Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Dinham Farm Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Wadebridge > Dinham Farm Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Dinham Farm Caravan & Camping Park
St Minver
Wadebridge
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL27 6RH
Tel: 01208 812878
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 38 Reviews
                9/10 from 38 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Suggsy 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site just round the corner from Polzeath beach where we spent a lot of our time bodyboarding.

Greeted by owner who took us to a field and pointed out a few pitches to choose from which I thought was a lovely touch.

Toilets were immaculate and showers were a good size but the time for the push buttons were seconds and sporadic so did get a bit frustrating.

Swimming pool was lovely which we used twice during our stay. Would return again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 12 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Katiebee 2 reviews from this member

 Based on previous reviews touting it as lovely and quiet, we booked our first-ever camping trip to Cornwall, to stay here. Now, we are generally fair-weather campers, maxing out at 2-3 nights (often leaving after 1). And weather really was on our side (we had a stunning stretch of sunshine and warmth) - but the site itself also really aided in us staying for nearly two full weeks (something we've never done anywhere).

First, the couple who run this site are just lovely. They are always about, busily making sure everything is 100% spotless, and that campers are 100% happy. The facilities really were stunning tidy. Despite the site being quite busy at times, we never ran low on toilet paper, there are sinks with soap in every toilet cubicle, we never had to wait for a shower or toilet - not once - and the showers were kept immaculate (with cubby to put your stuff in, and hook for hanging).

And as people before have mentioned, there is the amazing feeling of being pampered which comes with every cubicle not only having a small heater blowing in warm air at night, but also, having classical music very quietly piped in! It felt a bit like staying in a 5-star hotel, although we were definitely out in the beautiful outdoors!

The site is also set up very well. There are seven fields, if I remember right - four for caravans (many people keep caravans there year-round, and visit each weekend), and three for tents. Depending on where you are, it could be a bit of a walk to a toilet, but there are little low solar-powered lights in place to help guide you, and lovely paths to follow on gravel (so you don't end up tracking grass everywhere, like at some sites).

The centre of each field (the huge HUGE centre, in the camping fields) are kept clear, while tents go around on the outside. This means that all sorts of fun can be had by children, without fear of cars coming along, or disturbing others in tents.

We were there off-peak, but we do hear it gets very busy during holidays. We prefer quieter times, which is why we went when we did, and it was lovely and peaceful.

On a clear night, the stars are AMAZING! Even without my glasses, I could see the Milky Way, about a million individual stars, and even some shooting stars! All in about the span of two minutes!

Most nights, free firewood is brought around, along with kindling, paper, etc. So we were able to have campfires as we wished.

Dogs are welcome, but kept tethered (other than the owners' dog, Lilly, who you occasionally see lolling in the grass).

The regulars (from the caravans) were also very nice. We were greeted by a few when we first got there, and got to know more as time went on. My daughter found a lovely set of friends, and rode her bicycle around every chance she got. Because there are such huge fields, they were able to stay well out of everyone's way, just enjoying the countryside as they rode.

The location of Dinham Farm is also excellent. It's very close to some of our favourite beaches in Cornwall (great for children), and Wadebridge is just around the corner, with loads of shops, and two good places from which to rent bicycles for riding the gorgeous Camel Trail (down along the river to Padstow, with breathtaking views, or up through a cool shaded forest, toward Bodmin).

There are National Trust sites dotted about, Bodmin Moor to explore, and of course, Padstow and Rock (though those get WAY too busy for our liking). Within an hour or so, you can also reach a lot of the rest of Cornwall - including the Lost Gardens of Helligan, The Eden Project, many more National Trust sites, Newquay and other larger beach-areas, the south coast, the Lizard, and I think St. Ives is even within an hour. Or, head the other way into Devon for areas of outstanding beauty, Tintagel, etc.

Within Wadebridge are a few cafes that we absolutely love to go to. Including a new vegan cafe (Bear's Pantry) which is so tasty that it's frequented by many people who eat meat (even local farmers), as their food is absolutely delicious. They have smoothies, milkshakes, sausage rolls, burgers, "fish" sandwiches, etc. Delicious. Wood'n'Green is another lovely stop - a bit pricier, but we LOVE their breakfasts and cakes, and they have a funky-fun vibe, and a perfect location for visiting just before or after a bike ride on the trail.

I'm sure I'm missing loads which I should say about this site. Did I mention the little swimming pool - perfect for a hot day? Or the table tennis down by the gorgeous solar farm? Or the walk up to the old windmill? I'm sure I didn't. But it's worth a visit, just to explore it all for yourself. :) 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TentnTrailer 6 reviews from this member

 This site covers a large area in several fields and all the pitches are generous and they don't charge extra for awnings etc. Compared with other sites in the area this one was relatively cheap. The facilities in the two containers in the field were a bit overloaded. However, there was the main toilet and shower block if you fancied the extra walk.

Although it seems like a great idea to have an open campfire, it became a problem one evening when there was hardly any wind and the smoke from a large number of fires filled the air. We had to keep the windows shut to prevent smoke entering the caravan. Not great on a warm summer evening.

Apart from that, a reasonable campsite. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: John griffiths 1 review from this member

 A bit concerned about the low price of caravan site but booked.

So the positive points.

# Were greeted on arrival by Stephen the owner.

# Very nice, laid back person.

# Showed us a choice of pitches.

# Lots of room between pitches.

# Pitches only around outside of fields.

# Very quiet, we do not have children but plenty of room for them to play.

# No problem with putting up extras, gazebos extra tents etc.

# Owner brought free sticks and logs each night for bbq or fires

# Toilets regularly cleaned, plenty of paper and even sanitized seat wipes and music.

# Showers immaculate with free hot water and plenty of room.

# Dog friendly.

NOW THE NEGATIVE POINTS.

Thinking, Still thinking, Mmmmmm. Can not think of any.

Would recommend this site and will go again.

Thank you Steve and Sally for a great holiday.

John and Barbara Griffiths from Shropshire. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andydearns 4 reviews from this member

 I could tell you about how Dinham Farm at St Minver is in an excellent position to enjoy much of the best of Cornwall. Many of the local interests are as listed in other reviews below. I returned after a couple of years to find Sally and Steve ( owners ) most energetic and welcoming hosts. They set a tone for the campsite which is 'laid back' friendly. They continue to invest in the facilities on site and are punctilious about its cleanliness. If I told you that the toilet block is attended to 5 times a day, you would surely be impressed. Then there is the pricing structure - absolute simplicity - charges are made for the number people staying ( 8 for an adult, 5 for kids at the moment) and not what you come in, be it a camper, caravan tent or yurt ! This is very competitive for Cornwall.

There is no shop or clubhouse, but what you get are large pitches with huge areas for kids to play and adults to stroll. Showers are free and so is the new make-up room with power points and mirrors to pamper many a princess.

Anyway, don't just take my word for it, if you want a relaxing and peaceful stay in one of the best campsites in the UK, get on the phone to Sally and book in 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ajschaser 1 review from this member

 Simply the best site we have ever visited. Spotless in every facility, an extremely pleasant and helpful owner/manager, delightful position, and classical music in the shower/toilet blocks!What more can one ask? 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: IJKKLM 5 reviews from this member

 I sometimes dither between a 9 and 10 for good sites but not this time!

There is no shop but the always-hot showers and washing, open spaces, camp fires on your pitch (wonderfully and informally undefined) free logs and remarkably relaxed and friendly owners made this a fantastically chilled 9 days.

Lots of good Cornish stuff to do close-by: surf, kayaking, bikes, stargazing, coasteering etc. A special mention too you The Yurt Cafe in St Minver. The Breakfast ('fully road tested') and cream tea (which we saw from afar but couldn't fit in) were fantastic AND well priced! 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Njones 26 reviews from this member

 Great site. Reasonable value. Only site locally we could pre book for just 2 nights in the school summer holidays

About 5 miles from Polzeath. Near enough to be convenient to go to the beach, far enough for it to be away from the crowds and hence enjoy some peace and quiet.

Friendly owners. Brought around some free logs on our second night which was a nice touch.

Great clean toilet block, washing up facilities etc. Washing machine and freezer available.

Small pool. Can't comment on temperature etc as didn't get the chance to try it. Opening times unclear.

Quite a few static caravans and season sited tourers but the tent field was lovely and spacious with open country views. Plenty of space with pitching only allowed on the edges of the big fields leaving the majority of the space for ball games etc. 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Adwal74 3 reviews from this member

 We have been going to Dinham Farm for over 20 years. The last 12 have been seasonal. The site has changed during that time but mainly improved. It is a very good site but is not for you if you are looking for a clubhouse and amusement arcade on site.

There is plenty to do in the area, Polzeath, Daymer Bay, and Rock beaches are only a short drive away, or you can go further afield to Harlyn Bay, Newquay and Perranporth.

Padstow, Tintagel and Boscastle are fairly close. If you are going to Padstow, for an extra treat for the kids take the ferry over from Rock.

Cyclists can ride the Camel Trail from Wadebridge to Padstow or Bodmin.

Bikes are available for hire if you fancy a go.

There are local shops in Wadebridge as well as Tesco, the Co-Op and Lidl for your shopping, and some excellent pubs if you fancy eating out.

St. Austell market is open on Saturdays, Sundays, and Wednesdays. There is a very good butcher there.

Truro is worth a visit, it has two very good Park and Ride car parks, much easier than trying to park in town.

We used to find on the days when we stayed on site that the kids would make their own entertainment and we would only see them when they were hungry. As a lot of people return year after year they used to meet the same friends.

The site has expanded a bit faster than the facilities. The new main toilet block was built a few years ago and the smaller block was installed a year later. A second laundry room was added last year and further toilet/shower facilities are planned. A new area near the ladies is now in place with sockets so that people can use hairdryers.

It is a very large site and is only busy during the school holidays but even then it doesn't get overcrowded campers and tourers will have plenty of room. No crossing guy ropes or caravans 4 feet apart here

I can thoroughly recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jjarman 1 review from this member

 Very spacious space to pitch our tent. Friendly and approachable owners who were chatty and helpful. 16 a night which was very cheap and good value for money. Was a bit of a walk from our tent to showers which, although was not an issue in nice weather, was slightly tedious when the heavens inevitably opened! Overall, really enjoyed our experience at Dinham and hope to return :) 


Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Dinham Farm Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Dinham Farm Caravan & Camping Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Dinham Farm Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Dinham Farm Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wadebridge      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3509 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement