Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hedgehogs Retreat Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Buckinghamshire > Akeley > Hedgehogs Retreat Certificated Site > Reviews

Hedgehogs Retreat Certificated Site
Buckingham Road
Akeley
Buckinghamshire   (Browse area)
MK18 5HL
Tel: 07738 015925  or  07738 015924
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 Vans + Tents
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 22 Reviews
                10/10 from 22 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2024 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Comediansinakangoo 1 review from this member

 We came to hedgehogs campsite while attending a ventriloquism convention in Milton Keynes booking the campsite was really simple straightforward and stressfree.

Finding the campsite was a little tricky but A quick phone call to the site sorted it in minutes.

Once we arrived finding our pitch simple there’s plenty of room and big wide open skies which are gorgeous plenty of fresh air. There’s horses, a llama sheep lots of peace and quiet.

There is occasional playing overhead at night and be ex military. I loved hearing a chinook chugging its way through the skies one night

The communities are very simple but they’re clean and well stocked.

We really enjoyed our stay at hedgehogs will totally recommend it.

It’s fantastic value for money and will be pitching our awning there again next year. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Jamesvolunteer 13 reviews from this member

 An excellent, peaceful and spacious CS with basic facilities.

I used the site as a base to see family in the area. The magnificent Stowe School and Gardens is nearby, and this has free parking and access to the café and shop.

I took my folding bike and cycled around the area a bit and it was quite nice. The roads are a little fast for my liking, but there were plenty of cyclists around, so it seems to be a popular area for that.

The facilities are basic. Toilets in a portacabin and cold running water, so bear that in mind. Also at the weekend when I visited, the surrounding roads were a little noisy with 'revving kevins'.

I was the only tent. I think because of the facilities, the place is more popular with vans, but as far as tent camping goes, the place is very spacious and flat.

The owners and their animals are great, and I would definitely return when in the area. 


Date of Visit: May 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Penelo 1 review from this member

 I stopped here to break a long journey.

It was pouring with rain, so the owner suggested, as I was staying such a short time, I could park in the yard just by the stables and not far from the toilet block.

I spent a really quiet and comfortable night, lulled by the sounds of the horses and waking to the sight of many house martens.

It was perfect for what I needed. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Suewri 1 review from this member

 A very picturesque site, animals that entertained the children.

Lots of room and very well maintained.

Would highly recommend and will definitely return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: DaviesAEHS 5 reviews from this member

 Our first time in this area. A lovely campsite - basic with only toilets and cold water but that didn't bother us at all.

The owners are very friendly and happy to chat and offer suggestions, directions etc.

Our teenagers loved helping to look after the ponies and the alpaca. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: JOHN OCONNOR 2 reviews from this member

 Never been before but the site is only 30 mins from where we live. We had a lovely welcome from Mo and Nev.

The site is basic but rustic and at £10 per night what's not to like. It is in an idyllic setting with great views and the star of the show is Belle the Shetland pony who is quite pampered.

She loves sugar free polo mints as she is diabetic. There is great golf at Whittlebury Hall nearby which I played. Also the Bull & Butcher pub just down the road were offering 2 Ribeye steaks with a free bottle of wine (£24. 00 on the menu ) for £50. 00 so obviously we took up the offer and it was delicious.

There is also a few National Trust properties in the area and Evenley Woods Gardens stretching over 60 acres so no excuse of having nothing to do.

Bletchley Park of enigma fame is a short drive away as is Milton Keynes for a bit of Retail Therapy.

We are away to France and Spain next month for 2 months but we will certainly be back several times during the year now we know of it.

You will not be disappointed 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Rbenda 1 review from this member

 After arriving mid afternoon, we were welcomed my both owners of the site. A lovely couple to talk to and most friendly. They told us all the information needed and more,

We wanted a hard standing, due to the weather forecasted. We had a choice of where to pitch, it ws a lovely site to be on nice and honest. Water, toilet, and disposal clean and tidy.

Had some really nice sunsets. We had weather a storm, high winds and snow, not bad for three days.

We will certainty return with better weather. 


Date of Visit: October 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Janetclayton 4 reviews from this member

 This is a beautiful tranquil site run by Nev & Mo who are very helpful, lovely people.

We have stayed here many times.

Basic facilities but perfectly adequate.

We often take Belle, the Shetland pony for a walk.

Lovely site with nice walks/cycle rides into Buckingham and surrounding villages. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Corinp 1 review from this member

 I was met by Mo at the gate and she was really welcoming as she gave me a low down on the site in the dark and the rain!

It was very peaceful and quiet and Mo was happy for me to use my raised BBQ which was later used as a firepit.

Very little light pollution so the stars were great and also very little road noise, perhaps two cars used the lane outside all night.

Basic but clean facilities - I didn't want showers or EHU so it suited me down to the ground and very reasonably priced.

A great spot and I'll certainly use it again if visiting the area. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Evelyn 1 review from this member

 Great campsite, owners very friendly,

Was nice to just relax in the country side,

Will definitely go again,

Toilets were clean, ground was flat,

Plenty of space between each visitor. 
via mobile


Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Hedgehogs Retreat Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hedgehogs Retreat Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Hedgehogs Retreat Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Akeley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Buckinghamshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3801 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement