Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Tavistock Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Tavistock > Tavistock Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Tavistock Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Higher Longford
Moorshop
Tavistock
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
PL19 9LQ
Tel: 01822 618672
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 75
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 33 Reviews
                9/10 from 33 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  33 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Raspberryqueen 9 reviews from this member

We spent two nights at this site. Despite arriving early, we were made very welcome and escorted to our pitch by the warden. The site and facilities were immaculate, the showers and toilets well appointed and generous in size. Although there is a little noise from the road nearby, this is compensated for by the easy access up onto Dartmoor. The famous Tors are only minutes away, and Tavistock, with lots to see and do, is also close. Our dog enjoyed his stay, too. I definitely recommend this site.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dancingdaf 1 review from this member

Brilliant site lovely pitches very welcoming wardens. Lovely dog walk. Bus stop right outside to go into Tavistock which has everything you could need. I didn't need to use the shop so cannot comment but would be handy I suppose for general groceries. The one thing I really did like were the toilet facilities there were about five? Individual cubicles which had toilet, wash basin and shower units enclosed which made the area very private. The site was full but I used the shower facilities in the evening so did not have to queue! We did not visit Dartmoor as we have been a few times before but well worth a visit. We had no complaints about this CCC site it was a very well kept, clean and well presented site. The 'jewel in the crown' for me was the lady who set up her coffee/breakfast bar each morning where you could buy a latte coffee or tea plus pastries which were delicious.

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chris5mph 30 reviews from this member

Immaculate grounds and buildings as expected from this club. Excellent bathrooms in the facilities block - more sites should install these instead of the mouse sized showers etc we often find. So often we arrive at a site and find that the Wifi (a) is broken or (b) does not reach our pitch or (c) is so weak that it crashes when more than two people try to use it. About time that the club installed robust systems big enough for the job!

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: BertiesTravels 4 reviews from this member

This could be a great site, and has all the elements of a great site except for the busy main road which runs alongside. Our pitch backed onto the road and although the traffic was not so bad at night the vehicles are fast travelling and it is therefore noisy!.

Saying that, the site is typical CCC with spotless facilities, great showers with whole bathrooms to yourself, a lovely nature walk for the dogs and really helpful wardens. The pitches need ramps for levelling, but nothing too drastic and there is electric hookup available. There was also a useful shop with essentials.

We were disappointed that to walk anywhere you either needed to brave the busy road or drive to the walk start. Dartmoor is almost touching distance but not that easy to get to (only by walking up the verge of the busy road - no path).

Tavistock is lovely too, and well worth a visit - try and visit the Pannier Market (closed Monday's) and also Eastgate Cafe Brasserie had fantastic food and lovely lovely staff.

All in all we probably won't be back, and it is only because of the road noise not the site itself.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wooltman 18 reviews from this member

Excellent site, very well kept, the grass always looked lovely, the toilet block was clean and the showers had there own toilet which is a great idea.

The pitches are slopping so bring leveling blocks.

The site is about three miles from the lovely town of Tavistock just a bit to far to walk, beware the road leading up from Tavistock is a bit narrow in places so take your time, this road gets very busy at times, but it never bothered us.

The camp reception has a small shop, the wardens were very friendly and helpful.

Good site for exploring the moors.

If in the area again we would love to stay again.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Smithsmh1 8 reviews from this member

A beautiful campsite with longer than usual dog walk which is well fenced - beware the rabbits if your dog is a natural hunter! Toilet and shower block excellent, individual rooms with shower/toilet/wash basin so plenty of room for drying off and getting changed without the usual battle with a shower curtain. Lovely and well cared for playground although of course you are close to the moor so really spoilt for exploration.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: PadstowPat 3 reviews from this member

A well maintained campsite with dog walk which was useful because the site exits on to a fairly busy road. Unfortunately, traffic noise from this road was fairly consistent which rather spoilt an otherwise delightful site. Just a 30 minute walk up onto the moor. Excellent 'en suite' showers with toilets and washbasins a real luxury. Limited stock in the shop probably as early in the season.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Irvine5 1 review from this member

Visited this site in September. Excellent location, being on the very edge of Dartmoor with its miles of open access land for walking. Excellent toilet facilities, especially the individual cubicles which each have their own toilet, washbasin & shower. All kept spotlessly clean by the site staff.

Small shop on site selling the basics of milk, bread etc

Vouchers available from the site reception for broadband access. Good TV reception.

An excellent secure dog walking area around the site.

A short drive to Tavistock with its good range of pubs, shops & eateries.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: WWLL 60 reviews from this member

We are fond of Dartmoor and chose this site as it is within the national park. The facilities are excellent with several rooms containing shower, loo & sink which we found useful, all kept very clean & tidy as was the whole site. There were excellent recycling facilities.

The shop was well stocked and useful as there is no pub or shop close by. The pitch we were allocated was flat, narrow and close to the access road. There was a pretty nature & enclosed dog walk.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Greeny44 1 review from this member

Gem of a site. New managers since April 2015 and what a change round. Nothing like 2012 review. Excellent toilets and dish washing. Easy access disabled facilities. Clean laundry room with good information area. Shop well stocked and even do newspapers (to order) and fresh bread. Hard standings well maintained and grass pitches cut regularly. Bus stop at entrance to site giving access to Dartmoor, Princetown and Tavistock. Would highly recommend to seasoned campers and new comers as managers always about and willing to assist.

No club room but a football area and adventure area for the kids away from pitches and secure, (only access to the road is back across the site). Excellent dog runs clean fully fenced.

Previous     33 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5673 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019