Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Orcaber Farm Camping And Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Skipton > Orcaber Farm Camping And Caravan Site Reviews

Orcaber Farm Camping And Caravan Site
Yorkshire Dales
Austwick
Settle
Skipton
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
LA2 8AE
Tel: 07800 624994  or  07790487179
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 12 Vans + Tents
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 68 Reviews
                10/10 from 68 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  68 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Robdor69 5 reviews from this member

We were warmly welcomed by the very informative Gary who showed us all we needed.

The best thing here for my wife and I was that the pitches were a very generous size and that each of the super pitches had their own fresh water tap, grey water drainage, EHU and TV points not to mention free WiFi.

The shower block was the best we have ever experienced. Underfloor heated, beautifully built and clean with a 10 minutes of time for our 50 pence. Superb!

Whilst we were there it was lovely and quiet, only spoiled by the weather.

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Flearn 5 reviews from this member

Excellent site with large pitches. Very friendly staff to show you to your pitch and help at any time.

Great toilet block.

Easy access to Settle, Skipton and Kendle.

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Iperboreano 2 reviews from this member

Not for someone who wants to get away from civilisation for a while.

The facilities are superb, top spec toilets and showers with quality fittings verging on luxury. Who doesn't like a great shower? 50 p for 10 minutes was fine, and if you haven't got change the helpful owners will soon sort you out.

Washing up facilities are fairly standard but well sheltered, with a lovely view over a field which on our visit was full of bleating lambs. There is an info room with tourist brochures, and a freezer for anyone to use.

The field was well drained and stone free, and it was child's play to peg the tent out.

On the other side of the lane is the farm, and the children enjoyed saying hello to the numerous horses stabled there.

Located conveniently close to the A65, the downside is being woken by traffic rumble at 6 am (I'm a light sleeper), instead of just birdsong.

There are clear views in all directions, equally the site is moderately exposed to wind from anywhere.

A boon for most, I found the WiFi to be too much. It was like still being at home, only sleeping on the floor with doors and windows open. It wasn't proper camping.

Nearby Austwick is a pleasant little village, in a gentle valley criss-crossed by a multitude of footpaths, giving lots of options for easy walks with children.

Overall, with nearly everyone on site hooked up to electricity, electric fires blazing and TVs on, or faces glued to handheld screens, the site was a satire on our modern addiction to electricity and connectivity.

Full marks to the kind owners for their efforts at creating a superbly comfortable glamping site, it's just not for everyone. I will try somewhere more basic next time.
via mobile

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Santos16 4 reviews from this member

Excellent size pitches, the newly planted bushes will help with privacy

top of the range toilet and shower block, but make sure you have 50p pieces for shower ( think that this is a bit steep when paying £25 a night)

great tv signal and WiFi if needed,

no road noise and very friendly fellow campers.

Great walks in area and fantastic pub in village food fantastic.

No actual reception but the owners on the end of a phone and never far away
via mobile

Date of Visit: December 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lolandmol 9 reviews from this member

We have just stayed here for 10 nights over the Christmas period. Great value and plenty of pitch space along with own tap, grey waste, electric and aerial point. Toilet and shower block 5*star.

50p per shower giving more than enough time. Large oval track- dog walk over the road from the site. Brilliant area for walking, running & cycling. Austwick has the Game Cock Inn 1 mile away, serving good food and beers. Clapham has the New Inn Hotel.

Also the Bunkhouse which is a cafe / bar, definitely recommended before & after a long walk. If you need shopping, Settle is a 10min drive away.

Cannot fault this site and we will certainly return again in 2019. A great site in a beautiful area with very helpful and friendly owners.

Date of Visit: December 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Banda2 1 review from this member

Great site. Lovely location. Friendly, helpful owners and top notch facilities. Stunning walking in the local area and a fantastic ‘gastro’ pub about a mile away.

We were fortunate enough to be there over New Year. We were treated to a spectacular fireworks display, courtesy of the owner. What an unexpected bonus!

We’ll be back!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Archie Bargee 22 reviews from this member

A bit disconcerting to find there was no reception, but a call to the owner solved the pitch selection problem. Electric hook up and TV aerial very useful, a quiet site (apart from the kids!)

Old shower block OK and those loos acceptable, the new shower block very smart and clean when we arrived, but the showers there a little cramped. Lots of trooping to the showers that evening, so when I went to shower the next morning most of the showers were a bit dirty (it had been wet the day before) chose one, cleaned it, put in my 50p - water cold, and remained cold, we gave up, washed in the van and left early!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Yorci 9 reviews from this member

I stayed here for 3 nights Mon 25- Wed 27 Jun. What a brilliant location for Settle, Malham, Whernside and surrounding area. Very peaceful and tranquil site with great views of the area. Pitches are a good size and very level.

The whole site and the facilities are immaculately clean, the shower costs 50p well worth the cost, with plenty of hot water. Plenty of fresh water outlets around the site.

It was a bit weird on arrival as there is no reception and I hadn't been given a pitch number in my booking and so I had no idea where I was pitched.

The owner was on site and made me welcome and I had a choice of a pitch anywhere. Though there is no reception, the owners are always buzzing around, and their farm is just across the road in case of any emergencies.

I thoroughly recommend this site if your thinking of visiting this area, great value for money. Nearest pub and village - Austwick is about a 15 minutes walk.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kaatty 1 review from this member

Stayed for a weekend in our tent, brilliant facilities, very picturesque location, so tranquil at all times of the day and night! Owners were very helpful upon arrival and when we needed change for the showers and logs for our fire.

Pitches were big, electric hookup on each pitch

Would highly recommend and will stay again.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bailey500 4 reviews from this member

What a fantastic site, the now finished shower and toilet block is excellent,

This is our first visit but definitely not our last, so peaceful and relaxing, surrounded by breathtaking scenery.

The site owner was very welcoming and friendly.

Previous     68 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3517 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019