Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Deanwood Holidays Caravan And Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Gloucestershire > Lydney > Deanwood Holidays Caravan And Camp Site > Reviews

Deanwood Holidays Caravan And Camp Site
Yorkley Wood Road
Yorkley
Lydney
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL15 4TY
Tel: 01594 563585  or  01594734091
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 42 Reviews
                9/10 from 42 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (25)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  42 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: JulieDT 2 reviews from this member

 Absolutley exceptional site. Large pitch size, beautiful views (day and night), so so peaceful.

Geoff, Anita and their staff friendly and helpful. And this site is is the cleanest we have stayed at.

All round EXCEPTIONAL.

Thank you both Julie and Nick, and we will be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2023 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 We're delighted to advise that this site is reopening for 2023 from 6th March, bookings for motorhomes, caravans and campervans only 


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Pease note this site is shut during 2022. The owners say it will likely open again under new management in 2023

If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rebecca Perrin 6 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a fantastic 4 night stay here, I can honestly say this is the best site we have stayed in this year,

The facilities were spotless

The Forest was only a few steps away and the weather was the best.

We treated ourselves to an Indian take away (Saffron Balti) one night and wow amazing and half the price of what we pay where we live.

We will definitely be returning here next year. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: TAH-M 4 reviews from this member

 Scenic and peaceful site in a superb location for visiting the beautiful Forest of Dean. Direct access to forest trails from the site and a large fenced area for off-lead fun make this an excellent choice for those travelling with dogs.

We have a 7m tunnel tent which easily fitted on our allocated pitch, separated in part from neighbouring pitches by low laurel hedging. The site has been terraced to give virtually level pitches - no rolling off airbeds in the night!

Two ( very clean) undercover washing up facilities and two shower blocks each for gents and ladies. The showers closest to reception (furthest from most pitches) being the most spacious. Showers (and hairdryer) are free - the push button sort that rather annoyingly shut off every ten seconds when you are covered in shampoo - but hot water was however virtually instantaneous. Neither of us ever waited to use the facilities.

We opted for EHU which was faultless. Plenty of fresh water points around the site and recycling/ash bins and chemical waste facilities clearly indicated.

Two convenience stores in Yorkley, 15-20 min walk; Lydney ( 10 min drive) has a large Tesco for a bigger grocery shop.

Blessed with superb weather, stargazing at night was amazing. The daytime view from our pitch had that wow factor!

Will definitely return to this site in the future. If I am nitpicking at all it would be to say that due to the (probably necessary) layout, the EHU tent pitches back right against campervans/caravans separated only by a small hedge. This did on occasion lead to some late night/early morning minor noise from the TV's and sliding doors of our "behind neighbours". Someone should invent sound insulation for tents! As ever, lack of camping etiquette and thoughtlessness more to blame than the site itself. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Norfol 41 reviews from this member

 Absolutely loved this site. It was during Covid so the pitches may have been more generous than normal but even so. Very disadvantaged to hear that it is no longer open. As we really wanted to go back.

The forest is on your doorstep for great walks or cycles, there is a shop and pubs in walking distance in the village.

The layout of the site was very well planned and the dog field was large and secure for our greyhound to be let off for a run.

Facilities were very clean and nice. I really havenít got a bad word to say.

Perfect. Please open again! 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 13 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Colpitch 1 review from this member

 This place is fantastic. Currently on site and booked in for nearly two weeks. So pleased I have as it is lovely and quiet, (except for the odd dog barking) amazing views, spotlessly clean bathrooms and showers. Covid measures in place as well.

The pitches are level for all EHU, some non electric have a slight slope.

The site is dog friendly and has the forest running along side it, so plenty of places for the hounds to run around. They even have a large field to exercise your dogs too.

Lots of things to see and do within a short distance from the site.

Would I recommend. Hell yes.

Would I return. Absolutely. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Ian150762 1 review from this member

 Lovely quiet super clean site. The toilet block was immaculate-important at present due to Covid, but spotlessly clean.

Fantastic walks right off the site, dog friendly.

One word of warning, we were pitched opposite the barn and we were advised the ground was hard. Hard? Definitely the hardest ground Iíve ever experienced, bending steep drive pegs.

Will definitely stay again. Fabulous 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: KECMA 14 reviews from this member

 This was our first trip since the virus lockdown, booking by phone was easy and helpful. We received good emailed details and directions so booking in was a straightforward matter of finding our name and pitch number on a notice board on arrival.

We had a hardstand which was clearly marked and had plenty of space for our unit plus a car; the pitches were separated with flower troughs and extra space had been left between the pitches.

Although we were on the large hardstand area we had a lovely view over the terraced pitches below us to the opposite side of the valley and trees and hills beyond.

Everything was neat and tidy and although we used our own facilities we checked out those on site and all looked good and to a high standard.

We walked on public footpaths across the field and footpaths in the woodland from the site. We took the car to Mallards Pike lake and to nearby Cinderford and Lydney.

It was a pleasant few days to get us back into using the van after such a long period. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Geegee46 9 reviews from this member

 Great place to stay for a few days when you're looking for peace and quiet. Views are fantastic when the weather is clear.

Facilities were great with the shower and toilet block spotlessly clean and the site is very tidy and well kept.

Not too much to do without a car but local shop and very welcoming pub along the lane. 


Previous     42 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Deanwood Holidays Caravan And Camp Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Deanwood Holidays Caravan And Camp Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Deanwood Holidays Caravan And Camp Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lydney      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1428 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement