Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ramslade Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (South) > Totnes > Ramslade Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Ramslade Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Stoke Park
Stoke Gabriel
Totnes
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ9 6QB
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 163
Open: 16/03/2024 to 05/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 32 Reviews
                8/10 from 32 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <10 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <10 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  32 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Kateandjames 64 reviews from this member

 Immaculate and peaceful Caravan Club Site on the outskirts of Stoke Gabriel. Staff very friendly and helpful. Facilities very clean. Right side of site is typical old style club pitches in rows, the left hand area is more open with pitches, grass and hardstanding, dotted amongst trees.

The site has a large dog walking area, with dog wash and a kiddies play area. WiFi is non existent.

Access roads have a few narrow points but nothing to worry about.

There's a lovely figure of 8 walk to the village and around the mill pond, creeks and river Dart, best done when tide is out. There's a well stocked village shop, selling all sorts of goodies, a couple of pubs and a cafe in the quayside.

Tip, if walking to the village leave the site by the top far corner, it cuts out most of the road walking.

Recommended is a trip to the National Trust Coleton Fishacres, stunning gardens and coastal scenery. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: AndrewX1 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed for a short two night break at Ramslade for the first time.

The site facilities and grounds are immaculate.

The site access from the A385 has been mentioned before and is single track in part. You are advised by the site not to arrive early to avoid units (arriving and leaving) meeting head to head in the narrow lane. If you do someone is likely to be selecting reverse gear! The shop on site is closed.

There is a village shop in Stock Gabriel and big supermarkets a 10min drive in Paignton. The local pub at Stoke Gabriel (5min drive), The castle Inn, is offering a pre-book and collect food service.

We didnít get to use but you can ring and place an order. There is very poor mobile signal in the area and so donít expect to get 4G coverage. Some areas of the site had very limited reception.

While we were there the WiFi was appalling l, everyone near us was completely fed up having paid and got no service.

I have asked for a refund. Donít expect to get too much local information from the Wardens they were busy, professional but rather indifferent. Not the warm reception mentioned before. Perhaps they are a bit fed up with the busy site and increased issues with COVID-19 or complaints about the WiFi!?

I have to say it was all very organised and the site was peaceful at night. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mw8373 2 reviews from this member

 This was the second time that we have stayed here and the reason we returned is because of the area easy to get to the English Riviera.

The campsite is always well maintained, and the wash/shower/toilets are the best you can expect anywhere.

Sorry there is not anything we dislike about this site. 


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ironned 57 reviews from this member

 We were relocated to Ramslade from Steamer Quay due to exceptional rain, and in hindsight it was a great decision. We were on a hard standing, which was useful as it continued to lash down !

The pitches on the right of reception have some lovely views and seem a bit more spacious than the ones to the left. There are also serviced pitches in this area, but really, everything is close enough at hand.

The shower and loo block on this side is quite small but very clean and well- equipped - no push button showers here !

The location is very handy for lots of resorts and attractions, and itís a nice walk into Stoke Gabriel. Thereís also a bus stop right at the end of the drive with buses to Paignton. Local waking is lovely, although as you might expect, hilly! Fabulous views to be had.

Supermarkets are 10 mins drive away and as well as the Pubs in Stoke Gabriel thereís one at the end of the road (bit hairy to walk though as twisty and narrow) ; pubs also deliver meals and there are various food vans on site at certain times.

All in all, a very appealing site. 


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Bluemoondevon 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely quiet site, ideal for getting away from it all but with the high levels of cleanliness and facilities you would expect from a CAMC site. Caretakers / Wardens are superb too.

There is a narrow lane for a couple of miles leading up to the site which some may find challenging. Fortunately I'm married to an HGV driver! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 198 reviews from this member

 Another lovely CC site. Immaculate grounds and facilities.

The road down to the site is very small in many places but OK if care taken. Lots of passing places, you just need to be lucky!

Quick, friendly booking in. One of the few CC sites to allow you to book hardstanding pitches (hoping more will offer the option soon). We only had a choice of 3 pitches on arrival but were quite happy with the one we chose. 2 toilet/shower blocks always spotless. Lots of water points, bins, recycling, etc. , around the site and indoor washing up rooms too.

The little village of Stoke Gabriel is about a mile walk directly from the site. Not much in the village but nice to just sit along the creek and watch the world go by. There's a small cafť right on the creek (The River Shack) and 2 pubs in the village. We sat outside and ate at the Church House Inn. Food was OK but overpriced in our opinion. Cider was good though! There is also a little village store in the village, again not cheap but convenient.

Lovely site to which we would return again one day. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Beltie 4 reviews from this member

 We arrived at this site having failed to find a suitable pitch at Hillhead. What a contrast! The welcome from the wardens was genuinely warm and the site had a far more spacious and relaxed feel.

The site is pleasantly open and whilst the central hardstanding pitches are in serried ranks, they are large and well spaced and the pitches around the perimeter and on the grass are huge.

Facilities are of a high standard and blend well with the surroundings.

The location is excellent, with a range of walks to the delightful waterside village of Stoke Gabriel. All the Torbay resorts are also within an easy drive, although traffic on the so-called ring road can be horrendous, and I think I would take the bus. Many people have commented on the difficult approach roads, yes they are narrow, but shouldn't present too much difficulty to an experienced driver who bins the sat-nav! and relies on the CC directions. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Snap 16 reviews from this member

 We have just spent 7 nights here and wish we had stayed longer there is so much to do and see around the area. The site is the usual Caravan Club high standard. The wardens are very friendly and helpful. The site has a wonderful play area and field for the kids. A fully fenced off dog walk where dogs can be let off their leads which our two Springers loved. There is a Morrisons, Asda, Sainsburys and a new Aldi within 10 mins drive. Please take notice of the Caravan Club instructions on route and arrival times. When you turn off the Totnes road the approach lane is narrow in parts and needs to be taken with care. At the time of writing there are major road works on the outskirts of Torquay so you can expect delays most of the time. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jessythedog 2 reviews from this member

 My wife and I stopped three nights here in peek week, what a fantastic site, clean friendly great location, road to site narrow so care needed, lots to do and see in the area, it is one of the nicest places we have stayed, we never did all the things we wanted to but next time ?, wardens very friendly & helpful cant wait to go back again 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 107 reviews from this member

 Due to its proximity to Plymouth we stayed at this site for one night before and three nights after our holiday in Spain.

Access to the site is a bit hair-raising with very narrow approach roads. The recommended route in the CC handbook was bad enough but if you try any other way, be prepared to either get stuck or have to reverse back a long way to find passing places.

The site is really nice with large hardstanding pitches terraced into the sloping hillside which means that even though the site is very sloping, if you are on hardstanding, your pitch will be more or less flat. The same cannot be said for the glass pitches though which were scarily uneven with caravanners using several ramps and chock combinations to try to level their 'vans.

The toilet block was excellent and very clean throughout our stay and a very good fish and chip van visited the site a couple of days a week serving very nice fish and chips (with a very long queue to be served. ) The wardens were very helpful and friendly and although we don't have children or dogs so didn't use the facilities for these, the playground and dog walk seemed spacious and well kept.

We had two lovely days out while staying here, one to Totnes which was a nice little town and another to Salcombe which was extremely quaint. As we were only here for a few days we didn't really get a chance to explore the area much as we were really using the stay to clean the caravan and sort it out after 5 weeks in Spain, however it is definitely an area and a site that we would return to in the future for a longer stay. 


Previous     32 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Ramslade Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ramslade Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 10 miles  View all facilities

Is Ramslade Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Totnes      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


22876 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement