Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Higher Well Farm Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Totnes > Higher Well Farm Holiday Park Reviews

Higher Well Farm Holiday Park
Stoke Gabriel
Totnes
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ9 6RN
Tel: 01803 782289
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 58 Reviews
                9/10 from 58 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  58 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nutmege 5 reviews from this member

 Previously left an 5 star review but revisited site this year and was disappointed and number of seasonal vans which virtually take the site over. If you walk with your dog anywhere near them they will totally abuse you, this ruined our holiday unfortunately and we will not return.

If you do go stay on the lower pitches away from the seasonal as and donít venture up there. You will be ok then!

Still a beautiful location and well looked after site but these issues need addressing as it spoils what is a lovely site and is run by lovely people.

The walk along the river into Stoke Gabriel is lovely as is the village.

Canít judge facilities as they were closed this year but have been excellent in the past. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nutmege 5 reviews from this member

 Best caravan site we have ever been to. Beautiful location and views. Loads of space to pitch.

Location close to village of Stoke Gabriel superb. Owners friendly.

Loads of dog walking direct from site along lanes or along river.

Very good value for money and very clean and modern amenities block with individual rooms. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Prhodes61 10 reviews from this member

 As usual a relaxing peaceful holiday at this site. The couple who manage the park are friendly, approachable, respect one's privacy are very accomodating and helpful. The shower, toilet and kitchen block are always cleaned to a very high standard and the shop sells basic groceries.

The price of a pitch is very reasonable compared to other sites in the area it is fantastic value for money.

We will always stay at this holiday park, one of the best on our list. :-)

Paignton Torquay Brixham, nearby towns are typical seaside towns with beachfront stalls, donkey rides, piers, amusement arcades etc and there is the usual town shops and supermarkets as well as various attractions such as river and sea cruises, zoo, sea life centre, museums etc. Something for everyone. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Njones 26 reviews from this member

 Friendly welcome. Nice, quiet scenic location. Few really level pitches. We weren't able to level ours with standard fiamma ramps, but nothing to lose sleep over.

Lovely facilities.

Lovely walk from campsite into Stoke Gabriel, and then back along the river Dart.

Good value for this part of the world. £18 per night (2 adult, 2 children, motorhome with ehu. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: LadyStardust 1 review from this member

 Lovely campsite, pitches are well spaced out, toilets and shower blocks spotless and never had to queue.

Reasonable prices and in a great location, just a short pleasant 15 minute walk into the picturesque village of Stoke Gabriel where there are two pubs, post office and general stores which sells everything you need. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sincere 2 reviews from this member

 This site is a little gem. Lovely setting with easy access to the village of Stoke Gabriel and it has a bus stop near so you can go further afield.


The facilities block is excellent, the staff (owners) always helpful and the charges are very reasonable. We've stayed on numerous occasions and have never had any reason to complain.

It's great. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wilkins 25 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit, after finding this site last year, when my wife & I spent a fantastic week at Higher Well Farm.

My Brother & his wife came over from Australia for the summer this year & my sister & her grandchildren wanted a family camping holiday together.

We decided where better to go than Higher Well Farm, it is ideally placed with Paignton sea front just three miles away, with Brixham & Torbay close by, with Dartmouth & Totnes along with many lovely towns also within easy driving distance.

With delightful short walks into stoke Gabriel on the Dart River, we enjoyed coffee at the River Shack whilst the Grandchildren enjoyed crabbing. We watched two football matches at the local football club, Stoke Cabriel FC, what a wonderful club house they have.

Well the Site is one of the best I have used & I have been a camper for over 30 years. The pitches are of good size with just a slight slope, so no problems. The facilities are better than you would find in some hotels, four showers in both Male & Female rooms, plus four family / disabled shower rooms, so a total of twelve showers, despite the site being full & the first two weeks in August, none of my party ever had to wait for a shower. All the facilities were spotless, thanks too Pauline.

The site is owned & run by the Ball family & they are just fantastic, nothing is too much trouble (Mr Ball sent almost an hour on the phone we me to organise three pitches together) Thanks again.

Every one was so friendly, Pauline's grandchild had been fishing & had to many mackerel, so gave us ten, thank you Pauline for the delightful supper.

The weather could not have been better. My wife & family had a wonderful two weeks holiday in Devon.

We all wish to thank the owners & wardens for making this possible & wish them all the success for the future.

I Would Highly recommend Higher Well Farm, we will be returning.

Brian & Martina (Wilkins) Tonbridge, Kent. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 9tiger9 15 reviews from this member

 What a cracking site, but the drive up the lane is very tight in places but if you take it steady all will be ok. Peace and quiet is the order of the day on here, nice views over the countryside to chill out. Small shop on site for essentials, very nice clean modern facilities and only 4 miles from Painton and some nice beaches ( if you can find somewhere to park !). Definitely go back to this one, take your leveling blocks ! 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: FurryCritter 1 review from this member

 Fantastic site, stayed in one of their statics, couldn't fault a thing about it! Static was very very clean, well stocked with everything you would need, site owners were very helpful with local knowledge, shop had everything we needed when we used it (although it wasn't bursting with goods), perfectly situated for Torbay and access to Plymouth, Cornwall etc. Used the laundry, very clean, reasonably priced. There's not too much on the site in the way of kids park etc but our children were happy with their own toys running around on the field where we could see them, and were safe doing so. Loved this site, we will definitely return! 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MikeandSam 20 reviews from this member

 The campsite is close to the lovely village of Stoke Gabriel with two pubs, both doing food (though not every night at The Castle) a post office, village shop, restaurant. It's a pleasant walk to the village.

Roads round here are narrow with passing places. The main roads between Totnes and Torbay are extremely busy. Expect delays.

The site is reasonably priced and the facilities are good with warm, very clean washrooms, family and disabled washrooms. Plenty of free hot water and adequate dishwashing area although an extra couple of sinks would be great. There are plenty of bin areas located throughout the site, emptied daily and recycling for glass, plastic bottles and cardboard. Good laundry room (£2. 50/wash and 20p gets you about 7 mins tumble drying)

There are far more than the 30 pitches on site indicated by this entry; more like twice that number - as well as a large number of static vans elsewhere, so the site is really very large indeed. Many of the pitches are on seasonal lets and there are many semi-permanent residents so it is much more of a holiday park than a site for tourers. Short and long stay guests are co-located and it sometimes felt like we were very hemmed in. Lots of fairy lights all over the site and the latest thing; LED poles with flashing displays about 5m high. Hmm.

We had to pay the full amount on arrival before seeing the pitch - and we didn't have any further contact with the owners after that.

We were told in advance that they are very strict about a 10am limit on vacating the pitch and as we could not do this with a large tent we had to pay for an extra night. The site was not full and we didn't see anyone policing the checkout times so there is clearly room for them to be more flexible about this policy.

Not quite as peaceful as we had hoped. If you are noise sensitive then be aware that traffic noise from the main road is audible throughout the night. There are no limits to the numbers of vehicles per pitch; the van next to us had three cars as well as visitors coming and going until late at night.

No wardens about in the evening so no checks on late night socialisers either. We did not have a restful stay.

Campers on the last field (no hook ups) seemed to have more room and privacy so the quality of your stay could be very different depending on where you are put on the site.

Caravans and motorhomes can pitch any way round they please -great for them but impinging on the space available for neighbours so pitch sizes are not as generous as they first seem to appear (and that's before the extra vehicles arrive)

Horses for courses but this was not the best site for us although clearly it has many fans. 


Previous     58 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Higher Well Farm Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Higher Well Farm Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Higher Well Farm Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Totnes      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Campervan Show, Peterborough 11/06 to 13/06
Browse new and used motorhomes for sale from a huge range of local and national dealers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3129 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement