Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Calder Farm

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lancashire > Clitheroe > Calder Farm > Reviews

Calder Farm
Settle Road
Bolton By Bowland
Clitheroe
Lancashire   (Browse area)
BB7 4NT
Tel: 01200 447725  or  07890 291075
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 13 hardstanding, 13 grass
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 99 Reviews
                9/10 from 99 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  99 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2024 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Tulipcat 22 reviews from this member

 Loved that we were able to book a pitch last minute and quick response from owner to confirm pitch. The site is as per the other reviews clean tidy and well kept with spacious pitches. Roads on run up from A65 fine with caravan.

Facilities ok, clean but could do with more toilets and showers, and like people have said the washing up water was lukewarm. I liked how they had disinfectant spray and rubber brushes so you could clean before showering/washing.

Lovely atmosphere on site, friendly campers, as people have said gorgeous views of Pendle hill and surrounding area, great base for exploring the Bowland area.

WiFi excellent and a godsend when weather bad, keeps kids happy! And also we could look up the nearest play centre! Nothing on site and quite remote so you do need a car really and to bring your supplies with you unless you want to go to clitheroe.

Loved seeing the horses galloping around.

Sadly we didnít get the friendly welcome from the owners that others have spoken of. They were brusque with us during the brief interactions we had- maybe just busy.

There was some extremely loud machinery noise at 5. 30 am on leaving day which made pack up and towing home tiring as woke up the whole family and kids didnít want to go back to sleep. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2024 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: HighSlayer 15 reviews from this member

 Booking at Calder farm was fairly straightforward. You can't book online but need to email them to check availability and get cost, then confirm, then they send you the bank details to pay. Price was reasonable - £27per night inc electric, although the website says 'from £15'

Site is in a beautiful part of the countryside with great views

We only saw 1 member of staff whilst there, I think the owner. He was really friendly and a very nice guy!

The facilities were good though could benefit from a deep clean - all he basic clean was done well though. 2 showers and 2 loos in each of the men's and ladies' facilities. The showers are the non-adjustable, push button ones we all love to hate and were blisteringly hot. Each shower has a bench area too for clothes etc. I can't really call it a dry area as there are no shower curtains so the floor is wet throughout, but the benches and hooks are nice and dry

There are 2 sinks in each, though I couldn't get any hot water through, and the hand dryer was, well let's say its quicker to shake your hands dry outside

There is an outside, covered area for pot washing. It's not very clean and is extremely open to the winds so was bone-chillingly cold on the April weekend we were there. There is a freezer for communal use. The outside area would benefit from a windbreak. Also, the water was never more than lukewarm in the time we were there

The pitches are a little narrow - our tiny 2 berth only just fit on with the awning. They are plenty long enough though. Our pitch wasn't level and we needed the highest setting on our ramp - just short of falling off the other side :-)

The site is very quiet and there is space between the pitches. Despite my comments above, we had a great time here and would visit again.

The site is handy for visiting Clitheroe, Skipton and the Ribblehead Viaduct, and not too far from Preston. Clitheroe is a nice little town with a lovely castle, great ice cream shop and a few shops and restaurants. Skipton is lovely, with the canal, shops, eateries and lots to explore

Calder Farm is ideal for visiting these, and with the friendly owners and fabulous views it is well worth a visit 


Date of Visit: October 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Thehanmersontour 2 reviews from this member

 This is a secret gem - the owners are the nicest people who work very hard to make everyone feel very welcome whilst not being obtrusive. It is a working farm with friendly sheep and majestic horses.

There are camping facilities, touring caravans and motorhomes plus the most beautiful glamping pods.

The area is very quiet and the owners usually set aside a field for dog walking - which was very much appreciated by our two little ones.

The facilities are spotless with a good-sized pot washing area with lots of hot water. The toilets and showers are immaculate with free showers. The site feels very safe and is exceptionally quiet all of the time (aside from the lovely sounds of the occasional owl at night).

You are able to choose your own pitch, however, every pitch we saw (hardstanding) had lovely views so it would probably be difficult to choose between.

The site is open year-round which is brilliant for us as we prefer to carry on through the year rather than wintering the van.

This is now one of our firm favourites and we are actually hoping to go back within the next few weeks for some relaxation time in a truly lovely location.

The only thing we would say is. Stock up as the nearest shop is not really within walking distance - which, for us, makes it even more special.

A bonus is that fire pits are allowed - and the owners have also helpfully provided bricks to use whilst on site and waste disposal points for cold ash.

Would thoroughly recommend this wonderful site to all wanting a quiet and relaxing break away. 


Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Kath2000 5 reviews from this member

 Always a pleasure to have a lovely few relaxing days.

The owner are very helpful and will do anything to help your stay easier for you.

The toilets are clean and the showers are lovely and warm just what everybody needs and wants in a holiday. 


Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Liverpool willow 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely spacious pitch on a working farm surrounded by sheep and horses.

A good sized field for dog exercise though grass fairly long so wellies are helpful.

Toilets and showers clean and modern.

There is a lovely pub serving food 10 minutes walk across 2 fields or a couple of minutes longer if you go by road.

Holden clough nursery is also walking distance and the food there is excellent.

There are some nice walks from the campsite and lots of places to visit a short car ride away.

We will definitely return. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Kath2000 5 reviews from this member

 Great place to stay, easy access to go places in forest of Bowland

Pete and Clare the owner are very helpful if you have a problem with anything you need.

Have been to site 4 times this year and would go again. 


Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rizalyn 1 review from this member

 Been number of times in the campsite 4 times in a row.

Absolutely chilled, very friendly and the owner is very accommodating to your needs.

Campsite well looked after, facilities cleaned.

Always happy and so relaxing.

And we will come again.

Now like to try the pod for my Birthday celebration with friends. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Iloved 2 reviews from this member

 This site is perfect. It is cared for with ground that is easy to put pegs into and when we stayed it rained heavily but not one puddle stayed on the surface.

Pitches are a generous size.

The toilets and showers are clean and modern. We will definitely return again.

The local garden centre Holden and Clough is easy to walk to and enjoy a beautiful meal alongside a beautiful garden centre.

No noise from the road at night too - I slept so well. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Kath2000 5 reviews from this member

 Always very pleasant to stay at Calder bank,

The owners Pete and Clare are always very helpful if you have a problem.

Easy going site, a pub within walking distance ( across 2 sheep fields) also a small shop in Bolton by Bowland. 


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Leeds campers 1 review from this member

 Lovely campsite with good clean facilities. 2 mens and 2 ladies shower cubicles. 2 covered wahing up sinks.

Friendly owners who responded promptly to my emails.

The freezer for ice packs was really useful.

Quiet, location approx 25 minutes drive from Settle we used the campsite as a base for walking the 3 Peaks, cycling in Gisburn forest and visiting Stainforth waterfall. 
via mobile


Previous     99 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Calder Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Calder Farm?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Calder Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Clitheroe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...

  

  

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4545 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement