Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Midshires Way Campsite And Alpaca Farm Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Leicestershire > Loughborough > Midshires Way Campsite And Alpaca Farm Certificated Site Reviews

Midshires Way Campsite And Alpaca Farm Certificated Site
West Leake Road
East Leake
Loughborough
Leicestershire   (Browse area)
LE12 6LJ
Tel: 07973 706106  or  01509 856744
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5 Vans + Tents
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 14 Reviews
                7/10 from 14 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Angela 1 review from this member

 Just spent a lovely weekend here with my husband and 2 dogs.

Very clean and well kept site. No problems social distancing.

Owners friendly and helpful.

Will definitely visit again 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Flavin13 1 review from this member

 Lovely site, which is very well set out. A mixture of grass & hardstanding pitches. The toilet block, is clean and very user friendly, would suit those with disabilities.

There is a washing machine & local information in the same building.

Very tranquil surroundings, amongst grazing horses & the alpacas, of course.

The only thing which takes some getting used to, is noise of the planes, coming into land at East Midlands Airport. Which is by no means the fault of the site owners.

Would definitely recommend this site, for its views & welcoming owners. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Trevor 1 review from this member

 Really enjoyed our stay. Loads of walking and cycling direct from the site.

Lovely area with great views. Nice pubs in the area.

We didn't use the site showers, as Covid -19 fears, but having fully serviced pitches it didn't affect us. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Caroles1973 1 review from this member

 Nice out of the way site(the Alpacas are lovely), central to various towns and cities (within a 30 mile radius).

Only down was it is on East Midlands airport flight path, but got used to it quickly and never really noticed the planes. 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ernt25 16 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a two-night weekend break. The alpacas were the main reason for visiting, as my partner wanted to see them. Having read previous reviews, I would agree with most comments made although would add the following:

The pitches are large, well maintained and fully serviced.

The campsite appears to be well maintained. That said, during our stay we did not see anyone clean the toilets/showers. In fact, we did not see either owner for the duration of our stay. On arrival, a note on the door to what seems to be the reception area was left for us giving pitch details. For us this wasn’t too much of an issue as we quite like being left to get on with things. The actual pitch was large, well maintained and fully serviced.

On the issue of the toilet facilities, as noted in other reviews, with there being only one male and one female toilet/shower room on site this could easily become a problem. We were lucky in that we used our own facilities most of the time.

We also noted there were no washing-up facilities, which for some may be an issue, especially if camping in a tent (there were two tents during our stay).

Although the campsite does not advertise its proximity to East Midlands Airport, a quick peep at a map would show the airport close by and an indication of some plane noise. For us this was not an issue. In fact, my partner quite enjoyed being a plane spotter for the duration of our stay with the aid of a plane spotting app. Not everyone’s cup of tea I appreciate and maybe reference to this on the website would avoid disappointment for some.

There are kennels next door to the campsite; we did not hear any excessive barking during our stay. However, what we were a little bemused by is the noise rules set out in the T&Cs (absolute quiet from 23:00 to 09:00) given that the planes start taking off/ landing from just after 05:00. Clearly folk were not aware of this given people were coming and going from the site from just before 08:00 onwards, which was in our view reasonable.

We walked into East Leake (about a mile away), which has a few pubs and restaurants and a decent size Co-op. We also had breakfast one morning at the Chef’s Café, just off the main street, which was reasonably priced and very good (and the proprietor was very welcoming).

Would we stay here again? Yes, we would. The price for a fully serviced pitch is somewhat of a bargain (£19. 00) compared to what appears to be the ever-increasing cost of pitches nowadays. And the noise from the planes was not an issue for us. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 11 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dave+Hilda 16 reviews from this member

 Site was clean and tidy with nice pitches all serviced,

Although site was not clearly signposted,

Shower rooms were excellent but a separate loo would have been nice as if site was full you would not have a loo if people were showering.

The noise from the planes is fairly constant and dogs barking in the distance was annoying.

Owners never asked if everything was ok.

Enjoyed the area and site was ok but doubt if would go back 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jetskiers 1 review from this member

 Approaching the site it wasn't clear to us where to book in, nowhere did it say reception so we guessed it would be the white doors in the car park.

Vicky is lovely and gave us a warm welcome. Brendan is probably a really nice man but his manner can come across as aloof and abrupt on the phone.

The site is immaculate with a loo/shower block that is superb although the chemical disposal site is down near the park gates.

We weren't too bothered by the planes overhead, but noise from the kennels nearby was sometimes disturbing.

On the whole this is a lovely site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jacyntaw 3 reviews from this member

 We booked for 4 nights but left after three due to having very little sleep. The caravan park is on the flight path for planes landing at East Midlands Airport and this starts early evening and continues throughout the night.

There are no dog walking facilities, I was told to walk the dogs offsite and was given a map to Midshires Way walk but it was a hay field and the grass on the path was up to my knees.

The bathrooms were very clean however there is only one gents and one ladies with shower, basin and toilet together which became a problem if someone was having a shower and you needed the toilet.

All sites had power, grey water disposal and fresh water which was a bonus.

Unfortunately due to the noise from the planes we will definitely not be going back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bigchrisrogers 5 reviews from this member

 Nearby Dog kennels with all night barking.

On the flight path to East midlands airport with flights coming in during the night. Great site if you don't need sleep.

Other than the noise issues, the site is spotlessly clean and well maintained small site with very nice toilet/bathroom facility, but only one for men and one for women so if someone's having a shower you're gonna have to wait.

This is a rural site but within 10 minutes walk of the village of East Leake. I've marked the location down though because it is so close to the airport.

The pitch was well supplied with water, drain and electric hook-up. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Johntodd 8 reviews from this member

 Lovely rural site, yet convenient access from M1 and for visiting Nottingham and touring E Midlands area.

Dogs on lead on site due alpacas and horses but short path leads to Midshires way.

Toilet/washroom facilities excellent but may be a bit limited if they are to be used by occupants of the holiday chalets under construction. Only negative is some noise from aircraft in and out of E Midlands Airport. 
via mobile


Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Midshires Way Campsite And Alpaca Farm Certificated Site child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Midshires Way Campsite And Alpaca Farm Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Midshires Way Campsite And Alpaca Farm Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Loughborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Leicestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/03
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3962 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement