Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Gardiesfauld Hostel And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Shetland Isles > Unst > Gardiesfauld Hostel And Campsite Reviews

Gardiesfauld Hostel And Campsite
Uyeasound
Unst
Shetland Isles   (Browse area)
ZE2 9DW
Tel: 01957 755279
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 8 Reviews
                9/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: David247 1 review from this member

 The site is a short bus ride from the ferry with the bus stop being right outside the front gate.

The site has bunk rooms, marked motor home pitches and plenty of space for tents. All facilities were clean and good order.

Bunk rooms and motor home pitches must be pre-booked.

The site has a kitchen, common area, drying room, coin operated showers and toilets. The site runs mostly on an honesty system.

I had a great nights sleep with a sheltered pitch.

This is a great base or first stop when visiting Unst, I hope to return. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Larry10 15 reviews from this member

 This cost us 18 including EHU for our 1 night stay. You need to book if using a M/home or Caravan since there are only 5 spaces. Lots of room for tents if not very level. There is a Warden but you can drop money in an honesty box is she is not around.

There are loos and showers (1) also a washing machine & tumble dryer available.

The site was not busy and everyone we met was very friendly

Facilities were clean and more than adequate, a large kitchen with cookers etc in the hostel. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hek132 6 reviews from this member

 We camped from 11th June --13th June a lovely friendly site. The Hostel facilities are close and very clean an reasonable to use. Excellent cooking and laundry drying room facilities. Also a good dining area an a conservatory to relax in.

We camped very close to the water, quiet beach, on a good level pitch.

Prices where reasonable with lots of information available in the hostel entrance.

We would recommend the walk at Hermeness as an abundance of sea birds and our trip around Unst will hold special memory with us as we got married in Baltasound ! Very friendly locals -Baltasound hotel serves nice meals an has a bar area -Unst is a beautiful part of the world not to be missed 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jayenn 5 reviews from this member

 Gorgeous site, caravan pitches right next to the sea, overlooking Uyea Sound - just totally wonderful! 5 minutes from ferry.

EHU and water right next to pitches, as well as picnic benches and tables. Facilities in hostel are good, lovely big showers and clean loos. Wifi is good at hostel but doesn't reach caravan pitches. Didn't see any warden, they only visit at certain times, but you leave payment in honesty box in kitchen.

Conservatory in hostel overlooks pitches so I did sometimes feel I was a little watched but didn't give them anything exciting to look at sadly.

Far more to see and do on Unst than you would imagine - Hermaness, views of Muckle Flugga, choc factory, RAF museum (and curious holiday village, previously RAF camp, ) most northerly home in Britain, most northerly post office in Britain, most northerly woman in Britain (well that was me at one point)- lots and lots more - and of course the views are breathtaking.

15 a night, the same as a room in the hostel strangely. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Cc43 17 reviews from this member

 It is well worth making the trip to Unst although it entails a 20-minute ferry to Yell, and then another 10-minute ferry to Unst. The hostel is in the south-west of the island, 5 minutes drive from the ferry, but the island is quite small (12 miles from top to bottom) and so it doesn't take long to drive around.

The caravan pitches are right by the water and we enjoyed watching the sea birds. Don't go into the hostel car park but keep driving down to the sea and then turn right. We didn't see any wardens, but the board in the hostel shows which spaces are free, and you leave payment in the honesty box. There is WiFi but the reception was very poor. The hostel is used for groups and is busy; campers can use the kitchen, toilets and showers. The public toilets beside the caravan pitches are clean, but not lit after dark.

Unst is sparsely populated. There are 3 general stores in Baltasound, and we had an excellent evening meal at the Baltasound Hotel (you need to book). The cliff-top walk at Hermaness is beautiful; we saw puffins and gannets. Haroldswick boasts a pleasant tea room by the sea, as well as the Heritage Centre with displays about local geology and history, and Shetland lace knitting. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pads 13 reviews from this member

 The site is well located right on the edge of the sea and level pitches with ehu. Easy to find and the owners helpful etc. When we were there the hostel was very busy so did not try the facilities but all looked fine. A very clean public loo was just next door to the 5 pitches. All in all fine but probably marked it down a bit because the hostel was so busy whilst we were there. Should not stop you going there though! 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: PilgrimPhil 79 reviews from this member

 We stayed one night [in May 2013] at this super new caravan/motorhome facility that is part of the hostel. The 5 hardstanding pitches are all block paved with gravel between them and are no more than 3 metres away from the shoreline. Great views over Uyea Sound. Electric hook up and water is available at the back of each pitch. The shower & toilet facilities are what you would expect from a hostel. The main social meeting place appeared to be the kitchen where we met some women cycling to the most northern part of UK.

We stopped over night here prior to heading up to Hermaness for a foggy clifftop walk and then onto Foords Chocolate factory at Saxavord for afternoon tea and for the dogs to have their photos taken for their Canine Visitors gallery! The Valhalla Brewery is also close by.  


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Twinoaster 2 reviews from this member

 A nice youth hostel which has camping in its grounds. The facilities are in the hostel which is very clean and very weathertight.

Hard standing and electric hook ups for motor homes are at the lower edge of the site, easily accessible from the road and facing the waters edge.

Tents are on the open grass area and exposed to the wind except for an area to the east of the main building which is totally surrounded by hedges.

The area has little in the way of shops so take a few supplies.

No facilities for children, but every opportunity for them to have fun if they enjoy fields, streams, beaches and wildlife. For those that require constant electronic stimulation may I suggest that Shetland is not the best choice.

Very enjoyable stay, will go back one day.

Thoroughly recommended! 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Gardiesfauld Hostel And Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gardiesfauld Hostel And Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Gardiesfauld Hostel And Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Unst      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shetland Isles

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4510 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement