Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Appledore Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Site Reviews

Appledore Park
Sampford Courtenay
Okehampton
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX20 2SR
Tel: 01837 659767
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 29 Reviews
                9/10 from 29 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  29 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Frozer 5 reviews from this member

If you are after a tranquil, well maintained, uncommercial site - Pick this one.

Rebecca and Tim rescued us at the last minute from having to stay at a rather loud, busy and packed site a few miles away!

As tent campers we prefer a quiet, well maintained site. We were spoilt! Flat pitches, with well mown (and collected) grass, well positioned so no-one is directly overlooked, set overlooking woods and green fields.

The showers are free, hot, and wonderfully clean in modern heated facilities. There's a family shower room, hot washing up, a washing machine, and a hairdryer.

There's no play park, no bar, no entertainment, just space to let the children play, and peace to unwind and ponder. There's excellent waste facilities for vans and motorhomes, and plenty of water taps and hookups.

Our favourite bit (other than the warm but not intrusive hospitality) was the dog walk area, fenced in so our dog could let off some steam. This is now officially our favourite UK campsite.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Campuz 10 reviews from this member

We stayed here for just one night as it was easily accessible from the A30. What a perfect site. Great location. So well thought out. Well laid out. Facilities were immaculate. The whole site was perfect an absolute credit to the owners and staff. Has to be right up there among the BEST sites we have ever stayed on. Thank you.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nossys 2 reviews from this member

It's very clear the site owners are previous caravanners, as they have thought of everything. Lovely clean and spacious wash block. Great secure enclosed dog walking area. The only downside which the owners can't change is it's quite near a noisy road, however we did go when there was no leaves on the trees and bushes which will help to block the road noise.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: AndrewMoorey 34 reviews from this member

Unfortunately the weather during our stay was terrible most of the time with very heavy rain and high winds. However good the site, the owners and facilities are it tends to colour your opinions and experiences in a bad light so we would give this site the benefit of the doubt based on other peoples reviews.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jollygem 1 review from this member

Good points - lovely clean, warm shower/toilets,

Spacious grass pitch

Good washing up area & local information

Not so good points - very noisy road especially late night & early morning (5-6am)

No playpark for children

No fence around lake

If we had been in a caravan or motorhome (which are sited further from road!) we would have had a more peaceful and relaxing stay. Although rules ask for quiet after 10pm this was not enforced on our last night, with car arriving well after 10 & shouting etc till early hours!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: M+MGalliers 19 reviews from this member

This site is easy to find and the booking process was quick and efficient. You can't walk to Okehampton (which is a bit rundown) because there is no pavement on the B road and it is a very fast and busy road.

GOOD POINTS

The tent pitches: they are large, level and well-kept.

Cleanliness: the whole site including the shower block and loos and the excellent undercover dishwashing area is very clean.

Dog walking area: this large area is fenced off and well planted with a variety of trees.

Free WIFI with a very strong signal on our pitch

Friendly owners

NOT SUCH GOOD POINTS

The showers: whilst they are new, a good size cubicle and all very clean, they operate on a sensor and the water goes off very quickly. If you don't trigger the sensor correctly again, you stand there dripping until you can persuade it to work again. The water pressure was also weak and the temperature of the water and the shower room was not as warm as I would have liked.

The road noise: the site is adjacent to a straight section of the B road. It is very busy in the morning and early evening - it's probably the way many locals go to work. As it is a straight section, some cars and quite a few motorbikes use it as a racetrack. We were in the terraced tent area which is nearest to the road and we occasionally could not even hear what each other said as the noise was so loud! I don't think this would be such a problem if you were in a caravan or motorhome, especially as the pitches for these are further from the road.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chickenbiss 1 review from this member

Just spent 3 days at the site nice little site clean and tidy, toilet and shower block superb. Just wanted to relax for a few days not so the noise from the main road is not good especially when the bikers go to and from work. The site is ideal for anyone wanting to explore Dartmoor.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Michaelmorris 12 reviews from this member

Medium sized, well laid out brand new site just outside Okehampton. Great as a base for exploring Exmoor and Dartmoor or as a convenient stopover on your way to Cornwall.

Very friendly owners and nice showers and loos.

The wildlife pond and the fire pit are lovely features.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Williamsosteopathy 1 review from this member

A fantastic caravan site my wife and I have been to a number of times, beautifully kept pitches with plenty space in between them.

A fantastic dog Walking area and well fenced.

The toilet and shower block is beautifully finished and clean and tidy, in fact you will come to find this at Appledore. All the pitches are well kept and the grass areas beautifully maintained.

Tim and Rebecca the owners of Appledore caravan park are friendly and welcoming and there is nothing they won't do to make sure your holiday is perfect.

We will be coming back again in the future

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: TrevButler 1 review from this member

This is a very friendly clean and tidy site and the grounds and shower toilet block are so well kept and immaculate, and the area is very peaceful with no light pollution at night.

We had a nice hard standing pitch with all the amenities you need including Wi-Fi.

It is a very dog friendly site with a lovely dog walk. The wild life in the area is varied and in abundance, we saw various types of birds including Owl, wood peckers, buzzards and more swallows and house martins you can count. We also saw deer in the next field.

The site is excellent value. That includes the free range eggs which tasted glorious

Sometimes you can hear the idiots racing on the main road to the north.

Previous     29 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


760 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019