Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Golden Coast Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Woolacombe > Golden Coast Holiday Park Reviews

Golden Coast Holiday Park
Station Road
Woolacombe
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX34 7HW
Tel: 01271 872000
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Pitches 89 / Units 342
Open: 01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 35 Reviews
                8/10 from 35 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf On Site   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  35 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kazkampa 1 review from this member

 Have stayed here several times in their accommodation but first time in our tourer. Activities and entertainment are fantastic but bowling surf lessons etc can be a bit pricey however you can get them much cheaper if you buy in advance after booking i. E. 20% discount off pottery painting etc. Evening entertainment is good and the park stars make a huge effort with the kids.

Standard Pitches have their own water which is nice, hook up and a fair size however if like me (a lone female with small child ) and your not too confident at reversing and usually push your caravan onto the pitch good luck as there's a kerb at the edge which made this a real task requiring the help of others.

The shower blocks are not at all modern they are cold and dated really need an upgrade that said I'm in there for a shower not my holiday so it's a minor thing. I come here for a cheap half term

Fun break which is what you get. Great sports facilities and fun free crazy golf football golf etc etc 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lisal1974 3 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from our stay at Golden Coast. It is within a few minutes of Woolacombe beach (by car) where you will find a very pretty village and surfers paradise.

Here are a few observations on the site:

Shower blocks - (there is a unisex block as well as blocks for ladies and gents). The latter blocks are much better with the unisex blocks in need of an update.

Swimming pools - the indoor pool is lovely with good changing and shower facilities. Be warned that it's not a place for a quiet swim as there are lots of pool rules broken that go unchallenged by staff.

Entertainment - our children were too old for many of the activities so I can't really comment on this however the staff appeared friendly and had a constant trail of kiddies which is a good sign of quality children's activities. The later evening entertainment is fun. Be prepared to have to pay for activities that your teenagers want to do. The entertainment/club house is a little dated in parts.

Wifi - free in the club house/restaurant. £5 per day to browse anywhere on site. £10 per day for streaming internet (being able to watch tv/Netflix etc. There is a discount if you pay for a full week however this is very pricey in my opinion.

Pitches - this depends on your expectations. We paid for a super pitch. This gave us water, drainage, hook up and lighting on our pitch. I was led to believe there was a to aerial point on the pitch but didn't notice it - though I'd not planned on using it anyway. You will definitely need rock pegs for these pitches. We had a corner pitch which was a short straw as it is smaller than the others. However our awning fits on the side of our tent. If we'd got a front awning we'd have struggled to fit. Despite having a carpet in the tent we could really feel the pea gravel under our feet. I don't think the super pitch was worth the extra money.

Transport - the company offer a bus to and from Woolacombe Village and beach however you should expect to queue for the bus on a busy, sunny day. This didn't appeal to us after a long day on the beach with chairs, snacks, windbreak, wetsuits and boards. You can expect to pay £7 per day parking. Though the company boast the beach being a walk away from the beach, this isn't advisable due to lack of footpaths.

We don't think we'd visit this site again despite having no major complaints but would consider Woolacoombe Bay Park as my understanding is it offers more on site and has been given a facelift. I have also heard great things about Woolacombe Sands which has its own path to the village. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Argente4 16 reviews from this member

 Was very pleasantly surprised by this site, especially after reading some of the previous reviews.

Check in wasn't great. There is a sign near the entrance where you are supposed to wait for the warden to show you to your pitch and give you your wristbands to use the facilities. Nobody arrived after 10 minutes so I went to reception who contacted the warden. We waited for another 5-10 minutes and he still didn't appear so I returned to reception, collected our wristbands, site info and pitch number. We followed the signs to the pitching area and located our pitch easily.

We were in the bottom area of the touring section which was great since it felt a bit less like a holiday camp, more like a proper touring site. It was all gravel hardstanding with small hedges between pitches. Our pitch, and those near us were all a good size, plenty of room for 7m long caravan, awning with sleeping annexe, and to sit out with sunloungers and picnic table set up. Could even see the sea if I stood up! We were in no way cramped. We had EHU, water point and TV aerial point on the pitch.

Toilet block was a short walk away. Facilities were unisex and kept reasonably clean. There were individual cubicles with shower and sink in. Showers were hot and powerful and I only had to wait a few minutes once. Some toilet cubicles had wash basins in as well and a couple were just loos with hand washing facilities for these located in the baby changing cubicle.

Supermarket was well stocked (except it didn't have burgers?) and reasonably priced. Their hot sausage rolls are great value for money for a quick bite at lunchtime. The main indoor pool was warm and a decent size, and not too crowded when we went. There is another smaller indoor pool with a paddling pool that looked pretty good as well. There were three outdoor pools. The main one is in the centre of the site, has a waterslide and also small sunbathing terrace. It was often busy and we didn't use it. We did use the outdoor pool situated near an old manor house area which is across a small lane from the rest of the site. This pool was sheltered and warm, and very quiet, with a lovely sunbathing terrace and picnic garden. The other outdoor pool is very small, and tucked away in a top corner of the site.

We used the bowling alley which was good value for money. The children enjoyed using the arcade, but generally went earlier because it got a bit busy later on.

We didn't use the other facilities such as the high ropes course, any of the water based activities (zorbing etc), or the pottery painting.

What we loved about the site was the area across the lane from the main site which had a pitch and putt golf course, tennis court, football field, a trim trail, and plenty of open space to play ball games or sit and have a picnic. There are also great sea views from this area.

We didn't use any of the food outlets but they looked ok. The Old Mill (a pub on the site) looked good, especially if you want a drink or bite to eat without the entertainment or 'club house' feeling. We were expecting a very typical British holiday park experience with a lots of noise and crowds. Despite being there over the half-term holidays, and the park being pretty full, the facilities did not appear to be stretched and we were only bothered by noise when our neighbours started hammering tent pegs out at 5. 45am! Obviously not the site's fault. The only downside is that the only place to walk or cycle to safely is Ilfracombe. Unfortunately Woolacombe's roads make it too hazardous to attempt to walk there. For a family with younger teens this site suited our needs very well and we would return. 


Date of Visit: February 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JulietD 1 review from this member

 This site is great if you want a lodge or static but not so good for touring. I booked a super pitch over the phone and when we arrived we were in the furthest possible corner of the site that felt more like it was a groundsmans yard. I asked to move so that we were somewhere near the facilities. The super pitches are not very big (or the standard) and only just squeezed our van, awning and vehicle in. A tiny grass verge separates the pitches so no feeling of privacy. The toilet block is very basic, clean but needs some love. The water was not hot at any time over the weekend. The whole site feels like it needs some love and updating and considering we were there at the beginning of the season I'd assume this won't happen during 2016. Pool is warm, minimal changing space. Bars and restaurant good and kids entertainment. Wave machine looks fun but my kids were too small to try. Golf and high ropes also good. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jadsett 51 reviews from this member

 We spent a week on this site and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We used an 'all-weather' Super pitch which had EHU, water and grey water drainage. These pitches are far enough away from the 'entertainment' to ensure that any possible 'fall-out' was not intrusive. Close at hand were 2 facilities blocks, one 'unisex' and one of more traditional layout. Both were kept clean, although, at the end of the season, were a little 'tired'. The site boasts an entertainment complex including, bars, restaurants and pools plus extensive 'adventure' facilities. Restaurant food was adequate and competitively priced. There is a large shop on site which offers a very extensive range at prices that compare favourably with most supermarkets!

There is a bus stop directly outside the site with services to Ilfracombe and Barnstaple. The site owners also run 3 other sites in the vicinity and operate their own bus service between these and Woolacombe beach, which is a surfers' paradise. For good, unfussy food in Woolacombe, we can commend the Captain's Table. A couple of hundred yards from the site entrance is the Fortescue Arms, which offers good food at reasonable prices.

We will be going back to this site! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2015  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Villa
Reviewer: Ratty 279 reviews from this member

 We wanted to visit the area for the No 1 – Best Beach in Britain, Woolacombe Sands Beach, so we opted for Golden Coast Holiday Park which is only a few minutes drive away.

Upon arrival check in was smooth and efficient and gave us our keys and off we went. They did not show us on the map where the accommodation was, however the site is well signposted and with the map in hand we had no problem finding the villa.

We opted for a two storey, two bedroom villa as these are dog friendly and great when you have the kids. The accommodation was large and fully equipped with a TV, sofa, table and chairs, full kitchen including microwave, pots, pans, cutlery, etc, a decent sized bathroom and two good sized bedrooms, one with a double, the other with two singles and two bunk beds, so there was plenty of room for all.

The villa was dated but as we were using it as base to visit the area and enjoy the facilities on the park, this did not bother us and it was fully functioning and perfect. Each villa also had a picnic table to enjoy the sunshine.

The park itself has everything you can think of, 2 Indoor & 2 Outdoor Heated Pools, Water Park, Slides, Flume & Terrace, Kiddy Karts, climbing wall, crazy golf, wave machine, high wire ropes, pool tables, snooker table, sports bar, family bar, takeaway restaurant, ten pin bowling, golf course, dog walk, outdoor play areas, plus so much more.

The swimming pools were nice and if you get there early enough you can get in there whilst it is quiet, however if you want inflatables and fun then head there later in the day.

There is a huge shop on site selling all your essentials and it is not that expensive. They also have a gift shop selling souvenirs and the usual stuff. There is a large Tesco in Ilfracombe, not too far away.

The park is also grouped with three other parks and they supply a bus service that runs between them all and you can use all the facilities at all four parks once you have your wrist band on. The bus service also runs you down to the beach.

The main entertainment area has a bar serving a range of good drinks plus food and also a kids 'bar' selling toys, games, etc. They have entertainment each evening which is the usual holiday park entertainment and was enjoyable for a night.

There is free wifi in the main areas however I struggled to get good speeds from it and you do get a paid for service but we did not try that as we could not pick up the signal in our villa. I did wander down to the Old Mill pub on the edge of the site and bought myself a drink and used their wifi which was quick and useful to use.

On the subject of the Old Mill we ate there one evening and the food was awesome, the service from ordering to getting the food was really quick and was very very nice. Not the cheapest place, but great food and drinks.

The area has lots on offer from Ilfracome, Coombe Martin, Barnstaple and miles and miles of cliff walks and beaches. Our favourite beach by far is the award winning Woolacombe Sands and we managed to park in the car park on Marine Drive in the afternoon for just £2 for as long as we liked, other car parks were charging £5 plus but were closer to the shops, main hub of the beach. Croyde beach down the road is also stunning and we spent a lovely afternoon chilling there.

Overall this is a wicked holiday park and has everything for kids of all ages and adults too wishing to use it as a base for the area. I would visit again and indeed plan to. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stevasht 4 reviews from this member

 On arrival at the site the Warden met us as we drove down the approach road and saw us to our pitch - a fully serviced pitch. He even offered to help us out pitching, but as old hands we declined. A nice touch though - if you are new to caravanning or camping - I noticed him later helping erect tents - in the rain! He was also attentive to getting us the required wrist bands and pointing out the position of all the essentials - toilets, showers, waste bins.

I have to say that the general condition of the site was not that good. The pitch we had was a Super pitch hard standing – I think we paid a bit extra for a larger pitch? They had water, electric and a TV connection point (didn't use the later) – and all had pitch night light. Some of these worked, but if you have children outside sleeping in awnings, it might be a mixed blessing – they seemed rather bright!

All the pitches had some minor levelling required, fore and aft as well as left to right. The pitch next to us seemed to suffer from some strange gurgling sounds that emanated from the drain. Just a slight point the drains were in the middle of the pitch and just a drain cover with no way of securing your pipe into drain, I managed to find a few heavy stones that did the job. You really do need rock pegs, and sturdy ones, at the bottom of the site where we were. From our pitch we could see the sea (just - but mo way was it a sea view!)The overall feeling of the site was of very little greenery and all hard standing. I suppose it is more durable than grass, but you did get the impression of being parked in a huge car park!

Toilets and showers were barely “adequate” and continental in nature ie some unisex and outdoors to a degree. With the wet and cool weather we endured, and we can’t blame that on the site, it would have been nice to have had somewhere warmer to do your ablutions. The toilets were often out of toilet paper, warm water was elusive for handwashing as was soap, and the old fashioned hand dryers did nothing to warm/dry your wet hands afterwards. The showers on one visit were in darkness and the water for the showers was cold as well – there was obviously a “local” power cut to the shower block. The rest of the time the showers did have warm water. The showers were old in design, nowhere to hang things, and a sopping wet floor making it difficult to dress in comfort. Incidentally we suffered a number; I think three in all power outages on the pitch as well - these were not, I was told caused by over usage or individual piches 'tripping' the system.

The bus service is a nice touch and handy for getting to the town of Woolacombe or any of the other sites that are part of the group. There are only three services to and from the site to the beach in the morning and three in the afternoon – not sure if there are more services in the summer months? Parking at Woolacombe varies in price per day, but expect to pay at least a £5 for the day – usually more. The buses can be busy, some of the services are “open top” but they appeared to miscalculate when to put the fully roofed service on, occasionally when the weather was bad that can lead to a wet and cold ride for people, especially with young children, so be warned!

In summary – the warden did what he could and did it well. The cleaning of the showers etc didn’t appear to be his remit. The site has a typical holiday camp feel and meets the needs of many, but it is dated, and don’t expect top notch entertainment, although the younger kids will enjoy it. The ventriloquist, who we missed, was good, or at least he was when we saw him elsewhere. The pools are “okay” but not much room it would seem, to lounge about when you get the sun - but then you ought to be on the beach! The site shop sells just about everything you'd need, and is not excessively pricey. The touring side is tired and needs upgrading, its aimed, I would say at the younger families, the toilet block I would give a 4/10 with the showers a real let down. Don’t think rolling Devon countryside, think of large car park with a few hedges.

Would I return? Definitely not, but I don’t think we are the market this site is aimed at, we thought our older teenagers might have used the facilities, but even they found it not to their liking. O2 and Three networks got phone signal in places, but not 3G – but that goes for the whole area to be fair. There is Wi-Fi on the site – but it appeared to be in certain areas, no Wi-Fi networks were detectable in the bottom touring area, the kids used free and slow access in the reception. 


Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Imtheman 1 review from this member

 First I must complement all the staff I interfaced with for their politeness and help all were well presented.

Unfortunately some of the facilities were a little below standard. The touring toilet/shower facilities were clean but rather cramped, showers had only 1 tiny hook on which to hang clothes and no stool to sit on. The sinks suffered from the usual kleptomania that seems to be endemic with the touring fraternity ie NO PLUGS, some members must have a framed dining room wall full of these plugs.

I ate in the Old Mill, only once, the carvery was very poor both in presentation and taste, movement between bar and dining room was fraught as hand rails were sticky and clammy needed to wash hands frequently. Harry's Sports bar boasts 5 wide screen tv sets the night I visited all tv's were showing same programme. Old Mill had good selection of Real Ale, Harry's bar none.

Wife and I choose to eat and drink at local pub just up road the difference was amazing.

I personally will not be visiting this site again sorry.

I have had to enter a score for child friendliness but I had no children so I have entered 1 out of 10 as I can't properly score this item 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Johughes 6 reviews from this member

 We wanted somewhere with indoor activities as the weather had turned really bad. This place is great if you want a Butlins type park, full of families and loads to do. The descriptions of 10 pools etc refers to the combined facilities of all 4 parks (in this group) so is a bit misleading, but still plenty to do here. The Pottery Cafe is fun, but VERY expensive. Our electric tripped out, but it took 3 hours and 3 calls before anyone came to sort it out (the box was sealed shut so I couldn't do it myself). We only used the Unisex shower block as it was nearest to us, but it was dirty and cold, the shower plughole blocked, and barely enough room to use the plug to dry your hair, but there was a chair to put your things on.

Not our type of place really, but it served the purpose. We didn't leave the park so don't know about the area. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sally sharp 5 reviews from this member

 There are very few grass pitches on this site and they are next to the main road in and out of the site which does put you on view a tad and can be a bit noisy, also the pitches are a bit close together so you do feel like you should be picking your neighbours baby up when they are crying ( most of the night !)

The site is by the nature of it a bit noisy as you have a surf shack bar near by and the main club house isnt that far but it never kept our children awake and was mostly finished by 11 ish at night so to us not a problem.

The toilet block near to the tents really could do with a complete overhall - the showers work but that's the best that can be said about them, there is no where to put your clothes etc and there is a washer and tumble dryer inside the ladies so men can come and go as they please! - not ideal !

Also the washing up facility is just 2 sinks which are not even under cover ! I later found out that there is another block which is far better a couple of mins walk away in the back block.

There is a site warden who patrols the site and 'lives' in his camper van, perhaps we are used to staying on quieter sites but I found him a bit intrusive especially when he kept looking over our wind break to check our bbq was off the ground

The site has an excellent shop which isnt too over priced and had good opening times. Other facilities that we used on the site were the indoor pool, this was very clean and never seemed to get too busy, the outdoor pool again was heated well and the children enjoyed the slides.

We did venture to the indoor pool at Twitchen once as it has a fun mushroom but were disappointed that they only put this on for 5 mins every half hour (yes sad I know but we did time it ).

The children's entertainment at billys bar was very good and all our girls really enjoyed Billy and Betty beachball. There is an indoor soft play for smaller children and a free cinema which is great for rainy days.

We did go ten pin bowling which you do pay for but it is reasonable rates and nice up to date facilities. The children's playgrounds were very good and they especially liked the one at The Old Mill as did us Adults enjoy the food there which again was reasonably priced.

Woolacombe beach is lovely although parking at £7 a day is a bit costly, you can pay £4 per person per week to get the bus from the campsite. We also visited Croyde beach which was good to watch the surfers.

Just a few mins away from the camp site is Borough Farm and every wed evening 'Mist' the sheepdog (kids programme on channel 5) does a sheepdog show and there is also a falconry display, its a great show and well worth a visit.

We also visited the Big Sheep which is good day out for younger children although it is about 45 mins away.

Had a great time here but this is not a quiet tranquil site. I would return to this site but probably not in a tent. 


Previous     35 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Golden Coast Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Golden Coast Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Golden Coast Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Golden Coast Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Woolacombe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1816 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement