Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Deanwood Holidays Caravan & Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Lydney > Deanwood Holidays Caravan & Camp Site Reviews

Deanwood Holidays Caravan & Camp Site
Yorkley Wood Road
Yorkley
Lydney
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL15 4TY
Tel: 01594 563585  or  07748 257121
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: 04/07/2020 to 30/09/2020
           20/03/2021 to 30/09/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 38 Reviews
                9/10 from 38 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rebecca Perrin 6 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a fantastic 4 night stay here, I can honestly say this is the best site we have stayed in this year,

The facilities were spotless

The Forest was only a few steps away and the weather was the best.

We treated ourselves to an Indian take away (Saffron Balti) one night and wow amazing and half the price of what we pay where we live.

We will definitely be returning here next year. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: TAH-M 3 reviews from this member

 Scenic and peaceful site in a superb location for visiting the beautiful Forest of Dean. Direct access to forest trails from the site and a large fenced area for off-lead fun make this an excellent choice for those travelling with dogs.

We have a 7m tunnel tent which easily fitted on our allocated pitch, separated in part from neighbouring pitches by low laurel hedging. The site has been terraced to give virtually level pitches - no rolling off airbeds in the night!

Two ( very clean) undercover washing up facilities and two shower blocks each for gents and ladies. The showers closest to reception (furthest from most pitches) being the most spacious. Showers (and hairdryer) are free - the push button sort that rather annoyingly shut off every ten seconds when you are covered in shampoo - but hot water was however virtually instantaneous. Neither of us ever waited to use the facilities.

We opted for EHU which was faultless. Plenty of fresh water points around the site and recycling/ash bins and chemical waste facilities clearly indicated.

Two convenience stores in Yorkley, 15-20 min walk; Lydney ( 10 min drive) has a large Tesco for a bigger grocery shop.

Blessed with superb weather, stargazing at night was amazing. The daytime view from our pitch had that wow factor!

Will definitely return to this site in the future. If I am nitpicking at all it would be to say that due to the (probably necessary) layout, the EHU tent pitches back right against campervans/caravans separated only by a small hedge. This did on occasion lead to some late night/early morning minor noise from the TV's and sliding doors of our "behind neighbours". Someone should invent sound insulation for tents! As ever, lack of camping etiquette and thoughtlessness more to blame than the site itself. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 13 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Colpitch 1 review from this member

 This place is fantastic. Currently on site and booked in for nearly two weeks. So pleased I have as it is lovely and quiet, (except for the odd dog barking) amazing views, spotlessly clean bathrooms and showers. Covid measures in place as well.

The pitches are level for all EHU, some non electric have a slight slope.

The site is dog friendly and has the forest running along side it, so plenty of places for the hounds to run around. They even have a large field to exercise your dogs too.

Lots of things to see and do within a short distance from the site.

Would I recommend. Hell yes.

Would I return. Absolutely. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Ian150762 1 review from this member

 Lovely quiet super clean site. The toilet block was immaculate-important at present due to Covid, but spotlessly clean.

Fantastic walks right off the site, dog friendly.

One word of warning, we were pitched opposite the barn and we were advised the ground was hard. Hard? Definitely the hardest ground Iíve ever experienced, bending steep drive pegs.

Will definitely stay again. Fabulous 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: KECMA 11 reviews from this member

 This was our first trip since the virus lockdown, booking by phone was easy and helpful. We received good emailed details and directions so booking in was a straightforward matter of finding our name and pitch number on a notice board on arrival.

We had a hardstand which was clearly marked and had plenty of space for our unit plus a car; the pitches were separated with flower troughs and extra space had been left between the pitches.

Although we were on the large hardstand area we had a lovely view over the terraced pitches below us to the opposite side of the valley and trees and hills beyond.

Everything was neat and tidy and although we used our own facilities we checked out those on site and all looked good and to a high standard.

We walked on public footpaths across the field and footpaths in the woodland from the site. We took the car to Mallards Pike lake and to nearby Cinderford and Lydney.

It was a pleasant few days to get us back into using the van after such a long period. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Geegee46 9 reviews from this member

 Great place to stay for a few days when you're looking for peace and quiet. Views are fantastic when the weather is clear.

Facilities were great with the shower and toilet block spotlessly clean and the site is very tidy and well kept.

Not too much to do without a car but local shop and very welcoming pub along the lane. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: NMonty 3 reviews from this member

 Since this site has become adult only it is now a lot more appealing to us than the last time we visited some years ago. A fantastic spot to relax and admire the wonderful views of the forest.

The facilities are clean and modern and pitches are well kept. With virtually no light pollution this tranquil, noise free spot is a real find for those who really appreciate what being out in the countryside is all about.

The large paddock for running your dog off lead is an amazing bonus that you rarely find on most other campsites. With direct access into the forest and pubs within walking distance what's not to like?! Returning will be a no brainer. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ewokmunchet 1 review from this member

 Just home after staying here for Easter. We had a field pitch with EHU, loads of room and such a beautiful setting. We had our two dogs with us who loved the field where they could run off lead and the forest right next to the site to explore.

Toilets and showers were immaculate and well lit at night. It was very quiet and lovely to be on an adults only site.

Walked into the village to pop to the shop which was quite basic but had everything we needed, didnít try the pub as it didnít seem to have a beer garden.

Weíll definitely be back! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: RubyLewis 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 2 nights. What a wonderful, peaceful place. Lovely owners. We stayed on the hardstanding part as rain was forecast. We had the most wonderful view over the forest.

Large pitches, excellent showers, toilets and washing up facilities. Great vidange area with big turning circle for the motorhome. So quiet and peaceful.

Best to come with all you need in the way of food, etc as quite a walk to the village. There is a little store which we stopped at on the way to the site.

Canít wait to go again. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Goldfox 1 review from this member

 This adult only site has excellent clean modern facilities, including a washing machine and drier. The pitches are generous with excellent views. John the owner is friendly with good advice of the local pubs and local area.

There is a local forest walk, but it is easy to get lost as the local paths are not well maintained.

Highly recommended. 


Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Deanwood Holidays Caravan & Camp Site child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Deanwood Holidays Caravan & Camp Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Deanwood Holidays Caravan & Camp Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lydney      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1693 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement