Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Haggs Bank Bunkhouse And Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Haggs Bank Bunkhouse And Campsite
Nentsberry
Alston
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA9 3LH
Tel: 01434 382486
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 11 Reviews
                9/10 from 11 Reviews

Photos (4)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 490 reviews from this member

Nice site on the road between Alston and Nenthead.

Good pitches and facilities.

Ideally located for exploring the mine heritage in the area.

The Miners Arms in Nenthead is a nice, traditional pub.

Date of Visit: January 2017 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: DenzilB 1 review from this member

While supporting a runner in the Montane Spine race, we dropped in with no notice mid evening. Although they were in the middle of a major refurbish/redecorate and effectively closed, they sorted out a space in one of the bunk rooms for us to use, with great en-suite bathroom.

Internal facilities are fantastic - more high class hotel than bunkhouse.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Mlcreed 7 reviews from this member

We were really looking forward to staying at this site because of all the good reviews. The toilet block indeed is amazing, there is also a stunning water feature at the front of the amenity block. The camping area also looked fantastic. I think access to local pubs and walks is great.

Unfortunately we were in our campervan. The campervan/motorvan park was really a car park next to a road. There was a stag party at the bunk house which I think made it busier so there was barely anywhere to pitch anyway. It was after a race, so we just went home.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: HollyTheCollie 3 reviews from this member

We stayed here on our off road Coast to Coast trip. Very warm welcome from Danny.

The campsite has been forged out of the old quarry and is tiered on a steep bank. The track up the hill is in good condition but very steep.

We were the only campers - well there was ground frost - so we had the pick of the site. Fantastic views over the valley and beyond. Just beware the midges! These northern ones can cope with frost! That said they go to bed early as darkness falls.

The best campsite loos ever! Never been to such cosy loos/showers. And pristine!

Peering into bunkhouse bedrooms looked equally high standard.

Didn't have time to explore but footpaths everywhere from your tent.

Also not far from pubs but again that is for the next time.

This is a work in progress but it's going in the right direction so far! Well done Danny!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: JoetheToad 5 reviews from this member

We're just back from three nights hammock camping at Haggs Bank. We chose the site because it has woodland you can camp in (something fairly rare in England!) but we'll return because it offers something pretty unique.

Dealing with the owner first and him really going the extra mile. It's not just the offer of lifts to the pub (we were happy to stay on site). It's the little things like bringing a van full of wood when you say you'd like a bonfire, and a chair for your daughter, and marshmallows to toast on the fire (and hot chocolate too). The man is someone who has camped for years and understands that little things (and bigger things too) make a holiday memorable. Other examples? We were hammock camping, and on the last night we were hit by a downpour which saw flooding in the south. Danny offered we could stay in the bunkhouse to save our things getting wet because he'd checked the forecast. We toughed it out and stayed dry, but the offer was kind and thoughtful, as is the man. The following morning when we'd packed up, he brought us mugs of tea.

The toilets are spotless. The showers are hot (and free). There is filtered spring water (so good we brought a container back with us!). The setting is idyllic. The road isn't busy, and despite camping fairly close to it (you don't have to but I'm disabled and it was convenient for me) we didn't notice any noise and things are quiet enough not to worry about your children crossing it. Well. I heard the occasional pheasant, tawny owl and sheep. But nothing else.

I admit my daughter was woken by noise in the middle of the night, but this was two red squirrels playing with her water bottle. You can't 'manufacture' holiday experiences like that, or toasting marshmallows, or cooking thai curry on a campfire (I don't do baked beans!) or looking up at stars with zero light pollution. We didn't go off site once. My daughter left her tablet in the car. She wants to go back next week (and we probably will).

At 8 for an adult and 4 for a child per night, it's the cheapest site we've been on in years. Haggs Bank is the antithesis of sites with their pseudo-suburban, leylandii screened, numbered pitches, karaoke and efforts to drain you of your last 50 pence. If you're tired of sites which say you can't have a bonfire and have wardens in jack boots, you'll have come to the right place. If you want to relax, in a warm atmosphere and experience nature with the convenience of a decent loo and washing facilities, you won't find a better place.

The cheap prices aren't reflected in the quality of the site. It's very well maintained and spotless. It's peaceful and not overcrowded. There's a pub within walking distance but far enough away so you wouldn't know it's there. The shops in Alston (a very picturesque village/town) have everything you need and are 10 minutes by car.

Facilities. The bunkhouse looks brand new inside and is a barn conversion. Plenty of toilets in a solid stone building and pristine. Filtered spring water to drink. Hard standing for tourers and caravans. They have electric pitches, you can camp in woodland or on a field looking across a valley, or in another bit of woodland by the stream. I had a decent phone signal too (Vodaphone) - strong enough to share photos on Facebook.

A really special site, and thanks to Danny and his boys for making the holiday perfect. He loves his site and wants others to love it too. We did.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Alkaz1808 2 reviews from this member

We arrived at the site in our newly acquired motorhome with the intention of putting up the awning and generally getting used to the motorhome. The owner Danny was on hand as son as we arrived. He helped us with filling up and showed us our pitch. The motorhomes and caravans are on hard standing in the car park over the road to the bunkhouse.

The shower and toilet block are new, warm and extremely clean. He is busy building another toilet block in the car park. He has obviously carried out a lot of work since acquiring the site, . New trees are planted on the tent site and the paths are well gravelled with smart walls. I had a look round the bunkhouse and was well impressed. It's warm clean and very roomy. There are a number of small rooms with bunk beds with bedding. You can also hire the whole bunkhouse for functions etc

The site is on the coast to Coast route and also popular with bikers. Cars and bikes speed past, however this didn't bother us as we like bikes.

Danny helped us with our awning and was always around to help with anything. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and wish Danny every success for the future. I hope his hard work pays off

Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Union John 5 reviews from this member

I was the only soul here for two nights in February. The campervan section is across the road from the tent pitches and across the road from the showers and toilets. Although it's an 'A' road it isn't busy. The van pitches are all hard-standing and there are plenty of hook-ups. No chemical toilet disposal as yet but washing-up and other facilities are in the pipe-line on the hard-standing site.

The shower block is superb; lashings of hot water and heated properly. Almost brand new and fitted to a very high standard. Although I was there on my own the heating was on and very much appreciated.

I walked through the tent part of the site on my way back after a day on the hills; as the other reviews have said they are well-terraced and although new it's easy to see that once the vegetation has grown up a bit the landscaping will be great.

This is a great base for walking in the area; the nearest pub is just about walkable but I didn't as I'd had enough by the time I got back. And that is the only down-side; given it's location this site really requires that you have access to a car or, if in a van, don't mind driving the van off the site.

I've still got a couple of hills to do in the area and will certainly be back

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Me and Mutt 1 review from this member

Spent 5 nights at this site at the end of August. Fantastic ! Level pitches set into the sloping site creating terraces. Pitch where you like. Sheltered washing up area. Excellent facilities. Spotlessly clean unisex toilets, showers, basins all in a heated room within the bunkhouse. After unloading, cars are parked in a parking area by the road, which makes for a peaceful site with views across the valley. The owners, Cathy and Danny, are very friendly.

Great location for walking and exploring the old lead mines.

Village shop and pub 5 minutes drive away.

I shall be back.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Camper reborn 1 review from this member

A great campsite which was just what we wanted - no play park and not one giant field with lots of plots laid out. The terracing on the hillside provided good flat pitches with well graded ground and easy to put pegs in. The shower and toilet block is new and unisex. The block was also heated which was nice and clearly designed by somebody that has camped!

There were some plots available for small tents in some trees which looked nice but you would have to cross the road to get to the toilet block - good views both ways so not the end of the world but not ideal for kids - however most pitches were on terrraces on the same side as the shower block. Plenty of cold water points and washing up place. Cars to drop off only by tent and then park at the bottom which makes it nicer in my opinion.

Views were great and on a clear night the stars would be lovely owing to the remoteness from light pollution.

I went with my 12 year old daughter who thought it was great. Nearby attractions visited were the steam railway from Alston and also Killhope lead mining museum which was excellent including the underground tour.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mezman 1 review from this member

Superb location, gorgeous views including unrivalled star gazing opportunities. ! Toilet/showers excellent, for a recently established site the owners have gone to great lengths to provide top quality accommodation and service. We were allowed to check out the bunk house facilities and were again impressed with the level finish that has been achieved and for what they charge it offers fantastic value for money so maybe we will be leaving the tent behind next time. !

There is a great pub two minutes away offering good food at reasonable prices. Shops are a little further away but nothing that represents an issue in a car. We asked the owner about holding functions here in specific booking the whole bunk house itself for gatherings and this was not a problem and would we require breakfasts if so, fantastic hospitality indeed. ! We will 100% be going back again if nothing more than for the hospitality we received, cant fault the site. !

Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2706 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!