Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pipcott Fields Independent Site

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (North) > Ilfracombe > Pipcott Fields Independent Site > Reviews

Pipcott Fields Independent Site
West Down
Ilfracombe
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX34 8NF
Tel: 01271 866359  or  07977 180812
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 37 Reviews
                10/10 from 37 Reviews

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  37 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: March 2024 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dlgb 17 reviews from this member

 This is small family run well organised site.

Owners very friendly and welcoming.

The facilities are excellent just like being in your own bathroom. Best chemical disposal I have used.

The small village is beautiful with a community shop just outside the site and a pub only a 5 mins walk.

Information from the owner on arrival was excellent with some local walks if you want to do them.

The site is within easy reach of Ilfracombe and surrounding beaches.

Was really good value for money compared to many other both large and small sites (7) we visited this trip in Devon and Cornwall 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Wheeliejan 1 review from this member

 A gem of a site within a small village.

Spotless toilet and shower facilities.

Community shop next door, local pub across the road serving good food.

Doug the owner was very friendly and helpful and kept site in immaculate condition.

Would definitely return when visiting the area again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: SusieC1968 1 review from this member

 We have camped for many years with a preference for quiet sites.

This site was lovely the pitches have a slight slope but nothing too noticeable.

Lots of birds and other wildlife around.

The toilet and shower facilities were excellent the best of any we have ever used, each room has a shower and toilet and hand basin, spotlessly clean.

The village shop and pub were within walking distance and excellent.

We will be back again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Dk168 48 reviews from this member

 Finally got round to staying at this campsite, after the initial trip in September 2021 was postponed twice due to Covid concerns.

The site was on a slight slope and chocks were required.

The owners were friendly, and the gentleman who showed me around the site was helpful.

The entrance was too narrow for my liking in my MWB VW Crafter PVC, however, that was my own personal perception.

19 pitches in all, all had 16A EHU, 4 fully service hardstanding pitches, the rest were grass pitches. Each of the grass pitch has its own rubbish bin and a wooden picnic bench.

There were 4 shower rooms with their own toilets in the same room, plus a separate toilet on its own, and a disable toilet and shower room.

There were no facilities to hang anything inside the shower cubicle (this was suggested to the site owner).

There were 2 washing up sinks each with a bowl and a draining rack.

The facilities block was well-maintained.

There were no other facilities except for 2 large grass fields, a bank of bins for separating items for recycling, and a Chemical Disposal Point.

The West Down Community Shop was just outside the site, and it was well-stocked with provisions including alcohol and local produce with helpful staff.

Crown Inn the pub opposite the village shop was changing hands and was not opened every day. I sent them an enquiry a few days before my trip asking if they were doing food and received no response. I did not go there during my stay.

On the day of my arrival, there was a fish and chips van just opposite the campsite, and the fish supper I had was tasty.

There were 2 local walks from the campsite listed in the booklet provided to me on arrival, however, I did not try them as it was too hot for me personally during my stay.

Mobile phone signal coverage was poor for EE, Vodafone and Smarty. Site Wi-fi was free and saved the day, however, it was weak in the evenings.

Woolacombe Beach was only 15min away, and I made the mistake of taking the single track road down to the beach with a 23% gradient, which I avoided on the return trip.

Be warned about aggressive seagulls on the beach that spoiled the fish suppers for me and my friend! However, the rest of the beach away from the Esplanade car park was quieter with less seagulls, and the walk along the beach was very pleasant.

Parking charge at the Esplanade car park was 5 GBP and it closed at 21:00. 


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Hapro77 1 review from this member

 Absolute gem of a campsite!

If you're looking for a small but spacious, relaxing, quiet, friendly campsite then this is the place for you. Doug the owner was very welcoming and friendly and stopped for a chat whenever we saw him.

The site has a lovely grassy main field (gently sloping) with pitches located around the edge, plenty of clear space between pitches and lots of space in the middle of the main field for kids to play and run around in. There are also two further grassy fields to run about in/walk your dog etc. Not to mention a well stocked village shop literally at the campsite entrance too.

Superbly maintained site and exceptionally clean all round. Each pitch has its own large picnic bench, and waste bin which is emptied regularly (recycling bins are also located at one end of the campsite). The toilet/shower block is immaculately clean!

Great location for exploring North Devon, Ilfracombe, Croyde, Woolacombe etc.

I've stayed on many campsites over the years since childhood and this is probably the best one I've had the pleasure of staying at.

Loved our stay! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Skipper10 5 reviews from this member

 An excellent site, carefully created and maintained.

Very pleasant family owners / operators living beside the site entrance.

Excellent community shop adjacent to the site and village pub just across the road.

Very good location for Ilfracombe, Croyde etc. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jane Cooke 17 reviews from this member

 Lovely spacious site with excellent toilet and shower block. Family run, clean and tidy.

The addition of individual bins on each pitch is helpful although full recycling is also encouraged with plenty of bins provided. A picnic table also on each pitch.

We needed wedges to level out the slight slope.

We used the buses to Ilfracombe and Barnstaple. Stops are at Dean Cross or the end of Stang Lane, which is shorter but a narrower and steeper walk.

Village Community shop and pub (which we didn't get to). Fish and Chip van in the Square on Monday evenings.

We found out the hard way that the Square is full of cars at 3pm on a school day hiding the site entrance!

Lovely site, great facilities, will return and definitely recommend 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Peterp 1 review from this member

 An excellent site, clean tidy, lawned grass. The chemical emptying point was first class, one of the best we have seen in 48 years of touring. Excellent recycling facilities, again clean and tidy, easy to use.

Plenty of space for children to kick a ball without getting in anyone’s way.

The site is well situated, lovey views of the village and country side. The local shop has a good supply of basic food as well as goodies.

The Village Pub is a five minute walk from the site and serves a very good selection of dishes.

A Chip Van stops in the centre of the village every Monday evening, the fish and chips are an absolutely must, large portions are delicious.

The SITE Owners are very approachable and love to talk and help with local facilities. Very nice people. 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Kerry5 1 review from this member

 This is a lovely campsite. Absolutely pristine.

Each serviced pitch has its own electric, tap, grey waste disposal, bin and bench!

We couldn’t ask for more.

Doug who runs it is also the most helpful and friendliest host we’ve come across. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Markde 1 review from this member

 Lovely site, well kept, clean and tidy. Doug was helpful and welcoming.

Lovely location in a small village, with a pub and a shop. Short drive to beaches.

Shame toilets and showers were not open. 
via mobile


Previous     37 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Pipcott Fields Independent Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pipcott Fields Independent Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Pipcott Fields Independent Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ilfracombe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


58349 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement