Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Boveys Down Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Colyton > Boveys Down Farm Reviews

Boveys Down Farm
Farway
Colyton
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX24 6JD
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 15
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 10 Reviews
                8/10 from 10 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Pamfra 1 review from this member

 The owners were very friendly & hard working. And available at all times, supplying food & drinks through out the day from breakfast to amazing cream teas & dinner in the evening’s.

The toilets & showers although a little tired looking were very clean with lots of hot water, they were cleaned several times a day with hand gel & antiseptic cleaning wipes available at all times.

The touring pitches were spacious & very well socially distanced from each other. With fantastic views over the valley.

In the evening you can watch the stars while keeping warm with the fire pits that are available to hire. A perfect way to end a busy day at the seaside! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Elisab 1 review from this member

 Great site: well-located near beaches, walks, towns;

Friendly staff;

Quiet; spacious pitches; fab views;

Relaxed feel; fire pits to hire.

Would definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: November 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: CrispinMac 5 reviews from this member

 I stayed here for 1 night as I was going to Tar Barrels in Ottery St Mary.

On arrival I found the family dining outside their on site cafe and started and they were happy for me to take a seat and join the conversation. All of the facilities and pitch options were explained to me, and a fire pit and wood given on a sack truck. Excellent and friendly service with a homely touch.

The facilities are good. Several pitches have hookups available, the toilet and shower block whilst small and simple was clean and had everything needed. There is also a great cafe / restaurant on site with a bar all done out with fresh flowers and festoon lighting.

The tent pitches are a little sloping but lovely grass field with trees and views. There is also a communal fire pit.

I was the only one staying that night but can imagine an awesome atmosphere when it is full.

Excellent rates too. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Naich 17 reviews from this member

 In a good location to explore the beaches of West Dorset and East Devon, this site has lovely views across the countryside. The owners are friendly and happy to help with anything.

They run a catering business from the main building, so food and drink is available in a restaurant, and you can buy milk there.

The facilities were good and the site was well maintained, although all the pitches were quite slopey.

There was a little bit of noise from the small but surprisingly busy road, but at the end of the road is a large well-run pub which is very popular and does good food. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nick Cooper l 1 review from this member

 A lovely site. Fantastic views, excellent facilities. Wonderful hospitality.

The Owners, Pam & Gerrald are simply lovely. Nothing is too much trouble & the food is marvellous.

I wholeheartedly recommend a visit you won't be disappointed.

We'll certainly be going back 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: January 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Arma3 5 reviews from this member

 Location good with a great view. Showers & toilets ok but in serious need of a referb.

Nice converted barn on site which doubles up as a bar and a restaurant/ lounge

Camp needs a tidy and tbh in January £23 is a little excessive 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Mirabelle 37 reviews from this member

 Very unpleasant and stressful experience. We arrived here with our young Niece after a long drive and as soon as we pulled in our hearts sank. Although the views were wonderful, the site was far from it, having stayed at many farm sites and enjoyed the natural basic facilities there we aren't unrealistic, but this was something else.

Our 7 night booking had been messed up so the very limited caravan space, which was basically a rubble like area with weeds was full, we negotiated a muddy very steep slope to use the dirty ramshackle toilet whilst waiting for our booking to be sorted out and felt even more let down,

Then sadly the owner become very irate when we declined his offer to 'squeeze us in the little paddock as only space left', this was an overgrown field with no facilities or hook up with grass and weeds a few foot high, it became obvious there was no pitch for us, and that this site has serious issues with organisation as well as lacking in service/ facilities.

It went from bad to worse when we politely stated this was not what we had booked and paid for, as he then became very rude and began shouting in our face, it was shocking behaviour, never experienced in many many years of camping.

We felt very uncomfortable and stressed but finally after much resistance and rudeness he agreed a partial refund, which we took as we were so desperate to leave.

Thankfully a wonderful site about 15 mins away had space for us, otherwise our family holiday would have been ruined. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jimbo574 1 review from this member

 This is a peaceful and tranquil location, owners couldn't do enough for you!

Having read the other reviews I can understand the issues that might have been faced by lack of facilities but when we stayed here the new shower block was up and running and we, and other campers we spoke to were more than happy with the new facilities.

There was also a hot water sink to wash up in that had recently been installed so thumbs up for that.

From the numerous other places we have stayed at we did not think price was at all expensive: we've been charged near £25 per night for a pitch that set us back only £15 at this site! This camp site is a bit of a 'no shoes no news' kinda place.

The basics you need for camping are there (shower, toilet, chemical disposal, water, electric, perishables available etc) but its a no thrills site as in no discotheque, kids ball pit, evening ent, swimming pool etc.

Its where you go to do 'real' camping, get away from it all and to be in the solitude of nature which is what we love.

10 out of 10 from us! 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pgkl 1 review from this member

 Bovey's Down farm has a fantastic location; the view across the valley is really pretty, it's close to Honiton for supermarkets, and not far from the beach.

However, the facilities don't really match up to the location. When we stayed, the shower/toilet block was still under construction. The working facilities consisted of one bathroom containing a loo and shower, which appeared to double as the cloakroom and toilet for the catering business on site. We were not staying for long, and were able to do washing up in the sink outside of the toilet block (no hot water) - however if the site had been busy at all, there would have been a massive queue.

The tariff is a bit odd as well. There's different rates for large and small tents. Large tents are defined as anything more than 150x320cm. You'll be hard pushed to find a 2 person tent that's less than 150cm wide, so I suppose its a single person rate really. The price increase for the large tents made this campsite not great value for money.

The toilet block is probably finished by now, and will definitely improve the site, but as things stood we weren't too impressed. Still, nice and quiet spot if you don't mind poor facilities. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Patmarshall 6 reviews from this member

 Very quiet site and friendly owners. We slept well. Facilities do not seem to tie up with those published. Perhaps they are a wish list. The toilet block is currently under construction and looks like it will soon be finished.

Just one toilet and cold water only while we were there. They do have a kitchen which looks up to standard and has a 4 out 5 food hygiene rating. They offer cream teas from 12:00. I don't think it is wheel chair accessible safely.

We could not pick up WiFi, No sign of an Elsan point. No shop or cycle hire apparent.

There seems to be electric hook although this is achieved with training leads daisy chained up the filed. One goes and they all go. No your usual hook up points. Up Animals are on the farm and the grass is trimmed quite long.

The actual price for two nights with a trailer tent and awning but no electric hook up was £38. A tad expensive for the lack I facilities we felt but it suited our needs. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Boveys Down Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Boveys Down Farm?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Boveys Down Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Colyton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3791 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement