Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Tavistock Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (South) > Tavistock > Tavistock Camping And Caravanning Club Site > Reviews

Tavistock Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Higher Longford
Moorshop
Tavistock
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
PL19 9LQ
Tel: 01822 618672
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 75
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 44 Reviews
                9/10 from 44 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  44 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: GillyAnna 14 reviews from this member

 Nice site with good clean facilities although did have to queue sometimes for toilet and shower.

Good value as we got 4 nights for the price of 3.

Staff very friendly and helpful.

Nice dog walk.

Disappointed there were no views of Dartmoor as advertised. We walked right round the site but couldnít see any views.

Handy bus into Tavistock. Market and surrounding shops and cafes were nice and so was the walk along the river. 


Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 198 reviews from this member

 Living in Cornwall we try to find 'quieter' campsites in August, away from the hoards!

We chose to book here because it's usually quieter up on Dartmoor and the C&CC were offering a great deal - 3 nights @ 35% off!

Arrived to a very friendly welcome from Penny who showed us to our pitch. We had booked a full service pitch and they only have a few so we only had a choice of 2 pitches, which was fine.

A bit close to the road for us, however it was busy during the day but quiet at night so not an issue.

One central facility block with 6 shower/sink/toilet cubicles (one which was locked in the ladies), 2 or 3 sinks and 2 separate toilets, similar in the gents I'm lead to believe. Dated but clean! Inside washing up area in same block.

Information room on site and shop/reception. Recycling bins with general rubbish near site exit.

Barriered in and out of the site so felt secure.

Free site Wi-fi, but not great. Vodafone 4G excellent.

Lovely walk into Tavistock but hilly on the way back (note - don't take the last footpath through over-grown field as it's easier to continue down the road and turn left into Tavistock).

Bus service (request stop) right outside the site and for those of us who still have to pay it's a bargain £2. 25 adult return on a small rural mini-bus (great service).

The only downside for us was the continual barking of dogs on site. One family seemed to leave their dog inside the caravan all day long and every time someone walked past the poor thing barked continually, starting all the others off. We are dog lovers and it started to annoy us. Not many kids on site, which was a bonus for us. 


Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Lollypops 1 review from this member

 The campsite was very clean, staff friendly/ helpful and always cheerful,

Would definitely revisit if in area again,

The only downside was the weather

Everything else was 5 star 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ritchieroo 10 reviews from this member

 Spent a week here before going to Cornwall. Driving instructions provided by the C&CC need to be followed if you donít want 3 miles of single track road donít follow sat nav as our neighbours did.

Lovely location, helpful staff. Facilities are great, clean, we didnít have a problem with shower water pressure looks like this happens when the showers are v busy. Shop has basic essential milk bread etc, no beer or wine.

The site is a bit remote, can walk to Tavistock in under an hour over scenic moorland and get the bus back - drops you at site entrance. Tavistock has all you will need.

We found the pitching rules a bit fuzzy as you put the van on the hard standing and awning to the left (we have a rear awning) then the car on the grass to the right, our neighbours sat next to our car on the grass with their bbq, nothing wrong with that but not well explained?? Itís too easy to assume that yours is the hard standing and grass on the car parking side??

Anyway our neighbours were helpful in sorting out any confusion so all happy there.

Didnít see much for children to do there but the site road around the pitches seemed to be really good for those little scooters great way to tire out you little ones before bedtime!

There are lots of places to visit by car or bus. We went to Dartmouth and got a ferry to Greenwood House (Agatha Christie holiday home) and on a couple of wet days went to visit Lydford Gorge and Tavistock. Dartmoor is an amazing place with stunning views.

The car park at the top of Pork Hill has a few tors which are easy to go up and there are great views over Plymouth and into Cornwall if itís clear.

The site is not a holiday park, itís a base to explore the surrounding areas. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Neil Heb 21 reviews from this member

 Standard C&CC site set up with a tired facilities block.

Located on edge of Dartmoor on main road, but not easy to walk from the site due to busy road. But buses do stop outside.

While checking in the main concern from the staff was that we had ďoldĒ membership cards. They did not give us any useful information about the site.

When we first used the facilities block there were notices advising that they were suffering from a low water pressure issue. When I showered, the showers were such low pressure that it was effectively a dribble close to the wall that I could not stand under. This was not acceptable and I should have complained. Now reading other reviews, this is common and clearly they need to sort it out; spend some money on a decent system.

If we had been made aware of this in advance we may have cancelled our booking, but no such advice was given. They email to remind you of your booking, but do not advise any site problems.

I did comment after our visit, but no response.

Disappointing visit to a tired, little effort made site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pwaterton 7 reviews from this member

 Well kept site in an ideal location for exploring Dartmoor both by car and walking.

A quiet site, we had a fully serviced pitch which was ideal.

Have stopped here twice and will return. 


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Paulmold 98 reviews from this member

 Pretty much as expected of a club site. No drive over motorhome point which is outdated these days. CDP right over by exit barrier as are bins so pretty long walk for those in far two grass fields.

Didn't use toilet block as use our own but talking to neighbour he was impressed with the wet rooms so I've based my score on that. Tavistock is lovely town with great pannier market.

Recommend Dartmoor Prison Museum and Moretonhampstead Motor Museeum if that's your type of thing.

Parking in Tavistock for motorhomes is bad except for Riverside Carpark, find it on Google first before you go to save frustration in town.

Drive over Dartmoor is great except mist can descend anytime, not only Dartmoor ponies to see but unexpectedly Highland Cattle on road. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Suzgri 1 review from this member

 Only one night but met by very friendly staff and shown to pitch. Lots of room/space which was nice to see and enjoy.

Shower block was beautifully clean (7pm) and lots of hot water, with large room for shower, toilet and basin - very generous spacing in fact.

Didnít get time to use shop etc but enjoyed the nature walk after a wonderful stroll on Dartmoor which is 5 mins from the camp site down a quiet lane.

Will def be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Charles Carter 1 review from this member

 Helpful staff, very clean toilets, large pitches, 16 amp electricity, small office /shop.

Site is next to moor and after 3 mins on main road you can cycle on to drakes way, some hills.

Tavistock about 5 miles away.

No pub within walking distance 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Podengo 3 reviews from this member

 Nice location on the western edge of Dartmoor. Typical CCC site in that there is nothing overtly wrong, it just needs a bit of money spent on it to brighten the place up a bit. Maybe we were unlucky but we found the wardens a very taciturn lot. They only spoke if spoken to which in a service industry is not the right attitude.

The site is large but thoughtfully devided into separate areas with trees and hedges in between. Nice dog walk on site! Road noise may be an issue for some as the road along side the site is busy and fast but to be fair it didn't bother us.

There are some good walks from the site but you will have to start and finish them on this busy road. Those with a car would be better off driving to one of the many parking spots on Dartmoor.

If you decide to go to the Dartmoor Inn at Merivale (the nearest pub), check opening times! We walked there only to find it shut!

The Whitchurch Inn (second nearest pub) is delightful with good beer and food. 
via mobile


Previous     44 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Tavistock Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Tavistock Camping And Caravanning Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Tavistock Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Tavistock      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


37297 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement