Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Stamford Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Northamptonshire > Corby > Stamford Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Stamford Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Fineshade
Corby
Northamptonshire   (Browse area)
NN17 3BB
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 83
Open: 16/03/2024 to 05/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 26 Reviews
                9/10 from 26 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  26 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: March 2024 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Kate w 70 reviews from this member

 If you’re after peace and quiet, you’ve found it! This is a lovely site, next to the Forestry Commission visitor centre and cafe. The car park is next to site but isn’t intrusive.

There’s no shower block, so you need your own facilities. Electric hook up points are generously dotted around. There’s 2 water and waste points, bins are by reception.

The site is pretty much in the woods, there’s miles and miles of footpaths and bridleways directly from site, great for dog walking and bike riding.

Pitches are in good condition, most very slightly sloping.

Wardens friendly and welcoming.

Lots of places to visit in the area from Stamford, Corby, Rutland Water, Melton Mowbray as well as country houses and their gardens and chocolate box villages, reminiscent of The Cotswolds.

Great for kids as long as they can ride a bike or walk, there’s a gruffalo trail right next door for the younger ones as they walk round. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dickeye 1 review from this member

 Easy access from A1 only 15 minutes. Single carriageway entrance but plenty of passing places.

Plenty of walks direct from site in all directions. Stamford is a great town to visit, also Oakham and Melto Mowbray and Rutland Water.

No facilities on this site but a well laid out and spacious site. Wardens are very helpful and very busy keeping this site immaculate and it is always a pleasure to return here. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Grumpyoldcamper 5 reviews from this member

 About 15 minutes from the A1 this site could be used as an overnight stop to break a longer journey. However that would mean you miss out on what the area has to offer.

One of the Caravan Club ' no facilities' sites this one is ideal for walkers and cyclists.

With a mixture of grass and hardstanding pitches there is plenty of choice. It's worth noting some of the grass pitches are on a bit of a slope and larger units need to be careful which they choose. There is plenty of shade from trees, a real bonus on those hot summer days.

Like most other Caravan Club sites the staff are friendly and helpful and keep the site clean and tidy.

There is so much you can do from the site you can almost forget about using your car. Mobile phone signal is not brilliant so it's best to download those OS maps before you come.

Stamford is somewhere you must visit. It is like stepping back in time. It is also where the nearest supermarket can be found. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Djlynne 1 review from this member

 This site is a lovely site with some great walks. But there were too many kids riding bikes the wrong way round the site an accident waiting to happen. Not sure that we agree to it accepting non members. But had a lovely stay nonetheless. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sue6 38 reviews from this member

 A well laid out campsite, with a kind & helpful warden. It is a fabulous setting. The wood being adjacent for some well laid out walks, ideal for those with dogs. (Don't forget to clean up/flick off any foot path please!) Bike Hire and a café next door. No w/c/showers on site.

We enjoyed visiting Stamford, Oakham (award winning pies and sausages from a local buther, ) and Barnsdale Gardens, there is also a bird of prey centre next door.

A good local pub with home-brews is the Exeter Arms at Barrowden where we were made welcome by the landlord and locals.

We only had three days here, next time will be a longer stay.

The approach up the narrow road has plenty of passing places and is not trouble at all. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kiters 59 24 reviews from this member

 We booked to go to Top Lodge Caravan Site for a week from 10th Oct, but the weather was a bit Hit & Miss, on arrival the staff told us to find a pitch of our choice, we then started with getting the van leveled up & the awning up & sorted our selves out, kettle on & a beer for me, there was chip van coming on the site later which we made use of & they were worth the wait very nice?

the site was about half full most of the week so very quite, this site has no toilet block only water & waste outlets, some great walks straight from the van & a cafe in the car parks, the site is 8mls from Stamford, & are a few local pubs doing food near by, great from bird watchers with Red Kites around the site & area, the closes early Nov until March we going soon after they open. Overall a great site thanks to the staff & the C Club 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Georget64 41 reviews from this member

 I booked this site purely as a one night stopover, but in fact found a gem of a site, in a picturesque woodland area.

Pitches are large and immaculately maintained. Wardens were extremely friendly and helpful. I did use the café at the adjacent Top Lodge, and managed to fit in a forest walk and also hired a mountain bike for 2 hours in Fineshade Woods.

Approach from the A43 is by a narrow road, but this is no problem as there are numerous well-signed, visible, and hard surfaced passing places.

I fully intend to return, only next time as a short break to enjoy the other attractions in the area. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: ShellPaul 11 reviews from this member

 This is a gem of a site with regards to being able to just leave your caravan and walk into the forest or cycle into it as there are purpose built tracks for a BMX.

However, I think this the title is a bit misleading - I can't believe a CLUB SITE doesn't have a TOILET of any kind.

We used a shower in the caravan but not many like to.

My Dad never uses the caravan toilet so he stayed at home and frankly I think it's very expensive for what it is.

It worked out at £19. 50 per night for 2 adults and 1 child

I think it should be £12-£14 the max as there are no toilets, showers on site. They have a little shop which stocked emergency items like bread and some souvenirs and the shop assistants were very friendly.

The road to the site is uphill on entry with many cars coming down and NOT giving way on the narrow road - there are passing places but they don't care. Also people were parking in them and going into the forest rather than paying in the Forest Centre car park.

I've stayed at places that had better facilities for less but I think you're paying for the easy access to the forest. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Beatyler 9 reviews from this member

 This is one of my all time favourite sites. Have stayed here several times now and plan to return time and again. Beautiful peaceful setting where you can literally park your car up and not need it for the duration of your holiday if you don't want to drive anywhere.

Miles of woodland and designated tracks to walk, cycle or horse ride through. Lots of wildlife, flora and fauna to see and enjoy.

There are no toilets or showers on site but the site itself is very well maintained. The wardens are efficient and helpful when needed. There is a good information booth too of things to do in and around the local area.

If you venture out then there is Stamford up the road and Rutland isn't far at all either. We went to see the osprey at Rutland Water on one of our stays there which was fantastic. There is a little coffee shop next door to the site and a few small shops. There is also a cycle hire place if you didn't want to take your own with you.

If like us you love wildlife, nature, peace and quiet then Top Lodge is a great location to be. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jaunty 8 reviews from this member

 Myself, Col Grumpy and 2 Springers had lovely Monday-Wednesday stay, in the 2-3 days each month we seem to be having has our summer spells !

Beautiful site, well spaced and laid out with plenty of room between pitches. No facilities block (need your own shower/loo, etc) but waste areas very clean and tidy and recycling bins too. Handy information hut and few essentials available from the shop. Wardens extremely friendly and helpful.

Site is set next to Fineshade Woods, run by the Forestry Commission and RSPB. There is a RSPB shop, cafe, gift shop (lots of doggy goods!) and cycle hire in the courtyard next to the Site entrance. Woods are well laid out with several walks/cycle paths from 2 to 11 miles. Plenty of wildlife and birds about on site too. Ideal for activity fiends, or gentle strollers!

Very peaceful and relaxing during the week, I would guess maybe slightly different at weekends and school holidays.

Excellent site and location, would go back. 


Previous     26 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Stamford Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Stamford Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Corby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northamptonshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2729 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement