Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Chacewater Camping & Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Truro > Chacewater Camping & Caravan Park Reviews

Chacewater Camping & Caravan Park
Coxhill
Chacewater
Truro
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR4 8LY
Tel: 01209 820762
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/05/2021 to 30/09/2021
           01/05/2022 to 30/09/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 34 Reviews
                9/10 from 34 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  34 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor57 66 reviews from this member

 For access to this Adult Only site do not use your SatNav once you leave the A30 because you will be taken down narrow country lanes. On leaving the A30 at the Scorrier Interchange follow the directions provided by the campsite with your invoice on the email they send.

A bus uses this route so it is fine for all vehicles. On arrival we received a friendly welcome and shown to our pitch which had a nice view of the old tin mines.

The most interesting aspect of Chacewater Park is that it has separate areas for dog and non-dog owners. What a brilliant idea for us non-dog owners. There is nothing worse than when you get someone’s “furry baby” near you barking and yapping all day and ruining your stay.

There are Fully Serviced and Standard pitches available all on hardstanding and a few grass pitches. All have electricity but it is only rated a 10 amps which is probably why the site is only open 5 months of the year.

As with the previous reviewer our pitch backed onto the narrow lane and we agree it was used first thing in the mornings by a few vehicles but we did not think it a big issue. The site has two facilities blocks which are dated and in need of refurbishment but they were kept clean throughout our stay.

We use our own showering and washing facilities in our Motorhome anyway so it did not bother us. There are also several Chemical Disposal points around the site but for Motorhome owners there is no drive over service point. Overall we felt the site could do with a refurbishment all round as it appears nothing has been done for quite a while.

Chacewater Park is an ideal base for touring Cornwall. We hired a car for a few days and also used the buses. A bus stops at the top of the road (we think it was number 47) which takes you to Truro in one direction.

Also if you walk down into Chacewater village which takes about 15 mins you have the choice of the T1 and T2 buses. Both take you to Truro in one direction and St. Ives or Penzance in the other. They were both fairly frequent.

There is not much in Chacewater however, only one pub The King’s Head was open and a lot of the shops appeared to be closed down. A sign of the times we thought.

If you want a good central place to stay, on good bus routes at a reasonable price and you want some peace and quiet this is the site for you. 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Norman b 2 reviews from this member

 Second visit to this well organised and well established adult only park.

Situated between Truro and Redruth which is central for visiting the whole of Cornwall.

Majority of pitches are hardstanding and fully serviced, Half of the site are dog friendly the other side no dogs.

Not too far from village shops but Truro or Redruth half hour drive away for main shopping.

Excellent place to stay fully recommended. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Norman b 2 reviews from this member

 Probably the best touring site we have visited.

Very helpful and friendly owners who take pride of their site.

Adults only and all pitches fully serviced.

Central location for visiting the whole of Cornwall.

Have booked again for two weeks this year as we enjoyed it so much.

Can highly recommend. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Suzi57 7 reviews from this member

 Just returned from 14 nights at Chacewater. It was a lovely peaceful break. Weather wasn't great but facilities were excellent.

Central for visiting all round the west Cornwall area. We went to Truro, Newquay, Falmouth, Perranporth, St Ives and the beautiful village of Mevagissey. Had a trip to St Michaels Mount at Marazion.

Site had recently been taken over by a new owner and got the feeling they were very accommodating and pleasant. Only thing we would change is that although there is a washing machine there is no dryer and with the changeable weather in September we had difficulty drying the washing.

Altogether a very relaxing and peaceful break. We will return again. Would be a ten for everything if there had been a dryer. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Ianc235 4 reviews from this member

 This was our second stay at Chacewater, Lovely site, owners very friendly and most helpful, good sized pitches fully serviced clean and tidy.

Only one little disappointment was our pitch backed onto a lane that lorries and cars used and some times was quite busy and noisy first thing in the mornings.

But still a great site, we will go back again but next time ask for a pitch closer to the Reception and shower block 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Medic 1 review from this member

 Lovely site, very clean and tidy. The owners are really nice, friendly and laid back not having loads of stupid rules and regulations.

Charges to stay are the same throughout the season which is fantastic.

The site is split into two separate areas, one for dog owners and one for those not having a furry friend.

Big separate secure dog run area with bushes and hedges to keep them interested. This site is very central being near to Perranporth and other beaches, shopping in Redruth, Truro, Falmouth.

There is a bus service just outside of the site with connections to every bus route in the area. Caravan and camping dealership about 2 miles away.

The village of Chasewater is within easy walking distance. Great place to stay if you want some peace and quiet. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: JohnB600 16 reviews from this member

 We stayed on this site for 14 nights and were very impressed with the layout and facilities, the toilet block was very clean and pleasant and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

We were on fully serviced pitches and they were very spacious, plenty of room for awning and car. The approach roads are quite narrow but we had no trouble negotiating them.

The site is quite close to the A30, (about 5mins. ) and is convenient for a few local pubs and shops.

The only very slight downside is that there are not enough lights around the site.

Would definitely stay here again. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Genieb 11 reviews from this member

 Excellent. We spent 2 weeks, not the best weather, all but 2 days, when we were totally caravan bound, we were able to sit out or go exploring.

Bus stop very handy and we used it a lot. Being of a certain age has its advantages, re- bus pass, much easier than having to find parking in very narrow towns etc. We walked, visited historical buildings and sat by the sea.

The site not to be faulted, level pitch, all hard standing for caravan and awning, we had fully serviced. Clean, tidy, bins emptied daily, facilities spotless although we always use our own.

The owners. What can one say. Pleasant, helpful friendly and just great. If we are down Cornwall again would certainly revisit. Highly recommend 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Valiant1066 1 review from this member

 Cornwall's hidden gem.

What a find! A beautiful site separated into ten enclosures by hedging and fences. Very well kept grounds and a beautiful field of nearly 5 acres next door available to take your dog for a walk.

The site is in 2 parts. One that caters for up to 20 dogs and one that caters for non dog owners. 2 very clean toilet blocks. Talking to other visitors they seem to come and stay for anything up to 6 weeks,

Its very central, so easy to get to the city of Truro and its supermarkets or indeed very nearby are the Aldi and Tesco at Redruth. Literally 10-15 minutes to the north Coast and 15 minutes to Falmouth. Absolutely ideal for visiting all of Cornwall on days out.

Quiet peaceful and secluded, I can see whay people return all the time. Very well kept and lush grounds. Highly recommend it. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Usandthedog 8 reviews from this member

 I will start with the good things first. The site is in a decent location for exploring what Cornwall has to offer although it is an industrial area, and no ways picturesque. The greeting we received was pleasant and the bathrooms were clean and tidy.

However, once we got set up, and looked around, we realised our outlook was to the bins and the chemical waste disposal. From every other window, there was a different caravan. We were hemmed in a corner. When we drove round the site, we realised there was a dog owners area and a non dog owners area. This wouldn't be an issue for us if the space allocated to both groups was a fair reflection on numbers with or without dogs. The non dog area was half empty and those caravans had oudles of space around them and between pitches. We dog owners however were all shoe horned in to a small area and were on top of each other. It didn't make for a nice relaxing break.

The rest of the site looked like it was stuck in the 70's and not a lot had been done since then. The prices charged were similar to the site we had travelled on from (another Tranquil Park) yet the facilities and site were a million miles apart.

We wouldn't visit again and could not recommend. It was a disappointment after a very long journey. 


Previous     34 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Chacewater Camping & Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Chacewater Camping & Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Chacewater Camping & Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Truro      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3051 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Get a Reminder