Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Weston Pools Village

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Oswestry > Weston Pools Village Reviews

Weston Pools Village
Weston Cotton Farm
Oswestry
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY10 9ER
Tel: 01691 671812
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 20
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/12/2020
           01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 12 Reviews
                8/10 from 12 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Cheryl 1 review from this member

 Stayed in a hobbit house which was clean. The toilet and shower facilities were very clean. And the clubhouse was a great little pub. Finished the weekend off with a brilliant breakfast at the clubhouse and the staff serving in there on the morning were really friendly.

Wasn't impressed when we arrived the the girl that checked us in. She didn't tell us anything about the facilities and didn't seem friendly at all.

But all in all we would visit the site again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Ronni54 35 reviews from this member

 Just returned from this site and our experience was totally different from the last review! I enquired about availability through this site and got a phone call back 10 minutes later to book me in.

On arrival we checked in at the tackle shop and was shown our pitch on a map. The facilities were spotless and we had no problem finding the CDP. There were several vans but most seemed to belong to fishing enthusiasts.

They did leave the site quite early - keen fishermen tend to start early and finish late! The site was fairly full but some were seasonals and not occupied while we were there.

The site was quiet at night. My husband had two days really good fishing and can't wait to return.

Can't comment on child friendliness but didn't see any facilities for children. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Timeto 1 review from this member

 Received booking cancellation (in error) on day of travel - not a good start.

Arrived at park at 6. 45pm. Signed in by young woman in bar who admitted she didnít usually deal with arrivals and was unable to answer any questions.

Park wasnít full and easily found our pitch - which was occupied.

Decided to stay on adjacent pitch both nights and nobody checked - question mark against park security.

Seemed to be quite a few works vans staying on the park. Evidenced by vehicles leaving early in the morning and returning late at night. Accompanied by plenty of noise.

Lovely setting as long as you like fishing.

Couldnít locate chemical waste and no one to ask.

At £34 per night we expect better and unlikely to be returning.

We hope our experience was an exception and not the norm. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 86 reviews from this member

 We've just had 3 pleasant nights at this site, while we were on a cycling break with friends who were staying in Oswestry.

Arrival is a bit confusing as what is supposed to be the reception was mostly closed while we were there, but we got sorted in the clubhouse.

Our pitch was overlooking the main fishing pool, which had a pleasant aspect and it wasn't much of a walk to the shower block, which was kept spotless while we were there. The shower cubicle are a bit on the small side and I still hate 8-second plunger buttons.

Location-wise, we found it to be really handy for accessing our cycling routes and the walk into Os. Took about 35 minutes.

We actually had Sunday lunch in the clubhouse shortly after arrival and the staff there were very friendly and welcoming. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Magnum23 6 reviews from this member

 This is an interesting site. If you are a fisherman it is ideal. We had a fully serviced hard-standing with water, waste, electric hookup, digital TV point and waste bin. We did not use the tv point as the digital signal in the area is excellent we used the caravan aerial. The manger allocates a pitch to you but as the pitch we were given was very small we asked to change it. There is a clubhouse on site which seemed to be popular with locals and fishermen. The toilet facilities are excellent. The site is now complete and all the building work is finished. There are 2 log cabins and five hobbit houses close to the camp-site. The walks round the fishing pools are pleasant and there appears to be a dog walking area. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Duchess10 1 review from this member

 We have just spent a fabulous 3 days on western pools caravan &a camping park. We choose the site because of the fishing, which was awesome. The site is lovely, the shower block is very clean and the showers hot and powerful. We had a choice of fishing ponds all seconds away from the camping area. , which is full of fish, you will not be disappointed with the fishing. We walked into Oswestry which was a pleasant walk on a narrow country lane, we spent an enjoyable afternoon wondering round the various shops. We didn't see any campers with children so cannot comment on whether child friendly, there are not playgrounds etc on site. There is a dog exercise area which was adequate. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. We will certainly be booking another visit to western pools. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dragon04 19 reviews from this member

 After reading the other reviews we wondered if we were on the same site.

Going to start with the good points:

Excellent toilet and showers, clean, warm and plenty of hot water.

Wifi connection is excellent.

Electric hook up, water and waste all convenient on pitch.

Points we didn't like:

Hardstanding pitch covered in weeds, a quick spray with weed killer is badly needed.

Road around site is crushed concrete makes the site look unfinished.

At the time we visited there new pods were under construction it turned a quiet site into a building site, while we understand this work has to be done it would of been nice if we were told before we booked or even when we arrived. When we mentioned this to the staff they didn't seem to think it should of been a problem.

We left the site after 2 days of a 4 day booking. There are far better sites for £25. 00 a night I don't think this site is worth the money.

No we won't be going back. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pelco73 1 review from this member

 Not long returned from an Easter weekend break to Weston pools village. Excellent campsite superbly maintained toilet block with plenty of hot water and good showers. Site also benefits from free WIFI which is a great plus for teenage children. The site is mainly used by fishermen as its main business is as a fishery. The staff on site very friendly and the club house was a bonus. This site would certainly get a five star rating if rated by the AA or other bodies. We were not expert fishermen but had a go with the advise of the team on site, and managed to catch a fish. This site also offers easy access into north wales and Snowdonia. Oswestry town centre is only a mile away with all the shops needed for supplies. We would definitely be back for another visit. The only thing this campsite may benefit from is a small play area for children. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Steve Benton 1 review from this member

 Visited this site for a boys weekend fishing with my 13 year old. The site is relatively new but is immaculately maintained with spotless facilities. Cannot find fault with the site or the owners who were very pleasant people to deal with.

The fishing on site was fantastic with all the pegs well maintained. The lakes contain some serious fish as we found out with some exciting fights.

Highly recommended as a venue for a few days fishing with the advantage of camping 20 yards from the lakes of which there are five or six to choose from.

One word of caution is that the complex does get very busy at weekends with competitions but in fairness the owners stated that the camping visitors will always have pegs available.

We couldn't see any camp shop for those little essentials but the site is only just becoming established and this may develop in the future. In fairness Oswestry town is only a couple of minutes away in the car or half an hours pleasant walk along the lane so was no issue.

Thoroughly recommended site and congratulations to the owners for developing a fantastic fishing / camping complex. We cant wait to go back, 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Whiteknight16 1 review from this member

 Stayed at this site, every now and then a site stands out for its service and facilities, this is such a site. The owner Rachel could not have been a more helpful lady. The toilet and shower facilities where absolutely spotless as was the laundry room, I am not a fisherman but the created lakes add a lovely backdrop to the site and don't worry about the fishermen you wont even know they are there.

All in all a highly prized site that will only mature and improve even further. 


Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Weston Pools Village child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Weston Pools Village?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Weston Pools Village dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Oswestry      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3108 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £865

Get an email reminder on 1st December