Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Appledore Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Okehampton > Appledore Park Reviews

Appledore Park
Sampford Courtenay
Okehampton
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX20 2SR
Tel: 01837 659767
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 38 Reviews
                9/10 from 38 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jess2 3 reviews from this member

 Really lovely campsite and beautifully kept.

It had the most amazing dog walk within the site, practically a whole field planted with shrubs and small trees and totally enclosed so the dogs could be off the lead.

The toilet block was immaculate and Covid precautions well observed. The site is well positioned for trips to Dartmoor, or even just an hour or so from the coast.

The owners are delightful and couldn't be more helpful. Definitely well worth staying at. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Peterm 1 review from this member

 Very clean, quiet, well kept site.

Grouped into about 5 electric pitches per section, allowing easy access to the utility building and cleansing facilities.

Pleasant country views. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tollie 2 reviews from this member

 Pros, brilliant shower and toilet block, good level pitches, great dog walk, quiet, good value for money.

Cons, none!

Highly recommended and we will be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jonsat 1 review from this member

 The site is clean and tidy, with a well-organised facilities block that includes a fridge and a pay-as-you-go washing-machine (tokens). The pitches are flat and dry.

The site is surrounded by trees and feels secluded, but is close to the road between Okehampton and Crediton, and there is regular traffic noise throughout the night and in the early morning.

We were placed on a pitch not far from the road, when there were others available further away that would have been more peaceful. The owners were communicative before our visit, but less so once we arrived, and the breakfast pack we ordered didn't appear.

We arranged to plug our electric vehicle into a 13A socket but it kept tripping out so we were unable to charge, which was disappointing. 


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Tangas 1 review from this member

 A site I would definitely visit again!

The pitches were nice and level, grass was well maintained.

Site was kept very tidy. It was very quite when we were there, peaceful surroundings.

The facilities were top class.

Without fault. We would 100% stay there again! 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Timcoy 1 review from this member

 This is a fantastic campsite, very peaceful and well maintained site. Very clean toilet /shower block.

Tim and Rebecca the owners were very polite and helpful.

We will definitely be returning to this site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Deveron Chef 6 reviews from this member

 All the reviews we read before going were spot on. Beautiful site and a warm welcome. Spotlessly clean modern facilities.

The site well laid out, lovely pitches and grass cut regularly. The best dog walk ever.

Well situated for touring also a lovely site to sit and enjoy peace and quiet, what more can we say, oh excellent tariff.

Thank you for such a lovely stay. Sally and Neil Bailey 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Eriba542 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site and found it ideal for touring around and visiting the area. The shower block looks brand new and teh grass was newly mown.

The site is divided into different area, named after fruits so you select where you want to be. Some areas are adjacent to the road and on occasion some vehicles can be heard.

The warden was reasonably attentive and there is also a family shower and disabled friendly toilet. If I had to give some feedback it would only be minor comments; maybe a little more attention could be given to the toilet block.

Once or twice the toilet roll ran out and the water with the mop and bucket for the shower was very smelly. But overall we liked it and it's great as a base for the Granite way cycling route and many other things. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dr Zhivago 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed a few days mid-week with few others there. The site was immaculately clean and tidy with grass pitches and hard standings. The grass was better kept than my front lawn at home. Owners let us choose our pitch and it felt relaxed and spacious. There is a large area of newly planted trees which is fenced with gates and serves as a loose dog excercise area but is nice for a stroll anyway. In fact trees are a theme of the site.

It is a couple of miles outside Okehampton on a B-road, and although others have complained about road noise I did not notice much; in fact traffic was light by today's standards. I was some distance from the road however.

The immaculate toilet block in the centre of the field is huge and brightly painted. It was a bit too dominant and out of place for my taste, like it had been beamed in from a major seaside promenade. A pity it was not more to one side and screened by some of those trees.

No bar/ shop/ funfair/ cabaret on site which suits me fine. We did not attempt to eat or shop locally so cannot comment on that aspect, but Okehampton is nearby, and it has a spectacular ruined castle. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Frozer 5 reviews from this member

 If you are after a tranquil, well maintained, uncommercial site - Pick this one.

Rebecca and Tim rescued us at the last minute from having to stay at a rather loud, busy and packed site a few miles away!

As tent campers we prefer a quiet, well maintained site. We were spoilt! Flat pitches, with well mown (and collected) grass, well positioned so no-one is directly overlooked, set overlooking woods and green fields.

The showers are free, hot, and wonderfully clean in modern heated facilities. There's a family shower room, hot washing up, a washing machine, and a hairdryer.

There's no play park, no bar, no entertainment, just space to let the children play, and peace to unwind and ponder. There's excellent waste facilities for vans and motorhomes, and plenty of water taps and hookups.

Our favourite bit (other than the warm but not intrusive hospitality) was the dog walk area, fenced in so our dog could let off some steam. This is now officially our favourite UK campsite. 


Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Appledore Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Appledore Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Appledore Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Okehampton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3003 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement