Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Midshires Way Campsite And Alpaca Farm Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Leicestershire > Loughborough > Midshires Way Campsite And Alpaca Farm Certificated Site > Reviews

Midshires Way Campsite And Alpaca Farm Certificated Site
West Leake Road
East Leake
Loughborough
Leicestershire   (Browse area)
LE12 6LJ
Tel: 07973 706106  or  01509 856744
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5 Vans + Tents
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 28 Reviews
                7/10 from 28 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: February 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Vivvwy 1 review from this member

 We only stopped over one night to break our journey.

Lovely peaceful site. A bit of plane noise but not enough to bother us.

Nice to have fully serviced pitches.

Shower block was wonderful. Especially the underfloor heating. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mrs. Bonce 369 reviews from this member

 We didn't like this site very much. We were early so stopped just after the M1 and phoned them. "No, arrivals after 1pm". We made tea, read the papers, arrived after 1. Nobody around, reception locked, spaces on the site. We had seen nobody leaving which we would have done from where we stopped.

We had paid in advance so didn't bother looking for anyone, used our own facilities as usual.

The actual site is fine, flat, hardstanding, serviced pitch, but £30 pn is too much.

Won't be staying again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Marjor 1 review from this member

 Lovely quiet site.

Very clean and well kept, with a beautiful toilet block.

There is some aircraft noise but this did not spoil our stay. Will definitely return.

Good location for visiting students at Nottingham university, Sutton Bonington campus. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 13 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Norahsuk2000 9 reviews from this member

 On first appearances the site looks lovely, I went into reception to book in and was given a list of don'ts.

We (me & adult daughter) pitched up and went to use the toilets. These are spotless and excellent, however there is only 2 for the whole site and these are in rooms with the showers, so if 2 people are having showers you cannot go to the toilet. This did happen on a few occasions.

All the pitches are fully serviced, however the tap, waste and electricity are all at the very back of the pitch so you are unable to run your water & waste water directly to/from your unit (I have been on other sides where the services were at the side of the unit).

The site itself felt quiet and the people who were there when we were, were not noisy, however as others have mentioned the site is right under the flight path to East Midlands air port and is VERY noisy day and night.

During the day we were less bothered and downloaded a phone app to see where the planes had been/where they were going to. At night I found it awful.

There are also kennels not far away and some of the dogs sounded so unhappy. Again all night I could hear them, barking and crying.

In addition to the alpacas, there were a couple of horses who got the zoomies in the middle of the night.

Most people seemed to only stop for a night.

Location wise the site is very handy for Nottingham, Leicester and Derby. We also enjoyed Loughborough town centre.

If you decide to use the park and ride for Nottingham - the tram is not technically park and ride and costs more than parking in Nottingham. The tram driver told us that the bus ones are park and ride so they might be better for you.

The nearest shops are in East Leake and are only about 2 minutes by car, turning right out of the site.

Overall we didn't enjoy the site and won't be returning. 


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Tankman 5 reviews from this member

 Where to begin. The WiFi is really good. Each hardstand pitch has EHU, water tap and grey waste drain.

There was nobody to greet us at reception but notices in the window told us which pitch we were on along with codes for the washroom and gate.

There are only 2 wetrooms on site for 10 pitches. There is a kennels nearby with dogs barking throughout the day but the biggest bugbear on this site is it's on the main flightpath to East Midlands airport which is working 24 hours a day so there are flights arriving through the night.

The only contact had with the site owner was to be told I was sitting in a private area on a bench after a walk. This was on the third day.

Needless to say we shall not be returning. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Elaine2303 1 review from this member

 Lovely, well maintained site.

Toilet and shower facilities modern and immaculate, spotlessly clean.

Well placed for our visit to Great Central Railway Jubilee weekend.

Only drawback, although this did not bother us, is that it is on the flight path to East Midlands airport. 


Date of Visit: April 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Scruffymutts 1 review from this member

 We only came here for two nights but ended up staying for 6 nights. Electricity, water and waste all on each plot. Good sized pitches and most hardstanding.

The owner was very helpful and couldnít be more accommodating with us and our requests to extend our stay. Thank you.

Beautiful scenery and long walks out into the country. Good local information available and an easy 15 min walk into the nearby town which had EVERYTHING!

Other facilities - immaculate shower block (like a hotel suite), friendly alpacas and dog friendly with a good sized dog exercise field.

We would highly recommend the site. 


Date of Visit: April 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Legz3 1 review from this member

 Where do I start, I originally only came here for three nights loved it that much I extended to make it a full week, and itís my first carvanning experience,

Iím in love with the place, the owners are so friendly and helpful and couldnít be more accommodating,

The bathrooms are big very clean and cleaned very regularly,

The location although not far from civilisation it feels like your miles away, beautiful scenery long walks,

The alpacas love to say morning to you, dog friendly my little dog is enjoying it so much, there is a dog exercise field which is perfect for those early morning toilets,

Itís quiet and peaceful, pubs and shops all within walking distance if you forgot any essentials or fancy a meal out xx

I will be back over and over again, in fact itís that good even my mother is coming in her own caravan itís stunning x 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Musicm 2 reviews from this member

 Great place, we enjoyed our stay and will go back again,

Very helpful as we had an electrical fault and they came up and found the fault and isolated it which was much appreciated.

10 to 12 minutes walk to East Leak, plenty of places to eat, busses to Loughborough and Nottingham.

1 or 2 mentioned that the aircraft were a bit noisy, we didn't think that at all, you would hardly notice them at all, not a problem.

Well worth a visit. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Georget64 41 reviews from this member

 Stayed here in order to visit Great Central Railway at Loughborough. Touring site is small, but with excellent facilities. All pitches are fully serviced. The toilet/shower/ washroom building is code controlled, but inside are two showerWC rooms, one each for ladies and

Gentlemen. They are large and of very high specification. The lack of separate toilet closets could be a problem at busy times.

The village of East Leake is a 15 minute walk and there are three pubs. The landlord st the Nags Head drove up back to the site, and said he often did this for campers.

We paid £24 for our pitch, which is excellent value.

The site is extremely peaceful, apart from aircraft, the site being not far from East Midlands Airport, but this did not bother us. Would certainly stay again. 
via mobile


Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Midshires Way Campsite And Alpaca Farm Certificated Site child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Midshires Way Campsite And Alpaca Farm Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Midshires Way Campsite And Alpaca Farm Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Loughborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Leicestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


56215 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement