Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cedar Valley

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Site Reviews

Cedar Valley
Bereleigh Estate
East Meon
Petersfield
Hampshire   (Browse area)
GU32 1PH
Tel: 07557 798857
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 50
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 9 Reviews
                7/10 from 9 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Laura Watts 1 review from this member

34 of us booked to go to this campsite as they accepted large groups & all we wanted was a basic field that the kids & dogs could run about in. We had a lovely weekend, spending good quality time with friends & family. Lots of open space, can have camp fires & very relaxing. The down sides are, the manager of the campsite leads a lot to be desired & really needs to improve his social / communication skills. One evening our group got a bit loud, instead of approaching us, he waited until wed left to email us with the issues. Another camper from another family, has reported on another portal, the manager was over heard talking about our group.

This is totally unprofessional & not what we have experienced with any other sites we have stayed at. So yes it is a lovely site with very basic facilities & doesnt cater for babies, but dont expect any pleasantries from the owner.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Moustach 7 reviews from this member

Yet another great weekend at this lovely little site the new toilet block is a vast improvement over the last one I recommend this site to anyone with a tent who wish to use campfires. The weather wasn't entirely reliable but that is not the campsites fault the facilities were cleaned daily and the only criticism I would make is the loo roll running out but I always have some on board

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Marnhagues 1 review from this member

The site is beautiful, around half an hour from the picturesque village of East Meon, where you can find an excellent pub. The toilet block is adequate and kept clean. This site is probably perfect for young adults coming for a party. On the other hand, for a young family like ours, it disappointed us greatly. We stayed three nights, on the first day, one group had two large dogs running around in the large empty field and barking loudly when our children were trying to go to the toilet. On the second night, 4 large groups arrived and played loud music all evening, it felt like Glastonbury. Our third and last night was by far the best, only 2 other tents and total silence. Therefore, one's experience can be very different depending on which night one turns up. To conclude, I really think that all the above is linked to the owner's ethos, who does not seem to care very much. We saw him only once during our stay and that was to collect the fairly overpriced fee.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stephandebs 1 review from this member

This campsite saved our bacon this weekend, giving us a last-minute booking for a big get-together of several families after our original campsite cancelled our booking at the last minute! However, regardless of my rose-tinted glasses, this really was a lovely location, perfect for small children (large enough field to runaround in but you could always see them) and with very simple but clean facilities. Several pitches are sloping but there are lots of flat areas, and the communal fire pits are a great idea in the middle of the field. It was so clearly a quiet, family-oriented spot that when a couple of younger groups turned up to party on the Friday night they quickly worked out it was the wrong place for them and left within half an hour. The only downside was that, as it was an August weekend, there seemed to be a couple of very noisy groups booked into cottages on the other side of the small wood, and on each night there were very noisy karaoke sessions into the small hours. I'm not sure whether the owner is aware of this or if it's a common problem as we didn't see him on the Sunday to ask. It didn't wake the children but some of the adults complained at breakfast!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nickib15 1 review from this member

Great position for a campsite in the Hampshire countryside well away from any traffic noise. We had a bit of difficulty finding the correct entrance to the site as there are at least 3 entrances to bereleigh estate, but I think a number of them are private entrances (not that the tomtom knew that). Great location for both mountain biking and walking. We took our mountain bikes and cycled from the site along the South Downs Way over to Queen Elizabeth Country Park and back (about a 20 mile round trip).

The facilities are basic but clean. There're are 2 showers, 3 toilets and 2 basins. Soap and paper towels are provided. The facilities are unisex. There is no electricity so the lighting is solar powered and the showers are gas powered. Showering was definitely an experience. You had to hang out the window to turn on the water tap and the gas tap!

We seek out sites that allow open fires and this site was great for that, with communal fire pits with logs around them to sit on. Great for cooking your marshmallows!

The owner was very friendly and the site had a very relaxed feel. We weren't handed a list of rules on arrival as you are at some sites.

My main gripe was the lack of decent washing up facilities. There was a sink but it was only about 2 feet off the ground and only had cold water. So it was fine for a 2 year old with no greasy dishes! I wouldn't have minded so much if it hadn't been for the fact that it was the most expensive site we have ever visited. That said, the price was per person and allowed you to pitch awnings etc. And take up whatever space you needed - we just didn't need much space so this perk was slightly lost on us!

Overall we really enjoyed our stay.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Milsomr 1 review from this member

We tried to call and text the owner to book our stay but never had a response, we did however manage to get a response to email. We booked to stay 3 nights Starting on Thursday, there was only 1 field open for camping but it was really quiet with only a couple of other tents in the field. The facilities were very basic but clean. The grass was very long. The owners had left a blackboard asking to text them on arrival and to pitch around the edge of the field. We text the owner and pitched up at the edge of the field away from the other campers. Having not had any reply from the owner we went to the Seven Stars for dinner (highly recommended) and returned about 9PM having still not seen or heard back from the owner. The first night we stayed we found the camp site very quiet and pleasant.

On Friday we went out for the day and returned around 7PM to find our pitch completely surrounded by approximately 20 tents, vans and cars. We couldn't even park our car near our tent. The leader of the party came over and asked if it was our tent that they had surrounded? She said the owner had told them to take over that corner. Apparently the owner had over-booked and that party were supposed to have a whole field all to themselves. They also said there were going to be 2 other groups arriving. Feeling very uncomfortable and disappointed we left the camp site and cut short our holiday.

Its disappointing that this could be a really excellent camp site if the owner would communicate better with the guests and I hope this is an isolated incident.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Denty 12 reviews from this member

What a great find!

This is a get-away-from-it-all site, tents only, with basic but adequate facilities, (no electricity) situated within a large farm / estate. Some great views and devoid of road and aircraft noise. I got 3/6 mobile signal (Vod)

Easy to get to as it's close to the A3, my tomtom extremely accurate on the postcode. No shops or pub within walking distance but Petersfield and Winchester are both close.

Opened last year, this site is a large, gently sloping, rectangular grass field, backing onto woods along the topside. The going was a bit soft in a couple of places but overall solid, ideal for tent pegs.

Two other fields will be opening around end April bosting better facilities. Check out the website, easy to navigate and lots of useful info. Despite my being a hardened camper, their glamping units look very inviting.

Owner is very helpful and friendly and has a clear idea of what he wants to offer. Part of this is asking people to pitch tents round the perimeter of the field, leaving the 3 or 4 firepits in the middle as communal fire areas. If communal isn't for you, contained fires (and bbq's) are permitted but kept off the ground - bricks to raise chukka bbq's are at the facilities area.

The partly covered facilities area is in the top corner of the field and has a clever mesh-type ground covering which should greatly reduce the impact of muddy footwear on the ablutions floor. There are various rubbish/recycling bins, cold water washing-up sinks, information board and firewood plus the honesty box for the wood. 5 gets you a large bag of logs and another large bag of kindling / branches. This looks locally sourced and mine was recently cut hence it hissed a lot!

Inside the cabin are 3 spacious loo's, 2 showers and a couple of handbasins with hot water and soap IIRC. Everywhere was very clean. Lighting is by solar power.

Fees are reasonable and simple, no 2 night weekends (so far), just 10 per person Fri, Sat, Sun or 5 person rest of the week.

And that's it, no tedious extras.

I came home thoroughly relaxed - it's a great site and I'll be returning often. Wishing Jack much success with this venture.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jaredg 3 reviews from this member

An average site.

We had dreadful weather, which is no ones fault, but the owners sold us logs that we're sitting in 6 inches of water - not clever. And the field is primarily on a slant, so not the best pitch surface.

However, the facilities are quite good, the location is gorgeous and plenty far enough from any noise/traffic.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Neilbennison 1 review from this member

Lovely stay for our two young boys.

Very quiet site with beautiful villages near by.

Large field with basic but clean toilet block, cleaned at least once a day. Two showers with hot water, three toilets and two hand sinks. Outside is sink with cold water and washing up area.

Real sense of community around site. 4 large camp fire areas which was lovely for families and children to sit around at night.

Town amenities (Tesco, banks etc) close by in Peterfields around 10 minutes drive away.

Owner very pleasant and around twice a day to service site/help campers.

No electricity, no playground but with other families around we certainly didn't need them.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3040 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019