Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Gardiesfauld Hostel And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Shetland Isles > Unst > Gardiesfauld Hostel And Campsite Reviews

Gardiesfauld Hostel And Campsite
Uyeasound
Unst
Shetland Isles   (Browse area)
ZE2 9DW
Tel: 01957 755279
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/04/2021 to 30/09/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 13 Reviews
                9/10 from 13 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Charli 1 review from this member

 Simply fabulous.

Wonderfully situated overlooking beach and sea.

Great facilities, although we couldn't use laundry facilities in youth hostel at time of our visit because of covid. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Kevinp 1 review from this member

 Situated overlooking the bay on hardstanding pitches.

Excellent facilities block (fairly new) & immaculately clean.

Good site to visit the whole of unst, fetlar & yell

Kevin & Elaine Jackson 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Graham Deans 5 reviews from this member

 A little Jewel, right on the waters edge with a view over Uyea Island.

We booked ahead which is necessary as it was full while we were there.

Excellent toilet and showers ((£1 for 10 min) and emptying facilities fine.

A great place to base a visit to Unst which is spectacular for viking heritage sites, scenery and wildlife.

A fairly demanding walk along and over Hermaness Reserve takes you to cliffs at the most Northerly point in the UK.

Make sure you buy something from Bobby's bus shelter just North of Baltasound.

Highlight of our trip to Orkneys and Shetland. 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Heathe 1 review from this member

 Fabulous spot. Very clean great toilet and shower.

Very responsive to email, lovely people who run it.

Good to explore from.

Only suggestion would be a plot number per booking.

Definitely recommend it!

Ps rating for children is not applicable for us 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Romastone 15 reviews from this member

 There are five spaces for Motorhomes or campervans at the site. We booked in advance and on both nights the spaces were taken. Due to Covid, we didnít meet any staff, having paid online on arrival. The spaces are adjacent to the sea.

Facilities are clean but open to the general public. You need a £1 coin for the showers. A hook for a towel and a stool would be handy additions for the shower room.

Also note that there are no dishwashing facilities at this site, not sure if you can use the hostel when the pandemic is over. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: David247 1 review from this member

 The site is a short bus ride from the ferry with the bus stop being right outside the front gate.

The site has bunk rooms, marked motor home pitches and plenty of space for tents. All facilities were clean and good order.

Bunk rooms and motor home pitches must be pre-booked.

The site has a kitchen, common area, drying room, coin operated showers and toilets. The site runs mostly on an honesty system.

I had a great nights sleep with a sheltered pitch.

This is a great base or first stop when visiting Unst, I hope to return. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Larry10 15 reviews from this member

 This cost us £18 including EHU for our 1 night stay. You need to book if using a M/home or Caravan since there are only 5 spaces. Lots of room for tents if not very level. There is a Warden but you can drop money in an honesty box is she is not around.

There are loos and showers (£1) also a washing machine & tumble dryer available.

The site was not busy and everyone we met was very friendly

Facilities were clean and more than adequate, a large kitchen with cookers etc in the hostel. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hek132 7 reviews from this member

 We camped from 11th June --13th June a lovely friendly site. The Hostel facilities are close and very clean an reasonable to use. Excellent cooking and laundry drying room facilities. Also a good dining area an a conservatory to relax in.

We camped very close to the water, quiet beach, on a good level pitch.

Prices where reasonable with lots of information available in the hostel entrance.

We would recommend the walk at Hermeness as an abundance of sea birds and our trip around Unst will hold special memory with us as we got married in Baltasound ! Very friendly locals -Baltasound hotel serves nice meals an has a bar area -Unst is a beautiful part of the world not to be missed 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jayenn 5 reviews from this member

 Gorgeous site, caravan pitches right next to the sea, overlooking Uyea Sound - just totally wonderful! 5 minutes from ferry.

EHU and water right next to pitches, as well as picnic benches and tables. Facilities in hostel are good, lovely big showers and clean loos. Wifi is good at hostel but doesn't reach caravan pitches. Didn't see any warden, they only visit at certain times, but you leave payment in honesty box in kitchen.

Conservatory in hostel overlooks pitches so I did sometimes feel I was a little watched but didn't give them anything exciting to look at sadly.

Far more to see and do on Unst than you would imagine - Hermaness, views of Muckle Flugga, choc factory, RAF museum (and curious holiday village, previously RAF camp, ) most northerly home in Britain, most northerly post office in Britain, most northerly woman in Britain (well that was me at one point)- lots and lots more - and of course the views are breathtaking.

£15 a night, the same as a room in the hostel strangely. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Cc43 17 reviews from this member

 It is well worth making the trip to Unst although it entails a 20-minute ferry to Yell, and then another 10-minute ferry to Unst. The hostel is in the south-west of the island, 5 minutes drive from the ferry, but the island is quite small (12 miles from top to bottom) and so it doesn't take long to drive around.

The caravan pitches are right by the water and we enjoyed watching the sea birds. Don't go into the hostel car park but keep driving down to the sea and then turn right. We didn't see any wardens, but the board in the hostel shows which spaces are free, and you leave payment in the honesty box. There is WiFi but the reception was very poor. The hostel is used for groups and is busy; campers can use the kitchen, toilets and showers. The public toilets beside the caravan pitches are clean, but not lit after dark.

Unst is sparsely populated. There are 3 general stores in Baltasound, and we had an excellent evening meal at the Baltasound Hotel (you need to book). The cliff-top walk at Hermaness is beautiful; we saw puffins and gannets. Haroldswick boasts a pleasant tea room by the sea, as well as the Heritage Centre with displays about local geology and history, and Shetland lace knitting. 


Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Gardiesfauld Hostel And Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gardiesfauld Hostel And Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Gardiesfauld Hostel And Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Unst      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shetland Isles

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5948 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement