Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hereford Rowing Club Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Herefordshire > Hereford > Hereford Rowing Club Campsite > Reviews

Hereford Rowing Club Campsite
37 Greyfriars Ave
Hereford
Herefordshire   (Browse area)
HR4 0BE
Tel: 07958 296609
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 45
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 18 Reviews
                9/10 from 18 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2024 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Deb2468 10 reviews from this member

 Excellent clean site good facilities,

Very close to town center and supermarkets.

Friendly and welcoming staff,

Amazing breakfast served at the rowing club 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: MrV1905 4 reviews from this member

 A great site right down by the river and within a 5 minute walk of the city centre - so convenient.

A friendly welcome where everything was explained and I was shown where facilities were.

Bar on site (but usually closed for private functions at weekends) and great value all you can eat breakfast served on Saturday/Sunday. Again, staff were very friendly and helpful.

And - best of all - it only costs £8 per night!

I will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: SurfinChicks 1 review from this member

 The lady Mel, who welcomed us early and did not bring that up was obviously happy in her job.

The ease of booking in and choice of pitch anywhere on a part of the field was fabulous as we got a great view of the river.

There were 3 rallies and the place was quiet but thriving with personalities and respect.

We paddle-boarded for half an hour upstream - But beginners beware this is not a place for you.

The rescue helicopter was out looking for missing persons.

My dog loved the fact she stays close by me and she did not have to have her tied up by my van.

The walks along the river bank are fabulous and only a 5-minute walk into Hereford where we had a good-priced meal.

Enjoyed the weekend. 


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Maddan12 1 review from this member

 This site is pretty good, although no hook up it has good quality toilet and shower facilities, and has on site bar that is often open to the public,

Very close proximity to the wye, so if you're on a water sports adventure it's a great spot,

Also hosts the annual Beer on the wye event which is a great beer festival (although not run by the campsite, just held on rowing club grounds).

Also great proximity for a more civilised visit into the historic city of Hereford, perhaps great as part of a road trip, or a cheap city break.

Pro's:

City centre location (uncommon in my experience)

Good quality shower and toilet units.

Bar on site

Lovely location next to the wye

Cheap

Con's:

No hook ups at all

No laundry facilities

Limited 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Finall 3 reviews from this member

 Great location, 5 mins walk into town with the cathedral, restaurants and bars. Parked on the overflow carpark as the grass was a bit soft after the rain.

Popped to the reception to pay (£8ppn) and was greeted by a very friendly guy who gave us all relevant information, toilets, showers etc, which were very clean.

Bar had a private function on so we didn't sample that delight, we had breakfast on Sunday morning £6.95 for buffet all you want plus cereals, tea, coffee and orange juice included great value and very nice.

Would definitely recommend and we will return. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Brommo 16 reviews from this member

 Me and 2 mates went here to have a weekend in Hereford.

Superb value for money at just £7. 50 per night. Very clean shower/toilet block. Pot wash sinks were outside and looked decent. Really nice bar overlooking the river Wye which has a good selection of beers. Plenty of rowing boats (think Oxford/Cambridge boat race, rather than pleasure craft) to watch. Very relaxing.

We were greeted by a nice friendly chap at reception at check in who showed us all the amenities and gave us a choice of pitches. Combination lock on the gate to get into the campsite and keypad code on the toilet/shower block so security was good.

Its quite a large site with plenty of room and is flat. They have a mixture of tents, caravans and motor homes. A large proportion were rowers but it was a nice atmosphere.

Easy walk into the city centre which has plenty of really good pubs some of which do live music. Close to the Waterworks Museum which was only £7 and was very interesting - well worth a visit.

Hereford has a cracking pool/ snooker/ darts place (Hereford Snooker & Pool Centre) which was superb and within walking distance. Weather was poor so we spent a very enjoyable couple of hours in here.

Would definitely stop here again. Enjoyed my stay here 


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Carol Jean 38 reviews from this member

 As I am travelling alone at £7.50 per person this is a bargain. I am here now in the bar where they have kindly allowed me to use electric socket and wifi to use my laptop.

I have had notice of a flood alert today (from the nearby River Wye) ! so hopefully we will be ok!

It is just around the corner from Hereford town centre and the cathedral so if you can cope without electric this is an ideal location. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ms.trishy 10 reviews from this member

 A friendly site with a great position on the banks of the River Wye.

A basic site, no electric but an easy stroll into Hereford and really friendly staff.

We didnít bother with the facilities as we have our own but we did pop in to the rowing club for a drink one night and were impressed with the care they were taking over Covid regulations. So much that we went back on Sunday morning before leaving for their cooked breakfast which was very good and so lovely to sit in the sun watching the rowers on the river.

A must see in Hereford is the Mappa Mundi and chained library in the cathedral. Well worth the £6 entrance fee. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mbgspencer 5 reviews from this member

 We choose this site as we were travelling down to the Wye Valley. It is centrally located with easy access from the A49.

Flat site with wc/showers in the Rowing club.

On a weekend breakfast is available which was good value for money. Access for walking and watersports on the river. This was near the main road but surprisingly we did not hear the traffic!

Staff were very friendly and polite. There is a access code on the gate which added security at all times.

Would stay again. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Darren 1 review from this member

 Great site only 5 mins walk from centre with pubs and restaurants. Friendly staff.

Fab facilities with hot showers and clean toilets.

No EHU but for £7pppn, we found this to be great value, any tight whingers need not bother 
via mobile


Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Hereford Rowing Club Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hereford Rowing Club Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Hereford Rowing Club Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hereford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Herefordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5153 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement