Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (North) > Woolacombe > Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park > Reviews

Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park
Beach Road
Woolacombe
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX34 7AF
Tel: 01271 870569
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here

Pitches: 158
Open: 22/03/2024 to 04/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 47 Reviews
                8/10 from 47 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  47 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Mandylf 6 reviews from this member

 Stunning holiday site.

The park has on site entertainment, heated indoor and outdoor pools, a fully equipped shop and laundry facilities.

The views are spectacular and its a short 10 min walk to the beach via Avenue 6.

I stayed on a fully serviced pitch close to ablutions. They were dated but functional. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Joy Templeton 5 reviews from this member

 We had never visited this site before but it was perfect. The friendliness of the reception team when we booked in was first class.

We stayed in a static caravan whilst our kids stayed in a tent.

The facilities were so good, the caravan was clean and well provided with everything we needed. It was also a nice walk down to the beach.

The entire campsite and holiday park was well maintained and we used the pool for an afternoon swim as well. Once again, the pool area was clean and facilities provided to store your clothing.

Even though it was quite a big holiday park, we never felt on top on our neighbours or anyone else. Everyone just was there to enjoy themselves and have a good holiday and behaved appropriately.

We booked using a Groupon voucher which helped with the cost, but the normal cost of staying there is not exorbitant and is well worth it. 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Opal0313 29 reviews from this member

 Love the location of this holiday park. I know it's very hilly but the views are lovely. Great clubhouse with lovely meals, good portions and at a reasonable price.

Excellent clubhouse staff. Wish I could say the same about the reception staff. No one knew where we emptied our grey waste as we were on an electric pitch not fully serviced. One receptionist told us to empty our grey waste in a soak away.

We asked two different receptionist if we could stay an extra night. Both said they were fully booked when we seen many many pitches electric, non electric, grass and hardstanding pitches available.

When asked for an explanation of why that was we were given poor excuses like we are resting grass pitches and the hardstanding pitches had been cancelled!

So why could we not move onto one for one night. Thought they would be be happy to have extra money because of covid and as we were with friends that's double.

Because of these reasons I would not be eager to return. Maybe in a few years to see if these two points have been improved.

Otherwise a great location and a lovely holiday park. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: JeanTrunks 1 review from this member

 We stayed on a super pitch right next to the lane down to woolacombe beach. Good pitch with lovely views of the sea.

The showers were clean but otherwise useless and very dated. Luckily we had a motorhome so could use our own facilities. The shower was never hot and very intermittent. The soap for washing your hands after using the toilet had no soap in it.

For this wonderful site the cost was 30 per night, not cheap, I expected better.

The dog walk was good but at the very top of the site a lot of climbing very steep hills. 


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Siscjw 1 review from this member

 Loved it here although a bit hilly for the ones that struggle, we had one of those in our party but thankfully we had a car to drive to the club house which would have been impossible because of where we were situated.

Driving was difficult over the large divets in the road caused us problems but nothing lasting thankfully.

Great clubhouse and entertainment, the staff were very tongue and cheek and took nothing seriously which was a nice change.

Food was very good value huge portions and very tasty, hats off to the chef.

Would recommend the site just be mindful if you have a disability. G

reat places to visit and we recommend Woolacome beach. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Merlina40 4 reviews from this member

 Thought I would just give a quick more up to date review. Have just had a week at Woolacombe Sands. The park is laid out in terraces with camping and touring pitches on nearly all levels.

There is a choice of grass, hardstanding (gravel) or super pitches with their own tap, drain, tv point and light. We were on grass which quickly became waterlogged following torrential rain, and had previously been used A LOT and was a complete mud bath.

We noticed one particular pitch was reused/allocated 3 times during one week, when empty pitches in better condition were available. I can only assume this allows them to only re-seed a few pitches instead of many? Not very fair on paying customers to have to live in a mud bath! Our caravan flooring was a mess.

Also there are no pitching rules, so long as you are within your pitch. We came back from a day out to discover a tent had pitched literally 12 inches from the back of our caravan! We couldn't walk around the back without tripping over guy lines. We could hear all their conversations and no doubt they could hear ours. Talk about invasion of privacy!

The reception was warm and welcoming. The clubhouse was very nice and drinks reasonable and they do happy hour while the children's clubs are on and after evening entertainment (which we didn't see).

Yes the whole site is very hilly and there were quite a few using cars to go to and from the toilets and showers. We were on a level with it's own block so I don't know why people with mobility issues chose a pitch on a level without one?

The blocks were mostly clean, modern etc 3 toilets and 3 showers in each block, (not sure if this would be enough during high season?) hair dryer available. My shower wasn't very warm and was the annoying push button type.

The one thing that is really annoying was the cleaners arrived around 8-8:30am every day and closed the block for at least an hour for cleaning. Absolutely ridiculous time of day. Everyone was getting up, needing to use the block and were seen to storm off very annoyed at this massive inconvenience!

It didn't help that one cleaner spent most of her time using her mobile phone while a pole was in place of the doorway to the ladies and nothing seemed to be happening? They could at least rotate cleaning times?

They have a sign up saying male and female cleaners, but they don't call through the door that they are coming in, they just walk in, my husband turned away from the urinal to come face to face with the woman cleaner who had entered un-announced! The male cleaner also just entered the female block while ladies were showering. I personally find this disturbing.

The shower trays overflow, and I found myself sat on the loo with a river of someone's shower water flowing past my feet YUK.

The washing up rooms have 2 sinks they are enormous! Only one plug available. Take your own washing up bowl over with you as it takes an age to fill the sink, and seems a waste of hot water.

The position of the park is brilliant for the views and for the short trek into Woolacombe and I would like to return at some point, but not until improvement is made to the toilet facilities and cleaning routines. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Percy on tour 49 reviews from this member

 Woolacombe Sands is a holiday park situated in a steep valley overlooking Woolacombe Bay. There is a shop, a clubhouse, indoor and outdoor pools, an arcade and a bowling alley.

Set in terraces on one side of the valley, it is very hilly location and not really suitable for anyone who has mobility issues - especially if you're a camper or a caravanner, because the touring pitches are located on the lowest terraces whilst the clubhouse, shop and pools are further up the hillside.

There is a footpath to Woolacombe town centre and the beach, which is about twenty minutes walk away (and certainly offers a gentler return climb than walking along the main road). Although there are three stiles to negotiate en route, the path can also be used to cycle down to the town and back.

The hardstanding pitches are large enough to accommodate car, caravan and awning. There are taps and waste points nearby, although the shower and toilet block can be a trek from the furthestmost pitches.

The showers and toilets are a bit dated, and it can be a bit hit-and-miss whether you get a hot shower or not. Therefore, the showers in the indoor swimming pool are a more reliable bet (with the added advantage that there are plenty of piping hot radiators upon which to drape wet washing while you're enjoying a dip!).

Woolacombe itself is something of a one-horse town, with a small supermarket, a few bars and restaurants, and a few more surf shops. However, the beach is wide and extensive and it is clearly for the surfing that it is renowned.

Parking is limited and the car park charges punitive unless (like true surf aficionadoes) you plan on staying on the beach all day. However, it is free to park on-street in the town after 6pm if you prefer a less costly and more leisurely stroll on the sands to watch the sun set.

Barnstaple is the nearest large town, with a shopping centre and large supermarkets. In addition, there are beautiful expansive beaches at Croyde Bay and Saunton, although again parking is expensive. Furthermore, the local road network around Woolacombe is often narrow, hilly and winding, meaning even a ten mile journey can take nearly three quarters of an hour! There is a limited bus service to Barnstaple and Ilfracombe.

In summary, Woolacombe Sands is a decent family camp site providing you possess a stout set of legs, enjoy surfing and other beach activities, and don't plan on doing too much touring around.

Remember too that if you are towing you are better off taking the A361 through Barnstaple (which, though busier on holiday weekends, is a superior road to the A399 from South Molton that satnavs often send you on). 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dmurray1 4 reviews from this member

 The stunning beach is 15 minutes arduous walk down a worn out track not suitable for pushchairs. Site is very steep but with incredible views.

You'll need rock pegs for awnings on hard standing pitches though these are sold on site in the well equipped shop. The ladies showers/toilets were not clean but the water was hot and water pressure was decent.

The pool was cloudy and not at all inviting and you have to go through the arcades to get to the small outside pool. This is an expensive site for the level of facilities but it is quiet and the grounds are very clean.

The playground is for small toddlers only and the football pitch is in a bit of a state.

Woolacombe is a beautiful sea side village with a cracking beach but it's not enough to make us want to stay at this site again. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MGL262 9 reviews from this member

 The location of this site is great. 15 minutes walk away from the award winning Woolacombe Beach, but if you don't fancy the walk, there are car parks next to the beach costing 7 or 8 a day. We paid this as carrying all our stuff for 15 minutes there, and 15 minutes back didn't appeal.

You won't fail to notice as you pull into the site that it is set on the side of a hill. So manoeuvring you caravan will well and truly test your clutch control and hill starts!

Pitches are terraced, so the view of Woolacombe is great. Some pitches are quite tricky to get onto but with the wife at the controls of the motor mover all I had to do was sit back, relax and hope for the best.

The site offered wifi, but at 3. 75 a day, I thought this was quite expensive so I didn't bother.

The site had 2 pool, a clubhouse and shop but we didn't used any so can't comment about these

There is loads for all the family to do in the local area, one of our favourites (apart from Woolacombe Beach) was the Cliff Top Railway at Lynton, about 30 mins drive away.

To improve the campsite, the toilets and showers really need refurbishing. Some are pretty grotty. The showers could do with more than one hook to hang clothes on and a bench would be handy. The cheap plastic shower curtains are useless, don't bother with them. In the whole time we stayed, I didn't find anywhere to dispose of grey water, luckily there was an unused multi serviced pitch so I used theirs.

We will certainly return to Woolacombe, but we'll probably find another campsite. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ben10 5 reviews from this member

 This is a good site with all the facilities you'll need for a family holiday. Fantastic views of sea and countryside. The walk down to the beach is not too steep but as it had rained heavily it was a bit slippery and muddy.

Club house was nice but a bit loud for us, you had to be there very early to get a seat we used the indoor pool a lot it was never too busy and my son really enjoyed it.

The site shop was excellent but a little pricey. One of our reasons for choosing this site was its dog friendly attitude but there were only 2 dog waste bins both involving negotiating a very step climb and although dogs were aloud in the club it was far too loud and most dogs in there looked very stressed.

They had 2 terraces smoking and non smoking but dogs were only allowed on the smoking one ?as non smokers it meant we only stayed for one drink while our son was in the arcade then left.

The sites biggest let down are the roads away from the complex area they're very pot holed and a serious trip hazard.

Overall though it's a good site ideal for young families and beach lovers. 


Previous     47 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Woolacombe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


51699 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement