Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Haggs Bank Bunkhouse And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Alston > Haggs Bank Bunkhouse And Campsite > Reviews

Haggs Bank Bunkhouse And Campsite
Nentsberry
Alston
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA9 3LH
Tel: 01434 382486
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10 caravans and 10 motorhomes
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 16 Reviews
                9/10 from 16 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: B16 RPG 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed in the bunk house. Staff very amenable and allowed us to upgrade our booking from camping to the bunk house at short notice due to a long cold day cycling.

Excellent accommodation very clean and met our needs.

If I could make one suggestion it would possibly be supplying a small radio for the lounge. We made do playing music on a phone.

The nearest eatery is currently down the road in Alston. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Boxervan 11 reviews from this member

 Arrived by motorcycle.

Very friendly, helpful reception from the owners.

Camped on level terrace behind bunkhouse.

Well kept facilities.

Great views.

Quiet through the night.

Hope to visit again soon! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Angela Moroney 1 review from this member

 Brilliant bunkhouse - warm with really good drying facilities.

Well stocked kitchen all rooms and bedding spotless.

Owner Helen very accommodating - thank you 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Laura1 1 review from this member

 Stayed at the bunkhouse as doing Issacs tea trail. Immaculately clean at comfortable, lovely friendly welcome.

Due to Covid I had a whole bunkhouse to myself, my travelling companions had the one with the en-suite. It is right on the road but traffic stops at about 10 so not an issue.

My only observation would be to have sanitizer at all the doors with key pads. There was no transport to or from Alston, ( probably due to Covid) but taxis not operating.

Had a lovely meal at the Cumberland Hotel which despite reduced menu caters for vegan, veggie, coeliac etc.

Canít comment on child friendliness as we are all old fogeys 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Captainc 1 review from this member

 A super place with great views and things to do.

The hosts Danny and Helen are very welcoming.

Can't wait to return again this year.

The facilities are very clean. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 641 reviews from this member

 Nice site on the road between Alston and Nenthead.

Good pitches and facilities.

Ideally located for exploring the mine heritage in the area.

The Miners Arms in Nenthead is a nice, traditional pub. 


Date of Visit: January 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: DenzilB 1 review from this member

 While supporting a runner in the Montane Spine race, we dropped in with no notice mid evening. Although they were in the middle of a major refurbish/redecorate and effectively closed, they sorted out a space in one of the bunk rooms for us to use, with great en-suite bathroom.

Internal facilities are fantastic - more high class hotel than bunkhouse. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Mlcreed 7 reviews from this member

 We were really looking forward to staying at this site because of all the good reviews. The toilet block indeed is amazing, there is also a stunning water feature at the front of the amenity block.

The camping area also looked fantastic. I think access to local pubs and walks is great.

Unfortunately we were in our campervan. The campervan/motorvan park was really a car park next to a road. There was a stag party at the bunk house which I think made it busier so there was barely anywhere to pitch anyway. It was after a race, so we just went home. 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HollyTheCollie 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here on our off road Coast to Coast trip. Very warm welcome from Danny.

The campsite has been forged out of the old quarry and is tiered on a steep bank. The track up the hill is in good condition but very steep.

We were the only campers - well there was ground frost - so we had the pick of the site. Fantastic views over the valley and beyond. Just beware the midges! These northern ones can cope with frost! That said they go to bed early as darkness falls.

The best campsite loos ever! Never been to such cosy loos/showers. And pristine!

Peering into bunkhouse bedrooms looked equally high standard.

Didn't have time to explore but footpaths everywhere from your tent.

Also not far from pubs but again that is for the next time.

This is a work in progress but it's going in the right direction so far! Well done Danny! 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: JoetheToad 5 reviews from this member

 We're just back from three nights hammock camping at Haggs Bank. We chose the site because it has woodland you can camp in (something fairly rare in England!) but we'll return because it offers something pretty unique.

Dealing with the owner first and him really going the extra mile. It's not just the offer of lifts to the pub (we were happy to stay on site). It's the little things like bringing a van full of wood when you say you'd like a bonfire, and a chair for your daughter, and marshmallows to toast on the fire (and hot chocolate too). The man is someone who has camped for years and understands that little things (and bigger things too) make a holiday memorable. Other examples? We were hammock camping, and on the last night we were hit by a downpour which saw flooding in the south. Danny offered we could stay in the bunkhouse to save our things getting wet because he'd checked the forecast. We toughed it out and stayed dry, but the offer was kind and thoughtful, as is the man. The following morning when we'd packed up, he brought us mugs of tea.

The toilets are spotless. The showers are hot (and free). There is filtered spring water (so good we brought a container back with us!). The setting is idyllic. The road isn't busy, and despite camping fairly close to it (you don't have to but I'm disabled and it was convenient for me) we didn't notice any noise and things are quiet enough not to worry about your children crossing it. Well. I heard the occasional pheasant, tawny owl and sheep. But nothing else.

I admit my daughter was woken by noise in the middle of the night, but this was two red squirrels playing with her water bottle. You can't 'manufacture' holiday experiences like that, or toasting marshmallows, or cooking thai curry on a campfire (I don't do baked beans!) or looking up at stars with zero light pollution. We didn't go off site once. My daughter left her tablet in the car. She wants to go back next week (and we probably will).

At £8 for an adult and £4 for a child per night, it's the cheapest site we've been on in years. Haggs Bank is the antithesis of sites with their pseudo-suburban, leylandii screened, numbered pitches, karaoke and efforts to drain you of your last 50 pence. If you're tired of sites which say you can't have a bonfire and have wardens in jack boots, you'll have come to the right place. If you want to relax, in a warm atmosphere and experience nature with the convenience of a decent loo and washing facilities, you won't find a better place.

The cheap prices aren't reflected in the quality of the site. It's very well maintained and spotless. It's peaceful and not overcrowded. There's a pub within walking distance but far enough away so you wouldn't know it's there. The shops in Alston (a very picturesque village/town) have everything you need and are 10 minutes by car.

Facilities. The bunkhouse looks brand new inside and is a barn conversion. Plenty of toilets in a solid stone building and pristine. Filtered spring water to drink. Hard standing for tourers and caravans. They have electric pitches, you can camp in woodland or on a field looking across a valley, or in another bit of woodland by the stream. I had a decent phone signal too (Vodaphone) - strong enough to share photos on Facebook.

A really special site, and thanks to Danny and his boys for making the holiday perfect. He loves his site and wants others to love it too. We did. 


Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Haggs Bank Bunkhouse And Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Haggs Bank Bunkhouse And Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Haggs Bank Bunkhouse And Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Alston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Great Caravan, Motorhome and Holiday Home Show 06/09 to 08/09

Held in Harrogate - a huge array of products on show. Industry leading manufacturers of holiday homes, caravans, motorhomes and tourers, with hundreds of different models on show. Win Two tickets and £500 to spend at the Show

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6543 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement