Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cedar Valley

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Petersfield > Cedar Valley Reviews

Cedar Valley
Bereleigh Estate
East Meon
Petersfield
Hampshire   (Browse area)
GU32 1PH
Tel: 07557 798857
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 50
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 12 Reviews
                8/10 from 12 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Moustach 9 reviews from this member

Another excellent weekend at cedars, this time with the beerfest thrown in

The facilities improve with every visit I make although still waiting for the elusive wifi
via mobile

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Jacks2202 1 review from this member

Lovely site only 30 mins from home, we arrived on bank holiday Monday so lots of spaces, loved the campfires and it was so rural and peaceful.

The downsides and would put us off coming in high season is the price, for 2 adults, 1 teen classed as an adult, 1 child and 2 dogs you would be looking at over £40 a night, bit much for basically a field with a shower block,

Also the shower block was both male and female yuck
via mobile

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Moustach 9 reviews from this member

Another great weekend stay at this lovely little site in Hampshire.

Looking forward coming back here in june for their beer festival weekend.

It was a little chilly this weekend but that's not the fault of the site.
via mobile

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Laura Watts 1 review from this member

34 of us booked to go to this campsite as they accepted large groups & all we wanted was a basic field that the kids & dogs could run about in. We had a lovely weekend, spending good quality time with friends & family. Lots of open space, can have camp fires & very relaxing.

The down sides are, the manager of the campsite leads a lot to be desired & really needs to improve his social / communication skills. One evening our group got a bit loud, instead of approaching us, he waited until we’d left to email us with the issues.

Another camper from another family, has reported on another portal, the manager was over heard talking about our group.

This is totally unprofessional & not what we have experienced with any other sites we have stayed at. So yes it is a lovely site with very basic facilities & doesn’t cater for babies, but don’t expect any pleasantries from the owner.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Moustach 9 reviews from this member

Yet another great weekend at this lovely little site the new toilet block is a vast improvement over the last one I recommend this site to anyone with a tent who wish to use campfires.

The weather wasn't entirely reliable but that is not the campsites fault the facilities were cleaned daily and the only criticism I would make is the loo roll running out but I always have some on board

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Marnhagues 1 review from this member

The site is beautiful, around half an hour from the picturesque village of East Meon, where you can find an excellent pub. The toilet block is adequate and kept clean. This site is probably perfect for young adults coming for a party.

On the other hand, for a young family like ours, it disappointed us greatly. We stayed three nights, on the first day, one group had two large dogs running around in the large empty field and barking loudly when our children were trying to go to the toilet.

On the second night, 4 large groups arrived and played loud music all evening, it felt like Glastonbury. Our third and last night was by far the best, only 2 other tents and total silence.

Therefore, one's experience can be very different depending on which night one turns up. To conclude, I really think that all the above is linked to the owner's ethos, who does not seem to care very much.

We saw him only once during our stay and that was to collect the fairly overpriced fee.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stephandebs 1 review from this member

This campsite saved our bacon this weekend, giving us a last-minute booking for a big get-together of several families after our original campsite cancelled our booking at the last minute!

However, regardless of my rose-tinted glasses, this really was a lovely location, perfect for small children (large enough field to runaround in but you could always see them) and with very simple but clean facilities.

Several pitches are sloping but there are lots of flat areas, and the communal fire pits are a great idea in the middle of the field.

It was so clearly a quiet, family-oriented spot that when a couple of younger groups turned up to party on the Friday night they quickly worked out it was the wrong place for them and left within half an hour.

The only downside was that, as it was an August weekend, there seemed to be a couple of very noisy groups booked into cottages on the other side of the small wood, and on each night there were very noisy karaoke sessions into the small hours.

I'm not sure whether the owner is aware of this or if it's a common problem as we didn't see him on the Sunday to ask. It didn't wake the children but some of the adults complained at breakfast!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nickib15 1 review from this member

Great position for a campsite in the Hampshire countryside well away from any traffic noise. We had a bit of difficulty finding the correct entrance to the site as there are at least 3 entrances to bereleigh estate, but I think a number of them are private entrances (not that the tomtom knew that). Great location for both mountain biking and walking. We took our mountain bikes and cycled from the site along the South Downs Way over to Queen Elizabeth Country Park and back (about a 20 mile round trip).

The facilities are basic but clean. There're are 2 showers, 3 toilets and 2 basins. Soap and paper towels are provided. The facilities are unisex. There is no electricity so the lighting is solar powered and the showers are gas powered. Showering was definitely an experience. You had to hang out the window to turn on the water tap and the gas tap!

We seek out sites that allow open fires and this site was great for that, with communal fire pits with logs around them to sit on. Great for cooking your marshmallows!

The owner was very friendly and the site had a very relaxed feel. We weren't handed a list of rules on arrival as you are at some sites.

My main gripe was the lack of decent washing up facilities. There was a sink but it was only about 2 feet off the ground and only had cold water. So it was fine for a 2 year old with no greasy dishes! I wouldn't have minded so much if it hadn't been for the fact that it was the most expensive site we have ever visited. That said, the price was per person and allowed you to pitch awnings etc. And take up whatever space you needed - we just didn't need much space so this perk was slightly lost on us!

Overall we really enjoyed our stay.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Milsomr 1 review from this member

We tried to call and text the owner to book our stay but never had a response, we did however manage to get a response to email. We booked to stay 3 nights Starting on Thursday, there was only 1 field open for camping but it was really quiet with only a couple of other tents in the field.

The facilities were very basic but clean. The grass was very long. The owners had left a blackboard asking to text them on arrival and to pitch around the edge of the field. We text the owner and pitched up at the edge of the field away from the other campers.

Having not had any reply from the owner we went to the Seven Stars for dinner (highly recommended) and returned about 9PM having still not seen or heard back from the owner. The first night we stayed we found the camp site very quiet and pleasant.

On Friday we went out for the day and returned around 7PM to find our pitch completely surrounded by approximately 20 tents, vans and cars. We couldn't even park our car near our tent. The leader of the party came over and asked if it was our tent that they had surrounded? She said the owner had told them to take over that corner.

Apparently the owner had over-booked and that party were supposed to have a whole field all to themselves. They also said there were going to be 2 other groups arriving. Feeling very uncomfortable and disappointed we left the camp site and cut short our holiday.

Its disappointing that this could be a really excellent camp site if the owner would communicate better with the guests and I hope this is an isolated incident.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Denty 12 reviews from this member

What a great find!

This is a get-away-from-it-all site, tents only, with basic but adequate facilities, (no electricity) situated within a large farm / estate. Some great views and devoid of road and aircraft noise. I got 3/6 mobile signal (Vod)

Easy to get to as it's close to the A3, my tomtom extremely accurate on the postcode. No shops or pub within walking distance but Petersfield and Winchester are both close.

Opened last year, this site is a large, gently sloping, rectangular grass field, backing onto woods along the topside. The going was a bit soft in a couple of places but overall solid, ideal for tent pegs.

Two other fields will be opening around end April bosting better facilities. Check out the website, easy to navigate and lots of useful info. Despite my being a hardened camper, their glamping units look very inviting.

Owner is very helpful and friendly and has a clear idea of what he wants to offer. Part of this is asking people to pitch tents round the perimeter of the field, leaving the 3 or 4 firepits in the middle as communal fire areas. If communal isn't for you, contained fires (and bbq's) are permitted but kept off the ground - bricks to raise chukka bbq's are at the facilities area.

The partly covered facilities area is in the top corner of the field and has a clever mesh-type ground covering which should greatly reduce the impact of muddy footwear on the ablutions floor. There are various rubbish/recycling bins, cold water washing-up sinks, information board and firewood plus the honesty box for the wood. £5 gets you a large bag of logs and another large bag of kindling / branches. This looks locally sourced and mine was recently cut hence it hissed a lot!

Inside the cabin are 3 spacious loo's, 2 showers and a couple of handbasins with hot water and soap IIRC. Everywhere was very clean. Lighting is by solar power.

Fees are reasonable and simple, no 2 night weekends (so far), just £10 per person Fri, Sat, Sun or £5 person rest of the week.

And that's it, no tedious extras.

I came home thoroughly relaxed - it's a great site and I'll be returning often. Wishing Jack much success with this venture.

Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4534 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019