Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Kings Forest Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds > Kings Forest Caravan Park Reviews

Kings Forest Caravan Park
Wideham Farm
Icklingham Road
West Stow
Bury St Edmunds
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP28 6HE
Tel: 01284 729657  or  07704 337352
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20 EHU Pitches & 15 NON- ELECTRIC
Open: 1st April - 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 15 Reviews
                10/10 from 15 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Redterrrier 2 reviews from this member

Terrific Caravan Park, A Wonderful Forest just as you walk out of the campsite, Great for us with our old terrier, loads of sniffige for him, lol.

The owners were very helpful and friendly, I must mention the shower and toilet block, The cleanest I have ever come across and very, very Good,

In all a Great Site, Thanks for a great Stay, will be back in Autumn time.

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Smiler701 3 reviews from this member

Brilliant site, attached to Forest, which had some great dog walks. The site was spotless and the shower block looked new and had everything you could need.

We like that once introduced we were left to get on with our holiday. It was a good site as we were able to visit family in the Bury area as well as in Ely and Mildenhall. The weather was great which helps.

Will return at some point. We really enjoyed our stay.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jessand 2 reviews from this member

Lovely site, good facilities and great being next to the forest. We took bikes and explored the forest, country park and nearby nature reserve.

It is a friendly, quiet site and a great place to get away from it all.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Explore with Dora 16 reviews from this member

We don't actually live that far from this site, but just fancied a 1 night away and what a perfect choice this was.

The site is easy to find, has easy access even for the largest units and the pitches are all level. The site has only been open 2 years but there is already landscaping going in and there are a couple of seating areas.

The new facilities block is of a good standard and is kept spotlessly clean, helped no doubt by the fact that it is an adult only site so no children to mess things up!

There are no hardstanding pitches but the ground looks as if it drains well and I think this adds to the informal feel. There is direct access to the forest, West Stow Anglo Saxon village is directly opposite, Fullers Mill gardens are a short walk away and Suffolk Wildlife Trusts Lackford Lakes are also close by, so there is no shortage of things to do.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sonia1307 1 review from this member

We booked here for 3 weeks and before we arrived were wondering if we had done the right thing as maybe we should have booked a week and moved on to somewhere new, but both glad we didnít. We were met with a warm welcome from Jane (no hassle for payment, she said pitch up and Iíll catch up with you later), which was really nice.

The grass was very dry as the weather had been really hot which subsequently attracted a lot of ants (not down to owners) but was easily solved with some ant blocks. The site is so peaceful and relaxing, with direct walks into the forest and the country park opposite.

This is truly the only time Iíve been away and fully relaxed. The owners, Jane and Leigh, go above and beyond - during the very hot weather Leigh brought frozen water bottles around for everyone; also on our last week our electricity blew, we were using another hookup lead with plugs but it was difficult without the fridge.

I did asked Leigh if he had a bucket we could borrow to stand some milk in and he asked what the issue was so told him, without any hesitation he said Iíll go get my tools and have a look and got our electric working which I was very grateful for.

The shower blocks are very clean and tidy with plenty of room, the only downside to this, which is only my personal preference, is the unisex toilets as if Iím booking and see unisex I will always pass on by but I must of missed that part however Iím glad I missed it as even though it was a issue for me the camp site is beautiful.

I think the other minor issue, as this is a very new campsite, is the pitches arenít marked out - You pick your pitch which is really nice, but itís very unclear where you should go. You would hope people have common sense but we had 2 people pitch up either side and virtually on top of us whereas other pitches had more room than needed. We went out and came back to someone pitched sideways, in between us and our neighbour. I have no idea how they managed it to be fair and they hooked up 2 boxes down.

Thankfully they was only there for 2 nights and they didnít snore. I think maybe a simple solution would be to paint the fence post or something to separate each pitch. Other than that, what a fantastic place

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Benzene 1 review from this member

What a great place and adults only too! We stayed here for 3 nights in the heatwave. The owners brought us a bottle of iced water to keep us cool as we were pitching the tent and it was much appreciated, We had a slight issue with ants but this was solved by a bottle of ant powder from the owners.

It's a very laid back site and no one hassles you to pay. It's got 3 unisex loos and a disabled loo plus separate shower rooms for male and female. 3 showers for the women and 2 for the men plus sinks with hot water and soap. It's all very clean and nicely decorated. There is also one sink for pot washing.

The ground was very hard so we bent a few tent pegs trying to get them into the ground, but I imagine that under normal conditions (ie no heatwave) it is somewhat easier.

The site is opposite the entrance to West Stow country park (and the Anglo Saxon village) so there's a cafe there and lovely walks through woods and round a lake with lots of seats. The King's forest is next to the campsite and we went there at dusk on 2 nights and wandered round the forest in the relative cool of the day, spotting deer etc.

The campsite has paddocks wih horses in and it was interesting (as non horsey people) to watch them. We will definitely be going back.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Nectaryweasel 5 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site enhanced by a very warm welcome from the hosts.

It's situated set away from what is already a quiet road and not too close to any large town - noise is miminal. There are no nearby street lights to spoil the view of the night sky.

Itís like a clearing in the forest and there are paths which go off into a forest denser than any I have seen since I visited the New Forest. Itís an adults only site with level pitches and is designated a ďquiet siteĒ so, with no disrespect to my parent friends, there are no screaming kids playing football against my tent/van.

The sanitary block is spotless and Iím finding it hard to find anything to criticise. Toilet paper is provided and although there are no basins in the toilets themselves, dispensers with antiseptic hand wash are installed. The showers are large with ample hooks for towels/clothes etc.

There is a chemical toilet disposal point.

Mine was a pitch with electricity and behind it was a field where horses played and beyond that, a field in which a herd of deer were feeding. To remind me that this was the twenty first century, occasionally military aircraft passed over on their way to or from the military bases in two nearby towns/villages.

Across the road and only five minutes walk away is West Stow Anglo Saxon village, well worth the visit. If you can go there when the re-enactors are in residence it adds immensely to the experience.

The nearby towns are easy driving distance but not so close as to pose a threat to the peace and quiet.

An excellent site.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: David1952 1 review from this member

The owners are both very welcoming and friendly. The location is beautiful and so peaceful.

The showers and toilets are spotlessly clean. I would definitely recommend this site to anyone wanting peace and quiet.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Thank you Jane and Leigh.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Waspypc 3 reviews from this member

Wow! We've just returned from a weekend at Kings Forest Caravan Park. We had a fabulous stay. We had a lovely informal welcome from Jane who had loads of information for us about the forest and places to visit.

There's loads of space and we were able to pick out own pitch. They have a new shower block that was always clean and loads of hot water.

Both daytime and at night it was wonderfully peaceful and I saw a Barn Owl flying around. We are already planning our next stay!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Charchar 1 review from this member

Lovely little campsite. Excellent facilities - toilets, showers and washing up area clean and tidy.

The location next to the forest was ideal. The owners were very welcoming and friendly. Will be visiting again

Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4701 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019