Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Blackcock Inn Caravan Park (formerly Yeo Valley)

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > South Molton > Blackcock Inn Caravan Park (formerly Yeo Valley) Reviews

Blackcock Inn Caravan Park (formerly Yeo Valley)
Molland
South Molton
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX36 3NW
Tel: 01769 550297
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 65
Open: 01/04 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 22 Reviews
                6/10 from 22 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Theresa Rich 3 reviews from this member

We had stayed here before when the couple had taken it over, it was quite good, but food in pub wasn't great and the shower block needed TLC.

Thought we would book again with friends, however, the same couple are there, of which one is rather rude and shouldn't be running a business,

The drinks in the bar were undrinkable and the shower block was worse, the same toilet was "out of order" and another one was also "out of order".

Also it's all well and good having free range chickens but not when they are pooping all over the campsite including our awning mat so we won't be going there again. Shame.

Very expensive at £96

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Drew T 1 review from this member

The selfish side of me wants to say this place is awful, so that nobody else will go and we can have it all to ourselves.

We stayed at this site for a weekend meet up for the hillman imp club, with around 30 of us using the camping area. Upon arrival I was given a warm welcome and told where my pitch would be.

There are 3 areas, static caravans (for rent), hard standing with grass are for caravans, and a large camping area at the bottom.

It is quite a large site, very well set out, and in a beautiful area. There are plenty of hook up areas, areas with trees, and open areas. Water and rubbish areas are never far away, and the camping field was clean and well kept. At the back of the site is a lovely duck pond (with safety fence) full of ducks and ducklings!

There’s also an enclosed heated swimming pool if you fancy a swim!

The shower block area is a bit dated, but it was clean and functional, and there are also sinks outside for washing dishes, etc, and pay washing machines. The showers are brilliant, work very well and are nice and hot.

Opposite the camp site is the Black Cock Pub, far enough to be quiet, but close enough to be ideal for a drink or tasty meal. The new owners are obviously working very hard to improve this site and are doing a great job!

Disregard previous negative posts, The new owners and staff did a fantastic job of accommodating us for the weekend, friendly, nothing was too much trouble, and we will definitely be returning!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: PhilImp1960 1 review from this member

We stayed at this campsite with our classic car club (some camping, some in motorhomes, some in static caravans). Some of our friends stayed in 2 cottages behind the pub - I presume they were also owned by the pub. The reviews of 2016 should be ignored completely. The site and pub are now under new ownership, and are unrecognisable from those old outdated reviews.

The caravan hard standings have been improved and the owners are planning to replace the old stones. The grass is regularly cut and kept tidy. The tent field is divided - one side has electricity hookups the other doesn't. The shower block is old, but is clean and tidy and has been repainted, and there is lots of hot water for the free showers and sinks. The duck pond is now securely fenced and there were ducklings swimming around. There are a few rope swings for the children to play on. Our friends said the static caravans are old (the owners are intending replacing), but were very clean and well decorated/maintained. Some of us brought cars on trailers and were welcomed.

The pub is across the quiet little road. The owners worked hard to ensure we had a great weekend in Devon and were really friendly. The site and pub are dog friendly. We all ate in the pub on Friday and Saturday and the food and local ales are really good. The large beer garden is well tended having several seats etc. We didn't use the pool, but a friend did and he said it was excellent. The pub stopped serving food at 18:00 on the Sunday, but we were told we could get takeaways from South Molton and eat them in the pub - a good move since we then bought more beer!

The site is located half a mile from the B3227, under a mile from the A361 and just over 5 miles from the centre of South Molton and so is ideally placed as a base for driving around north Devon. Head north along the quiet lane and you are on Exmoor within 10 minutes. The pub and camp site sit alongside the route of the old Devon and Somerset Railway (next to Bishops Nympton and Molland station - now mostly demolished).

The site has everything we needed - camping, touring pitches, statics, cottages, pub, food, accessibility. Our event organisers live locally and have already been implored to organise next year's event at this location. Some of our group travelled over 200 miles for this event - we want to do it again next year.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Gi11 19 reviews from this member

New owners took over at the end of 2016, all earlier reviews should be disregarded except for location etc.

Spent a week in one of their two holiday cottages. Many classic car friends came for the weekend, using the other cottage, the five (rather tired) statics, and lots of the caravan pitches, hard standing and grass, and also tents. We couldn't have been more welcome, nothing was too much trouble - and there were about 50 of us! Shower block was good. They have a swimming pool (£2. 50 adult, £1. 50 child) and a big children's playground and a lovely beer garden. The food in the pub was excellent, huge portions, good variety. Even the locals came in for their Sunday roast dinner!

My 9 for location is only because I don't like narrow Devon lanes, but it's only for 0. 8 mile with plenty of passing places. And there is no mobile phone signal in the valley, which some felt was a bonus! Pub has wifi, works just outside but not on the campsite.

Many, many tourist attractions within easy reach. Between us we did Diggerland, Lynton & Lynmouth Cliff Railway, Lynton & Barnstaple Railway at Woody Bay, Cobbaton Combat Museum, North Devon Maritime Museum, A surfing beach at Widemouth etc etc.

Fabulous break!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ianr34 1 review from this member

We booked for the May bank holiday, travelling over on Thursday evening after work, we were a bit concerned that we may be too late to check in so we rang ahead and were told it wasn't a problem, the pub was open until 11pm so any time up to then (unlike CCM and CC sites). We arrived about 9. 45 and went into the pub to a warm welcome and a refreshing pint! We were then shown to our pitch which was a level hardstanding on a grassy bank overlooking the rolling Devon hills in the distance. The facilities are quite old but clean and had plenty of hot water for the free showers. Next morning we went exploring, the site is next to an old branch line that is now a lovely walk for as many miles as you wish, the pond is now fenced off with lots of baby ducks. There is a strict dogs on leads rule on the site which everybody adhered to.

We ventured Into South Molton which is a nice country village which has a covered market on Thursdays and Saturdays, and had a typical warm Devon welcome. In the evening we went over to the pub for and evening meal, there was a nice friendly mix of locals and residents and good selection of local ales and ciders.

Then we ordered dinner. I had Whitebait and my wife had Garlic Mushrooms follow by lovely Steaks with sauce, it was a good job we had worked up a healthy appetite and very reasonably priced.

Chatting to the owners and locals it turned out they had been there about 12 months, they had bought it from a group of business men who had put in managers to run it, not very well. They have been working very hard to restore it to the excellent site it was about 4 years ago. They are working very hard to do this and have many plans.

We did not go in but it has an indoor heated pool of a good size. This is located in the pub garden that had a good range of swings etc for the grand kids next time around.

Over the weekend they had a Beer and Cider festival with a hog roast and BBQ - most excellent.

On the Saturday we went to Combe Martin and on to Woolacombe, a stunning coastline.

We stayed until Monday and just chilled out, as nobody was booked onto out pitch there was no rush for us to depart, so we got packed up and had a nice lunch and headed back in the afternoon.

Our impression of the site is that its a very nice safe and friendly site with a nice pub, great food and country walks that will get better and better. They also have cottages and Static caravans to let for non tourer's who may whish to join you.

We'll be back.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bbdawes 12 reviews from this member

The site is located with the pub just across the quiet country road. There is an unfenced pond and a river along the edge of the site. Shower block had no hot water for the whole weekend we were there but the owner didn't tell us this when we paid on arrival and we had to find out for ourselves! Shop was not stocked but as we were out of season I wouldn't expect it. Pub food OK but we needed to book a table. Lots of walks nearby, South Molton is the nearest town with good facilities.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Delboya 11 reviews from this member

Because of the poor reviews, this was not a site I would have chosen, but it was recommended to us as being under new management and improved.

It is now called the Blackcock Inn camp site, but sadly, it does not seem to have improved at all and no investment has been made. Everything seemed very tired/jaded/worn out. Hard standings were covered in weeds and the grass was over long. A rather gruesome-looking pond by the shower block was unfenced and very dangerous for kids. The shop was not stocked and thus not open. The water in the swim pool was a little murky, and there were plants growing in from the outside.

There are two dish-washing sinks on the outside of the shower block, but none of the taps worked - had to get water from the sink in the laundry.

To cap it all, there was no hot water for 2 days as they had run out of oil!

The only positive was that it was cheap - at least via Groupon. I had paid for a 3-night voucher and booked in for a total of 5 nights, but we left after the 3 nights.

A great pity really as the site and pub have great potential, but wants a lot of money invested to bring it up to scratch.

I won't return unless I hear that it has been improved.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Janaqt1 3 reviews from this member

I have just come back from yeo holiday park. It was the worse park I have ever been on. The first two nights I was kept awake with loud music shouting and people running around my caravan. I complained but was told it's ok to do this! There was no shop even though it says there is the pool was closed but I wasn't told this when I rang to book. In total it's a very poor site in disrepair the only good thing was the two men miles and mike who couldn't do enough. The food is expensive. There is a pond which had no life ring or fence next to the shower block which is clean but has open drainage. It's a very basic site. And nothing like was stated in the caravan club book. Stay clear if you have children they will have nothing to do. It needs renovating.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Loobies 1 review from this member

We have just got back from a nights stay and would definitely return. Yes it's a little rustic in places but, clean, friendly, reasonably priced for pitch, The pub the black cock had reasonably priced drinks and the food was excellent. The location is stunning and toilets and showers clean and tidy.

The landlord was exceptionally friendly and welcoming, I have seen some bad reviews for this place but check it out, it's well worth a visit and it can't be faulted for value for money.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mrscoopz 1 review from this member

I have just returned from a long weekend trip to this site with my family and sisters family. Our first impression if the site was it looked a little tired and could do with some tlc. We were shown to our pitch by a very pleasant lady who I believe was the owner.

We couldn't get over how quiet the site was as it was BH weekend. There was only 1 other tent and a handful of caravans. The lady told us that the pitches were a little wet as they had had a lot of rain. That was an understatement it was saturated. When we walked inside our tent it felt like we were walking on a shaggy carpet it was so soft.

By the time we got to day 3 of living in wellies and waterproofs because of the mud we ended up laying black sacks all over the floor outside the tent we couldn't stand the mud anymore.

The best thing about this site was the showers although they were old they were spotless and lots of hot water. Sorry wouldn't go here again!

Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near South Molton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan Motorhome and Holiday Home Show 06/02 to 09/02
In Glasgow - Over 200 companies will be showcasing their products and offering visitors show only discounts and offers. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2174 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020