Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cottage Of Content

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Warwickshire > Site Reviews

Cottage Of Content
15 Welford Road
Barton
Bidford On Avon
Warwickshire   (Browse area)
B50 4NP
Tel: 01789 772279
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 25
Open: 1st March To 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 58 Reviews
                7/10 from 58 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  58 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: TimCESmith 32 reviews from this member

This site is a pleasantly sized field behind a delightful village pub. EHU pitches are arranged round the outside, whilst the centre dips to a muddy patch around which non-EHU campers can pitch as they please. Most of the pitches have a slight slope. Pitches 17 and 18 are the best: furthest from the entrance, they are flat and level, but well drained and you don't feel crowded there. They are directly under the three phase power lines however.

The ground is excellent: firm and grippy with no stones at all. The grass was beautifully mown and the clippings collected. EHU is good and reliable. Much has been made of the taps being above the sockets, but this wasn't the case on our bollard - maybe they've fixed that. Campfires are allowed, which is a rare treat.

The washing up sinks are weirdly small, but I found they work well. The dish drainers - oddly absent from most sites - are very handy. The shower rooms are not to my taste. The one on the left is fine, but the one on the right is whiffy, dark and wet. The curtain is black with mould and I always felt glad to escape. The pub loos are available when the pub is manned, not 24/7 as advertised. We never had to queue and there was always plenty of hot water.

We were there in May half term, so there were some loud families and very happy dogs frolicking. Somebody had a drone; children blew bubbles; there were noisy air pumps being used quite late, and evidently somebody had been fitting poor quality after-market car alarms to the pub regulars' cars. If you're curmudgeonly and want to get your grump on, there's plenty here to set you off. It was full of life and we loved it.

The access lane runs along the side of the pub and I imagine is quite tight if you're towing. It spits you out into the pub car park where there's a congregation of bins which are not equal to a bank holiday week end.

The local area is full of interest. It's very easy to get to the river and the charming walk to Bidford. The Budgens there is quite dear but perfect for campers, with everything you need including a very impressive booze section.

The pub staff are very helpful and polite, and the atmosphere is friendly. They don't harass you to pay your site fees or to get off site on the dot of x o'clock. The competition would be the Fish and Anchor a few miles down the river. We dropped in for lunch there and it seemed better organised than the Cottage but didn't have the charm or interest.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Track Tranter 2 reviews from this member

Pro's-

Nice location and nice pub, can be very peaceful at times, nice walk through fields into Bidford, nice for kids & dog's

Con's-

Dog's barking and kid's screaming at 7:30am, this is due to inconsiderate owners/parent's. Lovely showers but dark, they need replacement bulbs (10 minutes & a couple of quid).

Stinking, rotting grass cutting's that just need bagging or covering till composted.

Water taps directly above EHU socket, Deadly!

EHU trip switch is located in a locked box, so can't be reset when the pub is closed? Luckily the next pitch was vacant and we plugged in to that one.

Some dogs had fouled, I presume without the owners knowledge, maybe the site owners should insist on dog lead's at all times if this persists?

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lea and Yvette 3 reviews from this member

Lovely pub with friendly staff. Nice benches out the back to enjoy a pint in the sun and it's located in a lovely village. The site is tucked in behind the pub so not far to go for food and drinks and it was a very dog friendly pub.

However, the toilet facilities were horrendous - 2 wet rooms with toilets for 24 pitches plus however many more they cram in and one of them was out of order (one working toilet & shower between all those people). People were forever queuing to use the loo/shower. They need more loo's and showers as the current arrangement is rubbish. I used The toilets in the pub a few times but there were times when there was no paper or they hadn't been cleaned.

The pitches were very uneven and as other reviews have said, they really do cram you in. We were a party of 5 (mixture of caravans and tents) and we were allocated 2 pitches between us albeit 2 of the larger pitches but we still had to pay for 5. The water taps and drains were overgrown with weeds and nettles. As you drive in down the side of the pub the first thing you're faced with is overflowing bins that weren't emptied all weekend.

There were other dogs running around our tents at all times of the day & night and some of the other campers were massively inconsiderate - and there was never anyone from the management to assist. What's the point of site rules if there's no one the to monitor/uphold them.

Really disappointed as the site has great potential and embarrassingly it was me that suggested its location to our group. Will not be returning.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Huchon 2 reviews from this member

Site does not follow 6 metre rule. Water tap 2 feet above electric plug in. Went home early because they let three caravans park behind me, one on my pitch 8 feet away. Tents every where 4 feet apart. Water drains covered in weeds. Grass not cut. No one came out to supervise pitching. Very poorly run. Trying to get too many people on one small site. Pitches too small to allow caravan with awning with safety distance apart.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Happyrat 1 review from this member

Our second visit to this site, with very much improved facilities. When site is full as it was this time, the two loo and shower rooms not quite enough. However, it didn't spoil the stay.

The staff at the pub are friendly and helpful and the pub has a good atmosphere. It was very busy due to Easter but the food and service was good all weekend.

There are lovely walks and plenty to do in the vicinity and it makes a good base to explore the area.

We will definitely stay here again.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: The Ref 6 reviews from this member

We were really looking forward to the weekend and the weather didn't disappoint. Nice site in a lovely location. We didn't eat at the pub, but we did have a couple of drinks there. Staff friendly and helpful, so no complaints there.

We only really had problems with some of the other customers of the campsite - late night (early morning until 0200hrs) shouting and music. We did complain, and to be fair the owners did do a tour at 10. 40hrs the next night which effective for those who hadn't gone out drinking instead of staying 'in'. Lots and lots of units and tents on the site that particular weekend, so the facilities were somewhat overwhelmed - 2 shower / wet rooms isn't enough for 20 units and at least 15 tents with groups of families in. Both shower heads were broken, and neither had squeegees in, so you stood in other people's shower water, if that makes sense.

Disappointing night-times spoiling what would otherwise be a decent site. More facilities would help though.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Weavinsonthemove 4 reviews from this member

Just returned from a weekend at Cottage of Content. Negative things:

The entrance to the site is alongside the pub and is a very narrow passageway, it would help if the branches and bushes were cut back as they are making the gap even smaller to navigate. There are just two toilets and showers for the whole of the campsite which isn't enough especially when busy, however when the pub is open you can use their toilets. The toilets/shower room floors were often covered in grass clippings from the camp field.

Positive points: Reasonably priced and consistent with the facilities (17. 50 per night with electric). The staff were friendly and after giving you the number of your pitch you are left to it to park up, and they are also relaxed about when you leave( no rules or regulations). The site is in an excellent spot - easy walk across fields to Bidford where there are plenty of places to eat. Cottage of Content also serves good food and is reasonably priced. We will return.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jusonneuk 1 review from this member

This beautiful Country Pub has recently had its campsite facilities refurbished. There are 2 brand new wet rooms with shower, toilet and washbasin facilities. There is a brand new camp wash up area to the rear of the shower rooms with 3 sinks and drainers. There are washing machine facilities if required. They offer live entertainment every Saturday evening from 9 pm throughout the open season. This really is an amazing and excellent value for money place to stay with excellent home cooked food and great real ales and ciders. The children's play are was a big hit with our kids and I would recommend anyone to stay here.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Saffron42 1 review from this member

Firstly the positive. Small friendly relaxing site. Lovely quaint pub with nice reasonably priced food. I chose to stay here in order to meet up with friends. The pitches around the perimeter have electric and a tap whilst those in the middle are less defined and space is at a premium.

Lovely walks across fields to nearby Bidford where there is a good variety of shops, pubs, restaurants etc. Great dog walking but gates are difficult to negotiate with a pushchair, would be impossible with a wheelchair. Bidford has a lovely area called the meadow which has a great play area.

The downside to this site is the showers, toilets and washing up facilities. There are only 2 showers, each containing a toilet, there are no separate toilets, so if you're desperate for the loo you have to wait while someone finishes their shower! As a result the showers get full of grass cuttings with people constantly going in to use the loo. They have clearly been modernised recently and the finish is nice but the design is poor. Also take your own loo roll as there is rarely any there.

The washing up sinks are tiny and modern in design, but are impractical as water collects all around them, and aren't big enough to submerge a plate! unfortunately they have chosen looks over practicality.

Having said that, it's a gorgeous location and I enjoyed my stay.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Checkley1973 6 reviews from this member

We stayed here with some friends over the bank holiday weekend. The site is a field at the rear of a small olde pub with a slight slope on it.

Good points - great location, good pub, we ate and drank here and it was fine pub food and a decent atmosphere chatting with other campers and a few of the locals. There is a water tap on each pitch however you do share a tap between each pitch so if you want to connect you van permanently you will need a tap splitter ( ebay 3 if you don't have one ) The location is great, very close to the river, you can cut through at the corner of the field, walk along the river and through a couple of fields ( has sheep in them when we went which the kids liked ) into Bidford. Cross the road and you are in Big Meadow which has a great kids play area, zip wire, basket ball court and they have almost completed the skate park now too. Local cricket club play here too so we say and watched a game.

Points needing attention - The shower facilities were not to our taste and we didn't use them. They need refurbishing and a good clean. Toilets were OK but showers. This didn't worry us as we use the shower in our van most of the time anyway. The grass also needed cutting, it was left too long and as the weather wasn't great it meant you got soaked walking anywhere.

Overall though it was good and we would stay there again. If you're looking for 5* this isn't for you. If you like quirky and don't need to use the showers it's a great place to stay.

Previous     58 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Warwickshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2803 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019