Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Stamford Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Northamptonshire > Corby > Stamford Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Stamford Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Fineshade
Corby
Northamptonshire   (Browse area)
NN17 3BB
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 83
Open: 16/03 To 05/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 23 Reviews
                9/10 from 23 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  23 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Djlynne 1 review from this member

This site is a lovely site with some great walks. But there were too many kids riding bikes the wrong way round the site an accident waiting to happen. Not sure that we agree to it accepting non members. But had a lovely stay nonetheless.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sue6 29 reviews from this member

A well laid out campsite, with a kind & helpful warden. It is a fabulous setting. The wood being adjacent for some well laid out walks, ideal for those with dogs. (Don't forget to clean up/flick off any foot path please!) Bike Hire and a café next door. No w/c/showers on site.

We enjoyed visiting Stamford, Oakham (award winning pies and sausages from a local buther, ) and Barnsdale Gardens, there is also a bird of prey centre next door.

A good local pub with home-brews is the Exeter Arms at Barrowden where we were made welcome by the landlord and locals.

We only had three days here, next time will be a longer stay.

The approach up the narrow road has plenty of passing places and is not trouble at all.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kiters 59 15 reviews from this member

We booked to go to Top Lodge Caravan Site for a week from 10th Oct, but the weather was a bit Hit & Miss, on arrival the staff told us to find a pitch of our choice, we then started with getting the van leveled up & the awning up & sorted our selves out, kettle on & a beer for me, there was chip van coming on the site later which we made use of & they were worth the wait very nice?

the site was about half full most of the week so very quite, this site has no toilet block only water & waste outlets, some great walks straight from the van & a cafe in the car parks, the site is 8mls from Stamford, & are a few local pubs doing food near by, great from bird watchers with Red Kites around the site & area, the closes early Nov until March we going soon after they open. Overall a great site thanks to the staff & the C Club

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Georget64 33 reviews from this member

I booked this site purely as a one night stopover, but in fact found a gem of a site, in a picturesque woodland area.

Pitches are large and immaculately maintained. Wardens were extremely friendly and helpful. I did use the café at the adjacent Top Lodge, and managed to fit in a forest walk and also hired a mountain bike for 2 hours in Fineshade Woods.

Approach from the A43 is by a narrow road, but this is no problem as there are numerous well-signed, visible, and hard surfaced passing places.

I fully intend to return, only next time as a short break to enjoy the other attractions in the area.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: ShellPaul 11 reviews from this member

This is a gem of a site with regards to being able to just leave your caravan and walk into the forest or cycle into it as there are purpose built tracks for a BMX.

However, I think this the title is a bit misleading - I can't believe a CLUB SITE doesn't have a TOILET of any kind.

We used a shower in the caravan but not many like to.

My Dad never uses the caravan toilet so he stayed at home and frankly I think it's very expensive for what it is.

It worked out at £19. 50 per night for 2 adults and 1 child

I think it should be £12-£14 the max as there are no toilets, showers on site. They have a little shop which stocked emergency items like bread and some souvenirs and the shop assistants were very friendly.

The road to the site is uphill on entry with many cars coming down and NOT giving way on the narrow road - there are passing places but they don't care. Also people were parking in them and going into the forest rather than paying in the Forest Centre car park.

I've stayed at places that had better facilities for less but I think you're paying for the easy access to the forest.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Beatyler 9 reviews from this member

This is one of my all time favourite sites. Have stayed here several times now and plan to return time and again. Beautiful peaceful setting where you can literally park your car up and not need it for the duration of your holiday if you don't want to drive anywhere.

Miles of woodland and designated tracks to walk, cycle or horse ride through. Lots of wildlife, flora and fauna to see and enjoy.

There are no toilets or showers on site but the site itself is very well maintained. The wardens are efficient and helpful when needed. There is a good information booth too of things to do in and around the local area.

If you venture out then there is Stamford up the road and Rutland isn't far at all either. We went to see the osprey at Rutland Water on one of our stays there which was fantastic. There is a little coffee shop next door to the site and a few small shops. There is also a cycle hire place if you didn't want to take your own with you.

If like us you love wildlife, nature, peace and quiet then Top Lodge is a great location to be.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jaunty 8 reviews from this member

Myself, Col Grumpy and 2 Springers had lovely Monday-Wednesday stay, in the 2-3 days each month we seem to be having has our summer spells !

Beautiful site, well spaced and laid out with plenty of room between pitches. No facilities block (need your own shower/loo, etc) but waste areas very clean and tidy and recycling bins too. Handy information hut and few essentials available from the shop. Wardens extremely friendly and helpful.

Site is set next to Fineshade Woods, run by the Forestry Commission and RSPB. There is a RSPB shop, cafe, gift shop (lots of doggy goods!) and cycle hire in the courtyard next to the Site entrance. Woods are well laid out with several walks/cycle paths from 2 to 11 miles. Plenty of wildlife and birds about on site too. Ideal for activity fiends, or gentle strollers!

Very peaceful and relaxing during the week, I would guess maybe slightly different at weekends and school holidays.

Excellent site and location, would go back.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pullup 15 reviews from this member

This is the type of site that I am reluctant to leave a good review for in case I can't get booked in again. I have just returned from 4 nights here over Easter, with my two teenage children and hubby.

The wardens where a lovely couple that organised a Easter raffle for the weekend and there is a small table top bric a brac sale on a Sunday.

There are no facilities on site for children and no space for ball games. There are so many great walks from the site and in the rspb visitors centre next door has a cafe, bike hire, wooden play area, orchard and some craft shops.

Will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mikejackiepowell 9 reviews from this member

We stayed here one very cold autumn weekend just before half term and it was absolutely beautiful. It is surrounded by trees and next door is the Fineshade Forestry Commission wood and visitor centre, superb for dogs and children alike.

The site has a mix of grass and hardstandings and is very well laid out. There are no toilets/showers here so your own facilities are essential.

There is lots to do around here including Geoff Hamiltons garden at Barnsdale, rutland water and stamford which is a lovely market town. Thoroughly recommended and we will be back.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bazlam 15 reviews from this member

We originally intended only to stay 3 nights before moving on, but liked it so much we stayed for 8. A lovely site, well maintained with spacious pitches. Extremely quiet and peaceful.

Great walks in the woods next door, and we spotted 3 Red Kites during our stay. The village of Stamford is very nice as is Oakham. Good local bakers, butchers etc.

We will definitely return, a great area with lots to see and do. As mentioned, no toilet or shower block, so may not be suitable for those with children.

Previous     23 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northamptonshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3957 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019