Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hardwick Parks

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > Oxfordshire > Site Reviews

Hardwick Parks
Downs Rd
Standlake
Witney
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
OX29 7PZ
Tel: 01865 300501
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 196
Open: 31/03 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 116 Reviews
                8/10 from 116 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  116 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dst1942 5 reviews from this member

Large site with adequate electric and water points. Staff very helpful and friendly. We were guided to our plot by a member of staff.

There are a couple of large lakes adjacent to the site, which provide up to 2 miles of walks, plus water sport activities. Good chemical and grey water disposal points

On the down side, they do not enforce the park rules. It says no ball games on tourist fields, but there were plenty going on during our visit.

Also dogs must be kept on leads at all times, which they weren't. Toilet floors were not cleaned daily, but basins and toilets were

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sandra3 1 review from this member

The staff are really friendly and they cannot do enough for you. The showers and toilets are kept extremely clean and the surroundings from the field to the lakes are lovely.

The bar in "the boat house" has a friendly atmosphere and the selection of food and the quality is excellent. They also have live entertainment at the weekend. So far has been an excellent standard.

We have become seasonal and plan to br in our home from home most weekends.
via mobile

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: She rocker 1 review from this member

Fantastic site and will definitely be back!

Upon arrival we were personally shown to our pitch which was very spacious enough for our tent with canopy, two large cars and extra room.

The facilities are all very clean and never full. Shop is well stocked with everything you need and don't need.

There are plenty of water sports and outdoor space away from the campsite the lakes are lovely and clean. It's great for every type of camper especially if you have dogs.

Although we only went in the clubhouse once the staff were very friendly and it seemed well stocked.

If you go out of the campsite you will need a car that would be my only negative that you can't walk anywhere.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Sarahh56 48 reviews from this member

Visited with our teen daughter and her friend for a long weekend. We were not disappointed. We stayed in the top field and even though it was fairly full it didn't feel crowded.

We were shown to our pitch and told we coukd pitch up however we wanted as long as the van was over the pitch number. There is a small modern club house and large lakes.

The girls swam and did water zorbing but the main watersports were all fully booked so we couldn't try them. We live under an hour away and will come back!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rjs1984 2 reviews from this member

Amazing campsite. We stayed in the all grass 'top field' on pitch 81 Wednesday-Friday. This field is used by tents, camper vans and caravan all mixed in together.

The first two nights there were only three groups staying and the field was silent. Naturally on a Friday night in July it was very, very busy but a great atmosphere with a lot of families/ children / weekend campers.

Our pitch was designated to us in advance but luckily it was a quiet pitch but was in the centre of the field which was no problem as the field was quiet so we took shelter under the trees but this was not possible when it filled up.

Being in the centre in the field in July meant that there was no shade at all on our pitch and could only use the shade of the trees when the camp site was quiet.

There is a B Road that runs along the far end of the top field, new field and nature field (top). Not sure what the speed limit was on that road but it sound a like drivers use the straight road to go very along it but this was offset by the frequent sound of horses!

To the best of my knowledge these pitches at the far end of the top field do not have electricity so would not be relevant for us when we go again.

The facilities are just amazing.

The laundry room offers a large deep freezer which is great, I wish more campsites offered freezers.

Bathroom shower block is air conditioned which was greatly appreciated in the July heat and humidity. The showers are the most powerful I have ever experienced on a camp site, very relaxing. They were immaculate at all times of the day as were the washing up facilities.

Great shop stocked with basic essentials and also offers cooked breakfasts/ coffee/ free wifi.

The lakes are beautiful. We booked our kayaking in advance which was a good job as it gets very busy and fully booked in advanced.

Designated lake swimming areas and lots of wildlife.

There is a modern bar/restaurant overlooking the lake which we didn't try but looks very good.

All in all, I have to say that this is one of the best camp sites I have been to in UK and we look forward to going again, even if it's just for a day on the lake.

Access to the park is as good as it gets, my parents have a caravan and like to know what access is like. The wide driveway approach is straight off the main road.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: KazBrown 1 review from this member

This is the third time we have visited this site. Staff friendly welcoming and very helpful.

Beautiful setting although close to home you feel in a different world. Facilities are excellent and well kept. We have three daughters aged 13 10 and 8 they all enjoyed the ringos and they cannot wait to visit again in the Sumner holiday

The last thing to say is we went on a standard pitch which our 13 year old was not too happy about not being able to charge her phone, however the office will charge your phone for 1

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AndyBex 1 review from this member

We decided to revisit Hardwick Parks this summer after a lovely hot weekend camping last year and we weren't disappointed! It is a well run & organised site with good facilities and plenty to do if the weather is dry.

The children loved the Watersports and swimming in the lake. Friends and family joined us for some of the time there and all commented and what a nice location & site we had found. Staff were friendly and very helpful when needed. The Clubhouse was quiet & relaxing which was a good contrast the the very hectic weekend we had experienced the year before, and it was a different atmosphere midweek but became clear that a busy weekend was coming up as the option to take a late checkout was not available to us.

Shop on site is well stocked with the luxury of hot food options to order. Only downside was that it closed by 6pm most evenings which meant we were often panicking about getting there before it closed, which was the only stressful time we had all week.

Showers were clean & warm. Not too keen on the shower curtain barrier within the shower cubicle itself, but it was functional and did the trick. Toilets were always clean and maintained well (maintenance was carried out while we were there without any inconvenience as well communicated).

Good location - not too far from home so no endless hours travelling which is always a bonus! It's close to RAF Brize Norton so it was nice to see some of our Air Force transport flying around. Great if you love aeroplanes!

A great campsite, which is very popular for weekend breaks but don't underestimate the tranquillity you may get midweek, especially rare in high season!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Barnsleycamp 2 reviews from this member

Caravan site is easy to find if you follow the signs for caravan site and not your Tom Tom off the A415 Wide entrance.

Dog friendly site.

Staff are very friendly and showed us to our pitch.

Site spotless

Shop on site

Toilets clean

Shower push button but not hot enough for me

Hair dryers a charge

Bar on site but limited opening times.

Cannot take your dog in to bar.

Plenty of seating outside.

2 pubs in walking distance. Dog friendly

Stunning lakes. Fishing and full water sport facilities.

Buoyed off area for swimming in lake. Nice walks.

Supermarkets, petrol station five miles away.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LBBK 41 reviews from this member

The site staff were very welcoming and helpful. It was a very busy weekend with lots of families but there was no problem with noise or disturbance. There are plenty of showers and toilet cubicles.

All was very clean. There is a clubhouse/bar. We didn't use it but it seemed popular. There is a separate area for football and you can swim in the edge of the old gravel pit if you like. It's well placed for trips into Oxford or the Vale of the White Horse.

The shop staff were very friendly. A good selection of hot take away food is available. Those who like water/waste water facilities close might moan but it was perfectly adequate.

Wifi is good with a range of deals to suit - we went for email/browsing only at 1. 50 for an hour.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Glosbill 17 reviews from this member

Good level site. Friendly staff and organised for possible late arrival. Good directions to find the site, satnav sent us to other side of the lake but we were rescued over the phone by the lady who knew the area well.

Clean facilities, be warned the showers are powerful, leave your shoes well back or hang them up as the hot water is brilliant but goes everywhere at first press.

Will visit again, but we did go out of school holidays.

Previous     116 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2599 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019