Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cambrose Touring Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Cambrose Touring Park
Portreath Road
Redruth
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR16 4HT
Tel: 01209 890747
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: Easter To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 36 Reviews
                9/10 from 36 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  36 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: HeyshamWolf 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a fabulous week spent at this lovely little site. It is perfectly positioned for either Portreath or Porthtowan beaches which both have great surfing/body boarding facilities and the usual beach pubs and cafe's etc. It is also close enough to the A30 for you to drive anywhere in the county.

We had a lovely big pitch for our trailer tent with plenty of room for outdoor furniture and the car. We were very close to the Games room with pool table, air hockey and TV (great for our 15 yr old) and also the outdoor pool with sun terrace and loungers. Although we were very close noise was never a problem as the pool closed at 6-ish and the games room closed at 10. 30 pm which was strictly adhered to by the owners.

I would describe the facilities block as 'Quaint' and whilst I understand some people feel this should be updated, I disagree as I believe it would spoil the overall feel of the campsite. Yes the shower cubicles are unique and there are only two in the ladies, however, I never had to queue for a shower and they are the hottest showers I have ever come across and they are not push button ones either, which is a bonus. There are plenty of loos too.

There is a launderette with washing machine, tumble dryer and Iron & Ironing Board along with 3 sinks for washing up. A large chest freezer is available for freezing your ice packs. Additionally this site also has an accessible bathroom and family bathroom with two extra unisex shower rooms for anyone to use.

The shop/reception offers a variety of essentials and local produce along with gas and a very good selection of camping accessories at very reasonable prices.

The Pizza van on Tuesday evenings serves artisan pizza and were delicious. The Fish & Chip van opens on Monday, Thursday and Saturdays however we didn't get the chance to try them, it was always very busy though.

We ate at The Bassett Arms, Portreath which was very good value for money and the quality was superb. However, The Victory Inn at Towan Cross (about 2 miles from the site) is an absolute must if, like me, your favourite food is seafood. The Moules were absolutely amazing and they offered an extensive pub menu with plenty of local fish on the specials board too. Both pubs well worth a visit.

Overall, I cannot fault the attention to detail and the care shown by the owners of this campsite. We will definitely be booking for 2019.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Helnbrad 6 reviews from this member

Currently staying at this lovely little site. We've had a week so far and a further 5 nights to go. Well positioned for visiting the whole of Southern Cornwall. Nearest beaches - Porthtowan and Portreath good with good facilities. Easy (20 min) walk along the mineral Tramway to the Bridge Inn - lovely little old fashioned pub serving good simple food - we had a meal for 4 and desserts, drinks and a bottle of wine for 80. The campsite has a wonderful feel. The owners are very kind and helpful - I loved watching the lady in the shop spend a good 5 minutes helping a little boy choose his 20p of sweets - she didn't rush him and made him feel equally as important as anyone else. My 10 yr old loves the pool and half an hour each morning before we head out is a must. There's a local Tesco superstore, and Redruth is very close for cinema/banks etc. We love it here and would happily come back. There's gorgeous flowers near the facilities, which are clean, good and plentiful - we have never had to queue for a shower. Well done Cambrose.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Carol loves cake 1 review from this member

The site has a lovely feel to it, the owners are great and very friendly (we were encouraged to go get the tent up before paying due to large black cloud approaching!). We had one problem with hot water on the field site and it was fixed immediately. Previous reviewers mentioned noise from the road which did worry me but in 11 nights I only noticed it once or twice.

Facilities are dated but showers are good and not the annoying push button types! Laundry good, shop small but had gas bottles/supplies needed. They loaned extension cables for power free of charge which highlights the levels of trust on this site. We were in the field with a grass pitch and the field had its own loo and dishwash area. Big sink for wet suit washing and we made a lot of use of the pool! Kids (under 10) liked the play area and the small stream - didn't really use the indoor play area as mostly for older kids.

Location is amazing - so many excellent beaches on your doorstep! Would recommend breakfast/lunch at Cornwall gold and also a walk down the tramway to the beach with pit stops at the pub in Bridge.

Would absolutely recommend this site to friends!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 9tiger9 14 reviews from this member

Nice site with well tended if a bit dated facilities, owners very helpful small provisions shop on site who don't let the grass grow under their feet when it comes to keeping the place tidy and well kept. Would we return, probably not. Others on here have mentioned the amount of traffic that drives and sometimes howls up the adjacent road this spoils the rural location somewhat in the evenings. A handy site for all that this area has to offer and our base for a week.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kjgough 2 reviews from this member

A bit of a mixed bag but we would not return.

On the plus side the site was relaxed and the owners seemed friendly. The pitch was generously sized and reasonably priced and the amenities, while a bit cramped and dated, are adequate.

Unfortunately the site was really let down by a couple of things. One was the presence of dog mess in the field where we were pitched. Not really the owners fault but there were a lot of dogs there. More seriously was the noise from the road just opposite. This was so intrusive that none of us had an uninterrupted sleep for the four nights we were there.

As I think is mentioned in one of the other reviews on this site the road is very well used and in the evening often sounds like a drag racing track. On the first night we were there a car actually left the road and embedded itself in the hedge opposite, becoming a kind of short-lived local tourist attraction for the next few days.

It's a good location for touring this part of the country but sadly we couldn't recommend it to anyone else.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lannypan 1 review from this member

Just lovely! Lovely sized pitch, we have a vango icharus 600, loads of room. We were right next to the kids play area but no issues, our springer spaniel, Dylan, was so well known after our five day stay! He also lost several pounds due to being walked round the site at least five times a day! The toilets and showers were a little dated but didn't bother us at all, if you want Formica and modern cubicles etc, go to Haven or IKEA. Showers were free and lovely and hot no matter how long you were in them, toilets were clean and plenty of them (ladies, didn't check the men's!). Swimming pool absolutely ideal, not too big, even though we were there in busy season, was quiet enough to enjoy. Fish and chip hut ever other night but also Redruth only two minutes drive where there was plenty of eateries then Pool only about three minutes away with McDonald's, Domino Pizza, Pets at Home, Halfords etc. Wifi a bit intermittent, but can't complain cos on holiday, should switch it all off anyway! washing up and washing machine/drying area clean and cheap enough, nothing different to what I would expect to pay anywhere else, also very useful information board about local activities etc.

We like beaches north of Newquay, only twenty minutes drive, we also had a dog which Cornwall have clamped down on re Dog free beaches, many beaches on the coast south of Newquay you can't take a dog, but we got doggy day care for 10 about a two minutes drive from the site, Dylan loved it.

Would defo go again, Graham quite a character and ruled by Jean, who you hear but don't often see!

Just a wonderful site and would definitely, definitely, go back again to!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rowly1967 1 review from this member

A warm welcome from Graham in a well-stocked shop. A site with good, very well maintained facilities. I would definitely stay again and recommend it. It is a short drive from Portreath and the South West Coast Path, and it can also be reached by a footpath set back from the road. Above all else it is a clean, well-run and very friendly site.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jenclarke 16 reviews from this member

Good location, some road noise. Facilities a little old and tired but had been smartened up with a coat of paint. Felt the toilets and showers could have been cleaner - there were the same hairs stuck to the shower wall tiles for the 4 days I was there, obviously the walls had not been washed down. Requested to mop shower when done - I don't have any problem with that but it would have been nice if there was disinfectant and water in the mop bucket rather than just dirty water squeezed out of the mop. Did wonder if that was to save the campsite actually cleaning the showers. The end field is windy, there were 2 loos and 2 wash up sinks that end. Main facilities are near the shop and pool. There is a laundry room and freezer and a useful building with a TV, pool table, and what looked like a game machine, didn't look closely. Great for the kids I guess. Also a small play area but this was not fenced. Swimming pool small but looked very nice, didn't use it. Pleasant reception/shop which seemed well stocked. Couple of rows of stored caravans, didn't seem to be an area away from the pitches specifically for storage, spoilt it a little. They were improving their electricity supply to accommodate more EHU's. Would I go back - yes, probably the best site in the area for the price, there are some charging ridiculous prices for single campers.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Drac56 2 reviews from this member

I write this review whilst still at the site, enjoying my last evening after a wonderful week in the glorious Cornish sunshine.

Cambrose Touring Park is a wonderful little site with a big feel. The owners, Graham and Jean are lovely, friendly people and were very helpful. The site is located in the gorgeous Portreath valley which is a sheltered location and a very good sun trap. Portreath beach and Porthtowan beach are 1. 5 miles either side of the site; I understand from others that you can walk to Portreath safely on a tram line but I never did.

Although dated in its build, the site is well maintained with bright, fresh paint, well mown grass and immaculate facilities. Graham can often be seen pottering round maintaining or cleaning various things. There was plenty of hot (not just warm, hot) water for the showers or the washing up area, morning or night. There are facilities for washing, drying and ironing clothes (all at additional cost). The swimming pool, although not tested, looked clean and well maintained but was not yet filled;mid-May the owner told me.

There is an on site shop, that seemed well stocked and reasonably priced, only open for an hour in the morning and late afternoon but open on request at other times. There is a games room that had a pool table and an old looking shoot em up arcade game in it, unsure of the state of those games. It also had a working tv, crt type approx 32inch, which could be used for terrestrial tv. There is wifi available supplied by a company called club wifi; 12 quid per week or 24 quid a month as of writing, it was fast ish but very unreliable. I found that my mobile phone (O2) networks own H+ internet connection was both faster and more reliable (although I did have to tell my phone to only use this signal and not the slower GPRS signal in the settings menu).

The pitches all seemed very level and well maintained with electrical hook up on most. Some pitches are in areas where some caravans are in storage although several were moved out and onto pitch plots during my week here so maybe they'll all go that way soon? A few pitches are close to a small kids play area, a sort of climbing frame come swing come slide type affair. One can imagine this being popular, and hence noisy! I noticed a small stream running through the fringes of the site, something to be aware of with kids. CCTV covers various areas of the site, which ones specifically I don't know but the cameras are at the entrance and should help with security.

My one and only problem with this site is its proximity to the road. Until very recently I'd lived just up the road in Redruth for over 10 years and I'm very aware that although labelled as B-roads, the roads into Portreath and Porthtowan are very very busy roads. Of an evening and in fine weather not only are they very popular routes for tourists but they are popular with boy racers and motorbikes, some full throttle some not. I like to sit and listen to nature sounds or people sounds but the road makes this very difficult. It did not affect sleep at all as most of the traffic I mention disappears at about 10pm ish. But during the day and of an evening the road noise was very intrusive.

In short though, this is a little gem of a place. A well maintained, friendly and clean site with good facilities. Will I be back? A resounding yes. Although as I write this last bit as 5 young lads on scooters go past tooting horns

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Caroline and Brian 1 review from this member

We stayed here with our 2 dogs for 2 nights over the August Bank Holiday weekend. The site was incredibly clean, tidy and organised; we were given a choice of 3 pitches and as we were expecting our 4 year old Grandaughter on our second night we chose a pitch close to the small play park (number 25). This pitch has electric and is close to a small stream; the stream provided hours of entertainment for the children, wellies were filled to the brim with crystal clear water and squelched as they worked together building dams!

The toilet block is 100yards away; the toilets are kept spotlessly clean, as are the showers with good pressure and plenty of hot water! The laundry room has a freezer to re-freeze ice-blocks free of charge. There is a club house (which we didn't use) which had a TV and pool table in and was a great facility for older children to get together and make friends. The site is quiet, it has a great open flat area for games/walking dogs/children to run. Dogs to be kept on leads which was respected by all on the site. The swimming pool provides a bit of luxury with loungers available to rest in the sun; children under 15 must be accompanied by an adult. The site shop is well stocked and very convenient, daily papers can be ordered. It isn't too expensive either! There is even a fish and chip shop which is open every other evening.

Overall, Cambrose is a fantastic little site, brilliantly positioned beside an old tram line which gives a traffic free trail to Portreath beach and village (1 mile away). Portreath has a Chinese takeaway, a famous bakery, Costcutter, beautiful beach and harbour, surfing school, cafes x 3 and 3 pubs! We highly recommend Cambrose Touring park and will definitely revisit, probably before the season ends!

Previous     36 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


62 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!