Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bedruthan Steps Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Mawgan Porth > Bedruthan Steps Camping Reviews

Bedruthan Steps Camping
B3276
Bedruthan
Mawgan Porth
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
PL27 7UW
Tel: 07833475342  or  07877240015
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Unlimited
Open: 01/07/2021 to 31/08/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 9 Reviews
                9/10 from 9 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Pop Up Campsite 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Flossie787 1 review from this member

 Fantastic location on the cliffs. Very laid back, friendly site on a huge sloping field.

Due to Covid-19 you need your own facilities (toilet, shower) at present. The site has waste disposal and water.

Would definitely recommend and will come again! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: TimCESmith 48 reviews from this member

 A wonderful, beautifully located site with very basic facilities and no discernible rules, Bedruthan Steps will not suit everyone.

There is no washing up sink, just a single cold tap. The loos and showers look intimidating, but are actually well cleaned and maintained and rather good considering this is a makeshift, one-month-a-year site. We did have to queue a couple of times and the showers are certainly feeble by domestic standards.

I loved the rusty old boiler in the gents with 'do not touch' scribbled on it in red marker pen. There are plenty of bins: a line of rubbish hoppers which miraculously didn't spill their contents despite the wind (more on that later).

The field is huge, and most of it is quite steeply sloping. There's little shelter, but if you ask him, Dave will tell you the best places to pitch for your type and size of unit. He lives in the caravan by the entrance during the brief season and occasionally tootles round the site in his immaculate old Jag collecting fees and dispensing wisdom.

The draw here is the location, the freedom to pitch as you please and the absence of hectoring, rules-obsessed gauleiters. Oh, and it's cheap. The down side to that is raucous groups on jollies who are not fully versed in campsite etiquette. If they set you off, there are plenty of other sites in the area which are more your cup of tea.

We were unlucky with the weather. Dave had warned us about the punchy westerlies, so we guyed accordingly and were fine, but a lot of tents weren't. We arrived to a glorious sunset, but rarely saw the sea, or even the other side of the site, over the following eight days. A mixture of hard-driven sea fog and rain took some of the polish off the experience. Huddling behind a well-braced windbreak it was possible to barbecue slooooooowly most days however. I was very glad we'd brought the awning as I think we might have abandoned the trip if confined to the tent: no tarp arrangement would have survived.

With no wifi on site and no data on the 3 network, we couldn't plan (for activities or weather) until we'd driven off site, so it's worth doing your homework before you get here.

In summary: it was an exhilarating stay in a fabulous location. You need to be prepared to 'slum it a bit', but Bedruthan Steps does not set itself up as a five star site. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campers4u 2 reviews from this member

 On a sloping 12 acre field above Bedruthan Steps; perfectly placed to access the steps down to the beach. You can pitch a tent, or camper van where you like. Quite a slope on the field, but not too bad. Many choose the far edges where its flatter. 3 toilets and two showers are in wooden sheds by the entrance track. There is a diesel generator by the showers to provide electricity. This runs from 7am till 11pm, and is a bit noisy. Many choose to keep well away. Dogs welcome. 10 per person per night, children under 10 free. All good so far, it's cheap and by the beach. It would get 10 out of 10 if it were not for the appalling state of the showers and toilets. Not enough for the numbers of people there, approx 30-35 units. A lot of queueing which is a real pain. Housed in rickety old wooden sheds which are not cleaned regularly, there is filth in the corners. Showers are tiny and filthy, but work. The facilities are shabby, inadequate and a complete joke, and not likely to improve. Dave is a great guy, but he's not interested in improving matters. As long as people turn up he reckons shabby is good enough. All a great shame because some basic clean facilities would make this the best campsite in Cornwall. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jemma0127 1 review from this member

 This campsite is perfection! Quiet, beautiful views, it's own beach, cafe and pub within walking distance, toilets, showers, dogs and campfires allowed, loads of room and reasonably priced! Couldn't ask for more!

Steps to beach are steep but we managed with 2 small children and 2 dogs so are fine as long as you take it steady.

Dave - we'll be returning next year without a doubt! Thanks so much!  


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jan Walsh 2 reviews from this member

 Everything was fantastic, the location, Dave the owner, atmosphere, shower and the weather. When you get away from the steps end the beach is a magical place. More great beaches if you walk along the cliffs. Best thing is that there is loads of space even in August and no silly rules. Just how camping should be :-)) 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gsmiff 3 reviews from this member

 This campsite was everything you could ask for if you like being left alone and you enjoy stunning views. Dave the owner, well what a character and so helpful. The private secluded beach is to die for, but not for those who are unfit as there are lots of steps down to the sea. We had beautiful weather and really enjoyed our stay. There are temporary toilets here and also a facility to empty your chemical toilets along with showers. Dave called us the Gatwick Boys but we travelled from West London which is the only reason we have not been back the distance is prohibitive for us but we will most definitely return one day. A fantastic holiday. Thanks Dave. 


Date of Visit: July 2014  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ratty 252 reviews from this member

 Well we came back, as last year just held such a spot in my memory, that we cannot resist.

It is just how it was, magical. A massive field on the edge of the SW coast path above Bedruthan Steps. There are two portaloos, one shower and one womens and one mens toilets. All cleaned daily and to a good standard. The shower was on or off no temperature control, but if you ask the owner he will tweak the temp to suit you.

The price was 7. 50 for everyone over 13 and this includes your pitch, free hot water, free access to the beach and free use of the toilets and showers.

The site had quite a few units on it, but we were all well spread out and nobody was pitched on top of anyone else. All pitches offer amazing sea views overlooking the cliffs with sunsets that are simply stunning.

Despite being fairly busy there was no noise after 11pm, apart from the occasional laughter which carried through the night. In fact the noisiest thing after 11pm is the waves crashing in to the rocks.

Not a lot more to add to last years except this time we had a drink in the Inn at Bedruthan which is up the road about half a mile. They offer a wide range of local beers and ciders plus the normal ones and wine too. The menu looked lunch and reasonably priced but we did not eat there.

The kick off time at this site, just leave when you want.

Locally is the stunning, but busy beach at Morgaw Porth and Padstow just 7. 5 miles down the road.

I will be back, next year if I come back to Cornwall. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: SBCamper 7 reviews from this member

 Another fabulous stay at Bedruthan Steps. Definitely the best sunset views of any campsite I have stayed on in Cornwall. Be prepared for very limited facilities and make the most of the location. The field was the busiest I can remember it so there were frequently queues for the shower and toilets but its no real hardship. Very friendly hosts and nothing is too much for them (charging phones seems to be a frequent request).

Plenty of space and dogs and children welcome - its a great spot for kite flying! 


Date of Visit: August 2013  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ratty 252 reviews from this member

 WOW. This is the most wonderful site I have ever stayed on and found by pure chance which cruising along the coast road.

We pulled in and were met by the very friendly owner who charged us 7. 50 per adult and showed us where the facilities were and told us to go pitch anywhere we liked.

The toilets and showers are made up of two toilets in a shed, one shower in a shed and two portaloos. They provide fresh water and a chemical disposal point. The shower was always warm and kept very clean, as were the toilets.

You can pitch where you like on this site and we chose the middle, so we could make the most of the views and the sunsets. The sun is over you all day long and the site overlooks the sea / cliffs and the sun sets directly in front of you. And boy, we were treated to the most spectacular sunset.

Dogs are welcome, as are open fires. There is plenty of space and we were able to spread out to play games, chill, etc.

The site is right on the coastal path and you can walk for miles and miles. The nearby National Trust centre at Carnewas offers a tea room, ice creams, etc.

The steps leading down to the beach are just a short walk away, and although the steps seem quite daunting, they are not that bad. The beach at the bottom is so stunning and not really that well used (probably due to the number of steps) and we chilled, had a picnic and a swim on the beach and had masses of space to enjoy ourselves.

If ever in Cornwall again I would choose this site, but please bear in mind it is only open during August. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bedruthan Steps Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bedruthan Steps Camping?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Bedruthan Steps Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Mawgan Porth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3601 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement