Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Dreamy Hollow Woodland Campsite & Ww1trenches

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Site Reviews

Dreamy Hollow Woodland Campsite & Ww1trenches
Licensed Site
Fakenham Road
Stanhoe
Fakenham
Norfolk   (Browse area)
PE31 8PX
Tel: 07564 226780
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 13 Reviews
                10/10 from 13 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jarvis2017 1 review from this member

Camp is amazing. Was greeted by the owner upon arrival and given a quick tour of facilities. All our wood and supplies were waiting next to the camp fire for us. Amazing place. It's like having the feeling of wild camping but still has toilets and showers for us beginners.

Was impressed with how private all the pitches were. Could have believed we were in the middle of a huge forest.

Looking forward to going back.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Embeelight 1 review from this member

We had a lovely weekend at Dreamy hollow, the site is so atmospheric and although the facilities are basic they are totally in keeping with the site.

We explored the surrounding area and took a tour in the WW1 trenches that are on site.

Highly recommended to anyone looking at getting away for a lovely weekend/ week.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jamesvolunteer 7 reviews from this member

A Friend and I just returned from a two night stay at Dreamy Hollow after a knee injury forced us to reconsider our planned wildcamp elsewhere. We both agreed that it was one the most unique and enjoyable campsites that we have stayed on recently. There are a few caveats to whether or not you will like it as much as we did, but we for two will certainly be back.

When we arrived we were shown around by the owner Nigel, who was enthusiastically telling us about the site and it's military history as we looked around. We were given our net of logs and walked our stuff from the car park to the pitch. (This is necessary on many pitches. If you need a hand, Nigel will be happy to help).

At the site, you book a pitch and pay per person, and prices will vary depending on this, but for us the prices were very reasonable especially considering the local competition. (It's almost like the North Norfolk coast has suffered a Range Rover and Bunting plague since I last visited).

When booking you need to be aware of what size you need the pitch to be. If you want a lot of room for 10 people, or a tiny hideaway for 1, the site has you covered, but you should do your homework and not book just any pitch as you may well be disappointing on arrival. Our site would probably accommodate 3 two man tents, with the largest pitch would comfortably house a large group of several medium size family tents. Not all pitches are very level. Some are better than others, which is another consideration to add up. This adds to the 'wildness' for me and requires a bit of forethought before pitching up.

The pitches are relatively private with most having a walkway or two running alongside. Generally speaking, the other campers were very friendly and seemed equally happy passing the time of day, or just letting us have total privacy. There were children around but most seemed very well behaved, and there are plenty of rules dotted around reminding people that this is a peaceful site that certainly favours less noise to noisy parties. (Which for me is a big bonus).

It was quiet in regards to other campers from before 11pm, with most electing to sit around the excellent re purposed washing machine drum fires talking. There was no evidence of any music or parties while we were there (see next review), but I should say we were there Weds to Friday.

The site isn't without noise entirely however. Our pitch was right next to the busy 60mph main road that runs adjacent to the site. It is quite noisy up until the early hours, so this should be taken into consideration. The relative tucked away nature of our pitch made this more than bearable though. We discussed it and decided that every pitch appears to have its benefits and drawbacks, and are all very individual (to the point that they are named). This makes your stay more individual. In summary, if you want more quiet, book a pitch as away from the road as possible.

This site will not be for people who like glamping, electricity, or always spotless toilets. If you like luxury and swanky facilities on hand, you will be gravely disappointed. The facilities are purposefully basic, and have the environment in mind, which is a point that should be highlighted.

There are two toilets for the site, two showers (which are outside), and to a point rely on guests to make sure they are not messed up, as the site is not staffed 24/7. Also as others have said, relying on solar energy to light the toilets is not always 100% reliable. Take a headtorch, or put something in your washbag just in case. As any camper will know, relying on Joe Public to clean up after themselves is sometimes possible, but often not.

I like the fact that the site is aiming for mutual respect from its customers, and assumes that people will monitor their kids, and indeed their own behaviour most of the time. It will probably take a while for some campers to catch on to these concepts! (we didn't have any problems in this respect but will obviously be down to the luck of the draw).

After talking to Nigel a couple of times, it is clear that the site is a work in progress, and he is very much open to suggestions. For example, we expressed interest in the site becoming an all year round site. He talked of the possibility of introducing a glamping element, which I hope doesn't happen. There are countless of those type of site to choose from, and very few like this.

For anyone wanting to dip their toe into the world of wild camping, this is an amazing place for that. Also any parents who want their children to experience 'proper' camping while having basic facilities and the option of the multiple places to go locally available will enjoy it. I saw a few kids climbing a tree one day and thought that it was a great thing to see, that you don't see too often. If seeing well behaved kids climbing trees and exploring would annoy you, you'd be better off elsewhere possibly.

I look forward to see what Nigel and co have in store for the future and will no doubt find out when we return next year at the very latest.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Patwalls 2 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to Dreamy Hollow as we enjoyed it so much last year. The woodland setting is fantastic and the kids had a great time. We had the same pitch as last year, Nelly's, which is slightly elevated on the left as you enter the site. It accommodates a large tent and small tent easily with plenty of space left for tables and chairs. The ground is quite stoney so check carefully before pitching your tent.

As other reviewers have said, the site is quite unique and will appeal to those who don't like camping in a field crammed with tents.

The only negative thing about our stay was nothing to do with the campsite but it had a very big impact on everyone staying that weekend. At the back of the site is a housing estate and one of the houses there was playing music so loud it could be heard across the entire campsite. On our first night it didn't stop until 3am and the second night it lasted until 6. 30am. It must have been one hell of a party, but fairy awful for everyone else.

I hope this was an unprecedented occurrence, as the campsite is a very special place to be.

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fenwanderer 2 reviews from this member

Just spent 2 nights solo camping at Dreamy Hollows, and yes I definitely recommend this site. It is much as back to basics as I wanted, your own fire pit your own secluded pitch, clean showers and toilets, owner very friendly and helpful. Give it a go you won't be disappointed.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Naich 16 reviews from this member

This is an unusual and interesting camp site, with some lovely features. The pitches here are individual, and many are only suitable for a certain size of tent. This gives a feeling of privacy but without being isolated, as you can hear the other campers, even if you can't see them. The pitch we had, 'Abi's pitch' was large and nestled amongst the trees next to the WW1 trenches. It was a beautiful spot but the grass covering was sparse and the ground was very stony. Most of the other pitches seemed to be more grassy. All the pitches are very sheltered and the slight noise from the road wasn't intrusive.

The kids loved playing in the trenches and information boards give you an insight into their history and the horrors of the First World War.

The facilities comprise of two toilets and showers, which did mean some queueing because the site was very busy. On the second night we were there, one of the showers stopped giving out hot water, the electricity went in the toilets (meaning you had to bring a torch, even in the day time), and the toilet paper and towels ran out.

This didn't spoil our time there, and it is an excellent base for attractions in the area like Castle Acre castle and priory, and Brancaster beach.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LOUISE TOWERS 1 review from this member

Nice quiet site, which is very private. Pretty woodland location. Nice to choose your own pitch from the Dreamy Hollow website. Environmentally friendly solar opperated loos. Portacabin toilets and showers which are nice and clean. Don, t let portacabin toilets and showers put you off because the campsite is worth forsaking large manicured commercial sites for this uniquely beautiful natural campsite.

The owner very friendly and helpful. Roads nearby nice and flat, very countryfied - great for cycling. Hope to go again.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ben2000 2 reviews from this member

First time at this campsite and what a gem. You have your own pitch set in woodland. Not pitched like sardines like some campsites I have been to. The WW1 trenches are very interesting to walk round with boards informing you all about them and the stages of the first world war. Each pitch has it own little fire pit which very ingeniously is made from a washing machine drum that all the campers was using and buying the logs from the owner. There is a large communal fire pit which on the last night of our stay nearly all the campers joined us round it was great chatting. The toilets which there are two of are very clean and the outside jungle showers are a great experience again 2 of them and are free to use. Just go to their web site to see them. This site is peace and tranquility in itself. There is a londis shop and costa coffee close by and a fish and chip shop not too far away. The coast is only about 7 miles away hunstanton, brancaster etc but for all dog owners try holkam beach no dog restrictions and it's a fantastic beach with a nature trail there as well. When finding this location after you pass the first sign saying it's first on the right start slowing down as it is not far at all from this sign. And they have this site for service where if you choose you can camp free in return for looking after the site for the owner, not a lot of work is involved as it is only at the moment about a 11 pitches site. But tree tents are available to stay in to if you wish. The owner is a lovely man and friendly he gives you the grand tour round the site of the trenches etc. There is no ehu at this site but as we have never used ehu it didn't bother us. Some campers just filled a bucket up with cold water to keep their milk and wine etc cool. Another thing I liked there was no noisy campers on site no loud music blasting from tents as I have had to endure on other sites. At nights all you can hear is the rustling of the leaves and a couple of owls and in the day time the singing of the birds. I would very much recommend this site to those of you who like the simple pleasures of camping, back to basics. And a quiet relaxing experience.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nick and Hetty 1 review from this member

This was our second visit to Dreamy Hollow and it certainly won't be our last. This time we took a party of friends and family to celebrate our birthdays. With campers totally 22 a mixture of adults and children the site was a perfect choice. We had 3 pitches allocated close to each other which worked perfectly. The great thing about this campsite is the way it's laid out, you are not pitched on each other's door steps, it's a fantastic private camping experience with the added bonus of being able to mingle if you like. The facilities are great, 2 well maintained toilets and some of the coolest showers known to man.

The site has a added bonus of historical interest with World War One training trenches. It's also close to sandringham, holkham hall, the beautiful North Norfolk coast and the towns of Kings Lynn and Fakenham.

This site is still young in years but it's still growing and ever improving. With the possibility of tree tents appearing this year as I say we will definitely be re visiting Dreamy Hollow.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DickieD 1 review from this member

My 11 year old daughter and I wanted to camp in the woods with a real fire so we found this site close to us and we were not disappointed, the owner was fantastic and gave us a tour of the WW1 trenches once he had booked us in, it was a perfect camping experience for us the pitches are individual and the one we had was private with very green grass and our own fire pit, you purchase the fire wood from the owner and follow the fire use rules which are basic common sense and you experience a genuine 'camp in the woods' time, the site is right on the road but we hardly noticed any traffic noise, the toilets are clean and so are the outdoor showers, no power hook ups or outdoor lighting so head torches or torches are required, it was so dark you could see double the amount of stars, we will definitely be using this site regularly!

Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3780 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019