores Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Inverness > Loch Ness Shores Camping And Caravanning Club Site > Reviews

Loch Ness Shores Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Monument Park
Lower Foyers
Inverness
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV2 6YH
Tel: 024 7767 0642
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 99
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 96 Reviews
                9/10 from 96 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  96 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: December 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Fortsmithcastor 18 reviews from this member

 Stayed over the new year period, was suprised how busy it was!

It's a well laid out site, and the staff are very helpful.

Excellent dog walks straight from the site,

Didn't use the facilities as we use our own. 


Date of Visit: September 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Sukri2 1 review from this member

 Beautiful location on the shores of loch Ness, pet friendly, while we were there we noticed quite a few of the campers had dogs too.

Clean accommodation, facilities are top class.

Perfect location to explore the surrounding area.

The staff are friendly and helpful.

Will definitely stay again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jo Treby 30 reviews from this member

 Firstly the campsite - Beautiful setting by the loch side. Small shop with basic essentials and gifts.

Tea coffee and cakes also for sale. Shame the larger cafe appeared to be permanently closed. Good sized pitches ours was fully serviced at a very reasonable price.

Toilet and shower blocks. Disabled not locked so any one could use it. All the usual necessary facilities for the disabled, nice and clean. Main showers, however, not enough of them a second shower block would ease the pressure. My husband had to wait on two occasions to have a shower. Dread to think what it would be like at the height of the season when the site is full.

Staff-very welcoming and took us to our pitch. Gave us all the information we needed for our stay.

General comments-road access can be a little tricky due to the narrow, long, winding road with passing places. Our motorhome is only 6. 7 metres and we had no difficulties would not have liked trying to get a larger unit or car with caravan down there. However the club does ask that you don't arrive before 2pm.

Plenty places to go walking with a cafe just up the hill in Foyers.

Would recommend this site for a peaceful and beautiful setting. Would go again if in the area. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Paulmold 98 reviews from this member

 I can only say how disappointed we were with this site. The drive to it, 16 miles on 'single track road with passing places' is ok until you meet the local bus.

We were looking forward to not having to cook as the C&CC sites book says it has an on site cafe/ bistro. It does but it hasn't been open this year, it's sitting there fully furnished but unused, how stupid when there is a captive audience.

The site book also says it has WiFi, albeit not club WiFi but a third party WiFi, it doesn't, it's been removed.

The site book says motor boats and rowing boats can be hired, they can't the independent operator died, the boats are there but as they don't belong to the club they can't be used.

Views of the loch from pitches it says, all the pods have the views, only about 4 pitches have 'partial views'.

The site was privately owned and managed by the C&CC and then sold to the club in August 2021 with what was supposed to be a seamless transfer, so they've take a complete year to do nothing. I'm sure the sites book went to print before the sale so may have been accurate at the time. The entry on the clubs app still shows the diner on site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: M & G On Tour 25 reviews from this member

 Second visit to this lovely site. Situated right along the shores of Loch Ness. Beautiful views across the loch. Since we were here last it has now been fully taken over by the Camping and Caravan club so we were worried it might have changed from our last visit when it was run by a local couple. But we were greeted on arrival by very friendly Ian and found him and the other site staff to be very friendly.

Ian helped us choose the best pitch from the available ones. We had a Super service pitch and it was worth the extra.

We were in-between the little camp pods up the top part of the site. A small school group was there the first night but we had no trouble with noise.

Main issue (apart from some bad weather). Is the poor phone reception at the site and there is no site WiFi. We even had issues getting our own mobile data to work and kept loosing calls whilst in conversations.

The amenities block is brilliant. Very clean, has a few large showers with toilet and sink facilities inside. Outside washing up stations with overhead cover and laundry room. And they have outdoor washing lines.

Nice, but steep, walk through the forest from the site to Upper Foyers. About a mile. Nice waterfall on the way up. We had a quick meal in the Craigdarroch Arms Hotel in Upper Foyers. Limited lunch menus, sharing platters only but we'll worth it. Lovely staff. Lovely views across the loch and down into the campsite.

Shorter walk down to avoid the forest walk. Shame that the site's restaurant was closed while we were there. Would have been perfect for meals as there's limited selection locally if you haven't booked and don't mind the walk if you haven't got a car.

Bus into Inverness takes around 45 mins. Restricted times so plan ahead. Wasn't keen on the city the first time we were in the area but hoped it had improved. Sadly and with Covid having a massive impact on businesses and hospitality, it was quite sad in places.

We had a quick visit to the oldest house in Inverness, Abertarff House. National Trust property but is also free to non members. Very tiny, but interesting.

Ate at The Blackfriars pub, definitely recommend this. Googled for reviews on eateries in Inverness. This was one of the top pubs.

Drive out of the site can be a bit challenging. First 20 mins or so is single track but plenty of passing places. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Vangelina 41 reviews from this member

 Arrived to a wonderful warm, efficient and friendly welcome from warden Ian.

Site is stunning and pitches are well spaced out and large. The area is beautiful and there are lovely walks all around.

Linda the warden was also very helpful. The wash rooms were the poshest Iíve ever seen and immaculate.

Pity the bistro wasnít yet open as the pub/hotel is a mile away uphill although it is very nice when you get there with lovely views of the Loch.

We loved staying there and would definitely recommend. 


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Richar 9 reviews from this member

 No WiFi at all (really in 2022?). And no Vodafone signal. You will not be able to book your next stay while you are here.

Otherwise a very nice place with nice people. 


Date of Visit: February 2022 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note this site is now owned and managed by the Camping and Caravanning Club. 


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Sue6 38 reviews from this member

 The upside; Fabulous location, plenty of space between pitches, good facilities, a couple of walks to be found from this site. Dog friendly.

The downside; sorry nothing to report, unless not immediate pub that I found in walking distance, cafe on site. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Jennak 1 review from this member

 Stunning location. Super helpful and friendly staff.

Very good service. Beautiful facilities.

Excellent for dog walks. We will definitely return.

Thank you and well done. 
via mobile


Previous     96 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Loch Ness Shores Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Loch Ness Shores Camping And Caravanning Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Loch Ness Shores Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Inverness      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


51122 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement