Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Forest Oak Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Lydney > Forest Oak Farm Reviews

Forest Oak Farm
Purlieu
Lydney
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL15 4LN
Tel: 01594 840322
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: 17/07/2020 to 25/10/2020
           27/03/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 3 Reviews
                8/10 from 3 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fairawns 1 review from this member

 This site should be great one day, if it gets finished.

Meantime:

1. Electric supply to our caravan was only 200 Volts so although we paid for electric our fridge and heating had to run on gas - lucky we still had some. There are plans to fix this one day.

2. The toilet waste disposal is primitive ; a single domestic toilet behind a fence across the road with no flush. Hard not to get splashed.

3. The washing facilities are primitive: an ageing wooden hut with two showers. Sink outside 'out of order'. A new block has been built - but not finished in time for the season. Maybe next year?

4. When it rains, the grass pitches were like a bog of red mud once you have walked on the grass from the road to your caravan a few times.

5. The domestic waste disposal was a single lidded skip jammed full - does not seem to have been emptied for months. Had to leave bags of rubbish next to it.

6. Electric supply to our caravan was only 200 Volts so fridge and heating had to run on gas - lucky we still had some. It is planned to fix this one day.

7. The view will be nice (one day). But meantime it includes JCB and digger and occasional piles of building waste and logs

I guess the worst thing about it is that the owner does not seem to think this matters, because one day it will be fine.

On the plus side there is a good dog walk! 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wipeoutqueen 1 review from this member

 I got the urge to a week ago to go camping somewhere in Gloucestershire with my friend and our dogs, and wanted to go somewhere new. I contacted the owners through their online form on their website and was very happy as I received a reply within the hour. They were very helpful and were able to answer my questions.

The drive down was very easy, however don't use the postcode or latitude/longitude for your sat as they are not quite correct, they will take you to a farm about 200-300 yards before it (coming from Gloucester).

The site was beautiful, fields surrounded by trees with a small lake to one side. We chose a pitch away from the shower/ toilet block as my friend's dog can be quite vocal and had never been camping before. There are plenty of fresh water taps located around the site.

It's only a short drive to the local village of Blakeney which has a pub, village shop, fish and chip shop and Italian restaurant if you needs supplies or don't want to cook. There are some lovely walks in the nearby forests and down by the river Severn.

This is a perfect site for anyone wanting to take their dog camping, as they also run a dog training centre, so they're geared up for our four legged friends.

I'm actually going back in the next couple of weeks with another friend and her dogs as I enjoyed our stay so much. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Willowbear 1 review from this member

 Myself, daughter & dog willow just spent relaxing weekend on this campsite. I scored high because if you are looking for a very relaxed friendly welcome and a dog friendly site, lovely views, a short drive to some lovely forest walks, bike rides, nice pubs making dogs welcome. Toilet, showers were clean. At present no wifi which I found wonderful nice to put phones away. If you don't like dogs this isn't the place for you. I will definitely go back again. Also just over hour drive from Bath, ideal for weekend break. Just check before trip home, the bridge to get back home was closed so hit traffic on motorway so took longer to get home. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Forest Oak Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Forest Oak Farm?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Forest Oak Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lydney      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2474 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 865

Get an email reminder on 1st December