Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Calder Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Clitheroe > Calder Farm Reviews

Calder Farm
Settle Road
Bolton By Bowland
Clitheroe
Lancashire   (Browse area)
BB7 4NT
Tel: 01200 447725  or  07890 291075
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 13 hardstanding, 13 grass
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 75 Reviews
                9/10 from 75 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  75 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: January 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Marion 1 review from this member

 What a perfect place to stay!

Stunning surroundings, really peaceful,

Lovely washing etc facilities.

Very easy to get to (no narrow roads!) and a delight to stay there.

Thank you! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Fortsmithcastor 1 review from this member

 Booked to stay over the new year period,

What a great site,

Owner friendly and helpful,

Site well laid and clean and tidy,

Internet and tv lovely views, and great walks. 


Date of Visit: November 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jukebo 1 review from this member

 We have been 'caravanners' for over ten years, but it was the first time we have stayed here and it won't be the last.

We loved the space we had around the caravan, the cleanliness and warmth of the shower block/toilet facilities, but we especially loved the views, quietness and value for money.

We bumped into the owner, and he was really friendly and helpful too.

No complaints about anything, apart from having to leave. 


Date of Visit: November 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: John+judy 109 reviews from this member

 My main reason for choosing Calder Farm was the location, and it turned out to be a perfect choice. The Bowland area seems to be increasing in popularity so it was good to be there whilst it is still relatively unknown. Bolton-by-Bowland and surrounding area is away from main routes, and at least in November, was very quiet.

However, approaching from Gisburn took me down a very badly maintained and severely pot-holed road. With a bit of luck it will have been repaired by the time of your visit.

The site is half a mile or so from the village, and access is very easy from the road through an unlocked farm gate. The system is self serve, so having paid your fee in advance there is no need to check in.

In fact I had no contact at all with the owners during my stay, though I am sure they would have been available at the farm house had I needed them. Caravan pitches are separated from tents in an area which also has a couple of pods.

There is plenty of room to manoeuvre so getting onto a pitch is easy. I found the pitch quite long, but too narrow to put the car alongside the caravan, so I put it across the front - there must have been a lot of rain because the grass between pitches was very wet and not suitable as a car parking space.

Toilet and shower facilities were excellent - always clean and warm, though if the site was full of both caravans and tents could possibly be stretched. There is an additional portaloo adjacent to the tent area to take the strain, as it were.

The lights were controlled by movement sensor, so don't linger over the paper-work after dark! Chemical and waste water disposal was ok, but could be smartened up a bit. There is a motor home drive-over point though.

Recycling is not as rigorous as in some places, which at least makes decision making a bit easier.

The surrounding area is ideal for walkers and cyclists with plenty of variety in terrain and scenery. Gisburn Forest mountain biking area is less than five miles away and a has a huge range of trails for all abilities and bravery levels, having a mixture of forest gravel roads and very well maintained single-track trails graded blue, red and black.

Though some were beyond my ability and bravery, (eg, Hully Gully) I believe they are considered quite tame by some of the hardened MTB fanatics. I had plenty of fun though, just scaring myself enough to get a sense of satisfaction.

Many would say I cheat as I have a (newly acquired) electrically assisted bike. No shame in that, and I am 72!

One day I did a walk along and around the Hodder valley from Whitewell. Be warned that the route includes two stepping- stone crossings which may (will) be impassable after heavy rain.

The ones at the southern end near Stakes can be avoided via Doefore Bridge but ones near Whitewell require a longer diversion via Burholme Bridge. Footpaths in the area are little used and ill-defined in places.

Hope you get to go there and enjoy the area! 


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Linda5 1 review from this member

 As usual the campsite, the grounds and the washing facilities were immaculate,

It was my 9 year old grandson's first opportunity at camping so I thought I would take him somewhere that I knew would be pristine. He loved every minute of it even though the weather was quite poor.

The walk across the fields to the beautiful village of Bolton in Bowland is also a plus as you don't have to dodge the traffic.

Thank you for you're ongoing work. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: R Hawkins 2 reviews from this member

 Our second visit to this very peaceful campsite

Toilets and showers immaculate

Arrived late it was pitch black and lousy weather but once setup it's the best place to relax and unwind

Will return to this little gem many times 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Lynnpa 1 review from this member

 A lovely site, it is a short walk to the village where the shop sells a huge range of goods including bacon sandwiches!

The facilities were good, the pitches were a mix of hardstanding and grass.

The whole site is very quiet and peaceful and surrounded by beautiful countryside. We would definitely recommend. 


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Belchi 1 review from this member

 Booked last minute.

Wonderful quiet campsite with spotlessly clean facilities.

We will definitely return.

Area fantastic walking and mountain biking Thank you Peter and Claire 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Vereen 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, spotlessly clean, quiet and with good views of Pendle Hill.

The shower facilities were excellent.

Itís a short walk to the village with a well equipped shop and wonderful old coaching in with excellent food.

We will definitely return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Hazel5 1 review from this member

 Fantastic campsite with stunning views and beautiful clean facilities.

The owners were friendly and gave advice on local places to visit.

This was a tranquil and peaceful spot for a week of camping that we enjoyed immensely and would like to visit again soon.

Great cycling routes locally and stunning walks so a fantastic spot for outdoor enthusiasts.

Hazel Rodger 


Previous     75 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Calder Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Calder Farm?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Calder Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Clitheroe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show - Exeter 28/01 to 30/01
Come along to Westpoint Exeter for a day of all things motorhome & campervan. The show is held both in the main indoor arena and across the ground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1797 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement