Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Kings Down Tail Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (South) > Sidmouth > Kings Down Tail Caravan & Camping Park > Reviews

Kings Down Tail Caravan & Camping Park
Salcombe Regis
Sidmouth
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX10 0PD
Tel: 01297 680313
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03/2024 to 30/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 39 Reviews
                9/10 from 39 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  39 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: March 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 31+ Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Pappy 1 review from this member

 We had been on this site for 6 years until Iíll health meant we had to give up our caravan. The owners of the site have worked hard to improve the site.

My grandchildren loved the site as they made lots of friends, we rarely saw them from the time they arrived to the time they went home.

The reception is a great place to meet people as there is a seating area to have breakfast or just a coffee and pastry.

The shop is well stocked with food, beers and ciders plus some caravan and camping spares.

The shower block and toilets are amazing, clean and tidy. Play area for the children plus a rounders pitch and badminton net and football area.

Last year my extended family wanted to have a meet up and Vicki and Dave saved a space for their 6 tents to be arranged in a circle around electric points, the weekend was a great success.

Several of our friends also came down and pitched their tents near to our caravan. At one time 25 of our family and friends came down, once again Vicki arranged to keep spaces free.

My kids have also used the pods that Dave built. The grandchildren when we first moved there, weíre allowed to feed some baby lambs, whose mothers had rejected them.

Vicki and Dave also arranged food wagons to come over the weekends, albeit they have built a open hut that they have installed a pizza oven. The list goes on and on of the things they have done to improve the site.

Just gutted that we are not able to visit anymore and will miss the friends we made.

I think you can see that this site comes highly recommend. Whether it be seasonal or daily. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 12 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Davetparkes 2 reviews from this member

 We have stayed here most years recently.

Very good site, good facilities including wet rooms.

Handy for buses to sidmouth, seaton, exeter and honiton.

Well run by vicki and david paget who are always on site. 


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mikepemberton 1 review from this member

 Lovely flat spacious site, lovely greeting at reception. Lovely showers and toilets spotlessly clean. Nice play area for children. The site had a Halloween trail where the children had to find letters to spell a word. Given a very generous prize on completion.

On leaving had a problem with electric tow hook socket which Dave the owner fixed for us. We had a problem as we were about to leave the site when the tow hook disengaged and the van separated from the car, once again Dave rushed to the rescue and got us going again. He would not accept any payment for doing it.

Wonderful service.

Our first visit to the site, will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Colleywobble 11 reviews from this member

 What a gem of a site, glad we found it did not want to leave,

Showers and toilets are the best and cleanest we have ever came across.

There is a small shop on site which sells all the basics plus wine and beer.

Site is spotless and well maintained staff and owners on site are very friendly and welcoming.

We will definitely be back thank you for a lovely and pleasant stay. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Cryan 22 reviews from this member

 Wow, wow and wow again!

What a fantastic site. Only a family arty have children themselves could have designed such a family friendly easy campsite.

The family BATH room is amazing, it was such a joy to have clean children without them screaming the place down in the showers! All facilities were spotless and homely and the whole site has a calm family feel with all ages relaxing together. The play area and games room were a fantastic addition- we were lucky to get my little ones to go anywhere! The shop sells all that you could need at reasonable price and the site is small enough to feel personal and not like a holiday park.

We were unlucky with one set of noisy neighbours whilst staying but that was not the siteís fault- I think they mistook the quiet family site for Haven! (Has we been staying any longer Iím sure we could have reported them).

Really reasonable too- canít wait to return ASAP!

Thank you Kings Down tail for a perfect base from which to visit friends 😃 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Daisies 5 reviews from this member

 We have just returned home after a very enjoyable week at Kings down : We went there after finding the campsite we intended staying at wasn't to our liking.

We had no idea what Kingsdown was like, we were in for a lovely surprise! after a warm welcome we were shown to the pitches that were available and told to choose which one we wanted, all the pitches were spacious, its a lovely place,

the facilities are absolutely second to none, spotlessly clean showers and toilets, plenty of hot water, a very nice reception area and well stocked shop,

you can order newspapers which are delivered to you daily, the couple who run the park simply cannot do enough for you, they mean you to have a perfect stay.

We have been to many campsites over the years and this one certainly measures up. We will definitely visit again : 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: WKHLANDCO 4 reviews from this member

 Excellent site. Toilet and shower facilities are clean, owners are very friendly and helpful.

Nice children's play area. We've been several times over the last few years and will book again. Lots to do in the local area, Sidmouth is nice and Lyme Regis is great.

This is THE best site we've been to and I highly recommend it. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: JanTe 1 review from this member

 My friend and I were lucky enough to secure the new 'Family Pod' for our stay at Kings Down Tail during Sidmouth Folk Week.

Basically, our 'Hobbit House' as our friends called it, had a couple of ears on the outside, one of which is a double bed, and the other is a toilet and wash hand basin. In the main 'body' of the pod is a bunk bed with double mattress below and single above, a curved sofa, a coffee table and a small kitchenette area containing a sink, microwave, kettle, fridge and TV.

All very cosy and theoretically accommodating 6 persons. However, we found it to be perfect for 2! Whilst it's true that 6 people (at a push) could sleep there, that would leave absolutely nowhere for anybody's 'stuff. ' There is a bit of cupboard space under the sink and work surface and we put our food/utensils/cooking stuff there. Our clothes etc were all stored on the bottom bunk with one of us sleeping on the top bunk and the other in the 'ear. '

The Pod really came into its own when it rained, and boy did it rain! It was very lovely holed up there while the heavens opened. You would, however, have to be good friends with anyone you stayed with as you can hear everything.

We also took full advantage of the fire pit and had a BBQ for a few friends one evening.

So, an experience we can recommend but sadly one we won't be repeating as unbeknownst to us the campsite took a booking for next year's Folk Week the day we arrived. Naively we thought we would get the option to book first, but it wasn't to be, and I guess that next year we will either be in a tent or a B & B! 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Weddyboy 3 reviews from this member

 We visited this site mid season, the pitch allocated was just about big enough for our van and awning. In all fairness the pitch next to us was left vacant so we could park our cars, a nice touch.

This is a family run site and the owners were very friendly. They never stopped working, when a pitch was vacated the grass was cut straight away. Toilets and showers great, never lacked hot water and always clean, family bathroom a nice touch if you have young children.

Shop sold all the basics and included small cafť. Site easy to get to and handy for Seaton/ Sidmouth etc. Wifi was a little hit and miss but as it was free can't complain.

Would have liked the option of our own water and drainage like some of the seasonal pitches but that's just being picky. We have in the past visited a larger site just down the road but we much prefer this one and we will visit again soon. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andie74 26 reviews from this member

 Fantastic location for visiting Sidmouth, Seaton, Beer, lyme Regis etc. Bus stop outside goes to all the above places, also free hopper bus that goes to Sidmouth stopping at Donkey sanctuary.

Nice level pitches with water taps near by. Washroom very clean with plenty of room in cubicle. There is also three all in one washrooms with toilet basin and shower.

Very good play park for kids and indoor play room for toddlers.

Reasonable price shop on site with wifi and leaflets.

Laundry facilities and dishwashing also available.

Dog walk at back along track near Donkeys with bin either end.

Only slight problem was no regulator on showers, lights kept dimming, road noise not a problem but some might have problem with loud donkeys.

I would recommend this site. 


Previous     39 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Kings Down Tail Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Kings Down Tail Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Kings Down Tail Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Sidmouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


55134 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement