Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Tavistock Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Tavistock > Tavistock Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Tavistock Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Higher Longford
Moorshop
Tavistock
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
PL19 9LQ
Tel: 01822 618672
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 75
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 35 Reviews
                9/10 from 35 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  35 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is opening in line with government guidance and we are taking bookings for arrivals from 04/07/2020 onwards , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas and this *may* include shower or toilet facilities being closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Podengo 2 reviews from this member

 Nice location on the western edge of Dartmoor. Typical CCC site in that there is nothing overtly wrong, it just needs a bit of money spent on it to brighten the place up a bit. Maybe we were unlucky but we found the wardens a very taciturn lot. They only spoke if spoken to which in a service industry is not the right attitude.

The site is large but thoughtfully devided into separate areas with trees and hedges in between. Nice dog walk on site! Road noise may be an issue for some as the road along side the site is busy and fast but to be fair it didn't bother us.

There are some good walks from the site but you will have to start and finish them on this busy road. Those with a car would be better off driving to one of the many parking spots on Dartmoor.

If you decide to go to the Dartmoor Inn at Merivale (the nearest pub), check opening times! We walked there only to find it shut!

The Whitchurch Inn (second nearest pub) is delightful with good beer and food. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Pennine Plodder 22 reviews from this member

 Nice site, lovely setting, friendly welcome. Clean and plentiful facilities - male and female facilities and undercover washing up sinks. Small shop, laundry etc.

Site set on a hillside, the pitches are therefore slightly sloping - take leveling triangles etc.

If following Sat Nav, from Exeter, do not turn off before the Okehampton turn also - DO NOT ACCESS VIA PETER TAVY - the road narrows to a single track, uphill and life gets complicated when towing! 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Raspberryqueen 9 reviews from this member

 We spent two nights at this site. Despite arriving early, we were made very welcome and escorted to our pitch by the warden.

The site and facilities were immaculate, the showers and toilets well appointed and generous in size.

Although there is a little noise from the road nearby, this is compensated for by the easy access up onto Dartmoor.

The famous Tors are only minutes away, and Tavistock, with lots to see and do, is also close.

Our dog enjoyed his stay, too.

I definitely recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dancingdaf 1 review from this member

 Brilliant site lovely pitches very welcoming wardens. Lovely dog walk. Bus stop right outside to go into Tavistock which has everything you could need.

I didn't need to use the shop so cannot comment but would be handy I suppose for general groceries. The one thing I really did like were the toilet facilities there were about five?

Individual cubicles which had toilet, wash basin and shower units enclosed which made the area very private.

The site was full but I used the shower facilities in the evening so did not have to queue!

We did not visit Dartmoor as we have been a few times before but well worth a visit.

We had no complaints about this CCC site it was a very well kept, clean and well presented site.

The 'jewel in the crown' for me was the lady who set up her coffee/breakfast bar each morning where you could buy a latte coffee or tea plus pastries which were delicious. 


Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chris5mph 30 reviews from this member

 Immaculate grounds and buildings as expected from this club. Excellent bathrooms in the facilities block - more sites should install these instead of the mouse sized showers etc we often find.

So often we arrive at a site and find that the Wifi (a) is broken or (b) does not reach our pitch or (c) is so weak that it crashes when more than two people try to use it.

About time that the club installed robust systems big enough for the job! 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BertiesTravels 4 reviews from this member

 This could be a great site, and has all the elements of a great site except for the busy main road which runs alongside. Our pitch backed onto the road and although the traffic was not so bad at night the vehicles are fast travelling and it is therefore noisy!.

Saying that, the site is typical CCC with spotless facilities, great showers with whole bathrooms to yourself, a lovely nature walk for the dogs and really helpful wardens. The pitches need ramps for levelling, but nothing too drastic and there is electric hookup available. There was also a useful shop with essentials.

We were disappointed that to walk anywhere you either needed to brave the busy road or drive to the walk start. Dartmoor is almost touching distance but not that easy to get to (only by walking up the verge of the busy road - no path).

Tavistock is lovely too, and well worth a visit - try and visit the Pannier Market (closed Monday's) and also Eastgate Cafe Brasserie had fantastic food and lovely lovely staff.

All in all we probably won't be back, and it is only because of the road noise not the site itself. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wooltman 18 reviews from this member

 Excellent site, very well kept, the grass always looked lovely, the toilet block was clean and the showers had there own toilet which is a great idea.

The pitches are slopping so bring leveling blocks.

The site is about three miles from the lovely town of Tavistock just a bit to far to walk, beware the road leading up from Tavistock is a bit narrow in places so take your time, this road gets very busy at times, but it never bothered us.

The camp reception has a small shop, the wardens were very friendly and helpful.

Good site for exploring the moors.

If in the area again we would love to stay again. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Smithsmh1 8 reviews from this member

 A beautiful campsite with longer than usual dog walk which is well fenced - beware the rabbits if your dog is a natural hunter! Toilet and shower block excellent, individual rooms with shower/toilet/wash basin so plenty of room for drying off and getting changed without the usual battle with a shower curtain. Lovely and well cared for playground although of course you are close to the moor so really spoilt for exploration. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: PadstowPat 3 reviews from this member

 A well maintained campsite with dog walk which was useful because the site exits on to a fairly busy road. Unfortunately, traffic noise from this road was fairly consistent which rather spoilt an otherwise delightful site. Just a 30 minute walk up onto the moor. Excellent 'en suite' showers with toilets and washbasins a real luxury. Limited stock in the shop probably as early in the season. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Irvine5 1 review from this member

 Visited this site in September. Excellent location, being on the very edge of Dartmoor with its miles of open access land for walking. Excellent toilet facilities, especially the individual cubicles which each have their own toilet, washbasin & shower. All kept spotlessly clean by the site staff.

Small shop on site selling the basics of milk, bread etc

Vouchers available from the site reception for broadband access. Good TV reception.

An excellent secure dog walking area around the site.

A short drive to Tavistock with its good range of pubs, shops & eateries. 


Previous     35 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Tavistock Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Tavistock Camping And Caravanning Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Tavistock Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Tavistock      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6571 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements