Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Hollies Kessingland

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Kessingland > The Hollies Kessingland Reviews

The Hollies Kessingland
London Road
Kessingland
Suffolk   (Browse area)
NR33 7PQ
Tel: 01502 507030
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 38 Reviews
                9/10 from 38 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Cguk70 2 reviews from this member

 This was the third time we've stayed at the Hollies in Kessingland - each time in the non-electric Seaside field. We were a bit worried about finding a pitch as we arrived late afternoon on the Friday of a bank holiday.

However, whilst it was busier than we seen previously, there were plenty of places to pitch and we found a nice spot in a field to the left of the main road. Even being busy, there was plenty of space between tents.

The camping fields are separated by low mounds and tents generally pitch on the outside of these fields, with open space in the middle.

Check-in was through a window rather than inside the reception building this time due to Covid precautions.

The toilet and shower block was usually kept very clean, and buckets and mops are provided in case the showers get a bit dirty during the day. Raised fires and barbeques are allowed and there were plenty going in the evening. There was a food stall, mainly serving fish and chips / sausages etc at the entrance which we only used once to get chips to go with our own burgers.

There's also a coffee van that came into the field in the mornings and an ice cream van turned up each evening. By the entrance there's also a shed with freezers and electricity for charging phones, although it closes fairly early - we went about 7pm on Sunday night to pick up ice packs and it was locked with reception also closed - it would be nice if they could keep this open a bit longer.

The other thing we missed, that we've seen at other campsites, is somewhere to get or order breakfast - even a few croissants would have been nice.

We didn't use the beach as much this trip due to it being a bit chilly - but it's nice to have it there and just walk to the top to see the views.

We visited the excellent Africa Alive - which is just 5 minute drive - or 30 minute walk and spent a day in Southwold which is only a short 15 minute drive. Morrisons and Homebase are also short drive away and there's a Pizza Hut and McDonalds nearby - there may be other places to eat but we tended to do our own thing on the campsite.

Our boys (aged 8 and 11) had fun on the playground and playing field. Although departure time is supposed to be 10am, they seem pretty relaxed about this, so you don't feel rushed in the morning when packing away the tent.

This is a great site and we'll definitely be back - possibly trying one of the new pitches with electric hookup on the glamping field next time for a change. 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: RainMagnet 9 reviews from this member

 We camped at this site as a family of 4 with 2 young children.

This site was much larger than we expected and was very busy with people packing up and arriving everyday, great if you like to be nosey and watch people set up their tents!

We stayed in the non electric field, which does not have allocated pitches, you just find a spot and set up. The field is large but broken up by earth mounds, it is also right next to the beach.

At the check in desk the staff where helpful and polite and advised that we need to keep a 6m distance between tents, we where lucky and managed to find a spot, but later in the week people struggled to find a suitable pitch, with some spots starting to look more like a festival setup.

The site has 2 large toilet blocks, 1 for the non electric field and 1 for the EHU fields. Each block had toiles wash basins, push button showers and a disabled / family toilet-shower. These where closed for cleaning twice a day and had regular inspections. The facilities where in good condition but due to the sheer volume of people using them and despite the cleaners best efforts they could get dirty at times. We found the block located at the EHU field wasn't as busy.

There is a small park & football field located next to the EHU toilets, also at this location is a laundry room consisting of 2 washers & 2 dryers, these a paid for via a card machine on the wall.

Other items on the site is a shed near the entrance containing a freezer for ice pack freezing, a fridge and some plugs for charging phones, this building is locked from 5pm to 9am. In the same area are some food wagons that are open on a weekend, we didn't try these.

Also an ice cream van visits every day around 7pm and on a weekend a coffee van sets up in the non electric field from 10am to 2pm.

The site runs onto the beach, this is accessed by some stairs (90 steps!), the beach is very large and stony next to the site but a 5 min walk left and towards the sea will get to ideal sand castle building material.

A Morrisons supermarket is a 2 minute drive away located on a commercial park that also contains a Pizza Hut, B&M, Homebase & Aldi, Lowestoft is also only a 5min drive away.

Overall we enjoyed the site, it was very busy, but it was school holidays in 2021 so I guess its the same everywhere. We would come again. 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: FUNSTER 2 reviews from this member

 Great site with plenty of space.

Suited all our requirements as our family joined us at the weekend for 2 nights with their caravan and tent.

The hay field was able to accomodate Motorhomes, Caravans and tents.

There are steps leading to the beach from the Camp Site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 31+ Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Shrimpdragon 8 reviews from this member

 A fantastic site, unfortunately due to Covid Lockdown No. 2 we all have restrictions.

We used this site last winter and found it excellent. The pitches are spacious, we tow a car and managed quite well enough to get car onto pitch with the Motorhome.

There are two facility blocks and the showers are lovely and hot, which is fantastic on a cold day!

Itís a 5 min walk to the steps leading down to a huge beach and then a stroll along-tide allowing-to Lowestoft.

A 20 min walk from the site will take you to Aldi, Morrisonís, and several other shops if you donít want to drive!

The wardens and Reception are friendly and helpful, and the site is peaceful.

We will be coming back here for many years I think. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Annett 1 review from this member

 This is a friendly and welcoming site with all fields easy pitch and a choice of more open or private spots. Really easy to find (straight off the A12). On arrival we had simple check in and there is a barrier which you get a code for.

One straight road with pitching fields either side. We managed to get a pitch right at the top near the sea view (and wow, what a view and amazing beach with steps down to the beach).

There are also benches provided on the cliff top - which are great at any-time to sit and watch the activity down below/or the rabbits and birds that are around.

Cabin with toilets and showers (they do clean them regularly but there are people washing off sand etc. So they cannot be 'on it' ALL of the time). Some people complained but I was quite happy with the 2 piping hot showers I had, which are very spacious and have hooks for hanging towels, clothes. Lots of toilets as well.

Bins were over-flowing but people dump everything on a camp site including broken chairs, air-bed boxes and so on, and we found they were emptied on a Tuesday - so perhaps the council should go twice a week?

All in All I found this camp site well laid out and easy to use. Most campers did not 'party' too long (about midnight). Most people respectful of time. If you prefer a quieter pitch go near the caravanners - who tend to retire for the night sooner. Nearer the coastline is where teenagers hang out on an evening. Location was amazing.

Near all coastlines (Southwold is beautiful) and Oulton Broads is not to be missed with South Broads (10 min drive) hosting a range of activities for children, including a swimming pool, play park and museum - with very cheap parking. Really enjoyed our stay and they are on my list to return to. Reasonably priced pitching as well. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Tcp401 1 review from this member

 From start to finish we had a fantastic time, the campsite was brilliant. The shower and toilet blocks were very clean and deep cleaned 3 times a day, hand sanitizer as you went in and out, it was never empty!

The camp warden was fantastic, always happy to stop and have a chat, told you about things near by to see and always made us feel welcome.

We will definitely be back again, all in all we had a great time at the Hollies campsite. 😁😁😁❤️ 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Johnc9 1 review from this member

 Dry please with this campsite, it was very clean as in toilet & shower facilities.

Campsite itself very clean green grass & very friendly people, very safe for children to run around & play.

Would recommend this site for anyone specially for family weekends. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Johnscrivy 8 reviews from this member

 A very pleasant site booking in very easy and helpful staff. The pitch size is good but glad of hard standing this time of year.

The toilets were very warm and very clean showers also clean and spacious spot on.

A short walk to the beach access down steps. Brilliant for dog walking or a ramble very peaceful, take binoculars.

This was my second visit and I'm looking forward to to visiting again in the spring or summer 2020. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Familywatts 1 review from this member

 Excellent time here for our first camping trip. Clean toilet/shower block, launderette and old bus shop for bacon rolls, if you donít want to cook a breakfast.

Beach was only across the field. Plenty of space for kids to play and for the dog. Lowestoft 5 min drive away.

Will be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Countrylemon 12 reviews from this member

 We chose The Hollies as it was so close to the beach and also has a kids playground. We stayed in the Glamping field on an electric tent pitch so I had sight of the kids play area.

Booking in was very efficient and informative. We were given a site map which is an updated version of the site map available on their website (new lodge field is afoot)

The site is large and spaced out, it was a fair walk to the ablutions block on the glamping field. There is a new launderette by this block which impressed me as it takes contactless payment, and Apple Pay (plus other "new" payment methods) and it included free wash liquid and softener. We didn't use it but if you're there for a week it's worth knowing about. There are lots of showers, basins and loos, all clean, lots of hot water etc, and an identical block is sited on the seaside field, which is the non-electric tent field.

The beach which is at the end of the site, down 90 steps (we counted!) is lovely, if you like a wild, dog friendly and natural beach with loads of space. It's a mixture of sand and shingle, but the sandy bits are really soft fine sand, ideal for sandcastles (but blows a bit if it's windy). You will have a fair walk to reach the sea as the tide at Kessingland is further out than the rest of the coast. The steps back up are best taken at a leisurely pace, there is a bench to catch your breath two thirds of the way back up!

One big plus for us was the fact that Morrisons was a two (max) minute drive up the road for provisions. The hoardings stated an Aldi and Range are coming soon. There is also a B&M and Homebase. We are country bumpkins, we revel in such convenience!

Our first night passed without incident but on our second day two parties arrived who set up a mutual camp who played music, albeit not loudly, till past midnight. The boom-boom-boom of the bass carried a long way and I was disappointed that there wasn't a patrol to stop this.

We didn't stray far from the site, as we were only after a two night "beach and sea air" fix, but there is plenty in the area to do. This site has a lot to recommend it. 


Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Hollies Kessingland child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Hollies Kessingland?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Hollies Kessingland dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kessingland      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3645 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement