Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Rising Sun Farm Certificated Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > West Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Rising Sun Farm Certificated Site
Gill Lane
Holmfirth
West Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HD9 2TU
Tel: 07899 842195
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 5
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 8 Reviews
                9/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 10 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Scats.miller 41 reviews from this member

Great site looking over the valley. Excellent owner and good price for reasonable facilities and a view to kill for! Many walks around but do get there by using the route given in conjunction with the website. If not you'll be lost and frustrated. A must visit in my list and gets 10 out of 10

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ian and Dee 2 reviews from this member

We would rather not tell people what a beautiful little site this is, although we only stopped one night we thoroughly enjoyed the peace and quiet, the views are wonderful. Basic toilet and shower but not a problem at all. The owner was really helpful and friendly, had an issue with directions but she talked us through without any issue. Chatted and laughed with some lovely neighbours.

Holmfirth was buzzing, very lively on a summer evening.

Check directions before going, beware sat nav, in a car it wouldn't be too much of a problem but tricky if towing or larger motorhome, at the moment it only gives directions from Holmfirth, be careful if coming from other direction.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Capstick 3 reviews from this member

Lovely cl site with magnificent views facilities kept very clean. Very friendly owners and very helpful.

Nice short walk into Holmfirth although did not walk back as up hill but a taxi back only cost 5. 00.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Flamingteacher 11 reviews from this member

What a fabulous spot!

Hard to imagine that within 30 minutes walk, admittedly up a steepish farm track, that you could move from the bustle of Holmfirth on a Saturday evening to splendid isolation, but its true.

On a clear day you can see for miles across West and South Yorkshire. Weather was pretty lively when we stayed, so we had a brilliant day watching the weather fronts come and go.

The facilities are simple but very clean. The shower was good and hot. Ground was flat in parts nearest walls, but gently sloping along the fencing and firm, even though it rained whilst we were there in our Autovista motorhome. Lots of space too. We paid 15 per night for motorhome, 2 people, 2 dogs & electric.

The owners Darren & Kim are delightful. Darren recommended The Nook as a pub in which to drink and eat. We weren't disappointed. Great atmosphere, friendly (dogs & people). Home made burgers were beautiful and enormous. Excellent value at 7. 50.

At 20 miles from home, may have found The Place! Only downside? Lots of sheep, so couldn't let dogs off leads.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kevrowan 7 reviews from this member

Nice basic site. Lovely warm shower. Warm friendly welcome from the owners. The site overlooks Holmfirth and you can walk down into the village in about 20 minutes. It's a steep climb coming back and took us about 35 minutes. Would be happy to use this site again if we pass this way in the future. 10 without electric or 13 with.

Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Drivermeg 16 reviews from this member

Nice little five unit site with only three electric hook up points at present with plans for more. Grass field slightly sloping. Wet when we arrive and required a push from a most helpful owner. Basic but adequate toilet facilities. Lovely views, will be great in the summer. Eating is a mile down the hill in Holmfirth and probably a taxi ride back up. Will definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Beckyadams86 1 review from this member

Lovely back to basics site close to Holmfirth. The site now has 2 toilets, pot wash (cold water only), a shower and 5 electric hooks ups with the owner planning on putting some more in.

Cheap as chips at 13 per night. It was very foggy during our stay but I'm pretty sure there would be stunning views over Holmfirth if it had cleared up. Short walk into town with nice local pubs. The owner was lovely and very accommodating and then left us to it. Will visit again.

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: CkJed 1 review from this member

Excellent position overlooking the town of holmfirth. Very pleasant and helpful owner. No toilets or shower when we were there but they are working on them, we didn't need them anyway as we use our own but there was water point and emptying facilities. Could have been cheaper than a tenner for what we needed but when it's properly up and running, if she still charges the same then, it will be very good site.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2064 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!