Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Valley Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Wadebridge > Valley Caravan Park Reviews

Valley Caravan Park
Polzeath
Wadebridge
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL27 6SS
Tel: 01208 862391
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 100+
Open: 01/04/2021 to 01/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 18 Reviews
                7/10 from 18 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Apl457 1 review from this member

 We booked a static caravan on this large site, all sanitized and clean, the camping side of the site was minimal because of civid

The site is very close to the fantastic beach that was busy but not packed like Brighton etc

There are a few small shops including a Spar prices were ok. We are booking for next year along we 10 others.

A good site hopefully covid maybe more under control next year opening the site fully next year. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rueth 3 reviews from this member

 So convenient for the beautiful sandy beach, just a level 250yds. Same distance to the Spar shop. The site is level and surrounded by wooded valley sides with a stream on which we saw ducks moorhen and damsel-flys.

Yes it did look a bit tired in places but I assumed it was the result of a prolonged dry period. The showers, for which we had to pay, were a good temperature but the push button gave only about 15 seconds so one showered with one hand on the button. The loos seemed to get cleaned mid evening which meant there was often litter in the mornings.

The reception staff were warm and helpful. I reported a missing light in the dish-washing area and was told it would be dealt with. However I left that day so don't know the result. 


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Gingawarrior 82 reviews from this member

 The last reviewer stated that May was not the best time to visit as the site was not ready, well I visited at the opposite end of the season in October and this is also not a good time to visit as they were either still not ready or had endured such a busy summer that they had gone into hibernation. Overall I was very disapointed with this site.

Firstly the site looked very tired, as youíd expect to some degree at the end of the season, but this site almost looked like a bomb had hit it. The facilities were very dirty and disgusting in some case when I arrived and not cleaned for the full three days I was there.

I can accept that things at the end of the season may be a bit tired and not up to scratch, but then don't charge me so much.

The site was quiet, but most worryingly of all was that one of the only other group camping were almost scary. They were a group of three in the mid range bracket, but they obviously had serious issues, drinking from as soon as they awoke and continuing until they would shout, play very loud music and storm about, at one point one picked up his own tent and flung it across the campsite.

The owners of the site, who might well have been on Mars for all they were visible, did nothing, maybe I should have complained, but Iíve behaved similarly in the past, but when I was 17 and didnít know better. Also it would not have taken the offenders long to work out who had complained and I couldnít see them being ejected.

The site does have some plus points, mainly its fantastic location and great coastal walks, but stay somewhere else and drive or walk to Polzeath. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Patmarshall 6 reviews from this member

 Polzeath is a brilliant surfing beach and Valley caravan park is right there. It is a well run family friendly site. May is not perhaps the best time to visit the though. They did not seem to ready. Showers have to paid for as an extra yet offered less other sites give you for free. Signs warn that the boiler goes on the blink and that you need to check that you have hot water. We got hot water on the last day of our weeks stay! The shower cubical is small with no seat or curtain and you risk your clothes getting wet. The Elsan point is up a flight of steps. Waste water and chemical toilets tend to be heavy and are not easy to carry up steps. WiFi worked well in or parked outside of reception. If you are cycling the hill out towards Damer bay is very steep but I the Wadebridge direction it is more manageable. You can cycle round and down to Rock from where you catch a ferry, with your bikes, to Padstow. From here excellent off road cycle track takes you all the way to Bodmin. The crows in May like to wake you up early. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Emsy101 5 reviews from this member

 Valley caravan park is situated in a perfect, location in a flat, sheltered valley, complete with stream, a few seconds walk from the beach.

This is a reasonably priced family orientated site has great facilities in its brand new toilet block, clean and with hot showers. You do have to buy tokens for these showers- but 50p gives you more than enough time to wash several children if necessary and the water was always hot. An outside shower allows free washing off of sand, salty water and wetsuits after the beach. Washing up facilities were a little cramped but generally adequate. Hook ups are avaliable on some pitches, there are static caravans to hire, and Wifi.

The campsite bar is a pleasant place to relax, with varied entertainment in the evenings should that be your thing. A small play area keeps children happy and a minutes walk away from the site is the local 'Spa' shop, that must be the most well stocked spa in the country (complete with very well stocked wine shelves, local beers and cheeses, deli counter, and fresh pastries in the mornings)and not too over priced either.

For the first week of our stay (which was before most schools broke up) the site was pretty quiet and spacious. However after this it was full to bursting- and most families seemed to be in groups with older children or teenagers. Lively during the evenings- but generally all well behaved, and mainly quiet at night. I got the impression there are families that have been coming back year after year. Pitches do vary in size, but you are pretty crammed in.

Polzeath beach is a wonderful place for children of all ages. The young ones playing in the sand, stream that runs through the beach or rock pooling, and older ones surfing or body boarding. The beach is life guard patroled and several places offer surfing lessons, and equipment hire at competitive prices.

There is plenty to do in the surounding area- lovely coves, fishing harbours, and country side to explore.

We would have liked to have stayed all summer! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dennisnicoll 8 reviews from this member

 Massive improvement in this site since we last visited in 2009. The owners have gone to a lot of expense and it has paid off. I did not meet them on my last visit but did this time & found them to be very nice, helpful people.

We had an electric hookup for our large tent but the site fee at £23 per night was very reasonable.

The toilet block is now modern & clean although one or two visitors do not clean off sand from the beach before entering the block. The cleaners do their best but can't be there every minute.

Bar & restaurant area is quite nice but can get quite hot on a sunny day due to all the conservatory windows (yes the sun did shine sometime), but the staff are helpful and the prices are not too bad.

Can't really comment on the playground as we are well past the age to have young children but, from what we saw, it was popular.

The rabbits, ducks, hens, goose & moorhens are still there, just watch they don't walk in your tent as they don't miss a trick.

Everything nearby is as before, nice shops, pub, pasties, walks & beach. Well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Philbro 1 review from this member

 Visited here over the Whit week in June. Reserved a large plot with electric hook up at a reasonable nightly rate of £30.

Location of the site is amazing, a gentle walk through the campsite to the entrance leads you in to the centre of Polzeath (nice and quiet) where you cross a narrow road and you are on to one of the best beaches in Cornwall! L

arge safe sandy area with excellent waves for surfing or body boarding (well watched by lifeguards) plus some excellent rocks and pools for crabbing and searching for wildlife.

Facilities on site are very good - a modern bar area offering food, drinks, pool tables, table football, sky sports TV and (non cheesey) nightly entertainment.

There are two toilet blocks, one new and one slightly older - both very good with hot water (50p for showers) and well cleaned every day. Reception was very helpful, provided me with a spare roof box key (left mine at home!) and also replacement gas bottle out of office hours!

There are two table tennis tables but they are in need of repair with free bats but take your own balls.

Polzeath itself is lovely with a scattering of cafes and restaurants (no pub though!) - excellent fish and chip shop and check out the 'surf side' cafe, it has great pasties and burgers! Cash machines charge a whopping £1.80 per transaction but the SPAR shop opposite will only charge 40p!

Looking to go again later on this year! You must go to the Eden project whilst you are there, its awesome and very child friendly - discounted tickets on line before you go to save money and if you gift aid the admission you will get an annual entry pass for free when you get there! 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dennisnicoll 8 reviews from this member

 This site is in a nice location, very near to the beach, shops and takeaways. Very well laid out with decent size pitches and the ducks, moorhens, goose and rabbits are an interesting feature. Unfortunately, the bar, restaurant, terrace and shop were destroyed by a fire earlier in the year and nothing seems to be in the process of repair/rebuild. The main toilet/shower block is underneath where the fire to place and (possibly because of the damage caused) is very dingy and does not appear to be very clean, there was one 24 hour period when there was no toilet roll in the gents, the ladies was flooded after rain and both m & f toilets were closed for a day after this with the other toilet block quite a distance away. When all is fully functional this will be a nice site. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Captainpovey 7 reviews from this member

 Spent one night here whilst walking the coast path.

Don't like to speak bad of camp sites but I had a pretty poor experience here.

The location is handy, being just off the main road down a dusty path and it was average price.

The showers I used were in some sort of half built (or half demolished) very shabby building. They were, without a shadow of a doubt, the worst showers I have ever used. The shower room itself is smelly and dirty. The showers are operated by push button which, and I am not exaggerating, gave a flow for about 5 seconds. They never got hot (and I was the only person using them) and the spray was paltry. And for this . 50p. Awful.

That night, there was a lot of noise right up until 1.00am - nothing was done. 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jo Stannard 4 reviews from this member

 As a camper who likes to review sites and their facilities before booking I felt it only fair to leave a review regarding this site. We have stayed here several times over two or three years due to it's location to Polzeath Beach, one of our favorite places in Cornwall, but our last visit was the very last!

We were never particularly huge fans of the standard of cleanliness of the shower and toilet blocks - either the main one or the small 'partially' finished one in the main camping field (it's been 'partially' finished for years)! but the standards have become even worse and I didn't think that was possible! The weekend we spent here the smaller shower block wasn't cleaned once and the site was virtually full so it doesn't need a wonderful imagination to know what that looked like by Sunday AM!

As visitors to the site with a teenage son we had to go to the trouble of downloading the campsites form requesting that ourselves and our son signed and agreed to some rules laid down to ensure that he would be supervised on site after certain times of night - something we were more than happy to do.  


Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Valley Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Valley Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Valley Caravan Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wadebridge      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3250 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement