Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Ramslade Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Ramslade Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Stoke Park
Stoke Gabriel
Totnes
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ9 6QB
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 163
Open: 16/03 To 05/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 28 Reviews
                8/10 from 28 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <10 miles   Restaurant <10 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Bluemoondevon 1 review from this member

Lovely quiet site, ideal for getting away from it all but with the high levels of cleanliness and facilities you would expect from a CAMC site. Caretakers / Wardens are superb too.

There is a narrow lane for a couple of miles leading up to the site which some may find challenging. Fortunately I'm married to an HGV driver!

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 169 reviews from this member

Another lovely CC site. Immaculate grounds and facilities.

The road down to the site is very small in many places but OK if care taken. Lots of passing places, you just need to be lucky!

Quick, friendly booking in. One of the few CC sites to allow you to book hardstanding pitches (hoping more will offer the option soon). We only had a choice of 3 pitches on arrival but were quite happy with the one we chose. 2 toilet/shower blocks always spotless. Lots of water points, bins, recycling, etc. , around the site and indoor washing up rooms too.

The little village of Stoke Gabriel is about a mile walk directly from the site. Not much in the village but nice to just sit along the creek and watch the world go by. There's a small café right on the creek (The River Shack) and 2 pubs in the village. We sat outside and ate at the Church House Inn. Food was OK but overpriced in our opinion. Cider was good though! There is also a little village store in the village, again not cheap but convenient.

Lovely site to which we would return again one day.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Beltie 4 reviews from this member

We arrived at this site having failed to find a suitable pitch at Hillhead. What a contrast! The welcome from the wardens was genuinely warm and the site had a far more spacious and relaxed feel.

The site is pleasantly open and whilst the central hardstanding pitches are in serried ranks, they are large and well spaced and the pitches around the perimeter and on the grass are huge.

Facilities are of a high standard and blend well with the surroundings.

The location is excellent, with a range of walks to the delightful waterside village of Stoke Gabriel. All the Torbay resorts are also within an easy drive, although traffic on the so-called ring road can be horrendous, and I think I would take the bus. Many people have commented on the difficult approach roads, yes they are narrow, but shouldn't present too much difficulty to an experienced driver who bins the sat-nav! and relies on the CC directions.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Snap 15 reviews from this member

We have just spent 7 nights here and wish we had stayed longer there is so much to do and see around the area. The site is the usual Caravan Club high standard. The wardens are very friendly and helpful. The site has a wonderful play area and field for the kids. A fully fenced off dog walk where dogs can be let off their leads which our two Springers loved. There is a Morrisons, Asda, Sainsburys and a new Aldi within 10 mins drive. Please take notice of the Caravan Club instructions on route and arrival times. When you turn off the Totnes road the approach lane is narrow in parts and needs to be taken with care. At the time of writing there are major road works on the outskirts of Torquay so you can expect delays most of the time.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jessythedog 2 reviews from this member

My wife and I stopped three nights here in peek week, what a fantastic site, clean friendly great location, road to site narrow so care needed, lots to do and see in the area, it is one of the nicest places we have stayed, we never did all the things we wanted to but next time ?, wardens very friendly & helpful cant wait to go back again

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 43 reviews from this member

Due to its proximity to Plymouth we stayed at this site for one night before and three nights after our holiday in Spain.

Access to the site is a bit hair-raising with very narrow approach roads. The recommended route in the CC handbook was bad enough but if you try any other way, be prepared to either get stuck or have to reverse back a long way to find passing places.

The site is really nice with large hardstanding pitches terraced into the sloping hillside which means that even though the site is very sloping, if you are on hardstanding, your pitch will be more or less flat. The same cannot be said for the glass pitches though which were scarily uneven with caravanners using several ramps and chock combinations to try to level their 'vans.

The toilet block was excellent and very clean throughout our stay and a very good fish and chip van visited the site a couple of days a week serving very nice fish and chips (with a very long queue to be served. ) The wardens were very helpful and friendly and although we don't have children or dogs so didn't use the facilities for these, the playground and dog walk seemed spacious and well kept.

We had two lovely days out while staying here, one to Totnes which was a nice little town and another to Salcombe which was extremely quaint. As we were only here for a few days we didn't really get a chance to explore the area much as we were really using the stay to clean the caravan and sort it out after 5 weeks in Spain, however it is definitely an area and a site that we would return to in the future for a longer stay.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Si_app 5 reviews from this member

Outstanding quality big site with first class modern facilities. Good sized hard standings, well established trees and features, very good looking site. Excellent recycling facilities, impressive use of rainwater and solar in showerblock. Vast field with big playground for kids, medium sized dog field to release the hounds. Nowhere to really walk off road from the site however, 2 miles down to small village on estuary but both pubs there scruffy and limited parking. Local farm selling cider and Sainsburys and McDonalds 10 mins drive. Handy for Dartmouth which is really lovely, Paignton seaside town but not overly tacky. Not all beaches dog friendly but list available from site shop. First visit to this part of South coast and can't wait to go back. Overall a thoroughly peaceful enjoyable holiday

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Boomerangs 18 reviews from this member

A warmer welcome would have been appreciated on arrival.

Entrance to site sloping, make sure handbrake works!

Nicely laid out site, facilities clean and warm!

Chip van visited us. Nice fish and chips.

Huge field for exercising dogs. Children's play area adjacent. Games room on site too.

TV good. Mobile = 02 good.

Nice walk to Stoke Gabriel from site. Cafes and pubs at end!

Bus stop outside site, make sure you have exact change!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jfa110n 14 reviews from this member

Usual Caravan Club site everything spotless and perfectly manicured. Site is on a hill but pitches cleverly cut into the land so each one is level. Only needed minor adjustment with levelling blocks on our motorhome to get perfectly level.

Good place to explore local area especially Dartmouth, we got there by river on the ferry from Greenway (National Trust) Quay. Brixham to be frank was a little disapointing but still has local fishing boats landing daily.

We can recommend Beamers for some very good food. Wifi good at £5 for 5 hours but had some problems connecting which was probably down to my technophobia. Local roads are extremely narrow with some only just wide enough for a car with high hedges each side so don't follow satnav.

The recommended route into the campsite however is not too bad but has a fair few narrow points so if you are unlucky to come face to face with another vanner at a narrow point with no passing place one of you will have to back up!

Site staff excellent and very helpful.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Slimseydy 33 reviews from this member

Rule no 1, never use your sat nav to access this site, lucky enough I down loaded CC directions before I set off, keyed postcode into sat nav any way as a back up, my sat nav wanted me to go past sainsburys to the site, which would have put me stuck in hedgerows or on a bridge. Even the proper way is hairy & to be honest I am not looking forward to leaving next weekend as any any early arrivals to the site will have me possibly reversing a caravan up a hill to get out on to the main road,

On to the good points, pay for a serviced pitch, they are spot on the money. All grass pitches are severely sloping and I have never seen so many wheel chocks & bricks under jockey wheels, steadies etc etc.

Toilet blocks as always are spotless & the wardens on site are friendly,

Dog exercise area is nice & also a big field for kids to let off steam,

Great location only 5-10 mins drive from beaches,

Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


338 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019