Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Emberton Country Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > Buckinghamshire > Site Reviews

Emberton Country Park
Emberton
Olney Road
Olney
Buckinghamshire   (Browse area)
MK46 5FJ
Tel: 01234 711 575  or  01908 691691
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 200
Open: 1st April-31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 32 Reviews
                6/10 from 32 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  32 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Headgirl 1 review from this member

We stayed here for 3 nights over the early May Bank Holiday, us in our Motorhome and daughter with her family in a Tent. Both of us paid for Electric Hook Up.

The Caravan/Camping Site is located within extensive and, indeed, beautiful parkland. It is approximately one mile into Olney, where there are some lovely Café and individual Shops.

There are some lovely walks, several well-equipped Childrens Playgrounds and also a Café.

However, there are also some downsides:

1. The Toilet/Shower Block/Pot Washing facilities are very poor quality, as well as being very poorly looked after.

There are 3 Showers in the Ladies side, one of which didn't have a Door (or even a Shower curtain).

Furthermore, there is nowhere to put your Toiletries or Clothes which means everything gets soaking wet.

Temperature control of the water in the Showers is shocking - not ideal for anyone but definitely not when you're showering young children.

Another thing we noted was that there is no door to give privacy to either the Ladies or Gents Toilet facilities from both the Entrance and where people are doing their Washing Up.

A male and female 'cleaner' arrived each day to attend the Shower/Toilet/washing Up facility. I say 'cleaner' since it was virtually impossible to ascertain what they actually did whilst there as the place looked as bad before as after their visit!

Indeed, the soap dispenser in the Ladies Toilets was empty Saturday morning. And still empty on Monday afternoon as we departed.

2. The Cost per night, per unit is £27. 70.

When we have paid £24 per night at other sites for far superior facilities (not unlike hotel standard) this, to us, is extremely over priced.

Furthermore, there is NO Warden on Site after 16. 45 hours.

3. On arrival, we wanted to fill up with Fresh Water - something which is quite normal on arrival at a site. However, the tap is a 'Push Button ' tap and will not connect to a Hose Pipe.

When we raised this with the person in the Gatehouse, she said "I've never been asked for that before - that's anew one"!

What we had to do was drive off our pitch to another which also had a tap, fill our tanks and then go back to our allocated pitch. Never had to do that before!

To visit Emberton Park for the day costs £4. 50 for the day. This is actually very good value for money. As we noted over the weekend, there were numerous large groups of people having Barbecues, Birthday Parties and Picnics. They erected Gazebos, tents, etc all overthe Park Areas.

Another facility within Emberton Park is Grounds Coffee Shop. This is a great asset to the Park for those visiting.

However, we found it to be Overpriced, Poor Service and Poor Quality Products.

This place, as far as being a Caravan/Campsite, could potentially be so very much better all around.

However, at the prices being charged, for what is actually received for the money paid, we will definitely NOT be returning any time soon.
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Waelands 3 reviews from this member

Site is located in the Country Park which has nice walks and views across lakes. There are many kids play areas and cafe etc. However.

The toilets are terrible. Cleaned once a day if you're lucky, no loo roll for hours, only 5 loos and 3 showers for whole campsite. Showers cold even at 8 am. There 2 Council chaps sitting outside in a van listening to music and playing on phones.

I asked if they were here to clean loos as no loo roll for 2 hours. They told me yes, but wouldn't go in whilst blocks were in use!??? On the basis there are no other facilities I told them to just get on with it as they are a disgrace. Puddles on floors, loo roll everywhere, grass everywhere and sinks filthy.

Second issue- no warden, so unless you want to spend £81 for 3 nights for a family if 3 being kept awake until the early morning by groups getting drunk, playing music and being rowdy, do not camp here

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dutters 2 reviews from this member

We have stayed at this site many times and always had a great time. The Country Park is wonderful and the kids love it. However, after our last visit we will never be going back.

The main issue was music noise from two large groups of campers - one so loud it could be heard all over the country park, and the other group (right next to us) continued their music very loudly until 2am when they then decided to empty all their bottles and cans into the bin!

There are no on site wardens once the park gatehouse shuts at 1700 so no-one to complain to or deal with any issues. The site allegedly has a 'quiet from 10pm' policy, but there is no way that this can be enforced.

The other issues we had on this visit were the state of the toilets and showers - we arrived on Friday and they weren't cleaned until Sunday mid-morning by which time all the toilets had run out of paper and there was water and grass all over the floors.

Finally, the Elsan point was blocked and disgusting.

For £27 per night, I expect a lot more from a campsite.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Crowdpleaser 3 reviews from this member

We visited this site last summer as a try out for the new tent. We only live 20 minutes away and know the area well. Its a short walk into Olney and the site has a small shop selling ices and coffee. Bear in mind this is an open country park.

We arrived and were greeted at the drive up reception where we were given a fob for getting in and out of the park and directed to where we were to pitch.

The pitches are sectioned off into areas of about 10- 12 units. We were in a non elec pitch and there was about 6 other units whilst we were there in our area.

All very flat so no problems pitching.

There is a brilliant playground for the kids and our girls aged 4 and 6 then loved it. The weather was scorching and therefore the park very very busy.

The toilet block needs a good update. Just 5 cubicles in the ladies and 3 showers. Showers are awful. They just soak everything. They are push button style. They got very dirty by evening and run out of loo roll. The worst thing though is when it came to their morning clean around half 9, they were shut off completely. No access at all. So no loos. Nor access to washing up area. With a 4 year old with some toilet issues I felt this was ridiculous.

Would we return? Only if we needed a little weekend break. I didn't feel it was very safe due to it being an open access country park even at night and due to the poor loo facilities, something which is very important to us. Its also one of the priciest sites ive heard of, probably due to its ownership being local council!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Karen1068 1 review from this member

We visted this campsite on 27th-29th July,

What a lovely campsite, lots for the children to do!

The only probity we had was with the toilets. They were nice and clean. But at night the windows in the roof became mirrors.

My 13 year daughter was sitting on the toilet when she looked up and she could see a lady in the showers.

Then a friend in the next toilet called my daughter to look up and they could see each other sitting on the toilet. Which upset them both, and if you was standing waiting to go to the toilet and you looked you could see people in the toilets. Not very nice!

This needs sorting ASAP. Apart from this a great time had

By all. And would 100% come back.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: RuthnMark 7 reviews from this member

We have stayed at this site 4 times now, always the same week in August, just before the late bank holiday. Emberton Country Park is very much what it says on the tin, it's a country park and so the actual park area, gets very busy in the good weather.

There are fishing lakes, and a river where you catch Red Signal Crayfish which you must not put back - Freshwater Lobsters by another name. We did try to eat the half a dozen we caught but they weren't really to our taste.

The park is really lovely for children of all ages, take your kids and their bikes and you won't see them for hours on end. There are dens to be built in the trees, and wood to be collected for evening camp fires, Nature trails, long walks around the lakes and easy walking in to Olney which is a lovely little 'well to do' village with an excellent chippy and an equally excellent Chinese restaurant or two, as well as some nice Inns and pubs.

There's a cafe on the park, open in high season, selling mostly fried stuff like chips and bacon butties but good enough.

Whenever we have stayed, because it's around the bank holiday weekend, and close to the end of the school holidays, it's always been busy. It can be a bit noisy fairly late and when the other campers go quiet, the owls begin to hoot! Well, you are in a country park! The pigeons seem to like to dance, very comically I might add, on top of the caravan roof at about 5am as well.

So I can't say we really slept well - but that doesn't matter to us too much. If it rains you may well meet the odd frog or two and discover the occasional toad in the wheel chocks when you pack up. Like I said it's a country park.

The accent is not on first class camping and caravanning but it's a brilliant place to have fun, explore nature, have an evening camp fire to toast marshmallows on and just enjoy it.

If you like luxury then be warned. The washing facilities are basic! You are likely to share the shower with the occasional daddy longlegs or spider, the water has a habit of running hot and cold and if the touring field is busy, you may queue as they are limited but they are thoroughly cleaned daily and adequate.

Yes we'll go there again - it enables us to visit relatives close by and we enjoy it for what it is.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ajazz 2 reviews from this member

This campsite is in a lovely spot with some great places within walking distance. The kids playground is fantastic, but that is where the positives end.

There were not enough toilets (5) showers (3) or sinks (3) which meant queues just to wash your hands after using the toilet. The water came out of the showers in 10 second bursts and was luke warm at best.

There were not enough hooks to hang clothes in the ladies and most of the mens showers had no hooks at all. Shoes had to be left outside to keep them dry. If you have kids (like I did) then it is really difficult to shower them comfortably.

There were just 2 washing up sinks to serve the campsite so again - queues!

The block was cleaned twice a day, but due to the large number of people using so few facilities they soon got dirty again. This campsite really needs to look into this if it wants people to return!

The noise at night meant that we left a night early, just to get some sleep. Both nights we were there there were people partying late into the night, very loudly, with no thought or consideration for others. The latest one went on until 4am! There was no-one to complain to and no wardens patrolling, so not much we could do except leave.

If you are looking for a clean, quiet campsite with good facilities, don't camp here! If you are looking for a great party spot and lots of grime - this is the place for you!

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ruby2000ruby 3 reviews from this member

We just returned from a lovely weekend at this campsite. It is situated within a country park and there are a lot of play areas for children in the park. It cost about £45 for 2 nights for 2 people and a tent.

The campsite doesn't have any shop or bar but the toilets were fairly clean and modern. My partner used the shower and said it went cold/warm at one point. There was free hot water for washing up.

The location is fantastic, within walking distance of Emberton village which has a lovely pub. We took bikes so also visited nearby Olney a few times, and other local villages. Olney itself is lovely. There are shops, including unique small shops, a tesco metro, tea rooms, chippy, and several pubs.

From this site is is about 10 miles to Milton Keynes and there appeared to be some buses in the village but not sure how frequent they are or where they go to.

Overall I would recommend this campsite or visit it again.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Johnamy 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here with a group of neighbours for a long Bank holiday weekend.

Generally the location is excellent and having the Country park on site means you don't have to go far for a relaxing walk or a large area to play ball with your children. The pitches are flat which makes it really easy to get your van in and levelled ready for use.

There are however a couple of downsides. The toilet block needs an update / appropriate maintenance and a good proper clean. Lots of hot water though so that was good.

Unfortunately the chemical point on the last day became blocked, thankfully it was raining and most people were leaving so hopefully it was fixed before it became unsightly and smelly.

I do have one final gripe. Its a Council owned site and for what it is the charges are expensive. Stayed in a number of sites over the years and this is the most expensive I stay in and I can't understand any justification for it.

Having said I am returning again this year so will add a new review then.

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: T3551 1 review from this member

I have just come across this website and praise all the people for leaving great reviews!

I have a static caravan at Emberton country park and love the place. The staff are so kind and helpful no matter what the query. Toilets are cleaned twice daily midweek and three times daily on weekends and bank holidays. I speed a lot of time at Emberton and well recommend it.

I camped here, before buying a static, and found the toilets and showers to be good and clean. The park is kept well maintained and has regular security checks by staff. Although the site is run by Milton Keynes council, It is run well with complaints dealt with seriously. Everybody is so friendly.

The park has fantastic walks, ideal for cyclists. Great fishing on the lakes and river ouse. Nature reserve, and currently undergoing building work for a disabled friendly playpark. The Tea rooms offer refreshments at weekends (weather permitting mostly).

Olney town is a mere 5 minute walk from the border of the park that offers small independent shops as well as a co-op store and small tesco for essentials. The park is an ideal location for Milton Keynes, Northampton, Santa-pod, Althorp house and Silverstone.

Very good camping fee's. Surrounded by beautiful countryside. Well recommended site.

Previous     32 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Buckinghamshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2445 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019