Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Moss Howe Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Moss Howe Farm
Witherslack
Grange Over Sands
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA11 6SA
Tel: 015395 52585
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 10 Reviews
                10/10 from 10 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ajcamping 4 reviews from this member

Just returned as a family of four from a two night stay at this fabulous little site. Showers were lovely and and hot! Little socket (with a small fee) for your hairdryer, mobile etc! Camp shop stayed open quite late with all the bits and bobs you need! Buy a small bag of wood from the shop and you have use of the fire pits dotted around the site. Beautiful location and extremely helpful staff! Would highly recommend this lovely little site to any couples and families looking for a bit of piece and quiet! We will without doubt be returning this year! The Thompsons

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dkhilton 3 reviews from this member

This is great traditional campsite. Clean, crisp and tidy. No play ground, but plenty of play space. Toilets and showers excellent.

Shop well stocked with most of what you need and lots of things you want. You're even allowed fires. Logs available from the shop and fire pits provided.

No noisy / busy roads nearby.

Grange over sands closest town, Chippy Tea one night :-) lots of great shops too bakery, butchers. Windermere close too.

We're going back!

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Girloutdoors 1 review from this member

Such a lucky find! This camp site is absolutely beautiful.

Me and my boyfriend stayed for a few nights and we were made to feel super welcome! They have a little farm shop on site that is stocked with all the necessities too so don't worry if you forgot something as they will probably have it!

It has some stunning views and I would highly recommend to anyone!

The shower/toilet blocks were extremely clean and well maintained!

There was lots of walking routes close by in walking distance of the campsite as well as some great locations in short driving distance such as Grizedale Forest, Morecombe Bay, Cartmel (which has the best ever sticky toffee pudding!)

We will definitely be coming back! :)

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Acvl 2 reviews from this member

Had a really good camping experience here (except pity about the drizzle, can't blame them for that!)

Very friendly welcome by the lady in their little shop, which sells some food items and a few camping essentials, firewood etc, and has information leaflets for local attractions.

Not just your usual flat boring field - here, pitch areas are arranged on hillocks etc (though they are flat), where there is short grass, then long grass in between pitches which adds a sense of separation between tents, and a bit of wildness.

The site is surrounded by trees and greenery much of the way around, with nice hilly views from some points.

Toilet and shower facilities were spacious and clean.

Overall a pretty good experience. One drawback was that there seemed to be a lot of rocks about 10cm beneath the ground where we were trying to pitch our tent - we did eventually get all the tent pegs in though! That wasn't a big negative though, if you put pegs in at an angle, and/or bang them with a lump of firewood or a stone, they will go in.

We'd come back again if we were visiting the Lake District again.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ShirleyW 2 reviews from this member

Lovely campsite, personally thought there were to many tents for the facilities, first night was spoilt by a very loud, rude and ignorant party who turned up at 11 pm and partied through till 0530, second night I wore earplugs and did not hear them, but believe the queue to get them evicted was a mile long ! 3rd day/night was peaceful. Annette is lovely and works extremely hard to keep the place clean and tidy, Dan could not apologise enough about the noise. I would return again as its in a beautiful setting, and central for the lakes, just maybe not on a Bank holiday weekend :)

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lilyandmat 1 review from this member

Just returned from great weekend at Moss Howe campsite. Peaceful and beautiful location with lovely views from the sheltered campsite. The toilet/shower facilities are immaculate and there is a small shop for essentials. Had a campfire with wood from the shop and fire pit kindly provided by Annette. Walked from the site along quiet lanes and footpaths to Witherslack, over the Scar and down the Derby Arms a cracking pub with fantastic real ale and cheesy chips for the kids. Spent the night gazing at a superb clear sky at the stars.

The bell tents looked very inviting, may be treat ourselves next time. Cracking site if you want peace, quiet and first class facilities at great value for money. We hope to be back before the summer is over.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SheriM 1 review from this member

I visited this campsite with my partner and dog in September 2014, and what can I say about this campsite, it's a superb campsite just waiting to be found.

The lady who greeted us (Annette) is very polite and welcoming, we got lost on our way to the campsite, Annette was very helpful and offered to meet us somewhere to guide us, when we first got to the campsite, it was noticeable clean. Annette was very helpful and got us settled.

The campsite has a lovely little shop with lots of items from food and drink to toiletries.

The Campsite itself is a good size and very well maintened, the toilets and shower facilities was extremely clean and one of the best I've been to. The toilets was clean, there was always toilet roll and the showers were hot and powerful. There is even electrical plugs so you can use hair dryers and straighteners which I found very useful :). Washing up bowls and sinks are provided to wash your camping pots, there is also a dryer to dry any wet clothes.

Campfires are allowed, and we were provided with a fire pit which was lovely, firewood can be purchased from the shop.

The campsite is not far from a local pub (2 min drive away or 15 min walk) great food and a good games room for the children, we travelled into grange village which was 10 min drive, lots of shops and pubs :) found a lovely pub which shown the football which my partner was happy with, and it was also dog friendly, so the dog came in as well, as many locals had their dogs with them.

If your looking for a clean campsite with excellent shower/toilet facilities, not too far from shops/pubs but still away from the hustle and bustle, then this is the campsite for you.

This is by far one of my favourites campsites I have been to. I will definitely be going back.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mirkiov 7 reviews from this member

Friendly and helpful staff. Small well maintained site, new showerblock, shop, campfires allowed and recycling set up. Pub a hike for kids but very close by car, as is main road for getting to west lakes. There are no play items for the kids, but space to run around in. Sheep are noisy, but beautiful scenery. A good base from which to explore the south and west lakes.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Scottfamily5 2 reviews from this member

Quite simply, Moss Howe Farm Campsite is a gem of a campsite just waiting to be discovered. Our family of 5 and 1 dog went for a long weekend in June and were warmly greeted by owner and her daughter, who made us all feel very welcome throughout our stay and were more than happy to help us with any questions that we had. The campsite sits behind the impressive farm house (with small shop for essentials like firewood and Moss Howe Farm's own range of jams!) and has some beautiful views over neighbouring farmland towards the surrounding fells. The land is extremely well maintained and makes for good, flat camping ground. We took our own tent, however bell tents are available for hire and looked fantastic. The shower block and toilet facilities were pristine and there were electric charging points and a tumble dryer available within them. Dogs are welcomed but must be kept on a leash as there are two friendly cats on site, which our children loved playing with. We found the campsite to be ideal in terms of location as it was easily accessible from the south and gave us easy access to the rest of the Lake District. We couldn't believe how lucky we were to be sharing this campsite with ONLY two other families. It was bliss and we feel guilty about wanting to keep this place to ourselves, but this campsite deserves to be discovered hence the posting of this review. Do not miss out.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dazz5866 1 review from this member

Stayed here in June for my birthday and what can I say, this was a gem of a find. Great location, not too far from the tourist areas like Windemere, Ambleside etc if you fancy a drive out. The campsite has some good walks around it and there is a nice litte pub that serves great food about 1. 5 miles away.

We were greeted at the campsite by the owner (sorry can not remember her name) but she was lovely, let us pick our pitch, told us about the area, gave us some leaflets on local walks and sorted out our firepit, there's even a small shop with a few essentials and firewood. The toilets and showers were great, nice and new and clean.

Overall, a great site, would and will visit again.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2485 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!