Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Clanan Grange Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Thirsk > Clanan Grange Certificated Site > Reviews

Clanan Grange Certificated Site
Topcliffe Road
Sowerby
Thirsk
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO7 3HF
Tel: 07807562738  or  01845 527701
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 15
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 11 Reviews
                9/10 from 11 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Flint5 1 review from this member

 A handy stopover site for us when travelling up to the North York Moors. Lots to see in the area for a longer stay.

The owner was very pleasant and helpful.

Only negative was some road noise and you could also hear the occasional train noise too.

There is no hook up so that is reflected in my score.

However, we would definitely stay again. 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Roeby 1 review from this member

 Spot on, good position on outside of Thirsk, but within easy walk.

A little tricky to find

But overall recommended and will return at some point in the future. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Andrea 1 review from this member

 Very level field. Nice owners. Facilities were basic but not in use because of Covid. Didnít matter at all as we had our own.

Quick walk into Thirsk which was lovely.

Went to the Leisure centre which was good. An Aldi two minutes from campsite.

Slight drawback, you could hear some traffic on occasions but didnít stop a lovely few days 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Boyler 1 review from this member

 Flat, well mown pitch, clean facilities, quiet area and friendly hosts.

Couldn't ask for more for the price really.

More suited to a couple than young family I would imagine.

Will definitely stay again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: MaureenHB 3 reviews from this member

 Relaxed site, very handy for walk into Thirsk, we had a lovely two night stay. Friendly and helpful owner.

Basic facilities but all we needed. Would definitely use the site again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Neil684 37 reviews from this member

 Excellent basic campsite. Large flat field with short grass, tap, CDP and toilet. Owner very friendly and helpful. Site is just off A19 on edge of Thirsk. Although near both the A19 and the East Coast Mainline, we found the site peaceful. Apart from the road into Thirsk there is a lovely riverside walk into town. Also a bus runs from near the site into town.

Price is very reasonable making this an all round great site 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The Shaws 1 review from this member

 Just returned home from a fantastic 3 night stay, fantastic site with superb surroundings. The owners are great and welcoming with a nothing's a problem attitude. Toilets are clean and tidy and the field to pitch in is flat and cut short. Centre of town is a 10 minute walk away and has good amenities. This site is a great base to explore the surrounding areas. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Snowdragon 4 reviews from this member

 Booked by phone Saturday lunchtime and were at the site by 5:00 and soon strolling the countryside after having put quickly the tent up on a spacious, flat well, mown, dry couple of acres. Both the owners were around at various times and happy to suggest things in the area to do. Our only neighbors on the site were friendly too (Amazing there was just the one, as it was a bank holiday weekend, but it is a newly opened site).

Site had the delight of hand reared lambs and chickens in the adjacent back garden of the farm house, which gave a really nice rural feel to the place.

The facilities of a nice clean well lit toilet (automatic light on approach and inside) and a cold tap for clean water were all we wanted and all we needed. There were facilities for caravnny type necessities too, but being in a tent, we didnít need to go there.

We had a most enjoyable 2 night break exploring Thirsk, Helmsley, Nunnington Hall (National Trust) and Sutton Bank. As one of the other visitors mentioned, this area is rich with a great many geocaches, so were kept busy finding when not exploring elsewhere. Will come again. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Anthyoung 1 review from this member

 Me and my family have just stayed at this site for two nights as we were visiting the local area. This was our first time camping and we had a lovely stay.

The camp field is about the size of a football pitch and is all enclosed so the children are safe to run around. Within the site there is a toilet that is clean ed on a daily basis and also a tap that has drinking water.

The site owners were very friendly and always on hand if you needed them. The site has a number of animals which kept the kids entertained and the site owners even allowed them to help feed them. The farmer also gave the kids a fresh egg each which I thought was a nice touch

At £12 per night per tent I was happy with the price and the only improvements I could suggest would be a shower and a kids play area but I accept this would increase the pitch price.

All in all, a great site 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bestyman 48 reviews from this member

 This is a recently opened Camping and Caravanning club CS.

We liked the location. It was easy to get to, only 5-10 minutes from the A1 on main roads, so this site could also be used as a stop off to break up a long journey.

The nearest pub is in Sowerby which is just over half a mile away. There is also a fish and chip shop there.

The centre of Thirsk is 1. 2 miles away and is an easy level walk down the path at the side of the main road. There is also a longer way which is down Bridle paths which is ideal for dog walking.

Thirsk was a nice place to visit and we enjoyed our afternoon there.

The site itself is on a working farm. Noise from animals could be heard but wasn't a problem. The camping field is very large so you will always have plenty of room. Pitches are unmarked, all grass and very level.

There is a toilet, cold tap, CDP and bins. All are very clean and well maintained.

The owners are very friendly and do all they can to help. I was even sent a text after booking explaining how to find them. The site itself is very easy to find but the entrance is down a side road.

The cost for 2 people and a dog in a motorhome was a very reasonable £10 per night.

The site does not have EHU or showers.

Phone signal and 3g was excellent (Three network).

The surrounding area is Geocache heaven (if you don't know what that means don't worry).

Highly recommended and a site that we will certainly return to. 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Clanan Grange Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Clanan Grange Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Clanan Grange Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Thirsk      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6273 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement