Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Walnut Cottage Holiday And Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Kenley > Walnut Cottage Holiday And Caravan Park Reviews

Walnut Cottage Holiday And Caravan Park
Milward Rise
Kenley
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY5 6NS
Tel: 01746 785188
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 6 Reviews
                8/10 from 6 Reviews

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Pamela Nicholls 1 review from this member

 Great site if you want peace and quiet. The site has a park area for kids they even have donkeys and goats.

There's lovely walks and its not too far from much wenlock town.

We've stayed here a few times now and will go back again.

Very friendly site nothings too much trouble. New shower and toilet block is being built with disabled access will be great once complete. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Molenpad 2 reviews from this member

 Spent a couple of night here during August, it's an alright site but there are a few things which I feel should be addressed.

It's in a quiet, rural area about 15 mins drive from the village of Much Wenlock, which doesn't have a great deal of facilities. There's a butchers, a bakery, a spar, about 20 antiques shops, a graveyard and the ruins of an old priory, which is an English Heritage site. If you want more of a day out, I wouldn't bother, I'd head to Shrewsbury instead.

The layout of the site is mainly of hard-standing pitches with EHU, with an adjacent field for tents. Fairly flat and the grass is well maintained and easy to pitch on.

There is a kids play-park on site with a variety of things to play on, and there are two shower/toilet blocks, with a total of 3 showers and 3 toilets between them.

The toilets/showers are clean enough, though I wouldn't want to shower without flip-flops, but all facilities probably could do with updating. The shower and toilet is in the same wet room, so it's puts both out of order if either is being used.

The park was a hit with the kids, but to be honest, I would say it's in a state of disrepair. IT just needs a bit of TLC and probably some of the ancient swing sets and climbing frames etc chucking out.

Noise was an issue on the site whilst we were there. Children were playing on the park until around 10pm (including ours to be fair because there was no way we were settling them down before that) and after that there was music being played from a couple of different units on site. The last of the music got turned off at 2am which is pretty annoying.

I wouldn't come back to this site, but I would say if you like a site in a very rural area but are prepared for it to be lively until late (and with less than desirable facilities) then you will probably enjoy it. Nothing terrible with Walnut Cottage, just not fur us. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ratone1 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed on here few times now. The owners are very friendly and are happy to guide you to a space if you need assistance. The views from the site are lovely across Wenlock Edge. Lots of walking in the area. The site is dog friendly. Price for stay on the site is very reasonable. Definitely recommend a stay here if you passing through the area or want a long weekend to chill out. There is a children's play area if you have children. Pitches are hard standing. A drive into Much Wenlock takes around 6 minutes. A drive to Shrewsbury also a must if you are visiting the area about 13 miles away. Looking forward to out next stay on here. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Morts66 1 review from this member

 We have just come back from staying at Walnut Cottage for three nights this week.

The site is a nice quiet well maintained site with clean & tidy toilets & showers. The owners were very friendly towards us and our dog.

If you enjoy walking then this is an ideal location with plenty of walks near by at Wenlock Edge. We will definitely stay at this site again. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Colinf70 2 reviews from this member

 Not the best place we have stayed we got there just after 2pm pressed bell the had to wait for owners to move there vans so we could get in. The owner greeted us in her dressing gown as about 2 more tourers arrived then she told use she still had not emptied the bins we were there for 2 nights never seen toilets getting cleaned.

They had either been very busy or not organised

In the evening they had friends staying over too was not to impressed when they came out with air riffle. Don't know what they was shooting at at.

The birds never heard so many in the morning 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: December 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gbrownhill 10 reviews from this member

 First time visit to this lovely little site and what a great relaxing time we had, we stayed over the Christmas holidays and had the place to ourselves for a week.

The site has recently been taken over by new owners Wayne and Pen and they have worked hard to modernise it, there are now approximately 15 pitches which are fairly level with electric hookups, and plenty of wood available to use for your caravan legs when levelling up. Each pitch has an allocated car parking space in the little car park.

The site currently has two shower rooms with toilets and hand basins. There are washing-up facilities for those who don't want to wash-up in their caravan and lights that come on as you approach the toilet area that are on sensors. There are 2 or 3 cold water taps on site to fill up your water barrels, a waste water disposal area and recycling bins.

TV reception - We couldn't get a signal for the Sky box but we picked up plenty of FreeSat channels. Mobile phone signals are also patchy.

There is a small play area laid out with a trampoline and plenty of ground for children to play ball games etc.

The owners have chickens and sell fresh eggs, which are collected each day by a man called Miles, who you will see around the farm, so give him a friendly wave. There is also a chalet on site available for rental.

The local pub the Gaskell Arms in Much Wenlock (about 5 miles away) does good food, and there is a cash point across the road from it at the petrol station. There are a few other pubs in Much Wenlock as well.

It is ideally placed for walking along Wenlock Edge /the Long Mynd, for visiting the Ironbridge Gorge group of Museums, RAF Cosford and Shrewsbury

The owner was most helpful, he helped manoeuvre the caravan onto the pitch when we arrived in the dark and helped tow it off when we left. Nothing was too much trouble, we suggested a paving slab be placed under the cold water tap as the ground was wet and boggy, the next day there were chippings under the tap which saved getting your feet wet on the wet grass. Suggested a basket on the wall to put shampoo/shower gel when using the shower and the next day that had been up.

Would definitely recommend this site and stay there again in the future when in the area 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Walnut Cottage Holiday And Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Walnut Cottage Holiday And Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Walnut Cottage Holiday And Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kenley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4303 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement