Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Fakenham Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Isle Of Wight > Ryde > Fakenham Farm Campsite Reviews

Fakenham Farm Campsite
Eddington Road
St Helens
Ryde
Isle Of Wight   (Browse area)
PO33 1XS
Tel: 01983 719575
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 Vans + a few tents
Open: 01/03/2021 to 30/11/2021
           01/03/2022 to 30/11/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 11 Reviews
                9/10 from 11 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Jonbott 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, in a great area of the Isle Of Wight,

Friendly owners,

Close to the town and a pub, nice walks around the area and a beach close by.

Clean toilets and showers, cafe that does an awesome breakfast! 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Richard61 6 reviews from this member

 This is a good site which could be a great site in the long and short term.

Great position with seaviews, very quiet and pleasant unintrusive owners.

The site is sheltered by trees on 3 sides with animal enclosures behind that you can visit.

There is 1 shower and 1 toilet with 2 adjoining sinks, there is no separate washing up area although many campers washed pots in the toilet sinks which to me is a bit unhygienic.

The toilet and shower were cleaned but not daily. Once a day is the industry standard and following this should be the norm.

The bins also need emptying daily, these were regularly overflowing.

This site would be much better with 2 toilets and 2 showers - male and female, also a separate pot washing area away from the toilets would be a good addition.

A good site which we enjoyed staying at and would stay again hopefully with improvements to the basics. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lu Pitt 6 reviews from this member

 What a super little site! If you want a bar, kids club, pool and all the associated hype then go and stay over the road at the commercial site. If you want a peaceful basic camping experience, with friendly owners and considerate camping neighbours then Fakenham Farm will definitely suit you. The field slopes but the caravans and motorhomes seemed to level up easily and there are level areas if you can get them. In the field there are plenty of hook-ups, a disposal point which we didn't use, bin area and water tap.

There is one toilet and one shower. This could potentially be a problem at 'rush hour' but we never really had to wait long for either. The block is on the end of the cafe building so going for a mid-morning shower past everyone having their coffee and cake was a little quirky, but this is the Isle of Wight after all!

The cafe (independent of the site) shuts at about 3. 30 so the whole site is really quiet from then on too. We had brunch at the cafe and it was good, simple reasonably priced food.

The site is small and at its busiest there were about 8/9 units which was enough both in terms of space and facilities. There are no marked pitches, and we managed to position ourselves with a sea view which was beautiful.

There were swings for the children plus lots of animals to look at and the most hilarious donkey I've ever heard!

St Helen's is a great little village, with a cracking car booty on a Sunday. The post office is pricy but good for essentials, there is a Londis 5 mins away in Nettlestone which stocks everything, and a huge Tesco 15 mins away.

The beach is 5 mins away and is great for families with amazing rockpools and has a cafe and public toilets.

All in all a super site which we'd definitely go back to. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bogey567 5 reviews from this member

 I visited the site at the start of July and it was virtually empty, except for one other caravan. Which was wonderful, because I could site my VW Crafter campervan/motorhome in such a way to get the maximum view of the sea. This site is in a great position and it is so easy to walk to the beach. Or walk to the village with the restaurants, shop and pubs. It is also fairly quiet, with no noticeable noise from bigger sites nearby. There are animals on the farm part of the site and it is hilarious listening to the donkey winding himself up and letting out his version of a shout! Even in the early hours!

Julie the owner came and saw us after arrival and supplied a key to the gate (which is locked at night) and the code for the loo and shower rooms. Both of which we did not really use, but they appeared adequate for a CS site.

There is a café on site that looks to popular with locals, but we didn't use it, but the snack menus looked really nice. See Trip advisor for the local restaurants. Mixed experience with them. Dans Kitchen was really good though, you must try his fish and chips, best I have ever had.

Anyway, back to the site! A couple of small improvements if poss. The waste water/Chemical toilet disposal point seems a bit high. It was tricky pouring water away. Maybe some of the vehicles near the cafe could be moved for a better impression upon arrival.

But other than that I really enjoyed staying here and will certainly use this site if I stay on the island again. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sue and fred 3 reviews from this member

 Fakenham farm is a little slice of heaven. My husband and I and best friends stayed for 2 weeks again for the second year running. The site is slightly sloping but found it easy to level up and there are a couple of flat areas for tents. Julie and clive, the owners are lovely, friendly people. The site is a perfect base for a lot of the Island. Shopping is 5 minutes by car away at tesco, s or the co-op at bembridge and enough local pubs and eateries to choose from. A mere 5 minute short walk across the road down to the lovely beach or drive even, where there is a licensed restaurant with outdoor benches where you can watch the boats coming in and out or enjoy playing in the sea. We didn't really have a problem with only 1 shower and toilet block which is a decent size also. !The animals are lovely and never kept us awake as julie takes some of them in at night. My husband forged a great bond with Moses the donkey which was gorgeous. A great place to chill out. We thoroughly recommend this cracking site. We`re going again next year. ! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: 00107618 7 reviews from this member

 We have just come back from a 5 day-4 night stay. I slept with my wife and two girls in the campervan and my teenage son slept in a two person tent. This was not hard to find. But the satnav stops you 200 yards short from the place. So carry on a bit longer till you see the blue sign that says 'seaveiw cafe' and turn in there, if using the postcode on this site.

Plus points:

1/ The farm owner Julie is kind honest and friendly.

2/ the farm is not a working farm but it is built especially for visitors, you have all the animals you want to see and you can mingle with them (at your own risk). But generally speaking they are all friendly animals.

3/ The cafe is right there, good meals ( we had our last meal there there before we left, nice breakfast, even better when we took the duck egg option).

4/ we travelled up and down the island from there. Everything is a maximum of 45 minutes away, otherwise 10 minutes is the average. Shopping is 20minutes away in Ryde or Newport.

5/ electric hookup and water supply, as standard.

6/ £50 for the 4 nights for a family of 5! it doesn't get any better. But we decided to give her £60. She choose to round the figures down but we were so happy with the place we rounded it up.

Bad points:

I think it was mentioned before several times. There is only one shower and one loo with washing up sinks beside the loo and the tabs are not very friendly. We were the first people this season. The other couple were much older and hardly left their caravan. There was a cue on the shower every so often with my family alone! so to have 5 families I think it will be very difficult.

That is the only reason this place did not get 10/10. I agree with the last review, I should keep this a secret as it seems all the people that booked it out for the next 3 months have all been there in the past few years! But it is too good to keep a secret. I am glad the big camp site opposite was sold out and I booked this the day before!

Would I go again? without a doubt 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mazmonkey 9 reviews from this member

 Hello, had to leave a review of this wonderful campsite! its one of those that you kinda don't want to tell others about as it'll get too busy and is a wonderful secret!

We arrived 23rd july staying 8 nights (wish it would have been longer!) and it flew by. The campsite is great, not too busy, nice and quiet (apart from 1 night where we had the 'clubhouse' noise and dj shouting coming from a big holiday park over a few fields away, nodes point, but it did stop about 11-11. 30ish) Kids LOVED the place. Its very basic, a shower (which was clean and free and a big cubicle so I could wash my kids with me) 1 toilet (i was a bit funny about this being shared by men and women but to be honest it was never a problem whilst there) and two sinks where you do your washing up in the toilet block too. The owner Julie was lovely, gave us any info we needed. Only regret was not staying longer and we didn't actually eat at the wonderfull cafe on site as the kids bled us dry at site seeing so we had no money left hardly last few days!

The view out to sea is wonderful day and night, night time you can see big cruise ships lit up going out to sea. The price is AMAZING for a family of 4 with a dog and hook up for 8 nights. Will be going back FOR SURE! spoke to other campers whislt there and they all said the same. If you like a quiet, rural, peaceful site with clean facilities and not much else going on then this is for you! As a family we were quite happy to sit out at night and play football etc with the kids, we never like to stay at HUGE campsites with loads of noise and swimming pool etc (there's one in sandown if you want to take them!)

Really want to book for 14 nights next year and get someone to have the dog this time as there are LOTS a animals about as you would expect with it being a farm and our dog is a bit mardy! so fingers crossed that we can get it booked for 2015!

St helens was nice village, we had a pint at the vines pub and kids played on the park on the green, post office owner was lovely. The local beach is very close, but quite shingly and we ended up going there on 2nd day, kids weren't keen so drove out to find a sandier one but of course dogs arent allowed so this does inhibit you if you take kids and dogs to the isle of wight I think but we found nice bit between sandown and shanklin on the footpath were me and hubby could set up chairs on the sea wall and watch the kids on the sandy beach in front of us, winner all round.

There is no 'shop' on site but the local village is so close for milk and bread so it's not a problem and its not far at all for a day out at Ryde.

All in all a fab site, can't wait to go again! 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sue and fred 3 reviews from this member

 Great village, nice pubs, Sallys horseriding (great friendly staff)nearby in walking distance. The owners Julie and Clive are the nicest site owners we have ever met. Such a great variety of animals on site to see and so peaceful at night as Julie puts them to bed at night. The on site cafe is lovely also. Such a perfect location for a base to visit the island. The toilet and shower is always kept spotless and so lovely to get hot water without having to press a button all the time. My husband and I and friends who came with us also enjoyed and looked forward to our evening chats with Julie and her wonderful collie dog Tige. Very hesitant to write a good review as we really didn't want anybody else to know about it. Ha ha. All we can say more is that for us, it is our little slice of heaven. Will we go back ? We are already booking this week for next years holiday. ! 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Morrisjohn 1 review from this member

 Great place to visit on farm setting with brilliant views all toilet & shower working its nice & clean and tidy. Cafe open at 8. 30am for breakfast it shuts at 3. 30pm but are back for the evenings frid sat & sun it has the great farm atmosphere and stunning views we had plenty of room with our big tent. Walks are exceptionally good with the dog and village pub, shop restaurants are only 5 mins walk. We shall certainly be back we thoroughly enjoyed are time there 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: T16tomcat 4 reviews from this member

 Fakenham Farm CS is in a period of transition at the moment, the animal farm is being run down and is no longer a tourist attraction and the View Café is under new management since the previous review. In addition the new wash and shower block has potential but is unfinished. The camp site is new as mentioned in the previous review and has good potential.

So we booked a week’s stay here and when we arrived there was just one tent on site, so we had a choice of plots to choose from. In reality if you want a view of the sea from your unit or tent then this can only be achieved (with power) on positions 4 – 6 as the first three are blocked out by the café. Unfortunately all of the power supplied plots are quite small and you do not have a lot of space to spread out, especially plots 2 & 3 that are really only suitable for a small unit and are sharing a corner position so quite tight.

The owners have created a nice area for the camp site but it is very exposed to the wind and whilst they have planted a lot of hedging these are only saplings and will take 3 – 4 years before becoming a viable windbreak. I recommend you take a sturdy windbreak with you if you intend to sit outside. The site is slightly sloping so ramps will be needed.

The bin and waste area is in the far corner with a new cesspit so this is not going to be a problem with smells, overflows etc. The drinking water tap is in the main camp area but opposite the powered sites and so if you have a motorhome you will need a hose extension if you do not want to move the van constantly.

Unfortunately the shower and toilet block is still unfinished, no glass in the doors windows and though promised by the second day of our stay, the power was still not connected by the time we left and so the shower still does not work and there is no hot water in the washrooms. Not a problem too much if you have a shower on board but not great for campers!

The View café was only ever open till 3pm during our stay, but apparently it is due to open for evening meals soon, we never got to go in though as it was closed for 4 of the days we were there so I cannot say much about it.

The farm area is adjacent and accessible by a gate, but it is not particularly child friendly (make sure you supervise children as there is quite a lot of potential hazards for youngsters)It is effectively a working farm and should be considered as such.

Finally be aware that the donkey and the cockerel will wake you up early, not a problem for us but it may be an issue for some.

I will echo what the previous reviewer said about the local shops and restaurants and you are no further than a short drive to anything on the IOW anyway. Local walks and cycling are good if not a bit hilly and the bus is regular (hourly) and runs till late at night (no 8).

In conclusion, potential to be a great, reasonably quiet site, but still in a period of transition. We loved it and certainly would consider staying here again if we visit the IOW. 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Fakenham Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Fakenham Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Fakenham Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ryde      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Wight

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3262 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Get a Reminder