Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Dartmoor View Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Okehampton > Dartmoor View Holiday Park Reviews

Dartmoor View Holiday Park
Whiddon Down
Okehampton
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX20 2QL
Tel: 01647 588026  or  01647 231545
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 27
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 10 Reviews
                9/10 from 10 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   No Bar   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Quilkin 3 reviews from this member

 A nice enough site, very quiet and well laid out but it felt a bit odd - middle of August and only 10 or so of 100 pitches actually occupied - about half the others had unoccupied caravans and the rest were empty.

Credit cards are not accepted, although debit cards are. This seems a bit mean - can the owners not afford the few percent charge? The prices are high enough to cover that.

I wasn't bothered by the short time allowed on the shower push-buttons - many people seem to spend far too long in the shower anyway (let's help save the planet) but maybe that's just another cost-saving exercise. The even shorter time in the washbasins was more of a problem.

Oh - and why is the walking route to the shower/toilet block so convoluted? A short set of three steps directly up would save 50 metres of walking around the fence and up the slopes. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: TheNeweyTribe 5 reviews from this member

 What an absolutely beautiful site! When you first arrive you are greeted by a lovely receptionist who canít do enough for you. You set off to your pitch very well informed.

The site facilities are good, although we struggled to find the grey waste point, an elderly couple pointed it out to us!

The site is absolutely beautiful to walk around of an evening, but be aware, if you want a pub, the Post Inn is the closest one and is about a 15 minute walk alongside a very busy road which was a little bit scary with the two small ones!

All in all, a beautiful site, just could do with a little shop/bar as well 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: KimWalker 7 reviews from this member

 At best average for tourers.

Spent 3 nights here this month.

Tourers are so close together that one wonders about the fire risk.

Lots of tourers seem permanent or semi permanent and the area around them is untidy.

Showers are old and very small and there is no where for toiletries.

Nice Club House but no shop.

Views are of statics opposite.

So tight to park have to use mover.

Will not return 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cluskey Clan 12 reviews from this member

 This is a wonderful campsite, we would definitely stay again. Lovely & flat with easy access off the main road. Great position for visiting Dartmoor, Devon & Cornwall. Short drive to Okehampton for supermarkets, restaurants etc, which was great when the weather was bad. Plenty to do in the area. Dartmoor is beautiful & wonderful for walking & sightseeing.

The campsite was very clean including the washing facilities, with lovely, hot showers. Campsite staff were very helpful & friendly. Also all the campers were very friendly.

The children loved the outside pool which was clean & well kept. The children played a lot of football in the play area which they really enjoyed.

Very good rates for large families.

We would definitely return if in the area. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: TigerJools 9 reviews from this member

 Just home from a two week stay at Dartmoor View. The site is a couple of minutes from the A30 at Whiddon Down so very easy access for most units. The park is mainly statics but these do not overpower the touring pitches. There are about 27 touring pitches - 9 of them have their own water supply but these are a bit smaller than the others. If you intend on putting an awning up then your car would have to stand in front of your van. On the larger pitches you can park your car by the side but there is not a lot of room between the pitches so you end up being quite close to your neighbours van. This would be our only criticism of the site. The facilities are kept clean and there are washing facilities if you need them. There is a small pool which was very welcome during the hot weather. It was fairly quiet when we were there but I expect it may be a bit busier during the holidays. We didn't have children with us but there is a small play area and room to run around. Overall the site was very quiet so if you like to party loudly its probably not the place for you. The wardens were friendly and discreet but there if you needed them. The site is ideal for touring both the north and south Devon coasts as well as Dartmoor itself. There is a bus stop at the gate which takes you to Okehampton one way and Exeter the other. The Post Inn pub is a five minute walk away and does excellent food. There isn't a footpath though so not recommended in the dark. The nearest shops are in Okehampton although you can buy provisions at the Service Station if you run out. Overall had a lovely holiday and would thoroughly recommend. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Peter Tell 3 reviews from this member

 The site is very quite and easy to find being close to A30. It is one of the cleanest sites we have been. The grounds are well kept and the toilets and showers are spotless. The small playground and pool are very well kept. There is a small games room and small fishing lake. The staff are very helpful and friendly. Would definitely go back again and would recommend it to anyone wanting a peaceful break near to Dartmoor. They said they are going to put in a motorhome service point by next year. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Banks272 1 review from this member

 The site was clean and very well laid out. The barrier closing at night made the site feel a lot safer.

The toilets and showers were excellent and kept very clean.

It was good to have wash up facilities inside also washer and drier were available if required.

Location of site is easy to find and close to Dartmoor for walking and cycling

This is a small friendly site and when we went in June nice and quiet. Would definitely stop again. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Keith and Sylvia 1 review from this member

 Lovely immaculate and peaceful site. Toilet & showers spotless. Pity there isnt a dedicated dog walk. I found the main road frightening. Also maybe they could consider having a small shop selling just the essentials eg bread, milk etc.

If you want the quiet life then this is the site for you but if you want excitement sea and sand no. The staff were very friendly and helpful, would stay there again if we are in the area. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Barryw4141 1 review from this member

 Well we decided to pitch our caravan for 6 weeks so we can get some use our of it. Friends recommended this site. We pitched from the end of May till the beginning of July.

It was a getaway for the weekend after work. With the site only being 45 minutes away it was ideal.

On arrival the staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a great pitch ideal for the size of our caravan and awning.

Once pitched we had a great time here. Not lots on site but very secure - Clean and tidy. I even managed to lay in till 10 as the site was very peace full. You could here the birds in the morning etc.

The pool was not overly big but ideal for my 10 year old.

We will definitely be going back again.  


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mandy58 4 reviews from this member

 Only stopped here on our way to Cornwall but what a lovely site.

Clean and tidy toilet facilities. The site is well maintained and beautifully set out with plenty of room. There is a pool on site, although we didn't use it, I'm guessing it would be quite popular in the height of the season. It was lovely and quiet when we visited as it was during term time; but there is plenty of room for the kids to run about without bothering the neighbours!

Had a 5 minute walk to the local pub for a meal; very pretty little village.

Extremely good value for money too, cheapest site I have stayed on for years.

I do hope we stay here again.

Thank you. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Dartmoor View Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Dartmoor View Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Dartmoor View Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Dartmoor View Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Okehampton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5412 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement