Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Chy Carne Camping & Touring Park ( Chycarne)

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Helston > Chy Carne Camping & Touring Park ( Chycarne) Reviews

Chy Carne Camping & Touring Park ( Chycarne)
Kuggar
Ruan Minor
The Lizard
Helston
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR12 7LX
Tel: 01326 290200
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: April To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 88 Reviews
                8/10 from 88 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  88 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Mrcampa 4 reviews from this member

I would agree 100 % with the last 2 reviewers comments.

On arrival we were allocated a completely different caravan with no explanation as to why.

We had booked a caravan over the phone and been very specific about the plot. Not wanting to make a scene we decided it was a bonus to have an extra room. The caravan was larger but quite a bit older.

The rooms needed airing and whilst making up the beds -one duvet had blood stains on and pillows had sick stains on, and some smelt of urine. Again not wanting to get annoyed we asked for replacements. The fridge also needed a small repair, which no one must have checked on inspection, before we arrived. All complaints were dealt with however quickly and with an apology.

The shower rooms had water all over the floor, we were not using them but felt sorry for anyone who had to. There was rubbish around the site and rubbish bags strewn next to the bin area which smelt like it had not been emptied for weeks. The result was every morning cleaning up the odd rogue and plastic bag floating about the site.

The shop on site was filthy and this had obviously filtered down to the cleanliness of the caravans. As we were leaving I checked under the beds to see if we had dropped anything during our visit and was horrified to find DOG/CAT MESS UNDER THE BED. It had obviously been there for quite some time. The cleaner if they have one must simply not care about either cleanliness or the health of anyone staying in the vans.

Both myself and my partner were rather shocked and upset by this and in utter disbelief that this had not been found -through sheer laziness and lack of general hygiene standards and training.

The site itself has masses of potential and is a beautiful spot but I'm sorry to say within 200 yards of this site there are other better looking sites, as for this site other than the politeness of the young girl on reception I would say avoid.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dubdogs 140 reviews from this member

Stayed here on the basis of the previous positive reviews, unfortunately something must have changed at the site recently as it certainly didn't warrant 9 stars rating it currently has.

The young lady in reception was helpful and friendly when booking on the phone and at arrival. The site itself is very tired and looked like it had just had a long hard season, rather than being early July pre the main season. The facilities were dirty and didn't get a clean during our stay. There was a discarded cigarette on the pay machine for the shower that looked like it had taken up residence for some time, graffiti on the cubicle doors and other general detritus all around.

The pitches are sloping but can level up with chocks without much problem. The roads around the site are rubble and not the best for walking on in flip flops. Off the site is easy access to the coast path and beach (there are restrictions on the beach for dogs in the summer time).

As there are a number of other sites in the area to choose from, I wouldn't use this site again.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: BigErnie 32 reviews from this member

Awful! We stayed here for one night and picked it because of the previous good reviews on UK Campsite but can hardly believe it’s the same place.

It is such a shame as this has the potential to be a really lovely site, it’s a great size, has access to good walks down to the beach and along the coast and the facilities it lists on the website are all there but where do I start.

When we arrived we were checked in by a really nice, helpful lady, good customer service.

That was the positive…. Now the rest.

We had asked for a pitch with a sea view, the pitch we had been allocated was in the right place for a sea view but there was a big caravan blocking the view. This is understandable on a busy site in high season but the site wasn’t busy, there were empty pitches all around us. Our pitch was also almost next to the bar and the “new” toilet blocks so people were constantly walking past the van to and from the bar.

The “new” toilet blocks, as advertised on the website, must be a couple of years old now and don’t look like they have been cleaned in that time. What made it worse was that the ladies showers were completely flooded so wading through other peoples soap scum. Nice! To add insult to injury you have to pay for this pleasure, 50p for 5 mins then 10p for every additional minute. Before the 5 minutes was up the tide from the shower cubicle had met the flood waters. I was out of there!

The bins were completely full up and a bit whiffy in the hot weather so no surprise to see maggots wriggling across the top of one of them the morning that we left! If we hadn’t of been planning on leaving anyway that would have sealed it. There is a Takeaway café on site. Looks good but pitched directly opposite it is a long stay caravan with any amount of stuff piled around it, not the best view to sit and eat your breakfast.

I didn’t want to only be negative about this site as the location it great and due to it’s surroundings it really has potential but basic cleanliness was severely lacking. Further to our experience I couldn't recommend this site to anyone.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Jscadden 6 reviews from this member

For once, we decided to hire a static rather than tow our caravan the 250 miles to The Lizard. We hired a six-berth which consisted of 3 bedrooms. The caravan was clean and well maintained and was spacious enough for three adults and three teenagers. As well as a microwave, cooker and fridge, there was also a good quality TV with a strong Freeview signal. The staff were polite and friendly at all times and did everything to make our stay as pleasant as possible.

There was a well stocked Pub within a marquee as well as a snack bar. There was also a convenience store and pizzeria near the main entrance.

We took a walk round the camping pitch which was very full as it was bank holiday weekend and everyone seemed to be happy with their alfresco cooking well under way. The Sea views were one of the best!

An adjacent holiday site also had a bar which was available to all as was the Parkdean resort just down the road. I can thoroughly recommend The Potter's Bar, a few yards from the park which was a free-house. Kennack Sands was just a short walk downhill. Parking at the beach was £4 a day but limited free parking was available on the way down. Two cafes were situated at the beach.

All in all, there was something to please everyone on site or nearby and was well situated as a base for touring the area. Flambards being only a few minutes drive at nearby Helston.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shambles 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here for two weeks last summer and have booked to go again this year.

The site itself is relatively easy to get to but distance wise it's about as far as it's possible to go on the mainland in Cornwall. Once we arrived the staff were very helpful and showed us to our pitch in one of the lower fields. The pitch was dry and well marked. There was a slight slope but I don't mind that as it improves drainage. There is a sea view over the bay. The electric hook up was on our pitch so no issues there. The bathroom facilities were at the top of our field with some others close by in the next field. They were modern enough and kept clean throughout our stay and were reasonably priced at 50p for the showers.

We always try to camp somewhere close to the beach and Chy Carne is well placed with a 20-30 mins walk downhill to Kennack Sands along the lane, or a slightly longer route through the wood. Kennack is a perfectly good beach with a cafe and decent facilities, however we found that we preferred another beach near Mullion a short drive away.

As we have a young family, some facilities for the kids are preferred although our kids swerved the children's area at Chy Carne as it always seemed too busy and a bit too boisterous. Perhaps a bit more open space for kids to play in would be a suggested improvement for the owners to consider.

There is a temporary bar on site which works well. The shop is very well stocked. The fire pits are fantastic and decent value, and the pizza shop and snack bar is a great option to have when you can't be bothered to cook!

We left booking 2018s summer holiday late this year but were delighted and surprised to see Chy Carne still had some availability, and were more than happy to book again.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Rich Ta 5 reviews from this member

This is quite a large site. We arrived late after a puncture, the owners were very accommodating, keeping open for later arrivals (we were not the only ones). There are good facilities after a long walk we had a very welcome pizza, there is also a snack bar. The site is well situated for the Coastal Path which is close and, for walkers there is a bus stop by the gate.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Manm 3 reviews from this member

Large site with views over the sea. Some areas quite muddy after rain. Bar tent has music, which could bother you if you are nearby. Good Toilets, Showers (coin operated) and washing facilities (extra cost). Wi-Fi available at an extra cost. Electric hook up also available at extra cost. Main shops about a couple of miles away. Plenty of sightseeing and walks around. Child friendly, especially with their static caravans.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andy-nicki2014 1 review from this member

We loved it here the facilities were excellent plenty of toilet and shower blocks and wash facilities. We had a hook up pitch that was great. There were play areas for kids

We picked our pitch when booking on line that was a bonus although we were on a slight hill

The beer tent was great but not rowdy at all

We didn't eat from the bar hut or pizza place on site but people were recommending them

We hired a fire pit and got logs and kindling from the shop on site

The shop is well stocked and quite reasonable for a convenience store in Cornwall

The views were amazing

Wifi was reasonably priced

Can't wait to visit again

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: FlisKirk 1 review from this member

We had an absolutely brilliant stay at Che Carne!

We arrived and headed straight to reception, where we were quickly 'checked in' and given directions to our pitch. Yes, it was on a bit of a slope but nothing that careful pitching can't work around and not a problem for us. Electric hook-up was right next to our pitch.

Toilets and showers were super clean every time we visited and we never had to queue, which was brilliant for August! The temperature of the shower was consistently warm.

The shop was great and had everything we needed, including camping gear, gas and basic food & drink. The snack shack hot dogs were great and service was fast and efficient. We drank in The Marquee Arms, the on site pub, on a number of occasions and found staff friendly and drink prices competitive.

On the Thursday night we went along to the pub quiz and had a really good evening; a great atmosphere. There were no problems during our weeks stay and we always found the staff approachable and helpful.

Our dog was welcomed on site and the whole place had a lovely, relaxed atmosphere, which considering we were there in August, is pretty amazing. Lovely area with lots to do and see.

Wouldn't hesitate in visiting Che Carne again and would definitely recommend it to friends.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pamplona 1 review from this member

Our family stayed at Chy Carne in the first two weeks in August and it has to be said, the site was fantastic! Not only does the site have great views, but is very well maintained, with spotlessly clean toilets and showers, (yes, even in August!)and the owners and staff are very friendly and cannot do enough for their guests. We were in a touring caravan, our son and his family were in a Static van and our daughter and her family were in a tent, so a good all round site for every outfit, we were all very happy with our pitches. The marquee bar is a great idea and promotes a friendly atmosphere. The snack shack was well used for fabulous fish and chips and the pizzas were delicious! Clearly the best site we have been to for a long time for cleanliness and friendliness. We will definitely return next year. The Lizard area is a beautiful place with something for everyone.

Previous     88 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4998 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019