Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Glan Morfa Mawr

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Portmadog > Glan Morfa Mawr Reviews

Glan Morfa Mawr
Morfa Bychan
Portmadog
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL49 9YH
Tel: 01766 515133
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: 13/07/2020 to 31/10/2020
           01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 17 Reviews
                9/10 from 17 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gazatates 2 reviews from this member

 Great site. clean and tidy pitches with full services. good location for the beach,

Would definitely visit again

Also close for other coastal areas to visit and Historic castles 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Keith1 1 review from this member

 Fantastic clean site, photos don't do site justice,

Close to beach, if you can find better you will be hard to please,

Cleanliness second to none,

Porthmadog only a short drive away 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dxc02 13 reviews from this member

 A full 10 from 10 from us. My previous review for Glan Morfa Mawr was in 2013 which was exactly the same.

We visited in July for 10 nights and then again for a long weekend in late September, though they are really two different holidays due to the volume of tourists in the area the site remains consistent, the friendliness of the owners and the fellow caravanners alike is very relaxing indeed.

The facilities are still spotless, always clean, always warm and dry. There have been some tarmac roads and paths installed since my last review, each year there we have noticed changes to the site, some small and some more intensive.

Don't worry about the "Site Rules List" which appears to pop up on the odd review on here, they are basic rules that make your stay a comfortable one assuming that everyone adheres to them, exactly the same as other national caravan / camping affiliates.

Well done to the proprietors for achieving and attaining a very high standard.

Dave n' Jill :-) 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Geoffac 3 reviews from this member

 We turned up unannounced late on a Sunday afternoon and were blown away by the welcome and standard of this site. It is immaculate. Beautifully laid out with outstanding facilities.

Canít disagree enough with the poster who complained about the rules. We didnít see any that caused us any problems. We ate outside and relaxed in the calm atmosphere that comes from a site that does mostly cater for adults. I guess itís horses for courses really. There are some family sites that donít work for us, however the children who were knocking about the site today seemed to be enjoying themselves.

In the end, itís personal choice that matters. This site rates in the to 10 of the sites we have visited. If not the top 3 (and we have been camping for over 30 years). 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cymraeg Caravanner 2 reviews from this member

 A well-presented but most unwelcoming site unfortunately. As others have said, not just here but on Google, Facebook, TripAdvisor etc. Glan Morfa Mawr provides Arrivals with such a minefield of rules that it ends up quite a miserable place to be.

It is of course, entirely at the owners' discretion what and how many rules they implement but with this many you feel it's impossible to move without inadvertently breaking one.

Those who enjoy it seem to be 'older adults' or 'empty-nesters' who don't want to cook outside while camping and to whom the A4 page of rules doesn't really apply anyway. So if thatís you then doubtless youíll love it. (We're in our early 40s self-employed and with 2 very well-behaved, polite and employed High Schoolers, by the way. )

However, Morfa Buchan is gorgeous area and as such there are MANY campsites to choose from, so Iíd advise pretty much anyone else to book one of the others on offer. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Irvine45 73 reviews from this member

 Yet another visit to this fantastic site. It may not be to everyone's liking as there is no club house or children's swing park. But it is a very quiet site about a mile from the beach and the facilities are second to none.

Thanks for another brill weekend. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Irvine45 73 reviews from this member

 Thanks for another great weekend on this site. It is always well laid out and the facilities are always immaculate.

When I had issues with my towing electrics, the staff were on hand to help me get moving.

A first class site, that I will continue to visit. 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Banditmum 4 reviews from this member

 We thoroughly enjoyed our stay on this newly refurbished site. We were given a warm welcome and the owners were always helpful and friendly. The facilities are spacious and spotless with every amenity needed. The site is clean, well-organised, quiet and close to the beach at Black Rock Sands. We were so impressed that we booked again for next year! Ron and Jacki and dogs. 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Irvine45 73 reviews from this member

 This is my second visit to this site, and I can say the very high standards which I was first impressed with are still in place. The little shrubs between the pitches as starting to get bigger so it is an improving site all the time. The pitches are all hard standing with slate, so don't forget your rock pegs if you want to put a awning up, I struggled putting up an airer. They are large and even my inexperienced reversing onto the pitch was a doddle.

A good base, with a 15min walk to the expansive Black Rock sands.

I would recommend this site. First class 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dave Donnelly 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed two nights as a trial of the new awning for our motorhome, and chose this site after reading other reviews as there are a few in the area and we were not disappointed !

Great services and large pitches, very friendly and helpful staff and friendly fellow users.

Well laid out and well kept.

The toilet/shower block is immaculate and the setting with the mountains as a back drop is fantastic.

The pub in Beech road is not too far to walk to and has generous portions and serves a lot of campsites, so clean and good service but fairly basic decor etc.

We would like to return for a longer stay and explore the local area more. 


Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Glan Morfa Mawr child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Glan Morfa Mawr?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Glan Morfa Mawr dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Portmadog      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2016 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement