Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cottage Of Content

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Warwickshire > Bidford On Avon > Cottage Of Content Reviews

Cottage Of Content
15 Welford Road
Barton
Bidford On Avon
Warwickshire   (Browse area)
B50 4NP
Tel: 01789 772279
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 25
Open: 1st March To 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 63 Reviews
                8/10 from 63 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  63 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mirand230449hii 1 review from this member

 Chilled out site, live music Saturday early evening,

All in all really good stay 😊

In a beautiful location close to Bidford-on-Avon, short walk across fields  
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Sarac124708mbh 1 review from this member

 Relaxed site, suitable for everyone and our daughter enjoyed the play area. Limited lunch menu due to current situation and campers/ caravanners eat outside (can collect food or have it delivered to your table).

Beer tent provided much needed shade while eating /drinking.

Located next to river and some lovely walks, including the short distance to Bidford Village, where we paddled in the river! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Woody9117789waw 1 review from this member

 The cleanliness of the shower room was poor, especially during this pandemic, they were cleaned once a day! Sanitizer ran out, toilet roll was empty for over 16hrs!

Only one shower/ toilet room open for the camp site, although the camp site was not busy, this was still an issue, especially as the pub clientele were using this facility as well!

Pitches were small! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Brian Cooke 1 review from this member

 Very well kept site. Basic amenities

But kept very clean, friendly staff and quiet location.

Would definitely recommend this site for anyone to stay.

Good pub as well. Thank you for an enjoyable break. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lissabuff 8 reviews from this member

 Visited this site prior to this August BH, pleasant enough site, no problems with over exuberant trippers and only one morning with kiddies up bright and early [7:30am]

Toilet/shower cubicles really need a bit of attention, with the doors ill fitting need some off the bottom to allow them to close properly and with a safer lock,

Extractor fan in the R/h unit was buzzing but doing nothing, gave it a tap and it started spinning into life and helped clear the fog!

lighting is also in need of attention with two bulbs in one of the units just not functioning at all,

Loo paper was not always replenished until a polite mention to the very obliging staff,

The water temperature in the shower in L/H unit was a bit open to fluctuation when someone was using the wash up unit around the side,

Pub itself served a good quality set of food and drink [ate there twice] easy access to dog walking area/ field and into Bidford on Avon village through this field which has a variety of shops and pubs, 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: TimCESmith 43 reviews from this member

 This site is a pleasantly sized field behind a delightful village pub. EHU pitches are arranged round the outside, whilst the centre dips to a muddy patch around which non-EHU campers can pitch as they please. Most of the pitches have a slight slope. Pitches 17 and 18 are the best: furthest from the entrance, they are flat and level, but well drained and you don't feel crowded there. They are directly under the three phase power lines however.

The ground is excellent: firm and grippy with no stones at all. The grass was beautifully mown and the clippings collected. EHU is good and reliable. Much has been made of the taps being above the sockets, but this wasn't the case on our bollard - maybe they've fixed that. Campfires are allowed, which is a rare treat.

The washing up sinks are weirdly small, but I found they work well. The dish drainers - oddly absent from most sites - are very handy. The shower rooms are not to my taste. The one on the left is fine, but the one on the right is whiffy, dark and wet. The curtain is black with mould and I always felt glad to escape. The pub loos are available when the pub is manned, not 24/7 as advertised. We never had to queue and there was always plenty of hot water.

We were there in May half term, so there were some loud families and very happy dogs frolicking. Somebody had a drone; children blew bubbles; there were noisy air pumps being used quite late, and evidently somebody had been fitting poor quality after-market car alarms to the pub regulars' cars. If you're curmudgeonly and want to get your grump on, there's plenty here to set you off. It was full of life and we loved it.

The access lane runs along the side of the pub and I imagine is quite tight if you're towing. It spits you out into the pub car park where there's a congregation of bins which are not equal to a bank holiday week end.

The local area is full of interest. It's very easy to get to the river and the charming walk to Bidford. The Budgens there is quite dear but perfect for campers, with everything you need including a very impressive booze section.

The pub staff are very helpful and polite, and the atmosphere is friendly. They don't harass you to pay your site fees or to get off site on the dot of x o'clock. The competition would be the Fish and Anchor a few miles down the river. We dropped in for lunch there and it seemed better organised than the Cottage but didn't have the charm or interest. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Track Tranter 2 reviews from this member

 Pro's-

Nice location and nice pub, can be very peaceful at times, nice walk through fields into Bidford, nice for kids & dog's

Con's-

Dog's barking and kid's screaming at 7:30am, this is due to inconsiderate owners/parent's. Lovely showers but dark, they need replacement bulbs (10 minutes & a couple of quid).

Stinking, rotting grass cutting's that just need bagging or covering till composted.

Water taps directly above EHU socket, Deadly!

EHU trip switch is located in a locked box, so can't be reset when the pub is closed? Luckily the next pitch was vacant and we plugged in to that one.

Some dogs had fouled, I presume without the owners knowledge, maybe the site owners should insist on dog lead's at all times if this persists? 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lea and Yvette 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely pub with friendly staff. Nice benches out the back to enjoy a pint in the sun and it's located in a lovely village. The site is tucked in behind the pub so not far to go for food and drinks and it was a very dog friendly pub.

However, the toilet facilities were horrendous - 2 wet rooms with toilets for 24 pitches plus however many more they cram in and one of them was out of order (one working toilet & shower between all those people). People were forever queuing to use the loo/shower. They need more loo's and showers as the current arrangement is rubbish. I used The toilets in the pub a few times but there were times when there was no paper or they hadn't been cleaned.

The pitches were very uneven and as other reviews have said, they really do cram you in. We were a party of 5 (mixture of caravans and tents) and we were allocated 2 pitches between us albeit 2 of the larger pitches but we still had to pay for 5. The water taps and drains were overgrown with weeds and nettles. As you drive in down the side of the pub the first thing you're faced with is overflowing bins that weren't emptied all weekend.

There were other dogs running around our tents at all times of the day & night and some of the other campers were massively inconsiderate - and there was never anyone from the management to assist. What's the point of site rules if there's no one the to monitor/uphold them.

Really disappointed as the site has great potential and embarrassingly it was me that suggested its location to our group. Will not be returning. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Huchon 4 reviews from this member

 Site does not follow 6 metre rule. Water tap 2 feet above electric plug in. Went home early because they let three caravans park behind me, one on my pitch 8 feet away. Tents every where 4 feet apart. Water drains covered in weeds. Grass not cut. No one came out to supervise pitching. Very poorly run. Trying to get too many people on one small site. Pitches too small to allow caravan with awning with safety distance apart. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Happyrat 1 review from this member

 Our second visit to this site, with very much improved facilities. When site is full as it was this time, the two loo and shower rooms not quite enough. However, it didn't spoil the stay.

The staff at the pub are friendly and helpful and the pub has a good atmosphere. It was very busy due to Easter but the food and service was good all weekend.

There are lovely walks and plenty to do in the vicinity and it makes a good base to explore the area.

We will definitely stay here again. 


Previous     63 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cottage Of Content child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cottage Of Content?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Cottage Of Content dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bidford On Avon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Warwickshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1454 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement