Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gardiesfauld Hostel And Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Shetlands > Site Reviews

Gardiesfauld Hostel And Campsite
Uyeasound
Unst
Shetlands   (Browse area)
ZE2 9DW
Tel: 01957755279
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 7 Reviews
                9/10 from 7 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Larry10 11 reviews from this member

This cost us 18 including EHU for our 1 night stay. You need to book if using a M/home or Caravan since there are only 5 spaces. Lots of room for tents if not very level. There is a Warden but you can drop money in an honesty box is she is not around. There are loos and showers (1) also a washing machine & tumble dryer available. The site was not busy and everyone we met was very friendly, Facilities were clean and more than adequate, a large kitchen with cookers etc in the hostel.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hek132 4 reviews from this member

We camped from 11th June --13th June a lovely friendly site. The Hostel facilities are close and very clean an reasonable to use. Excellent cooking and laundry drying room facilities. Also a good dining area an a conservatory to relax in. We camped very close to the water, quiet beach, on a good level pitch. Prices where reasonable with lots of information available in the hostel entrance. We would recommend the walk at Hermeness as an abundance of sea birds and our trip around Unst will hold special memory with us as we got married in Baltasound ! Very friendly locals -Baltasound hotel serves nice meals an has a bar area -Unst is a beautiful part of the world not to be missed

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Jayenn 5 reviews from this member

Gorgeous site, caravan pitches right next to the sea, overlooking Uyea Sound - just totally wonderful! 5 minutes from ferry. EHU and water right next to pitches, as well as picnic benches and tables. Facilities in hostel are good, lovely big showers and clean loos. Wifi is good at hostel but doesn't reach caravan pitches. Didn't see any warden, they only visit at certain times, but you leave payment in honesty box in kitchen. Conservatory in hostel overlooks pitches so I did sometimes feel I was a little watched but didn't give them anything exciting to look at sadly. Far more to see and do on Unst than you would imagine - Hermaness, views of Muckle Flugga, choc factory, RAF museum (and curious holiday village, previously RAF camp, ) most northerly home in Britain, most northerly post office in Britain, most northerly woman in Britain (well that was me at one point)- lots and lots more - and of course the views are breathtaking. 15 a night, the same as a room in the hostel strangely.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cc43 17 reviews from this member

It is well worth making the trip to Unst although it entails a 20-minute ferry to Yell, and then another 10-minute ferry to Unst. The hostel is in the south-west of the island, 5 minutes drive from the ferry, but the island is quite small (12 miles from top to bottom) and so it doesn't take long to drive around.

The caravan pitches are right by the water and we enjoyed watching the sea birds. Don't go into the hostel car park but keep driving down to the sea and then turn right. We didn't see any wardens, but the board in the hostel shows which spaces are free, and you leave payment in the honesty box. There is WiFi but the reception was very poor. The hostel is used for groups and is busy; campers can use the kitchen, toilets and showers. The public toilets beside the caravan pitches are clean, but not lit after dark.

Unst is sparsely populated. There are 3 general stores in Baltasound, and we had an excellent evening meal at the Baltasound Hotel (you need to book). The cliff-top walk at Hermaness is beautiful; we saw puffins and gannets. Haroldswick boasts a pleasant tea room by the sea, as well as the Heritage Centre with displays about local geology and history, and Shetland lace knitting.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pads 13 reviews from this member

The site is well located right on the edge of the sea and level pitches with ehu. Easy to find and the owners helpful etc. When we were there the hostel was very busy so did not try the facilities but all looked fine. A very clean public loo was just next door to the 5 pitches. All in all fine but probably marked it down a bit because the hostel was so busy whilst we were there. Should not stop you going there though!

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: PilgrimPhil 77 reviews from this member

We stayed one night [in May 2013] at this super new caravan/motorhome facility that is part of the hostel. The 5 hardstanding pitches are all block paved with gravel between them and are no more than 3 metres away from the shoreline. Great views over Uyea Sound. Electric hook up and water is available at the back of each pitch. The shower & toilet facilities are what you would expect from a hostel. The main social meeting place appeared to be the kitchen where we met some women cycling to the most northern part of UK.

We stopped over night here prior to heading up to Hermaness for a foggy clifftop walk and then onto Foords Chocolate factory at Saxavord for afternoon tea and for the dogs to have their photos taken for their Canine Visitors gallery! The Valhalla Brewery is also close by.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Twinoaster 2 reviews from this member

A nice youth hostel which has camping in its grounds. The facilities are in the hostel which is very clean and very weathertight.

Hard standing and electric hook ups for motor homes are at the lower edge of the site, easily accessible from the road and facing the waters edge.

Tents are on the open grass area and exposed to the wind except for an area to the east of the main building which is totally surrounded by hedges.

The area has little in the way of shops so take a few supplies.

No facilities for children, but every opportunity for them to have fun if they enjoy fields, streams, beaches and wildlife. For those that require constant electronic stimulation may I suggest that Shetland is not the best choice.

Very enjoyable stay, will go back one day.

Thoroughly recommended!


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shetlands

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


235 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019