Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Widend Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Paignton > Widend Camping Park Reviews

Widend Camping Park
Berry Pomeroy Road
Paignton
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ3 1RT
Tel: 01803 550116
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 185
Open: 08/04/2022 to 30/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 40 Reviews
                8/10 from 40 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  40 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Woodsb 1 review from this member

 Mostly tourers on site, so we were one of two tents. Good sized pitch, many tent pitches had a slight slope but ours was ok.

Tent non dog pitches are around the playground which was great at times but also meant it was busy with kids until it went dark.

Also could hear the road but after 10. 30 dark and quiet.

The small heated pool on site was a good bonus, also a small shop and clubhouse.

Facilities ok and 10min drive into Paignton so good location. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Flufftec 6 reviews from this member

 Lovely warm welcome and shown to pitch by a very helpful lady,

Clean site and facilities if a little dated,

Warm outdoor swimming pool,

Well stocked and very reasonably priced on site bar with evening entertainment,

Close proximity to Paignton Zoo and a little further to town,

Supermarkets close by as well 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mikearavan 8 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 9 nights. Although we had some issues with the pitch we were on and my wife suffered a fall resulting in hospital the site itself is mainly very well kept.

The toilets and showers are excellently kept and we used the takeaway one evening which served up very good food. It was a shame that when we were there they only opened for 2 evenings per week.

The site manager did take the time to contact us after our visit regarding my complaints about the pitch and I think this resulted in lessons learnt from both sides. I compliment the manager for taking the time to discuss things with us as it is a very large and busy site to take care of. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Looby Loo 5 reviews from this member

 The website makes this campsite look really good, unfortunately the reality is somewhat different.

This is not really a touring site, it is quite a large site and the majority of the caravans on site were either static or seasonals ( most of which were unoccupied at the time we were there) which gives the site a very different feel.

Upon arrival I was asked if I was fit & well! I realised after, this was because the pitch we were allocated was a good walk up quite a steep incline to the toilet & showers!

There were about 3 or 4 of us in a bit of a neglected area down by the play area, we felt like an afterthought to the main area. The toilets & showers were adequate, but very tired & old.

We did not use the bar but our neighbours said it too was run down & the decor looked like it was from the 60s or 70s, but not in a good way!

There was a small pool on site but it didnít look very inviting. The shop too was barely open whilst we were there.

We went in June but would hate to be paying high season prices. Entirely not our sort of site, although from the website we thought it was!

We will not be returning. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rob Burton 12 reviews from this member

 This site must have the most misleading website I have ever seen. The site was virtually devoid of people when we were there,

the site was pretty well full of caravans so I can only assume that they were seasonal pitches not used in June!

The place is very difficult to get to. The whole place seemed very tired.

Genuine tourers seemed to be placed in a small area at the bottom of a slope a long way from the facilities.

The deal we got was very good value for June and the pitch size was excellent, but I left with the feeling that we got what we paid for. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: SarahJ32 1 review from this member

 We have recently stayed here as a couple and 1 dog. The site is large, with really good sized pitches some are huge! there is a outdoor pool which is warm and very clean, a shop, cafe take away and a pub on site.

The staff are very friendly and helpful and the facilities are spotless I think this is going to be a regular on our list.

Its so close to everywhere so its great you can be in paignton, torquay, brixham in just a few minutes. It is a shame its not on a bus route but you cant have everything. The dog walk through the wooded area and the dog field is great ourdog loved it.

We cant wait to return and were telling al our friends about it. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mcguirem 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed for one week at Widend, pitch was very spacious and level, requested a hard stand when we booked which we got, lovely and peaceful plenty of room around the pitch with awning and our patio furniture out, very tidy facilities

clean and spacious, two shower blocks so not too busy, takeaway food was good tried the breakfast one morning and a evening meal gammon egg and chips was well worth £4. 50p, everyone was very friendly and helpful as we had not been to Devon before felt very welcomed, The pool was lovely and warm plenty of sun loungers. Just the two of us no kids, so didn't, go the playground. The bar was reasonably priced and had a mix of beers and Devon ale. Very friendly, and helpful staff.

Ideal location for visiting Paigton, Torquay and Totnes. Recommend the round robin steam train, cruise and open top bus we had a great day, take a picnic, day out Brixam lovely pebble beach nice shops, loved the harbour, plenty of pubs around for eating out. Would be returning to Widend ideal location for visiting South Devon. 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Karonus 2 reviews from this member

 We picked this site out of the blue following a Google search and have been pleasantly surprised. We tend to avoid commercial sites normally due to some bad experiences, however at Widend we couldn't have hoped for a better site.

Pitches are spacious and well kept, the toilet blocks and amenities are kept very clean and are better than many we have encountered.

Although the weather wasn't brilliant (what can you expect in October) we really enjoyed our time hear.

Too many places to visit within easy reach of the site to mention.

The staff on site were very friendly and helpful and the site has a great number of amenities that we would love to have been able to utilise more.

We would recommend this site to young families and couples and at some point we will visit again. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paul Barlow 5 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a week at Widend with the Wife & 2 kids where unfortunately, with the exception of 1 day, it rained all week.

This site is a beautifully maintained family run site with good size pitches which were mostly reasonably level with good drainage which was needed due to the horrible weather. The toilet blocks are spotless throughout the day and given the amount of mud around, this was commendable.There was plenty of hot water throughout the day, although a couple of the showers were a bit dribbly and they were the press valve type which kept shutting off.

Staff were friendly and helpful and the entertainment facilities were reasonable. The site offered discount vouchers for the attractions in the area. The shop was open for most of the day although it would have been helpful if the snack bar opened at breakfast and lunch times to allow people to grab a snack. The pool was clean, of a reasonable size and was heated with plenty of space around for sunbeds etc. Although could have done with a few more of them. The only downside is that it shut at 6.30 so if you wanted a swim after a day out, you would have to be quick (not that the weather allowed this much!)

The bar was a good size with plenty of different drinks stocked. The entertainment was a bit of a letdown as there is nothing really for the kids early evening except 'Uncle Bobby' on a Monday. Entertainment for them is limited to this and the small games room and play area. My kids soon got bored.

The site is pretty handy for exploring the area and is pretty easy to find.

All this would normally add up to good value for money as the prices are good compared to other sites in the area but there is one major drawback - the road noise.

The camping pitches are situated next to a busy road with noise from all sorts of vehicles day and night. I read the reviews before I went and having looked at the map and assumed that it was only a minor country lane, thought that it would be ok. I therefore decided not to heed the warnings but having now experienced it, I would urge people to do so. The road is a rat-run between Totnes and Torbay and the noise is incessant with peaks between 4-6pm, 10-12pm and 5-10 in the morning. Between that, the sound of the rain and various owls and foxes screeching, sleep was very difficult. Being an experienced camper in tents, I can put up with most minor noise but this was too much. With very little sleep it soon spoils the holiday somewhat.

It was a big shame because we all liked the site overall but would not go back for that reason. If the owners would consider relocating the tent pitches further back on the site away from the road, this may overcome the problem. Tents are the least insulated from noise but are the closest pitches to the road. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Steq184 2 reviews from this member

 We went to Widend from 17th July to 22nd July, this is a family run site and very friendly, was told over the phone when we placed our booking that we could not pitch our tent until 11:00am but as we arrived early into Devon decided to turn up at 9:00 and ask if we could have a look around the site. We were told as they were not too busy we could pitch up straight away.

This is a really large site mainly for caravans, they state that they have 184 pitches! In reality it is more like 20, the overflow field is about 30 degrees slope so no way am I recommending the overflow field. In the main pitch field you at first think that you are next to a nice country road, when in reality it is a very very busy cut through with the road noise continuing to late at night and start early in the morning.

They have a very nice outdoor heated swimming pool but it shuts at 6:30.

Unfortunately the bar was only open from 8:30 to 10:30pm every evening except Sunday and Wednesday. There was no entertainment apart from bingo and a quiz on the Saturday. Felt very let down as previous reviews stated entertainment but may only be in high season but as we had paid the top price for high season did really expect some sort of entertainment.

The games rooms consisted of 2 pool tables (50p a go) jukebox, various arcade games. The 2 pool tables were unplayable as they were not level so the balls just ran to the edges.

The toilets and showers and washing up facilities are all very clean and never had to wait to use them, water was always hot, just a pity the shower water pressure was very low, found out on the last day of our stay that they have another block further up the site that has better showers (too late)

A good facility they have is a freezer in the washing up area that you can use to re-freeze your ice blocks free of charge.

They also have a laundry room includes irons etc, a very good idea.

Site shop seemed to be open 2 hours a day and very limited.

The showers etc are cleaned from 11:00 to 1:00 so you cannot use them until they have finished.

Trips out were to Torquay (very nice) the local water park (Quaywest) Sidmouth etc.

Sounds all a little negative but ideal for a heavy sleeper and use the site for a base to do day visits. 


Previous     40 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Widend Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Widend Camping Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Widend Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Widend Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Paignton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2339 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement