Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Tavistock Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Tavistock > Tavistock Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Tavistock Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Higher Longford
Moorshop
Tavistock
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
PL19 9LQ
Tel: 01822 618672
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 75
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 39 Reviews
                9/10 from 39 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  39 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pwaterton 3 reviews from this member

 Well kept site in an ideal location for exploring Dartmoor both by car and walking.

A quiet site, we had a fully serviced pitch which was ideal.

Have stopped here twice and will return. 


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Paulmold 84 reviews from this member

 Pretty much as expected of a club site. No drive over motorhome point which is outdated these days. CDP right over by exit barrier as are bins so pretty long walk for those in far two grass fields.

Didn't use toilet block as use our own but talking to neighbour he was impressed with the wet rooms so I've based my score on that. Tavistock is lovely town with great pannier market.

Recommend Dartmoor Prison Museum and Moretonhampstead Motor Museeum if that's your type of thing.

Parking in Tavistock for motorhomes is bad except for Riverside Carpark, find it on Google first before you go to save frustration in town.

Drive over Dartmoor is great except mist can descend anytime, not only Dartmoor ponies to see but unexpectedly Highland Cattle on road. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Suzgri 1 review from this member

 Only one night but met by very friendly staff and shown to pitch. Lots of room/space which was nice to see and enjoy.

Shower block was beautifully clean (7pm) and lots of hot water, with large room for shower, toilet and basin - very generous spacing in fact.

Didnít get time to use shop etc but enjoyed the nature walk after a wonderful stroll on Dartmoor which is 5 mins from the camp site down a quiet lane.

Will def be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Charles Carter 1 review from this member

 Helpful staff, very clean toilets, large pitches, 16 amp electricity, small office /shop.

Site is next to moor and after 3 mins on main road you can cycle on to drakes way, some hills.

Tavistock about 5 miles away.

No pub within walking distance 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Podengo 2 reviews from this member

 Nice location on the western edge of Dartmoor. Typical CCC site in that there is nothing overtly wrong, it just needs a bit of money spent on it to brighten the place up a bit. Maybe we were unlucky but we found the wardens a very taciturn lot. They only spoke if spoken to which in a service industry is not the right attitude.

The site is large but thoughtfully devided into separate areas with trees and hedges in between. Nice dog walk on site! Road noise may be an issue for some as the road along side the site is busy and fast but to be fair it didn't bother us.

There are some good walks from the site but you will have to start and finish them on this busy road. Those with a car would be better off driving to one of the many parking spots on Dartmoor.

If you decide to go to the Dartmoor Inn at Merivale (the nearest pub), check opening times! We walked there only to find it shut!

The Whitchurch Inn (second nearest pub) is delightful with good beer and food. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Pennine Plodder 24 reviews from this member

 Nice site, lovely setting, friendly welcome. Clean and plentiful facilities - male and female facilities and undercover washing up sinks. Small shop, laundry etc.

Site set on a hillside, the pitches are therefore slightly sloping - take leveling triangles etc.

If following Sat Nav, from Exeter, do not turn off before the Okehampton turn also - DO NOT ACCESS VIA PETER TAVY - the road narrows to a single track, uphill and life gets complicated when towing! 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Raspberryqueen 9 reviews from this member

 We spent two nights at this site. Despite arriving early, we were made very welcome and escorted to our pitch by the warden.

The site and facilities were immaculate, the showers and toilets well appointed and generous in size.

Although there is a little noise from the road nearby, this is compensated for by the easy access up onto Dartmoor.

The famous Tors are only minutes away, and Tavistock, with lots to see and do, is also close.

Our dog enjoyed his stay, too.

I definitely recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dancingdaf 1 review from this member

 Brilliant site lovely pitches very welcoming wardens. Lovely dog walk. Bus stop right outside to go into Tavistock which has everything you could need.

I didn't need to use the shop so cannot comment but would be handy I suppose for general groceries. The one thing I really did like were the toilet facilities there were about five?

Individual cubicles which had toilet, wash basin and shower units enclosed which made the area very private.

The site was full but I used the shower facilities in the evening so did not have to queue!

We did not visit Dartmoor as we have been a few times before but well worth a visit.

We had no complaints about this CCC site it was a very well kept, clean and well presented site.

The 'jewel in the crown' for me was the lady who set up her coffee/breakfast bar each morning where you could buy a latte coffee or tea plus pastries which were delicious. 


Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chris5mph 38 reviews from this member

 Immaculate grounds and buildings as expected from this club. Excellent bathrooms in the facilities block - more sites should install these instead of the mouse sized showers etc we often find.

So often we arrive at a site and find that the Wifi (a) is broken or (b) does not reach our pitch or (c) is so weak that it crashes when more than two people try to use it.

About time that the club installed robust systems big enough for the job! 


Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BertiesTravels 4 reviews from this member

 This could be a great site, and has all the elements of a great site except for the busy main road which runs alongside. Our pitch backed onto the road and although the traffic was not so bad at night the vehicles are fast travelling and it is therefore noisy!.

Saying that, the site is typical CCC with spotless facilities, great showers with whole bathrooms to yourself, a lovely nature walk for the dogs and really helpful wardens. The pitches need ramps for levelling, but nothing too drastic and there is electric hookup available. There was also a useful shop with essentials.

We were disappointed that to walk anywhere you either needed to brave the busy road or drive to the walk start. Dartmoor is almost touching distance but not that easy to get to (only by walking up the verge of the busy road - no path).

Tavistock is lovely too, and well worth a visit - try and visit the Pannier Market (closed Monday's) and also Eastgate Cafe Brasserie had fantastic food and lovely lovely staff.

All in all we probably won't be back, and it is only because of the road noise not the site itself. 


Previous     39 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Tavistock Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Tavistock Camping And Caravanning Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Tavistock Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Tavistock      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3193 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement